214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Presque Isle Passage was rated 6 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (814) 833-3272
CGID4941

Presque Isle Passage

Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   8   4   1   9   6   7   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Tent sites were small, muddy, not private. Our bathhouse had one shower, one sink, and one toilet. No immediate access to water. Quiet hours were not enforced. Visitors were very loud entering after hours, drunk, using very profane language, had a dog running loose. Took several phone calls from several campers before they were asked to leave twice. Definitely will not stay again. Usual campground was booked full. Needs maintenance due to mud and ruts in the roadway. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
We stayed during July 4th weekend. It was a wet week in the area, which left the site in very poor condition with ruts and extremely muddy. Site size is very long, but very tight in width. Set up facing one trailer and back to the back of another. With more rain during the weekend, the ground could not absorb and became more muddy. Had to lock in 4 wheel when driving on site. Location of campground is a close drive to Erie Zoo and Presque Isle. If in the area again would look to camp elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
The camp staff was friendly. The pool was really nice and had plenty of shallow areas for kids to play in. The play ground was very limited. The overall appearance of the park had a run down look. Our spot (#5) was a grassy spot. It was level from side to side but leaned forward. The wireless internet had a strong signal. It was very quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We stayed here for four nights because of the location near family. Park office personnel were friendly. Park itself needs work. Most sites are now overgrown with little gravel and not level. With all the recent rain, site was very wet which makes for muddy tires and feet. This is the first time in two years we have had to use wood under a tire to level. Many very old permanent units. Park has WiFi but it is very slow. We wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
We pulled in, paid for one night, then could not get into our site. Was told it was a gravel pad, but it was complete grass, and it was pouring rain, and the ground was super soft. The bathrooms were bad. We turned around and left. We did not even stay. Would never return. Staff was of no help. Said there was gravel at one point, but the grass just grew up over it all. Appeared everyone there was living there fulltime except maybe two. Horrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Very pleasant and helpful lady in office. Gave us several maps with our site seeing routes highlighted to make it easier for us. Terrible weather, and the site we were given was a little soggy. Owner came and talked to us and offered us any site that would be easier for us, but we kept the one we were at. We didn't have any problem when leaving, but if we had, the owner said he would help us if we needed him, and I do believe he would have! Campground is a work in progress, lots more work to do, but you can see they are trying to make things 100%! We would most definitely stay here again, if in the area!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
This is a good place to stay if you need an overnight spot close to the freeway. It would not be a place I would use as a destination for a week or so. It is an older campground and does not have many amenities for families. It was a good spot for us to stay overnight on a trip down Interstate 90. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Good overnight stop. Fairly basic as other reviews have mentioned, but it was pleasant and we felt safe. Nice little store associated with the office. We would stop here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This campground has changed names to Presque Isle Passage. It has new owners. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. They have a great selection of goods in the general store. We stayed 3 nights. There is very little shade. We lucked out and got one of the better sites. We did walk around and seen there were quite a few sites we would not want to stay on. They would require a lot of blocks! The rest rooms were the cleanest we have ever seen in a camp site! We did not like the "timer" on the showers. We would stay again if we could get the same site we had gotten! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Campground name must be because this place is on a slope. All sites slope 2 directions. Had to use several blocks under the jacks and still could not get level. We could see where several rigs had sunk into the mud at least 6 inches. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
I will never stay here again. The park is on the side of a hill and there are no sites that are anywhere close to level. The manager was sympathetic but couldn't help. It didn't help at all that many days of rain turned the place into a mud hole. The showers are push-button operated and there is no adjustment for temperature. The water was VERY hot, too hot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
We camped for 2 nights and had a pull through site. It was tight pulling in between the trees and not level. We asked for a better site but were told there was nothing wrong with the site we had by the owner. Since we had to visit friends in Erie we decided to stay anyway. The water and electric on the site worked good but the sewer backed up so we decided just to dump later since our tanks were not full. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
The first 50 amp pull-through we were given was plenty long but the hook-ups were in the middle of the site and the front of the site sloped so much there was no possible way for a 38 foot motorhome to get level. When I went and asked for another site I was told "I had no idea that site was not level". We requested another site and that one was level but we had a tree in front which would have caused us to drive over grass to get out and there was a sharp metal grill setting above ground that would have destroyed our tires so we had to back out. We did not use their cable and we did not have any problem with the electric service where we were. If in the area again we would look for another campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
We stayed in this campground the night of July 4th. Our site, a 50 amp pull through, had low voltage (100) and we were unable to run any of our equipment for fear of burning them out. Low voltage was everywhere in the park but not as low as our site. The park management had numerous excuses for the low voltage and incorrect wiring at our site. The management took a ho-hum attitude concerning his voltage problem and when we asked for credit they promised to call; that was 2 weeks ago and we have heard nothing. No matter what we pay, we expect the park to furnish what they advertise not to risk burning up our expensive equipment for their gain. The park sites are tight and the campground isn't what we consider nice. We would not recommend this campground for large rigs requiring 50 amp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
OK for overnight. Sites not level. Cable connection at our site broken. Sewer connection top about 8" off ground which may be a problem in totally emptying holding tanks. Sites and roads fairly narrow. Roads rough. Did not get escort to site and had difficulty finding because seasonable sites are on map provided but sites are not numbered. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. Close enough to Erie to do full provisioning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This is a very nice park, just yards from I-90, and great for an overnight stay. We stayed for several days, however, and enjoyed it thoroughly. The staff was very friendly in responding to questions about the campground and the area attractions. Though it is so close to the highway, there is enough of a wooded area to cut traffic noise. It is a straight drive out to Presque Isle State Park and past Waldameer and Water World. This road also passes some farm market stands and places to purchase firewood, but the firewood offered at the campground is reasonably priced. My family will keep Hills on our list of campgrounds to visit again in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Clean and well-run campground. Lots of seasonal sites and families. Staff was friendly. Restrooms were old and basic, but very clean. Park has side-by-side hookups, but since it wasn't full, every other site in that area was empty. Sites would be narrow and crowded when park is full. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
A very convenient stop over park near the interstate. The ooffice staff were friendly and helpful. There are some long term sites, but all were neat and clean. We used this park as a stop over on the way back to Ontario and would stay here again. We were unable to access wireless internet at our site, but it worked at the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
Very nice people and convenient location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This is a convenient location for the Erie area. It is right off the interstate, but not noisy. Many of the sites are not level front to back, but it didn't create a problem for us. The WIFI is free, but you have to go to the rec room to use it. The back half of the park has seasonal or permanent units, but the park was very neat. They have a great little store and offer Good Sam and AAA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
We stayed a week. Good location -- near I-90 but far enough away for no traffic noise. Nice store and laundromat. Uneven sites more common than not. Very nice folks here. Seems to be about 50/50 seasonal to short term folks. If you go north on Sterritainia Rd. for 10 miles you arrive at Presque Isle. Beautiful place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Very nice people, Good Sam park, best stocked store I have seen! Sites were very tight in an open field, but easy to get to for a one-night stay. Over priced for no amenities except cable included. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Many seasonals..felt more like a trailer park and than a RV park...staff was nice and sights were average sized. I doubt we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
We made an overnight stop here. The pull through site was a bit unlevel but was adequate. The staff was friendly and helpful. Restrooms and showers were very good. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Took us right in with no reservation on a holiday weekend. The desk personnel were friendly and provided answers to any questions we had about the area. The site was fairly level and had a gravel base. Hook-ups were conveniently located and access was no problem. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
We camped here as a one night stop over. It is very close to the interstate and very easy to find. It is good for a short stay but not for a long stay. Sites are extremely close together and not level. There is not any shade. Over 3/4 of the park is seasonal. The bathrooms were very small but clean. Each shower had it's own changing area. It has a nice campstore, game room with small TV and large laundry room. Owners / workers were very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$29
Just off I-90 west of Erie, basic campground with 69 cable channels. No pool, gravel sites, pretty level, basic washrooms didn't use them but looked clean, friendly people, close to Presque Isle State Park. Good Sam Park. Fairly expensive for the amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$26
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com