220365 User submitted reviews online!!
Alamosa KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 66 user reviews. Phone: (719) 589-9757
CGID4962

Alamosa KOA

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   9   7   8   8   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
We have stayed here before and will stay again when in the area. Clean, level pull thru with good utilities. Check in and escort to site were friendly and they made sure that we were set before leaving. This is not a resort, but is a nice quiet, clean stopover for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
First impressions as we pulled in was how depressing this park looked. It is probably the most deflated I have been after arriving at a campground in a long time. On the side of the highway, nothing but dirt and weeds, backing on to what looks like a run down farm. Water pressure low with a bad taste. No cable, only one or two over the air channels. 3 miles from Alamosa. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
We camped here in the beginning of July with the temperatures being very warm during the day and perfectly cool at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful checking us in quickly. We were led to our site which was gravel, large and level with easy access to all the hook ups. The bathrooms were clean though the showers are a little cramped with little space to turn around and none of my family is large. We had plenty of room to set up a 12 x 12 domed canopy for cooking and eating in comfort. The view of the mountains from the campground is beautiful. We we would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
This place was a little overpriced. Sites were gravel and fairly level. They list 6 TV channels but we only received 4. Restrooms were clean. Beautiful view of the mountains. Far enough from the road that noise was not an issue. We ordered the campground pizza and it was delivered to our site. WIFI was intermittent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
This was a nice campground, but not exceptional. It has no grass. It was mostly a gravel lot. They did have a nice dog run and great pizza that they delivered to your motorhome site. The pool was clean. The ladies at the front desk were nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
We have stayed here before on our way to other places and decided to spend a couple of nights here to explore the Alamosa area. Our site is a 100 ft long pull through, level gravel - the hookups all worked fine and were located properly. We were escorted to the site and everyone was very friendly. Wi-Fi is good and got about 10 channels of TV on the antenna. They have discount deals for some of the local attractions and will deliver fresh baked hot pizza to your site in the evening! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
This was a nice campground with friendly people. Close to town and several sights. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Very nice park, well run, clean, nice big sites. Served Pancake breakfast several mornings, would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Wide, long and level sites. Wi-Fi worked well. Very quiet at night. Nice clean dog park. Have stopped here when in the area since 1973 and will continue to do so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Hosts were very friendly and offered a pancake breakfast, that was more like homemade than some others offered at other KOA Parks. Sites had shade and some privacy. Just about across the road from a wildlife refuge or viewing area. In August we saw several hawks, but not too many large mammals that you might see at other times in the year. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$43
We stayed 2 nights at this park. It was very quiet and we didn't hear any road noise. Staff members were very friendly and answered any questions we had. The Wi-Fi was good too. There's nothing fancy or resort like at this park, but they did have a heated swimming pool and the park was clean. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
We stayed here so we could visit Sand Dunes National Park. When we arrived, it was almost 10:00pm. True to their word, there was our reservation taped to the door. Just as we were getting ready to find our spot, two of the folks that work at the KOA showed up and helped out. We ate breakfast both Saturday and Sunday at the KOA tent. The cost was $5.00 per person and included all you can eat pancakes and sausage. Our site was pretty level, it had a slight tilt to the left. The KOA was very clean and quiet. We were not able to hear any road noise during the night. Their Wi-Fi was solid. We rated this place an 8 because while it was a good, clean place to stay there was nothing really special to warrant a higher rating. If we go back through Alamosa again we would have no problem staying at the Alamosa KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
My wife and stayed at Alamosa KOA on 8/13 and 8/14/12. The park was satisfactory relating to all the facilities we used. We stayed in a pull-through site (42 foot motorhome with tow). On 8/14 we requested and were granted a check-out extension from 11 am until 12 noon on 8/15. At 11 am on 8/15 we were approached by a KOA employee who demanded to know when we were leaving. I explained that we had received a one hour extension. He very rudely stated that check-out time was 11 am and it didn't matter who had granted an extension. He arrogantly advised that someone else was waiting on our spot. I asked what time check-in was and he advised that they didn't have a check-in time: it was when a camper arrived. We left the campground at 11:45 am. I stopped by the office and asked what fee I owed for their 45 minutes I had used. She stated that no fee was due but they were not advised of a time extension for us. It should be noted that at 11:45 am, multiple pull-through sites were available along with maybe 40 other vacant sites. No one was at the campground waiting for any site. My wife and I will never return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$51
Very friendly staff. Clean restrooms. Great breakfasts! Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
It was okay for an overnight stop, we have been to better KOAs. The majority of their pull throughs are straight not at an angle which makes it tough on a 40+ rig with tow getting in and out. The WiFi a was useless at our site. We wouldn't stay here for more than an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Typical KOA campground. Folks that run it are friendly and helpful. This is the third year we have stayed here, they just put in a new well and pump house, the sulfur smell to the water is gone. The campground is clean, mainly overnight stays. Will stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$41
Good campground. As usual for a KOA a little pricey for what you get. Sites are level with good hookups. Sites are close together as is typical for a commercial park. Has a small heated pool. A few trees but very little grass. Wi-fi worked good. Friendly staff with escort to site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
We arrived late and left early, so everything was locked up. Our site info was taped to the door, along with a half dozen others. Site was level and long enough. As usual for KOA, expensive for a water/electric site in the boondocks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
Best Alamosa has to offer. Friendly host and escort. Sites are fairly level and long enough. Typical desert setting. Quiet and clean. Good for stopover or visiting the Alamosa area. Like most KOA's just a bit high. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
This is a very nice park with very friendly and helpful staff and owners. The sites are a little small, but well maintained and pull-through. Nice pool area along with recumbent bikes for the kids, and also a dirt bike trail adjacent to the camp. There is a sizeable dog run! We will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Nice park. Very friendly owners and staff. Site was level, hookups worked fine. I want to rate this park higher, but without any cable TV or hot tub the $36 rate seemed high. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
Easy in and out, and big rig friendly. Gravel sites. Good overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
This is a simple, but beautifully located campground. Mountain views. The owners were very friendly and helpful. They even let us leave our travel trailer for part of the day when we went to visit Great Sand Dunes National Park (a must see!). When we did not get back to pick it up as quickly as we planned, they called to check on us. If you are in the area, we highly recommend this KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Nice, well maintained older KOA. Lots of room and good location. Owners very helpful, some sites could have the sewer connections a little more sunken in the ground. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Great stopover park. Easy in and easy out on HWY 160 about 4 miles east of Alamosa. Very friendly and helpful staff. Big pull throughs in the back of the park. Quiet country setting. Verizon wireless worked good here. Will stop here again. Park closes the end of October and opens the 1st of May. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Staff was very friendly and helpful about the area. Site was level and easy to get in and out of. My only issue during my stay was with the laundry, as the washer I chose worked very slowly. I was told the next morning they were having problems with that washer. It would have been nice to know ahead of time with a sign on that washer. Other than that one issue, I enjoyed my stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
This is the best campground in the area. We stayed one night in order to visit the Sand Dunes. The park is clean, with fresh gravel roads and sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
This was a run of the mill KOA. The property is not the least bit attractive but it served it's purpose as a one night stop over on our way from Great Sand Dunes to Durango. The water smelled strongly of sulfur so you wouldn't want to fill your water tank with it. The sites are all gravel and appear to be relatively level. Space is abundant so big rigs can maneuver easily. We didn't use the pool but it looked clean. They advertise great mountain views but there's so much clutter between the campground and those mountains that the scenic view is a bit laughable. The staff was friendly and helpful. This property is about 20 mins from Great Sand Dunes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
We we here as part of a group for three nights; otherwise we would not have stayed at a KEEP ON ADDING (KOA). At $38.39 we were told we were getting the discount rate. The wi-fi was very spotty and on a scale of 1 to 19 it was a 3. It is a typical over priced KOA, clean and every thing worked except the wi-fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Very nice campground. Level sites. Clean and the people were very nice. Good Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
The rate quoted was with a Value Kard. Nice tenting area with wind break/privacy walls. Several cabins. Well kept. Very friendly personnel. Gravel sites, level. Your typical dry western campground with grass struggling to survive and many dirt areas where it hasn't. Mature trees but widely spaced so satellite access shouldn't be a problem especially in the newer area at the back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
New owners (<1 yr) who've expanded the campground. The new sites are okay, but lacking in any vegetation. If you go, even in a "big rig", stay near the front. Although the spaces are smaller, they're much nicer with mature vegetation. Great location! Very friendly owners! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$52
Very clean, nice staff, escorted to our spot, level, full hook-ups, clean pool, close to highway so we heard sirens one night, easy drive to Sand Dunes and Zapata Falls. We were happy and would stay here again. Price includes 50 amp and 3 kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
This park is OK for a night or two. Our site was in the newest section, extra long pull throughs, big rig friendly. The gravel was new and not packed down yet but level enough, with full-hook up, 50 amp service. This is the nicest of all the other campgrounds that we saw in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Park is under new management and they are trying very hard to reduce previous shortcomings. Centrally located for several area attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
This park has excellent WiFi and good water pressure. The laundry is clean and machines work well. The cost is reasonable. We did have 50 amp electric, but the electricity was not very good. Running any 2 appliances: a/c, coffee pot, heat pump, put the electricity gauge into the red. Don't know if the problem is the park or the utility company, but we didn't like the risk of damage to our appliances. This issue accounts for the rating of 8. Staff was friendly and the park was clean and convenient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Pretty typical KOA, but with lots of gravel (very little paved areas). Beautiful views to the north and northeast of Great Sand Dunes if you can get a spot there. Has a typical store, and a run down playground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
We stayed here for 3 nights because it is centrally located to what we came for: riding the train to the concert in the mountains and the Great Sand Dunes N.P. The park has plenty to keep the young ones busy with a pool, horseshoes, volleyball, nice playground and the best part is it's far enough away from the town to really be able to watch the sky at night. One night it was meteors and stars, the next it was beautiful lightning displays all around us. Warm days and cool nights were great when you're from Texas. The staff accommodated us by putting us in the most remote site with water and power so we could enjoy the skys at night. My grandsons talk about that more than anything else from our trip to Colorado. As far as the park, it is typical KOA with dirt and grass sites. Sometimes the dust was bad but not enough to complain about. This is our second time at this park and we will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
All full hookup sites were taken when we arrived, so we had to take W&E. That would have been fine, but that row only had 30 amp electric. We struggled to get our rig powered back to the available amperage. We put the refer on gas and the water heater on gas. Ran only one AC, and still snapped the breaker. This still would have been fine, except for the rate. At $33 per night I would have thought we would have at least had 30 Amp. The owners do work hard to keep a nice facility, but some additional gravel to keep the dust down would be nice. It was quiet along the back, but the highway along the front could cause trouble for light sleepers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Fairly low rates for a KOA. Most KOAs are $60 plus. Asked for a satellite friendly spot, but most of the full hookup sites are not. They refused to move us. Very muddy when it rains, which it did every day. I only stayed here because of the location close to Rio Grande Scenic Railroad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We got in very late about 9:30 PM but the owners left an envelope at the door of the office with directions to our site and a WiFi password. WiFi didn't work that night, but did in the morning. We left early the next morning so didn't see much of the park, it was a standard KOA and looked OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Good location for visiting the Great Sand Dunes NP. The view from our RV was wonderful of the mountain range and office folks were friendly; however, the staff working outside the office were extremely rude. When filling our propane, asked if anyone was inside. We replied "our cat" and were told, "I don't care about the cat." Didn't see that as a necessary response. Dusty roads and it would be nicer if it was paved or more gravel applied to prevent all the dust when anyone drove by the site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
The gravel sites were level, bathrooms were clean, and the view of the mountains and sand dunes at their base was beautiful. It took us about 25 minutes to drive to the Sand Dunes, so the location of the campground was convenient. Staff and other campers were very friendly. Paved roads would be an improvement. Pool was always crowded with kids and adults. We will definitely stay here again when we visit the Great Sand Dunes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
This park was "fair" for a KOA. The owner is very nice and is trying to improve the park, but a lot more work is needed. The sites are mostly dirt with a few rocks, just like the roads. The water pressure is only fair, about 45# at the faucet. If someone is next to you the pressure really drops. Put water in your holding tank and use your on board pump to get a decent shower. The laundry room was just refurbished so the machines all work well. The pool looked to be closed during our visit, although we did not try to use it. Many of the sewer connections are too high for the level of the site making the dumping process a bit tricky. I would stay here again if I were going back to Great Sand Dunes National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
While the owner was very friendly, the campground its self was less than exciting. Any number of sites that are permanent. Roads were dirt or if you tried real hard, gravel. It was probably the worst KOA I've been in. Would I stay here again, probably, since it is the best of the worst. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
Average park. Beautiful views, gravel/dirt level pull through sites. The water tasted great! 50A electrical was marginal. Our sewer line drained poorly. There is no place to walk or exercise without driving 5 miles back into town. This park is awful in heavy rain. The ground doesn't drain and turns into a oozy, gummy glue. Do not stay here if wet weather is expected. Wi-Fi was average speed and reliability. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
The staff was very friendly and the whole park was clean. Sites and roads are gravel and level. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
We have not had good luck with KOA's. We were delighted with this little jewel. The people were very friendly and helpful. The campground was very clean. The pool was clean and warm. The view from our campsite was mountains and the Great Sand Dunes National Park, 20 miles away. We would definitely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Typical small KOA. This is the only real option when staying in Alamosa. OK stopover spot. Because it's in the desert, the campground roads are gravel and dusty. Facilities were clean. No landscaping to speak of. Will stay here again if we need to stay in Alamosa. The staff was good and they have a pancake breakfast on Saturday and Sunday. Swimming pool in the middle of no place. Eight miles from Alamosa. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
A nice Campground! There are very Clean Restrooms and Showers. We had a pull-through site that allowed us to have our 34ft motor home and 18ft toy trailer connected with room for our Jeep to also park at the site. The pool was clean. The office personnel were friendly and helpful with our questions (restaurant suggestions). The dog walk area is a nice off leash fenced in area. The fresh water does have a slight sulfur smell to it (just the area supply). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
My grandsons and I stayed here only one night on our way home but it was a very nice stay. All facilities were clean but could be larger. Pool and playground was nice and was quiet after 8PM. Management was very nice and accommodating. The sky that night was clear and we stayed outside looking at all the stars and satellites. My boys will never forget that sight. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
Typical small, tight KOA. This is the only real option when staying in Alamosa. OK stopover spot. Because it's in the desert, the campground roads are gravel and dusty. Facilities were clean. No landscaping to speak of. Will stay here again if we need to stay in Alamosa. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Clean. Nice views of mountains. Needs to have internet password on night check in so can use internet if check in late. Staff friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
FANTASTIC campground in a BEAUTIFUL setting, only ~15 miles from The Great Sand Dunes National Park in Alamosa, CO. Staying at this campground has been a Mother's Day tradition (me and the kids while the wife is traveling with her girl friends) for SEVERAL years. We REALLY like this KOA, and with the new pool (which wasn't open yet - should be open now), it's even better! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Park owner was very friendly. The sites were narrow and short. There was not a lot of room in our site or the access road to the site. They had a strange set up for 50 amp and we had difficulty unpluging. We would probable stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Located on main thoroughway, but backed up far enough from the road ensuring a quiet night's sleep. Owner (Gene) is friendly and on-site. A salt-water pool and a Christmas store are added features. Great Sand Dunes National Park is about 26 miles away. Verizon cell signal was adequate. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Typical KOA. Sites were small and close. Wi-Fi worked good, needs cable TV. Entering from the west is hazardous if there is any traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
This is a nice campground with good services and friendly staff. We stayed a few nights while doing some geocaching and visiting the Great Sand Dunes. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Very nice park. Family run. Owners were very helpful. Park was clean and great for families. There is not a lot to do around the park except seeing the Sand Dunes We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
Very clean, nice size spaces; very friendly managers. No highway noise. Brand new fenced dog run. We had a great time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
The park is essentially in the desert area of the San Luis Valley. It is close to highway 160 but there is very little road noise. The wind blew the entire time we were there. The park could use some mowing and general manicuring of the sites. The wifi worked well. We will stop in again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
Clean and quiet, 3 miles from town, would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Great stopover park in Alamosa. The WIFI is fast and free. Sites are big and level. Very friendly owners. Will stay here over and over again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$36
This is a small, quiet, and well-kept park with easy on and off access and no traffic, train or other obnoxious noises that plague so many other parks. The open, sparsely treed grounds in the 7000’ San Luis valley are surrounded by beautiful mountain backdrops and house several rows of mostly level pull through sites, with a combination of full, 50-amp hookups (but only 4), full, 30-amp hook-ups, several water and electric, a handful of tent sites on the fringes of the park and the inevitable KOA cabins. Each site is equipped with tables, fire rings and grills. Navigating into some of the sites might be tight-turning for some of the biggest, big-rigs but we managed our 37’ fifth wheel & F-350 pickup with very little problem. The park has on-site propane, free WiFi, on-site owners and managers, a friendly, helpful staff and offers an escort to the site. The large, clean office building houses a cute all-year Christmas store and modest gift and supply store with grocery necessities and limited emergency RV supplies. The generously-sized, gravel spaces are separated by wide strips of lawn and a combination of young and mature trees. The playground is appropriately furnished and was enjoyed thoroughly by the many young campers using it during the Memorial Day week we were here. The lovely looking pool was undergoing seasonal maintenance for the upcoming summer. The weather was still a bit too chilly for frolicking in the water. This is a great home-base to visit the Great Sands Dunes National Park, Zapata Falls, Alamosa Wildlife Refuge, Rio Grande Scenic Railroad and the Cumbres-Toltec Railroad. Now, the bad news: The Park has side-by-side hookups. We were on an end, so we were not forced to share our front yard with a neighbor, not so with most other sites. The water pressure and voltage fluctuated quite a bit. The water pressure falling to 20 and the electric mostly never reaching 110. The single dumpster is by the office and certainly not convenient to all the campers. This highly-priced park offers no discounts, only their own KOA card which provides a 10% discount. We secured our reservations several months before our visit and would highly recommend the same for others: especially for any summer holiday week. If we return to the area we would most likely return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
This campground has a very nice setting, with great views of the mountains. Got a spectacular sunrise! The staff (owners?) are very nice. We were not at all bothered by the highway noise, as most sites are far enough away from the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$32
The camp ground is under new ownership, and they have many improvements, and have plans for many more. The owners and staff provide excellence service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com