214920 User submitted reviews online!!
Sandy Beach County Park Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (707) 374-2097
CGID4967

Sandy Beach County Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   9   7   6   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
The rate reflects a senior discount, with a normal rate of $30. This is a county park very close to the small town of Rio Vista. It is in a pleasant setting along the Sacramento River. There are a few sites with views of the river and most without views of the river. We had a site with river views, which was nice. We did not have any problem with the power as reported by another reviewer. The sites were power and water without any problem. It is true that it is windy there, even in February. There is a short bike/road path that will take you to the bridge across the river. Our Verizon cell and data worked well there. There are few tress so satellite was not a problem. The reason that it does not get a higher rating is because of the partying at night from the locals. We were next to the boat area. The first night there, the locals started doing "donuts" in the parking lot at about dark. The party went on until 3 in the morning. We called the local law enforcement, but it had no effect. We talked to the local "ranger" and he said that is what happens since layoffs meant there was no presence at night. He seemed not to care. The camp host was new and had no input. The next night the party went on, so we left. Too bad that a nice park could be ruined by lack of law enforcement. If we were to stay here again, we would park away from the day use area and the parties. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$18
This is a really nice location, along the Sacramento River. Many sites have a view of the river. Bathrooms are spartan but have hot water. Our biggest complaint, and this is in the winter, is that the power is not adequate for our 40' rig. Waking up this morning, admittedly, the temp outside was 34F, the input power to our rig was 110V. That doesn't leave any power for microwave use, much less heat pump or electric water heat (which we didn't use) and the inside voltage ranges from 108V to 109V with this computer, a refrig and a couple lights running. Went to 102V a couple times and we lost power once for overload. We stayed a week in winter with only 1 or 2 other rigs in the park. The park is at the end of the Rio Vista city power run about a mile out of town. It is quiet, neat, clean, patrolled by a ranger, and otherwise a pleasant place to stay. Just can't imagine that the power even works if it was full and cold outside. If you have very modest power needs, this is a great county park. $18 is senior rate, otherwise it is $30 per night. Boat launch is next to park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
A lovely park on the bank of the Delta in Rio Vista, CA. Well maintained. I walked along the edge of the water for a ways and enjoyed the sunset. A friendly ranger and host greeted me. It's a bit hard to find. You must wind through the town. I'm going back on my way south this winter. No wind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
To correct two errors. There is a dump, its on the way in/out on the river side of the road by the yellow/orange dumpster. Its not marked at all. And, the showers do not take quarters, they're free. I just camped here for 6 days and it was real quiet and not windy at all. Spring and Fall tend to not have as much wind (or "Delta Breeze) as the summer does. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Nice spot but extremely windy. Sites are bit tight and less than level. We found ourselves challenged to find the right spot in our site between trees and the road. Connections on the right side are a bit awkward. No sewer connections or even a dump station. So, we actually used the showers, which were fine and didn't cost anything. Place seemed very well patrolled. (Did we mention that it was very windy?) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$24
Nice county park in the cute, little river-front town of Rio Vista. Sites are all paved and pull-through. Most are slightly sloped and require some leveling blocks. The hookups are on the passenger side and you need to run hoses and wires under your coach. Nice, spacious grassy sites with sandy soil (hence the park name); many with covered dining canopies. Fishing and boating in the adjacent Sacramento River. Boat launch in park. Park rangers patrol frequently during the day, but not much at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$21
Great place for a quick Sacramento or Bay Area California Delta getaway weekend / weekday. Can be “very” windy during the summer months. The Spring and Fall are far better windless months. Be aware of teenager using this park after hours as a lovers lane (harmless). They do not gate off the camping area from the other areas. There is always a park host. Some are better then others. Firewood is always available at 6 bucks a bundle. The bathroom were redone in late 05 and are very well kept. The shower will cost ya a few coins but the hot water keeps coming. Understand that there is a sand quarry above and behind this area that operates M-F and can create some noise and dust during windy days. If you fish you’ll love the boat launch and large boat trailer parking. A great place to hang out, pour an afternoon cocktail and play dominos with your better half while enjoying the minimalist landscapes the Delta is famous for. Not many places as easy going as this. The town of Rio Vista has some rather charming shops. The restaurants can be what I like to call consistently inconsistent. One day great and the next is just so so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$21
Just south of Rio Vista on the Sacramento River. All sites pull through. Large sites not bunched up. Some with view of river. $7 extra per car. Day use area attached, as well as boat launch. Ranger patrolled. 30 amp only. Fire pits. Quiet. Worth a stop, though it isn't a resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com