224152 User submitted reviews online!!
Tuckahoe State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (410) 820-1668
CGID4976

Tuckahoe State Park

Camp Information
Sites
7
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   9   9   8   10   9   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Sites are paved. Garbage has to be taken to one dumpster. Firewood is available for camp fires. Very shaded. They patrol often to make sure all is well. Paved roads. A bit in the middle of nowhere. A lot of families show up on the weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
No ranger or camp host on site. Sites are nice, as state parks usually are. No WIFI. Bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner. Especially in the showers. They have the plastic mats in the stalls and I don't think they have been lifted up in a long time to be cleaned properly. Just an okay place to stay but we would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
We just returned from spending Labor Day weekend here. I agree with the previous reviews: very nice park; well-maintained, clean, spacious. We biked over to the camp office to get a trail map and ask about the best kayaking, and were treated to the aviary - about a dozen owls and hawks that are residents due to injury and/or imprinting on humans. Rangers are very friendly and helpful; they came through the campground with a hawk one night, and they run several programs like guided canoe/kayak trips, scavenger hunts, zip line, etc. There are two playgrounds, a disc golf course, and safe roads to bike. The Adkins Arboretum trails can be biked, which I think would be more fun than walking them like I did. Kayaking up the creek from the lake was my favorite part; it's a beautiful paddle and we saw dozens of turtles of all sizes. I could see how a rowdy party could be a problem; even though the rangers patrol occasionally there is no staff on site 24/7. Firewood is sold on the honor system and is newly-split and damp, but possible to burn. The only reason I don't give this park is perfect 10 is the bugs - they were fierce. I know it's part of camping but if you are a bug magnet like I am, it can really affect your trip. The mosquitoes at the campsite and the biting flies on the kayak trips were pretty bad - we set up a screen room and I pretty much stayed there if we were at the site. Overall this is a great park and we will likely return again for a quick getaway. Oh, and the Irish Pub in Denton serves some great food - try the fries with provolone, bacon and ranch dressing! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This is a great spot to camp. We stayed mid week, Sunday through Tuesday and the park was effectively deserted. Only 6 of the 30 sites in the electric loop were occupied when we arrived and that dwindled to three before we left. Bath house appears to have been recently renovated, might be a bit crowded if all sites are full on a weekend. Sites are widely spaced and the packed gravel pad areas are relatively level. Approaches are paved. Some sites have large trees at the back of the pad which will limit overhang and RV length. Check the photos on the reservation site for trees. Rangers patrolled a few times each day. The entrance is not gated but the sites are not visible from the nearest road. Surrounding area is very rural. Camp area is heavily wooded making it cooler than adjacent field areas. Good walking trails are available. Biking along the paved roads is available but trails leading from the camp to the rest of the park would class as difficult for biking. Arboretum ($5 entry fee) is a good mile and a half walk to two mile walk. We did not go in, but from the visitor’s center it appeared to have a lot of interesting trails to explore. Lake is about a half mile by road/trail. Firewood for sale was green and took a lot to keep going. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
As stated by another poster, this park is a little gem. We stayed in the 30 amp electric loop, site 33. The sites are spaced out with good room and growth between them. (We are 38 feet.) The park is quiet and family orientated. For the most part sites are level, there are a few sites that wouldn't support a large motorhome. One can go on the web site and see a description and picture of the actual site, which is big plus. The sites have a heavy canopy over them, so satellite reception isn't possible, but you do pick up about 12 over the air channels. Picked up Verizon 4g with good signal. The town of St. Michaels is within driving distance, with a lot of good restaurants and shops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
This park is a real gem! A true camping experience in the outdoors. Exceptionally clean, all wooded sites. Individual site pictures available on their web site. Nice lake for fishing, kayaking, but no swimming - but lake is quite a ways from the camping area. Camp site very quiet, but nice for kids bike riding, etc. Nice hiking and bike trails thruout the park. I would guess this is at least a 1000 acre park. Camping sites are set very far apart from each other, easy to back into - very well layed out campsite. Water avaialble at various locations. Recommend sites 26, 28,30,32 - water close to #30. Wonderful arboretum within the park. There really is no bad site in the electric loop. Did not check out the non-electric sites, but assume they are the same. If you are in the area, this is definetly a "do not miss" campsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
This is a nice quiet campground on the Eastern Shore of Maryland - about 30 minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Bridge. The sites are mostly shady. There are 2 loops, one with Electricity and one without electricity. There is a lake with a nice playground and picnic area. There is also a nice creek for kayaking - best to go upstream from the lake. The creek is very shady and has a couple places with sand/gravel bar that you can get out and do some wading and splashing around. Several nice hiking trails also. A nice quiet State Park campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Nice level sites with good privacy between neighbors. Nicely maintained park. Very quiet and peaceful, especially at night. Fun playgrounds and nice paved roads for bike riding. Electric only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
Great campground located on the Delmarva peninsula around 25 miles from the bay bridge or 60 miles from the beaches in Delaware. We stayed here for five nights. Great campground for the outdoor lover. 20+ miles of hiking/mountain biking trails. Canoe and Kayak rentals on the 60 acre lake/Tuckahoe river. Pavilions for groups. Playgrounds for kids. There are two camping loops, one with electric and one without. We would recommend sites in the electric loop, 28,30,21 & 33. Water available in several paces along the loop. We are outdoor lovers so the local attractions for us were Adkins Arboretum, Chesapeake Environmental Center, and Pickering Creek Audubon Center. Looking for lunch? Try the Lilly Pad Cafe in Denton. Great shower/bathhouses. No problems with power or dump station. Note that this is a very wooded area so satellite and TV reception is non existent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We were pleasantly surprised by this campground. It is located about 9 miles off RT 301, on back roads but an easy drive in the RV. They have an electric loop and non-electric loop. We stayed on site #9 in the electric loop. Our site was perfectly level side-to-side and totally shaded. All the sites were well shaded - trees were actually so dense we had to turn the lights on during the day. There are a lot of activities nearby with a fishing pond, nature walks, public arboretum, frisbee, golf course, kayak rentals and more. The nice thing about this park is that visitors can stop by without paying a fee! It was father's day and our grown kids drove down to surprise Dad. They do patrol the campground about every hour. The only complaint I have is that the bathrooms were not well stocked and and were allowed to run out of toilet paper and soap in the course of the weekend. There are no stores close by, so make sure you don't forget anything. We will definitely go back again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
I went to this park years ago with some buddies and it was a good experience. This past May I went with the family but the experience was mixed. First it seems they changed the location of the entrance. I remember it being a lot easier to get to from 404. This is a nice park that has its own lake for fishing, boating and they have a great playground for kids. My main gripe this trip was the bugs. The ticks were awful. You didn't even have to hike to get ticks. They were literally falling out of the trees onto you while you sat by the campfire. The other thing that I have never seen before at a campground was the cockroaches. There were large flying cockroaches on the campsites. This blew me away. My sister in law was really freaked out by it and will probably never go there again. And of course I found a dear tick on me when I got home and had to get treated for Lime disease. I blame myself though. The main reason we went here is because I waited to long to reserve a site for Memorial weekend and this was the only place with sites near us. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This was a very nice campground. The sites were spread out so you didn't feel like you were right on top of others. There is a great playground and good trails. Boat rentals are available: kayaks, canoes and paddle boats. Fishing is a popular activity. No swimming, though. There were barred owls hooting all night the first night we were here and that was very neat to hear. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We stayed one night, traveling from Skyline Drive in VA to Crisfeild MD. Great park, Wooded, level sites. Nice playground area in a picnic grove setting at the entrance to the loops. We stayed at site 23 (electric loop. Shower house is central to the sites on the loop Dumpster is at site 6. There were also cabins, might be good if traveling with "non-rving" friends. Host on the electric loop was very friendly and informative. Trails lead to the lake and another, larger play area made from tires. Also an equestrian area adjacent to the park. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
This state park campground has much to recommend it: well-maintained and heavily wooded sites situated at a respectable distance from each other, scenic hiking and boating trails, boat rentals, an associated arboretum, and a number of amenities generally unavailable at Maryland state parks, including trash receptacles at each site, private showers, a well-supplied firewood shed that operates on an "honor system" basis, and soap in the restrooms. Unfortunately, these positives are undermined by a near-total lack of security after 11 p.m.: there is no gate or guard station to limit or control access to the campgrounds, no camp host at all in the non-electric loop, and no after-hours patrols. During our recent visit, this lack of security resulted in a most dangerous and unpleasant situation: a group of campers engaged in profane, angry, loud, drunken and seemingly violent conversation and argumentation throughout the night, played music at high volume until 5 a.m., and spent several late-night hours in the campground woods chopping down trees and acting in a manner that made sleep impossible for virtually all of those in the campground loop (although several attempts were made to contact the natural resources police, the spotty nature of cell phone service foiled these attempts). Unless and until the deficiencies in security are remedied, we cannot recommend this campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This campground is a hidden treasure, we camped here with a group, everyone enjoyed themselves and the facilities. Good fishing, good boating (canoes and kayaks), this campground is a 10 even though you can't get satellite, or full hookup. The naturalist came by with animals every night (walked the loops) this campground is part of the scales and tails program, the kids loved it. Lots for everyone to do at this campground and all for a bargain price. This campground is truly a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This campground could be a 10 if it had water and sewer. I just can't give a 10 without full hookups. That said, it is a great campground if you are looking for a place to relax in the woods. The sites are large and level for the most part. We were in site 23 of the electric loop. We have a 40 footer with 4 slides and there was plenty of room for both the rig and our minivan. The tree cover is too dense for sat signal but we were able to use our aircard. It is primarily a weekend campground for nearby DC area. During the middle of the week there were only 5 sites occupied in the electric loop and 3 in the non-electric loop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Great state park, very nice playgrounds, lake with fishing and boat rental, mountain biking trails, nature trails. More activities then you can do. However no satellite because of trees everywhere, but temperature is 10 degrees cooler inside the park. You can get decent TV reception on antenna. Park is clean and well maintained. Even though I didn't use restrooms others in my group did and I didn't here any complaints. Our group comes here every year and will continue to do so. Remember to fill up with water before you unhook no water at sites. Nice level sites with 30 amp. Many activities for the kids and adults. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
This is perhaps my favorite campground (close to me). Very peaceful and relaxing. Heavily treed. We camp on the outer side of the electric loop and can't see the bathhouse in the center of the loop due to the trees. Very quiet. Pet friendly but I've never seen any running loose. Toilets and showers cleaned daily but they may get dirty during the day. I've never found this to be an issue. Nice trails to walk and decent fishing/kayaking nearby. I wish they stayed open all year. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
Very nice park, with few amenities. The sites are all wooded and shaded in the electric loop. There is no water. The lake has many different varieties of fish to catch. To get to the lake, you have to walk about 15 minutes through the woods on the lake trail. Note: There is poison ivy everywhere! Overall, a nice place to spend a quiet vacation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
Simple and quiet. No Fluff, no wasted money on amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
We love this camp. I have been going here since I was a teenager. Fishing and boating on the lake are great. Hiking is wonderful, The sites are all nice and level and there is wooded area between you and the next site. Road is paved up to your pad site. Some of the sites are not well suited for slide outs so check them out good before you back in. The park ranger makes frequent passes of the camp area and we have never had any problems. I highly recommend this park if you enjoy hiking and canoeing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com