223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Lakeport State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (810) 327-6224
CGID4980

Lakeport State Park

Camp Information
Sites
251
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   8   10   10   8   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
This is a wonderful campground for families. Plenty of children in North section. If you want a more quiet experience choose the smaller South location. We enjoyed the shady trees and back-in South sites. Plenty of room for slideouts and awnings. No sewer hookup, but has dump location in the North section which is not convenient if staying longer than a few days. This is perfect location for an overnight before crossing border into Canada in AM. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Large CG with 2 sections - North and South. Do not recommend staying in the North Campground. We stayed there on site 74-basically field camping with few trees. Only shade along the outside rim sites. We were there on weekend, very crowded, little privacy and lots of noise with all the kids and more importantly the dogs. Many dogs barking even with owners sitting with them in camp! Many campers did not know how to build fires so we were bathed in lots of smoke to point we had to shut MH up and go to AC both nights. Baths are all brand new and in great shape. Showers real nice and free. Fee does not include the $29 annual park pass for EACH vehicle, MH and Toad. We plan to visit more MI CG's this season though. Otherwise fee is $7 per day per vehicle. I complained about this to no avail. Lake Huron beach is right next to the CG. Clean beach and water - nice sand. Very nice and quite long. So the rating of 4 was due to noise, lack of privacy and the outrageous $29 fees. South Campground was smaller and much more private with lots of shade. I would stay here again but only in the South Campground. Great BBQ place across the street from the CG. GO THERE. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
The camp host kept control of this park. The sites are small and very open. No lakefronts but a short walk gets you to Lake Huron. We stayed here summer 2010 and 2011. This is very close to our home which make it nice. Close to shopping and restaurants. AMAZING beach! White sand and you can find a private spot walking either way a bit. Great value for the money and we WILL return for a weekend...week might be too long as their isn't much happening. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
This campground is excellent! We have camped here every year for the last three years. The lots are nice sized and most are shaded. The highlight here is the proximity to a Great Lake! You are literally steps away from Lake Huron. This would be my only complaint and it is not even a big deal. Some sites back directly to the beach. If you have one of these sites, then you can take a wooded trail to the beach. Others can take the path that is designated for all campers to access the beach. This beach is just for campers, which is another huge bonus. They have a camp store with a ton of supplies, food, medical, beach gear, souvenirs and ice cream!!! Bathhouses are clean. There are two of them. There are about 6 private shower rooms at each bathouse, so there is hardly a wait for showers AND: there is hot water!! My family loves this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Been here a couple of times, had a great time. Sites are plenty big enough. Store stocked well. Will be coming back for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$23
This rate covers the cost of camping only. We did not have to pay the day use fee of $6/day because we told the young man that registered us that we would not be leaving the park during our stay. This is a nice campground with large sites and a very nice beach on Lake Huron.There are oak trees everywhere but they have been thinned enough to give an open feeling. I was able to use my Verizon phone and USB modem, although the signal was weak. Unfortunately, there are no, none, zilch trash cans at the campground except for the ones in the bathrooms. So you can guess where the trash ends up. The host told us this is because people kept stealing the trashcans. Hey, how about a 1000 lb dumpster? That would work. So you either hoard your trash, which is not good, put it in the bathroom (no good either), or you drive/walk about a mile to the dumpsters at the entrance. We don't have a car and so only made that walk once. The other issue is that the 30 amp service is flaky. During windy weather, the power kept going on an off. Despite the trash can and power issues, we would stay here again - it really is a nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
Very busy campground on Lake Huron. Nice "in the woods" feel to the place. Sites had ample room. Paved roads made for good bike riding. Short walk to the beach area. We really liked the beach here. Plenty of room on the beach. Good camp store. Bath houses were cleaned several times a day. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
If you are a Metro-Detroit-er, and you are looking for a nice, up-north feel without having to go too far, Lakeport is a great place to camp. The campsite is quite busy on the weekends, and typically requires a month or so advance in reservations. There is a nice mix of shady and sunny lots, with a fair amount of space to each one. The beach sits right on Lake Huron and is a bit rocky, so water shoes are a must. The restrooms and showers are clean and very well maintained, as they are cleaned a couple of times per day. All in all a great up north feel without driving 4 hours to get there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
Very nice state park on Lake Huron. Bathhouse was clean. Plenty of room on the sites. There is a daily entrance fee in addition to the site fee. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
This is a GREAT park! We camped here with out 3 year old and 6 year old, and they both had plenty to do. The beach is nearby and is a mix of sand and rocks. Water shoes are recommended. The park is split into 2 pieces, with the north piece being the campground with its own beach. The sizes of the sites varied, but all were pretty sandy. Some sites had lots of shade while others had lots of sun. The restrooms were the cleanest I have ever seen. The showers were not gender specific, so it makes it easy for families to wash their children. There are several stores just south of the campground to buy any items that you forgot (Walmart and Meijer). The city of Port Huron is well worth the drive to visit. There are many freighters traveling in and out of the river. We will return soon! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Camped in the south campground section and loved it! Huge oak trees provided plenty of shade and yet not too much. The walk to the beach was lovely and made the extra distance worthwhile. Nice little campground store in the north campground section. The site was roomy and the roads are paved and nice for bike riding (they don't have a designated bike path that I'm aware of). Lots of very beautiful foot paths through the wooded areas. Be aware that during this time of year the acorns are falling and make a lot of noise when they hit the top of the camper. The leaves were beginning to change color and this was really enjoyable to see. I definitely plan on more stays in this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$23
Clean, new restrooms & showers in the north campground. Enough trees for shade but trimmed high enough to avoid hitting the roof of even big rigs. Very visible ranger presence. Only a 2 minute walk to the shore of Lake Huron. Sites are roomy & convenient for multisite group outings. Best of all, only an hour from Metro Detroit. Nicely stocked small camp store. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$33
Well maintained. quiet. Beautiful views of lake Huron. Stayed in north campground. Had 2 new restroom/shower houses. They were better maintained than my pricey gym locker rooms. Very clean. somebody building their 'starter-castle' home right next to north edge of north CG- a lot of construction/dozer noise- recommend staying toward south edge of CG. DNR staff extremely nice, very visible. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Wonderful state campground! Lots are nice size and grassy. Had a excellent time. The Rangers are also some of the nicest people in all of the state parks ! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$23
Another one of Michigans really nice state parks. Big grassy sites with poured pads. The site we had only had electric. We stayed in the south camp ground. It was very peaceful. Just a little walk to the shore of Lake Huron. We will be definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
Is a nice family park on Lake Huron. Lots of stuff for family to do in town of Port Huron just to the south of park. Fire wood was sold inside park and had a very nice campground store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$23
Really liked this campground. Big site, quiet, clean, just a nice place to go. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
This place is very busy. Kids had a blast. The restrooms and beach was nice and clean. The rangers are nice and helpful. I would go back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$23.
The campground is split into two sections: North Campground and South Campground. The North is much larger, 194 sites, with a camp store, playground, beach access (right on Lake Huron), with smaller sites and dirt pads. Very much of a family campground with lots of tents, pop-ups, and children. A lot of activity here. The South campground is more of an RV resort with asphalt pads, wide grassy sites, lots of shade trees, and very quiet. The South Campground seems to attract more of the larger RV's, and is more popular with people seeking peace and quiet. You can't see Lake Huron from the South Campground, but you are close enough to hear the waves breaking on the beach. We've stayed here many times and it's an absolutely beautiful park. On-line or phone reservations accepted. Fills up fast on the holiday weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com