206676 User submitted reviews online!!
Modoc COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (864) 333-2272
CGID4987

Modoc COE

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
November 2007
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   8   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$10
I agree with all previous reviews except the one referring to this being “an ok campground for the weekend, but not much else.” That’s way off track. The campground is divided into multiple sections with campsites in each. Access roads are paved, sites are gravel. Each site has a picnic table, fire ring, and grill. The pull thrus are typically crescent shaped. All sites have plenty of room and are spaced well apart. Trees are abundant providing much shade, but may interfere with satellite signals without an external antenna. They don’t interfere with the lake views. Water pressure and voltage good. TV and cell signals also good. Bath facilities were clean. I did not see a laundry facility or playground. There is a train crossing at the entrance of the park that produces some noise, but only happens a few times a day. Note that all but one section is closed for the winter and it’s on a first come basis. Rate reflects a Golden Access discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$8
Great campground, if you like quiet, waterfront with just the fish jumping! We stayed one night enroute to Blue Ridge, but would have liked to explore Thurmond Lake more. Maybe next time. Don't bring the kids unless they love to fish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
This is an okay campground for the weekend but not for much else. My site was a pull through and very tough to into. Had a huge tree that caused me much trouble to get into site. Unlike the other COE's I have been to there is no beach area for swimming and some sites have a huge hill that you have to be careful with little ones. Only one playground and dump station also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
We have camped here several times and enjoyed ourselves each time. It is a nice park with nice sites. Most are level; all are waterfront; and they all have picnic tables and fire rings. This park is great if you have a watercraft. About the only negative is that some of the sites are a good ways from the bath houses so be sure to check this out when reserving a site unless you like to walk. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
Stayed at this campground twice this summer. The Hosts were outstanding and the park was excellent. Water levels were very low. We saw plenty of wild life in and around the camp site. Outside facilities were very scant. You have to travel 15 mile to a grocery store. Very quiet and friendly park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$23
What a great park! My family lives 40 miles from this park. They all think the park is just alright, but they also visit it alot more than most. This was my first time camping in a state park and i was impressed at the size of 90 percent of the sites. Very woody and secluded sites. We had a site pretty close to the bath house so of course we heard the doors closing at all hours. The park has its own boat ramp if you want to bring your boat. We parked the boat right in front of our site. There was a steep hill to get to the water but with careful navigation it was ok. We were there over memorial day weekend and it was full. You wouldn't know it because of the way the sites were layed out. Overall great experience and a definite change from the packed up close "resort type" campgrounds. We booked a site for a 5 day stay in august before we left, cant wait to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
This is a beautiful, quite and well maintained campground on Lake Thurmond or Clarks Hill lake if your from GA. Sites are spaced out nicely with plenty of trees and great views of the lake. No supplies in campground but there is a small grocery/bait store with limited supplies 2 minutes outside the grounds. Augusta, GA is about a 20 min ride if you need some city life or more ample supplies, otherwise Modoc is pretty rural. Boat ramps to launch your boat and some small playgrounds for the kids. Sunsets over the lake are awesome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com