215122 User submitted reviews online!!
Greenbelt Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (301) 344-3948
CGID4989

Greenbelt Park

Camp Information
Sites
174
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   8   1   8   9   7   6   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2013
$16
Interior of park continues to be infested with massive amounts of ticks in 2013. We kept our dog inside our RV except for potty breaks, and she still got multiple ticks on leg and under ear flap, even with Frontline Plus II. Tree limbs need to be pruned and trimmed back away from the roads, continues to be a problem in 2013, too. Good AT&T iPhone signal. Virgin Mobile Wi-Fi card service too weak to use inside this park. The only thing about this park that brings us back is the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$8
Stayed one night, $8 with Senior Pass. Very nice campground, good hosts. This is not a well known campground. Right near highway. Hiking trails which are kept up. No amenities. Helicopters stopped around 7:30. Bathrooms were heated (no showers), hot water. But, as others have indicated, they are in need of an upgrade. Water available. We will probably stay here on our way back to MA because it's really like camping without the frills. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
Too many ticks. They have not fixed the problem in years. We live across the street in heavily wooded Old Greenbelt, and there are no ticks like here. Too many low branches sticking into loop roads and campsites. Management needs to trim more. Most of the sites are unlevel. Beautiful park and great location and price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
With other nearby RV parks charging upwards of $70 a night, this conveniently located park is a steal. Big rigs can fit in the D loop, and the park is not at all crowded. This is a beautiful wooded park, and campground is about 2.5 miles deep into the park. But all city conveniences are located just outside the entrance. Most RVers apparently are turned off by the lack of any hook-ups. However the park is well shaded, so we didn't even need air conditioning. You can run your generator til 10pm. A dump/refill station is available. Self-register and pick a site. A mile walk to public transportation. We stayed 6 days and that wasn't even long enough to take in all the free museums and attractions in D.C. Free concerts every night at the Kennedy Center. The park has a 14 day limit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$8
Rate quoted is with National Parks Senior Pass. This is Washington DC's best kept secret. Park police training facility on site so good security. Good air TV signal. Good Verizon phone & data. No reservations available or needed. This is our 5th time here. We stayed a week. About 2 miles to two different transit stations. Dump station and water available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$16
Nice rustic campground. Easy to spot deer. Easy access off beltway. Pretty good big rig access in the D loop. We have a 40 motorhome and I don't like tree limbs touching it. The dump station is located in the C loop and the trees were not trimmed very well in that loop. We only stayed two nights so we did not use the dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
We are travelling in a self contained bus and were quite pleased with this campground. Dry camping, sewer dump and drinking water included in fee, access for our 45' bus without problems, we used site 111 loop D, and moved in and out with ease. Dump station is in the back of loop C. Pick site, then pay and register, first come first served. Lots of ticks and chiggers when we visited, but close to Washington, and no problems driving to the city with our family of 9 (cheaper than the Metro). 2 and 3 hours free street parking on the mall nearest the Capitol. Free city parking in East Potomac Park lot, near the Lincoln Memorial- about a 12-15 min walk to the national mall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$8
Price with Senior Pass. Water and dump is available. Sites paved but not real level. Great cell and Verizon data. About 2 miles from transit stations. Never crowded in spring or fall (haven't tried it in summer). This is our forth time here and will always come back due to the reasonable price. No reservations needed. Stayed one week this time. One bath has a shower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
We went to this park during Memorial Day weekend. The Campground Hosts were wonderful and very helpful. During the weekend, the showers and bathrooms were filthy but on the Monday and Tuesday they were much cleaner. The shower curtains were moldy and the plumbing needed work. There was a posted warning about ticks and chiggers and they were not kidding. Every evening that I was outside I came in with at least six of the critters on me until I started soaking myself in deet. The park is a lovely gem so close to DC but the bathrooms and the critters made it less then pleasant to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
Great campground for a dry campground. Perfect location, close to DC and everything. Price was great. No hookups, but there are sewer dump and fresh water fill. We were able to get our 43 ft. motorhome in. Sites are asphalt paved. Most are unlevel. But ours was perfectly level. Just look around for a level one. Check-in was self-check-in, just drop the money in the box. There are ticks, so just be aware and remove whenever you see one on your body or dog. Bathrooms do need to be updated, very old, and dead bugs. But for the location, the price, the paved RV pad, and the perfect levelness of our particular site, the campground gets a 9. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
We stayed here at the beginning of February, had snow on the ground! Only one or two other campers in the whole park. Used it as a base for going into Smithsonian and other DC sites. One day took the Metro train in from nearby station and parked car at station. Next day drove the car into capital area. Nice wooded campground with good buffer between other roads. Various stores and grocery choices just outside the park. Right off highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$16
This is a good campground. Normal Forest Service spacing of sites. The rest rooms were clean and warm. A nice campground for the DC area. Yes, we would stay again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$8
As others have said, if you can dry camp this is a real find. It is so close to everything, but when you return from sightseeing, etc. you are in a quiet, green wonderland. Very safe, very cheap (especially with our Sr. discount). And having such wonderful hiking trails (and biking) right there was an extra treat. Given that the nearest private campground (albeit with full hookups) was $55 per night, we were VERY happy here. And we got good TV via our digital antenna box, both had strong cellphone signals, and even got "three bars" on our air card for computer internet. The only complaint was that the restrooms are very plain - pretty clean but very basic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
Some loops they reserve for groups like the boy scouts etc. Loops A and D were open on this June weekend so it was not full but they do take reservations non site specific from Memorial Day to Labor Day. No hookups of any kind but at least one restroom in each loop has a shower. The NPS needs to put some money into redoing the bathrooms etc but that is the only complaint I have. We camped there for two nights. This was during the heatwave and though it was hot it was not unbearable staying there. Very shaded with some nice breeze blowing through. Saw one raccoon and we had deer in our campsite during most of the day they are not afraid at all. There are picnic areas in this park and a number of nice walking trails. Off of loop D there is a trail that goes to the Greenbelt Metro to hop into DC. It is about a mile to walk there. This park is amazing – it has over 1100 acres and it is just 12 miles from downtown DC. It is beautiful. I was surprised how safe it was and very quiet. The host was excellent. Best of all they have sheds of free firewood for your fires at night. They have about two bins in each loop and they fill them everyday. This is close to route 1 and the University of Maryland and when you pull out you are on 193 so there are a number of restaurants around the park and near the University. There are some ranger programs at night but you need to check the schedule and they also have guided walks. Some of the trails are also for those with their own horses. Great park and it is open all year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
If you can dry camp, this is a jewel. Beautiful forest setting with lots of room between sites and a quiet setting. They honor the Golden passport so the $16 rate becomes $8! We paid $50+ for a site at nearby Cherry Hill but, it has a lot of amenities so it is not a fair comparison. Rangers patrolled a lot and the park seemed very secure. We have a 35' motor home and had no trouble on D loop, the only loop open in March. We enjoyed our stay and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$14
We checked out this campground as an alternative to Cherry Hill. It is winter so there were not many people there. Used Loop D but it is closing, I think for the winter; use Loop B instead. Site was barely long enough for our 33' motorhome. But is was large and paved. Park was very clean. Campgrounds are about 3 miles from entrance so you may need a car or other method of transportation. We had a deer come up to our camp site. No hook ups but dump station in CG. Nice campground for scout and other youth groups. They have a special loop for the groups. We will return to Greenbelt because of its location and price but our motorhome has a generator and everything we will need. Quiet hours are 10PM to 6AM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$14
Campground has four loops. Loop D is intended for larger RVs and trailers, over 30 feet. There are no hookups but there is a dump station (one station). This is a very wooded park and sites are large. Quiet area even though near major highways. Facilities are somewhat dated, probably due to NPS budget problems so that is reason for lower rating. This is an excellent spring/fall park but would be more challenging in summer due to lack of electricity for air-conditioning. On my visit, camped in loop D, where mix was about 50/50 tents and RVs. Many users were from outside the Washington Metro area. An inexpensive way to camp near Washington, DC, for those with experience to handle the constraints of limited RV services. There is a walking path to subway located on loop D at about site 145; ranger told me distance is about 1.5 miles. Need to be able to drive because camping is located several miles from park entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com