223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Timber Lake was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (260) 672-3251
CGID4993

Camp Timber Lake

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   7   8   7   9   9   10   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
We really enjoyed camping at Camp Timber Lake. The staff members were very friendly and helpful. The campground is in a rural area, and we were able to walk the dogs both in the campground and out on the country roads. The campground has a zip line tour which I really enjoyed. This was my first experience of zip lining, and the guides were very thorough in the training (on a low zip line) and very safety conscious at every point in the tour which includes 8 zips and 4 bridges. The last zip is 1000 feet over a lake. Lots of fun!!! We will definitely stay here when we come through Indiana again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
Our site (#54) was extremely level, but some were very rutted and sloped. Both the interior roads and the road leading to the park are gravel and very dusty. The office lady was very friendly. However, the reasons for the lower rating were: 1) the dump station is very poorly located. We had to back up and pull forward several times to maneuver our 37 foot MH close enough to use. Anything longer would have been out of luck and 2) they charge $5 each to launch our own kayaks onto their lake! A first for us in 8 years of full-timing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
We decided that staying at CTL would be close enough to take a day trip to tour all the museums in Auburn, Indiana. It is definitely out in the country, really gives your GPS a work out to navigate to it through all the corn lined rural roads. In some spots the farmers planted their corn rows very close to the county road. The corn stalks were now too tall to see over and you have to watch out for blind intersections. Our RV site had W/E/S, was graveled, but not very level. The water hookup was inside a culvert-type pipe sticking up out of the ground. The WiFi worked well at our site, and about 18 channels came in on antenna TV. There were a lot of seasonal residents living in our area but during the week, CTL was a quiet country campground. Not sure about weekends. CTL advertises a 16 acre stocked lake (no fishing license needed), and they also rent boats. There's a swimming beach (no lifeguard) and a playground. The family that owns and runs CTL appears to be constantly working on improvements. Their office/supply store is newly constructed as well as the restroom/shower/laundry building. There are 6 individual shower rooms that are separate from the public restroom area. Each had a plastic chair and good supply of hot water. All utilities were clean and in good working order. They also had 3 log cabins they rent that looked similar to KOA Kabins. They had electricity, A/C, heat, a mini fridge & microwave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
Weekly rate. Site was a tad small side-to-side and a bit unlevel with mud ruts from spring rains before us. Most sites where we were are permanent /seasonals. Not sure about the other half of the property. Family-owned and run, and they are working like crazy on improvements. It's a beautiful spot. Restrooms are excellent. For families, there is a nice playground and swimming hole separate from the lake which is for fishing, and we enjoyed a little kayaking there. Definitely a place to return to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
As the previous reviewers have noted this park is in a beautiful wooded setting, nestled around a lake. The lake is stocked and fishing is free for campers with no license required. Swimming is allowed in a smaller pond next to the large lake. The grounds are well kept although we did notice some trash here and there. We did have some issues though. First, few of the sites are level, especially those that are not occupied by seasonal campers. We had to block up the rear wheels of our motorhome so they'd stay in contact with the ground when we put the levelers down. One of the reasons we picked Camp Timber Lake was because previous reviewers had noted that it was quiet. It was anything but! They are constructing an addition onto the office and the hammering, banging and construction equipment noise went on all day and into the evening. Then there was the shooting. Neighbors evidently have a shooting range and we heard everything from small arms fire to what sounded like artillery! On the plus side, the owners were very friendly and provided an ice cream social on Saturday night that was much appreciated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Camp Timber Lake is set in the woods around a small lake, a very lovely setting. The campground iwas exceptionally quiet the week we were here. There is no swimming but there is fishing and boating, facility rents boats. They accept Passport America for M-W thus the weekly rate is a bit less. Our site was level, and from looking around, others were also. A train runs by but is hardly noticeable. What is notable is the percent of sites used by seasonal RVers, that is, a full 30 or 40% are blocked off. Additionally, about half sites on the water have electric only. Site 34, where we stayed is right next to the showers, thus has safety lights on all night, this required shutting the shaded, blocking some of the breeze. Would advise against this site. Also, some folks light large fires then leave them burning all night. We love the smell of a fire outdoors but woodsmoke in the Rv can be an irritant. Would definitely stay again!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$13
We stayed at the campground for a full year that is why the price was set at about 13.00 per night. The owner show a lot of pride in the campground and have been constantly making improvements. They are also very nice people. There is a nice swimming pond and a few fishing lakes. Other campers and seasonals are usually very nice. Lot of areas to walk your dogs. The camp store is fairly small. When it rains, it does get fairly muddy but the owner are addressing it. The only reason I did not give a 10 is the water connectors are underground even in the summer months, makes it somewhat difficult to connect your water hoses. If we move away from the area and come back up I would definitely come back to this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
Beautiful park. Young owners are very friendly and is very evident they work hard in improving the grounds. They had just transplanted several trees throughout the campground to compliment the wooded part of the grounds. They only have 4 pull throughs, but they have added very large 60'+ back in sites that are easy to maneuver in with a big rig. WiFi was available. There were only about half of the sites occupied with permanent RVs, which were the smaller sites anyways. Bathrooms were very clean. We would love to have stayed longer to enjoy the fishing lake. Definitely a destination campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
We chose this campground because their website advertised Wi-Fi, but when we got there, they said they were not allowed to give the password out anymore. There was no discount for the lack of this service. The campground is in an isolated area surrounded mostly by cornfields. It is attractive since the sites are mostly clustered around a small fishing lake. The prettiest spots, with trees and along the lake, are taken by well-kept long-term trailers/RVs that appear to be used as vacation homes. The transient sites were pull-through and lined up directly next to each other close enough that it was easy to hear noise from adjacent campers, even though they were not being excessively noisy. There is a pleasant, short walking path that goes around the fishing pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Most sites at this park are occupied by long term residents. Only a few sites in the older section are available for transients, and most of those most suitable to small rigs. Management is friendly and park is neat and clean. It's several miles from the interstate. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
A beautiful little park run by a friendly young couple. They have worked hard to make the park sparkling clean, family friendly, and very welcoming. Several seasonal rigs were in place, and their owners even planted flower gardens around them. Shady sites both on or near the lake are generously sized. Rustic tent camping is available. A swimming lake, playground, pavilion, boat launch and boat rentals are all available. Also on site are a small store and laundry facilities. Definitely a place we would return to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$27
Pros - This campground is owned and run by a wonderful young couple working very hard to build on and improve their campground. Sites have either a view of or are on a very nice 9 acre lake. Great for overnight or relaxing vacation in Indiana countryside. Cons - The campground has tight turns getting into sites. We camped in a 36' fifth wheel and were OK larger rigs beware. Summary: New larger sites are being built to accommodate larger rigs available spring '08 large rigs should call ahead. If you like to fish and camp you will like this one ! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
This is a small park that was very quite. The owners are a very nice young couple that provide outstanding service including delivery of firewood to your site. There is a walking trail around the lake and a disc golf course. The showerhouse is modern and very clean. If you are looking for a quiet site on or near a small fishing lake, this place is perfect. We will definitely return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$13
Camped here on PA. Park is not suitable for large units when it is muddy. We almost got stuck. Turns very shape to get to the pull thru sites. Very nice mangagement and beautiful location. We camped here in 40' MH. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$28
Super nice owner/maintenance. Excellent service, very happy we stopped and stayed here. Beautiful, peaceful park like setting. Definitely will go back again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com