220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Capilano RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (604) 987-4722
CGID4996

Capilano RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
209
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$66



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   3   7   7   7   9   5   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$66
Reviews of how narrow the sites are not lying. Our awning can only go half way out and we had to have employee move neighbors awning on other side so we can get our slide out (he grumbled about why they let wide rigs in the park). When I called for reservations, I was told the 50 amp had more space...NOT TRUE. There are mostly permanents in the 50 amp area so you will be packed in. 30 amp rows, while still a lot of perms, had more open spaces, so you might not have someone next to you. If you have a 5th wheel with slides, best bet is to get next to a Class C (which again means getting 30 amps). We cut down our stay here as we will be getting claustrophobic soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$59
This could be a great park with 150 sites. The problem is they have stuffed 209 sites into the location. Sites have a concrete pad 8 feet wide and there is 10 feet of grass between the pads. Most motor homes are wider than 8 feet so one walks on the grass regardless of how one parks. OK if it's dry, but different in the rain. With slides out on adjacent vehicles, there is no space for the picnic table. And the rig behind us was three feet from our rear. Interior roads are narrow. We had to move our dingy which was parked on our site (at 9:00 p.m.) so a trailer could maneuver into the site across from us. Tight quarters to say the least. And the indifferent office staff (borderline rude) didn't help either. Fortunately we were in the front of the park. Sites at the rear get a lot of road noise from the highway a short distance away. Lots of long term residents despite the high price. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$57
Location to the City of Vancouver is ideal. With that said, I must also indicate some of the faults. With a 40' MH, you are limited in the number of spaces that are available. Also, your next door neighbor is Really Close. With my small slide, I had to ask my neighbor if he could bring his awning in (that's pretty close!). The Wi-Fi there is very spotty and again very slow. TV reception by Cable is poor. Lots of tent campers and smaller camper. Your only other option is in Burnaby and it's also has really tiny (based on USA standards) spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Very clean park. Sites were close together. Pool was dirty. Bathrooms were very clean, and the showers were wonderful; the best I've seen at a campground in North America. It is very close to the Lions Gate Bridge, which connects West Vancouver to downtown Vancouver, therefore it is 10 minutes from downtown Vancouver, and even closer to Stanley Park; however, the traffic noise is awful. Great park if you want to stay right in Vancouver, just don't forget your ear plugs! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$60
Wi-Fi was the biggest headache while here. Really needed to use our Verizon Jetpack which required purchasing extra data capacity. The sites are very narrow, but doable. Biggest plus is the location, as we had a conference downtown to attend. Campground also central to tourist sites like Suspension Bridge, Stanley Park and Granville Island. Took the ferry from Horseshoe Bay to Nanaimo then back from Swartz Bay to Tsawassen. Good drives both AM and PM when visiting Victoria. Clean park, good laundry, staff OK, maybe new employee up front, so a little confusing at first, esp as we added a day on front of stay and no 50 amp available. Didn't need it as cool weather, so stayed in 30 amp site. Tree prevented satellite, which was a bummer. Some long term campers there. Would stay there again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$44
Good, clean park, nothing outstanding but nothing bad either. Did have problems with their Wi-fi but managed to connect to one called Linksys. I suspect this is the office one and luckily we parked close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
We really enjoyed the location to Vancouver and the walking paths along the river. The bathhouse was one of the nicest we have experienced. The park is well-maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
BE CAREFUL! They have a very convoluted idea of what partial service is. It's not water and electric as most other CG's use - it's 15 amp only and water. If you want 30 amp they use a different description. 15 amp service is caused by a 30 amp receiver with a 15 amp breaker. Is a little tight too. I'd guess 15' for the previously mentioned 15 amp partial sites. Wi-Fi is very strong and fairly fast. Gray Lines will pick you up at the park for their "City Tour". It's good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
This park was a great place for us to view Vancouver from. It's very clean and the staff are very friendly. The pool was kept immensely clean, the showers / bathrooms were also in good working order and cleaned regularly. Laundry was cheap ($2.00 per load) and the playground was great for kids. Would recommend requesting site close to playground as kids had a blast. The only reason this isn't a 10 and something to consider, the noise of the Lion's Gate was hard to adjust to. In a tent trailer, it was quite loud. Bring earplugs! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$62
We made reservations in March of 2011. At the time of the reservations we were told that the amenities included Wi-Fi throughout the park, cable, 30/50 amp hook ups, pets OK, and the nightly fee was $49.00. Upon arrival were were charged $62.00 per nite, no cable, only hot spot Wi-Fi, no pets, no 50 amp service, and a site that is so narrow our awnings touch the neighbors. When we questioned the nightly rate we were quoted, we were basically told that they would not honor anything that was previously quoted, and yes were were indeed getting less services for more money. We were never given a courtesy call to inform us of the increase in fees and the decrease in service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$75
Very nice park and the only one of two in and near Vancouver that takes pets. Very tight spots but very pretty cedar hedges throughout. Not a great place to stay if you plan on staying put (due to tightness) but if you're there to sight see, very nice, clean and secure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$67
I reserved a spot at this RV park for 3 nights. Good thing I called to confirm the morning of my check-in because they had me coming in the next day! When I checked in they failed to ask me for my AAA card and I had forgotten to enter it online when I made my reservation. When I heard them ask another customer 2 days later I asked if I could get a refund of the 10% since I am also a AAA member. She said yes and I proceeded to get my CC to give her. When I came back with my card she told me I should have paid better attention because it was too late. Also, spaces are so cramped that we moved spots 3 times, when we opened our slide out in 1 spot it went over the next person's picnic table! When I mentioned this to the lady in the office she told me that I should just leave since it wasn't good. She also told me that if I write bad reviews I will be blacklisted and not allowed to stay there any more (I have no intention of ever going back there)! The main bathrooms and showers are also moldy and very dirty. Do not stay here unless you don't mind sleeping with the neighbors and getting a fungal infection! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
We had a site right next to the road so you could still hear all the traffic.It is good enough for camping for a night or two. It is close to everything. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$44
Very friendly reception. Park even helped us park our fifth wheel. Very clean restrooms. We found the sites quiet, private, level cement pads and Cedar hedges in the rear. Propane available at a good price. Excellent location for all points of interest. Close to public transit. No pet policy was a pleasant change. Nice clean pool and hot tub I would highly recommend this spot to stay. Good RV wash as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
This park is OK for an overnight, but I wouldn't want to spend more than that. It's old, crammed, and does not give a relaxing feeling. I would not recommend this park to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$46
OK for a night stay, but wouldn't recommend for an extended stay.feels old and run down not much to do for families, but for great access to Vancouver and Stanley park, this is a good camp spot. the highway is close, and there is some noise, but it's not to bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
An old, run down park. Very tiny sites. Slide outs of neighbors almost touch each other. The only advantage: location. Park is pretty dirty. Most sites occupied by long term users. Overcrowded and loud. Satellite not working (high trees) but no Wi-Fi. Management does not appear to care about anything but making money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$48
The park is well maintained but the sites are very small (narrow), cable TV was good if satellite doesn't connect, Cell phone coverage was good, however, in ROAMING mode on Verizon (USA). Air data card was all broadband coverage, No WiFi in park, additional $3 fee per pet. Easy access to mall and shopping, 2 blocks away. Recommend "Beach House at Dundarave Pier" for lunch ($18-25) or dinner ($22-35) great location & views along the waterfront just west of the park 3km. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Primary advantage is location, 5 minute walk to Park Royal shopping malls and HQ for buses to downtown. Easy walk/bike across Lions Gate bridge (though the height made me queasy) to Stanley Park. No WiFi, improperly latching toilet doors, late-opening laundry, extra charge for pets. Not scenic, but satisfactory - except for lack of either WiFi or HiSpeed Internet access which we deemed unacceptable in this day and age. There was no Internet cafe nearby except the expensive Cactus Club near Whole Foods, 3/4 mile walk away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
This is a parking lot with hookups and generally a pit of a campground. It's the closest park to Vancouver which is right over the bridge. Negatives include small, tight sites, cost, and road/bridge noise. The only positive is that this park is close to a major shopping area and Vancouver. Would not stay here again. Would stay out in Surrey and drive into Vancouver. We were in a motorhome and at least we had insulation from the traffic noise. We felt sorry for the tent people who were less than 12 feet from the busy road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
The Capilano Rv Park is nice for the location but not for the service. Smile is an option. Tents are allowed but there is no facilities to make a fire and no facilities as a kitchenette to make our food. We don't even have access to a sink to do our dishes. Don't ask for too much information, you could disturb them. Really not satisfied, except for the ocean and the nature near by. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$45
This is by far the closest campground to the big city. It is not long on amenities and the power is iffy at best, views are a non issue there are none. But one is only a 5 minute drive into the city center which is a major plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
Excellent locale close to the city of Vancouver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$33
A great(and only) place to camp in Vancouver. The location is great for access to Stanley Park, downtown, buses, shopping, seawall, beaches, mountains, etc. We were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was despite being located right below the Lion's Gate Bridge, a main artery into the city. Proximity to the Capilano River drowned out the traffic noise. Staff were most helpful and cheerful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com