214623 User submitted reviews online!!
Glowing Embers RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 47 user reviews. Phone: (780) 962-8100
CGID5011

Glowing Embers RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
288
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   2   1   3   4   1   7   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$47
Easy access from highway. Office staff quite friendly. Most sites are incredible crowded, ugly, but we were given one of the best 5 in the full campground, next to grassy area with playground. Noise from the highway can be heard even after midnight. We are just passing by so that's OK with us. Wi-Fi does not work, in case you see the ad on the Milepost and head here in search of Wi-Fi. I work even when I travel and to me it's important to have access from my site, so I can get up early and do work from my site. If I had been given a site in other areas of the campground I would have probably asked for a refund. I am very happy about the site we got, but pretty much everything else is quite dumpy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
We were disappointed in this park. While it has a above average Good Sam rating, it appeared rough around the edges. Restroom stalls were painted a dark brown, almost black, color. Made it very hard to see. Laundry had several out of order machines. One quit while we were using it. Roads were very dusty. In fairness there has been a large influx of pipeline construction workers that, while nice people, their vehicles contribute to the excess dust and dirt in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2014
$50
What a dump!! Sites are very close together, some permanent folks units are so old and dilapidated they are held together with ratchet straps and duct tape... No lie!! Interior roads are dusty and rutted. No dogs are allowed within the park. The back pull through sites are next to a storage lot that contains some units that came over on the Mayflower. Oh, the rates are much too high for what you get as well. Only positive was that the sites were fairly level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
Just like most reviewers have said, this is a place where most sites seem to be taken by people living there. The roads are littered with construction trucks, and it definitely doesn't create a nice camping ambiance. I reserved a 30amp site, but when I got there, they only had a 50amp site for me. My trailer does not use 50 amps. The cost for a 50 amp site is more than it is for a 30 amp site, but do you think they would only charge me for a 30 amp site since they changed me to a 50 amp site? NO! They charged me for 50 amps. I will never stay here again based on this! No fire pits either so not sure how it can be named "Glowing Embers". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Basically a big, dusty, trailer village. No ambiance. 95% of people are permanent. OK for a night or two but not as a destination. Not much choice close to Edmonton, and this may be as good as it gets. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Hidden behind RV storage and RV rental and RV repair shop, is this huge campground/workers encampment. Most of the sites are occupied by permanent residents. Some big rigs overflowed their sites. The office staff all seemed new and couldn't answer the most basic questions such as "Do you sell newspapers?". Highway noise was very noticeable. The most remarkable problem was the constantly overflowing dumpsters. Every morning there would be enough to fill another dumpster on the ground around the three they had. Then, in the morning, the overflow would be gone but the dumpsters still full. We never saw the fitness center unlocked. Ditto one of the women's washroom doors. The washrooms were clean but aging, with plenty of showers. Sites were clean but basically dirt, that is, mud in rain, dust when dry. If you like the sound of diesel trucks leaving for work at 5:30AM, this park is for you. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Sites are way too small. If you do plan on staying here make sure you tell them that your trailer is about 10 feet longer than it is because you won't get a site that you can actually park your vehicle in. Most all vehicles are parked in the main driving aisle, making backing in to your site near impossible. They do not clean the sites after the previous tenants. There was garbage left on our picnic table. Sites are very unkempt and unclean. Grass is uncut. Sites are not level and maybe 15 feet across. There are little to no trees between sites or any type of privacy. It's like they don't care about their campers but are very eager to take your money. Our sewer cap was missing when we arrived at our campsite, and our breaker kept tripping all night. I will never stay here again, and I will never recommend that anyone stay at this 'park'. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
We were surprised at how many sites were occupied, many by workers in the area and some had been here quite a while. The facilities were not as unkempt as the previous reviewer mentioned and the showers and washrooms were immaculate, clean and large. WiFi was great; TV was minimal by antenna only. We would come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
From the road the park looked OK, but the nice shaded sites are taken by the long timers. Overnighters are put in a glorified full hookup, short, pull through in the back by the storage area. The park can't help it that the industrial park next door is being graded and there are constant dust storms, but it was a big disappointment. The pet areas were nonexistent. Trash is all over the place. We moved the next day to a better place just down the road and the price was about the same. Everyone to their own opinion - we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$47
This is a very large park that is obviously popular and is quite full, I would assume during high season, since that is when we were there. We stayed in the back section near their storage area, which was nice and quiet, and accommodated big rigs. We had a slight problem with their 50 amp power, but the front desk allowed us to move. We had pets. They do have pet areas, but they could be larger. Still we did not have a problem, but if we were to stay longer we might reconsider. All in all this is still a good campground with a very friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
Very convenient to Edmonton, about 10 miles. About 6 miles to Edmonton Mall. This is not a park to be in the rain and we were. There's more mud than gravel so it's a mess in the rain. We were in a pull-through in the back of the park. Internet in this area was spotty but very good in the main building. Friendly staff. We stayed here 3 days, 2 more than planned for mechanical and weather delays. The trash cans and restrooms are at the front of the park. Not real convenient if you're at the back of the park. Good 50 amp power. We were in a full hookup pull-through. The site was 40 feet long, so our 45-footer stuck out. There's a very wide road in front of the site, so it wasn't hard to get in or out off. Location, location, location! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$42
Very large park with a lot of long term occupants. Over night sites are at the back of the park and it is a long walk to the restrooms showers. Sites are close but adequate. Hookups are very convenient. The negative is the Wi-Fi. This is my second stop here and connecting to the Wi-Fi is hit and miss. You can connect but not have internet access for hours. When I asked about it at the front office, they basically said "oh well". Don't advertise access if you don't get access. I won't stay here again. Better places with better services for the $$. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$36
This is a huge park with a lot of permanently parked units. The bathrooms were clean, and the laundry room was large, clean and reasonably priced. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
Aging park: dusty when dry, a mud hole when rainy. Wi-Fi rarely works and when questioned about it, was told the system was old and unrepairable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Actual price was $35.91 in Canadian Funds and includes a GoodSam Discount. This is a huge campground just west of Edmonton, Alberta and is a stopping point for those heading to or returning form Alaska. It’s just minutes from west Edmonton Mall. Pay showers, 1 “Looney” for about 5 minutes, but plenty of hot water. Free Wi-Fi worked well. Huge laundry too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Spots were tight with cars/trucks in the driving lane. Hard to get our 40 ft backed in. Space was not really adequate for a 40 ft, but we managed. Roads were very muddy and pitted, although I did see them working to flatten them out. Not enough gravel, though. Wi-Fi was horrible. I couldn't even get it to work in the rec room right next to the office. Had to go to Starbucks in town. Quiet park, but not much area to walk the dog. Mosquitoes were terrible. We planned to stay again on a return through Edmonton, but opted for Walmart for the 1 nite. I'd plan my trip around this area next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Arrived after a rainstorm and the interior roads were muddy, not enough gravel and rutted. The supposedly pull through site required us to unhook or tow vehicle. The site was only long enough for the 40 ft MH. WiFi worked poorly at our site on the back of the park. Lots of permanent setups and long term users. Would try to plan trip to avoid stopping here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Rate for 6 people - we stayed 2 nights. Tight sites but okay. We had a back in that had hook ups at the back of the site - you need lots of water hose and power cable. Bathrooms/ showers/ laundry okay - pay showers - $1 for 5 minutes. Internet didn't work at our site - we had to go to the main building. Very friendly and helpful staff - seems like a family owned/run business. Lots of seasonals, but I wouldn't really consider it a destination campground. More than adequate for a couple nights, and close to West Edmonton Mall. Watch out for the speed bumps, they are very harsh. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
This campground is well located; lots of shopping, stores, restaurants nearby. A very nice office/store/laundry. The shower/bathrooms are nice, but you have to pay a $1 to shower, something of a turnoff for me. The sites well spaced. No fire ring in our site. Roads are dirt, so lots of dust in the air. Would be unpleasant in rainy weather. Staff is very friendly, except for the guy that drives around in his pickup and tells you your toad is parked wrong, and your RV is back too far! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
This place is BIG - kind of its own little RV city. The sites are fairly close together, but the room is adequate and the park is pretty quiet overall. The registration office was efficient, if not overly personable. Not a destination park, but not bad if you want/need to visit Edmonton. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Overall, one of the better places we have been to. This is the second time we have stopped here, because of the location in relation to Edmonton. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
Nice CG, though a bit pricey. Has a pleasant staff, good facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Nice park. We stayed four nights, staff was very friendly. Maintenance guys were always doing something. Park is well maintained. Wi-Fi was strong at our site. The park is on the edge of town but has good access to the various freeways and bypasses. Easy to get to and from the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Nice quiet campground. Spots a little small and crowded parking Showers cost money. Girls in office very helpful. No pool or cable for this price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We stayed at Glowing Embers for two nights on our way back south from Alaska. This is a very large park and pretty nice. My only complaint would be the advertised Wi-Fi. You are only able to connect if you are at the office or right next to the office. Once you get 50 feet away from the building, you lose your connection, so you can't get it at your site. Our site was large with a nice grassy area and picnic table. The bathrooms are large and clean. The showers are a little small, but the water is hot and refreshing and they only charge $1 for about 5-7 minutes. We stayed here about 3 years ago, and if we ever come back through Edmonton, we will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
When we first spotted this park, we thought it was an RV dealership, because there were so many RVs parked so close together. This is a big, professional park with a big, professional office and all the amenities. Our pull-through spot was level and easy to get into. We were close to our neighbors without any trees or shrubbery to provide privacy, but the space was adequate. I liked the grass and picnic table. The long-term slots tend to have shade and a little more privacy. The short-term slots do not. The “library” was a large, overheated room with almost no books and some magazines. The laundry room was large and well maintained, but did not allow children—an exclusion we thought was odd. We loved the gift shop and playground. The bathrooms were okay, but they were very far from our site, and we didn’t use the showers. The dumpsters were also very far from our space. I would stay here again, but it’s a little on the expensive side for what you get (especially considering how far we were from most things). We got the Good Sam rate (10% discount). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$43
I agree with the above reviewers on the sites being in the back 40. It is mostly a residential campground with a few sites for overnighters. Those sites are in the back of the park and behind row after row of stored RVs. No view whatsoever. It rained while we were here and there was plenty of mud to go with the gravel. The site was level. Big rig toads have to be parked at 90 degrees to the motorhome. Spaces are wide enough apart. There is grass beside each and a picnic table. Staff was very friendly and helpful. No pet accommodations other than the strip of grass running beside the park. The fee of $43 is Canadian dollars after the Good Sam Discount. There is no cable TV. About 5 stations available on antenna and nothing we wanted to watch. Wi-Fi was good in the off-peak times and slow to not available during "rush hour". The park was okay but the fee way too high for what you get. Some road noise from two intersecting highways nearby and we heard a couple of trains during the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
There are few RV parks near Edmonton especially the West Edmonton Mall so it is here or nothing else. I read some reviews about dust, and etc. However we did not have any problems with this. Also even though near two major highways the road noise was minimal. We had our grandchildren with us and the play area was ideal. There are a lot of long term residents here and they have trees. The transients seem to be in the back forty which is a moderate walk to the main office, restaurant, abd store. It was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Very large park with mostly permanent residents. Check-in was smooth. Staff were friendly and helpful. It's on the outskirts of Edmonton but access to the city and West Edmonton Mall was quite easy from the freeway. Freeway noise was not noticeable. Bathrooms were large and clean with lots of showers. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
We were assigned a pull through site near the back of the park. Site was very muddy so we called the office to ask to move to the site next to us that wasn't muddy but were told they would not move us. Interior roads are dirt with a little gravel on them and were full of pot holes and muddy. Park is overpriced. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
There were many permanent sites. The pull-through, shaded gravel site we had required us to level our RV. The park internal roads could use some maintenance and they did spray water on them to keep the dust down. The laundry facilities were just OK and they were always busy while we were here. The staff were friendly and willing to provide information on the Edmonton Mall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$44
Fair place to stay the night. The facilities are in good shape. Wifi is excellent throughout. Our pullthrough still had a frozen water spigot but they loaned us a hose to hook up to the next site so we didn't have to move our camper after unhooking. There are some permanent residents throughout. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
If you enjoy being jammed together like canned sardines, on unlevel gravel sites, in a dust bowl with constant traffic where the only "views" are of your neighbors slide-outs and the ambience is that of a used RV lot, then this is the spot for you. This was the worst place we have been thus far. There are more cars and trucks than RV's and this is not a camping spot, but rather a parking lot atmosphere for seasonal dwellers. There is absolutely nothing enjoyable to do or see or experience here. If you want to take a shower, bring some loonies. You have to pay extra to shower. No BBQ grills. Site had no picnic table, which was fine since dining in dusty traffic wasn't on my agenda anyway. Pass this one by. It is horrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
We spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed it. Took advantage of the clean showers and laundry. Really appreciated the excellent Wi-Fi. Folks we dealt with were great. Would gladly recommend this campground to anyone. We had an excellent pull-through site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
Very large park, loads of trees. Many permanent residents, some in beat trailers. Sites very large and level. Couldn't get satellite reception. Surprised that a park of this size with excellent Wi-Fi didn't offer cable TV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
Rate given is Good Sam rate for 30 amp back-in site. The vast majority of sites are occupied by long term residents. The office building has a gift shop and a restaurant (limited hrs) as well as a laundromat and weight room. There is also a children's playground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$37
it is big, it is busy, and a lot of seasonals. However we were in the back by the storage with 50 amp service and found it quiet. The wifi was rock solid, so I was a happy camper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
KEEP DRIVING!!! DO NOT STOP HERE!!! Although the facilities and store are very clean and beautiful, the campsites themselves are absolutely horrid. They are so tiny that our slides were nearly touching the RV next to us. They were dangerous to back into, and there is no room to park. Everyone is instructed to park in front of their unit which leaves a virtual obstacle course when trying to drive down the "streets" of the campground. We were told that we could not have a pull through because the length of our stay was too long, but when we finally got backed in to our site our hitch stuck way out into the street. Backing in was a nightmare. A professional trucker finally did it for us and he even had a difficult time. When I went to the office to ask for a more suitable site because we could not fit, the "helpful" staff handed me a tissue and said: "Stop crying and try again; we are not moving you." We ended up with a dent in our slide from the people next door leaving. But really, the fault was not theirs; it was the tiny sites. Children are expressly forbidden from even entering the laundry room, which for a family campground or any campground is totally ridiculous. We have been full time RVing for 6 months now, and this is hands down the worst campground we have found in Saskatchewan, Alberta, BC, Washington, Oregon, or California. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
This is just an okay park – the RVs are jammed in, with overflow in on the front lawn without services. The staff wasn’t very nice overall, and their wifi was out the entire time, even though they advertise free wifi. They have weekly rates, but not on the pull-through sites, which were the only ones available for when we wanted to stay. The pull through sites ended up being the nicest, with the most space and a small patch of green grass, but no trees, thus no shade. Get this – there is no sanitation (dump) on site, so if you happen to be next to a vacant pull through site, that’s where they tell people to go dump, so in effect, you’re camping next to the sanitation/dump. (We wonder if that’s legal, but what do we know…..)There is an RV store on the premises, but quite expensive and, not surprising, not the nicest people there either. There is propane, but better prices are found in town. Two positive comments: there is a large nice laundry room, with dryers that actually dry, and, in looking at other RV parks in the area, this may actually be the best one……. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Excellent park. The registration area is like at a hotel, and the "desk clerk" was very informative and pleasant. All the facilities--laundry, showers, washrooms, arcade/library, store, fitness room, restaurant--are in one big, round building, and it's as nice as a hotel. There are plenty of showers and bathroom stalls. We had a shaded site with grass next to a couple of long-term residents who decorate their spots. It was nice and quiet, although there is a little road noise. The Wi-Fi started out slow, but there were several networks to connect to (Glowing Embers North and South), so we switched to the one with more bars, and it was very fast. The TV offers a few stations. It's convenient to the mall, which has RV parking, and less than a half-hour's drive (14 or so miles) into downtown Edmonton. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
We enjoyed the park. Had a back in site closer to the office, and it was wide and pleasant. Wifi was quite weak, but worked. There were quite a few permanant residents, but that certainly was not a problem. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
First, there are too many full-timers with big trucks in the park. Sometimes it's difficult to maneuver your rig into a site. They don't have a lot of room between rigs. There is an exercise room at the main building, which also houses the one and only bathhouse. It is in a convenient location and has an RV repair shop on site that takes the campers first. That was a very big plus for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
Our site, 316, was dirt with a small grassy area where the picnic table was located. Park appears to be mostly full of long term residents, with a parking lot area, that we were in, reserved for transients. It was over priced but an ok overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Lots of Fulltimers, roads narrow, generally quiet and pleasant. RV store at entrance. Large storage area on site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
We were not impressed with this park. We were in the row of sites that can be seen from the highway that goes by and our site was very unlevel. With our steps down we still had to put a stack of our levelers to help with getting in the door. Our 11 year old dog didn't like that climb at all. The rules say do not back up passed the electric boxes but the sites are short and there would be no room to park the tow vehicle if not backed up farther. The back bumper almost touched the ground while we had 4 levelers under the front stabilizer jacks and tongue jack to level the trailer. The showers at the park are metered at 25 cents for 5 minutes, but the restrooms are nice and clean. There are a lot of people in this park that are permanent residents so the one car per site rule is overlooked and the parking is terrible. The RV shop on site has very friendly staff and had a good selection of items. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
We did not like this park at all. It rained while we were there and the place was a muddy mess. They don't screen their guests and there are some pretty bad looking RVs there. Trees are way overgrown and there is only one bathhouse for a huge park. They have the market cornered in Edmonton, not much competition. Only real positive point, the WIFI was strong all the way to the back of the park. If they would invest in gravel to fix the roads, it would have gotten a higher rating. We stayed in the back new row, just in front of a totally trashy RV storage lot which was not fenced in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
Great Location, big and spacy sites,level sites, good maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com