219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Pinecreek Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (607) 273-1974
CGID5012

Pinecreek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   9   7   7   6   7   5   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Park is a no frills campground. Entire park was clean, but the trash dumpster got overfilled by the end of the weekend. Bathrooms are old, but clean. I did not use the shower. Pool looked clean, I did not use it, but there were people swimming. They have a big playground area with old McDonalds playground equipment. My neice spent a great deal of time on the swings. Sites were big and pretty level, but they could stand to cut the grass more often. Not great drainage if it rains. Camp office and store are bare minimum, but the owner seems nice enough and they don't drive around harassing campers. The campsite was fairly empty for most of the week, and got a little busy during the weekend which it was a nascar race weekend, but we never had any issues with noise or any other issues. I'd imagine this campground doesn't really get a lot of business; just my impression. It is really close to two of the state parks - Buttermilk, and Robert Treman, and only a few more minutes to Ithaca and more parks in that area. Those are a must see if you are in the area. It is in a decent location, but a little farther from Watkins Glen area then I would have liked. But if you are visiting for the area near Ithaca and all those parks, its a good place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$48
Large clean full hookup sites, shaded by large pine trees. Slides and swings for the kids. Washer and dryer. Graveled driveways at sites. It rained hard just before we arrived, The sites drained nicely. Camp store and lodge area. Lodge is available for rallies and use by other groups. All 6 in our group recognized this as the most pleasant campground in our month's travels through 11 states. The best part of our travel day after a 7 hour drive through heavy rain was the warm greeting by the owner when we arrived. Her warm smile reminded me of my favorite movie star, Doris Day. We look forward to an opportunity to return to this beautiful, restful place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
We prefer public campgrounds over private, and we went to Pinecreek because there was no space available in nearby Robert Treman State Park. However, we found the things that we value about state parks were available at Pinecreek Campground: spacious sites, most with mature (pine) trees providing good shade; a small pond and an unobstructed view of countryside and rolling hills, providing a very pleasant sunset view. We stayed on the western loop. Some extended-stay campers are set up, but they are all in attractive condition. Biggest negatives: sanitation issues. The toilet areas were really not very good. Otherwise, the restroom / showers were acceptable, but dated. Biggest yuck was the droppings of the Canada geese all around the pond. Made for a challenging walk! We enjoyed our visit and would be happy to return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This was our second stay at this campground. It is very convenient to Ithaca, both Cornell, Ithaca collage's and Finger Lake wineries. There are some sites that have absolute beautiful views of the surrounding hills across open meadows. However, many of their sites are in more wooded areas that the site's are below road grade and you may be parked on grass. Got stuck in our class A very badly last year though the owner was kind enough to pull us out the next day and give us one of the open vista sites. Why they (or me) even allowed us to attempt to park there is a mystery. On this last visit I went to dump my tanks before set up and noticed that the station was locked. Staying only two nights I just went and set up. Upon check out in the pouring rain I walked up to the office and inquired about the locked dump station and was told by the owner in a very indifferent tone that it would be " ten bucks to dump"! Telling him I had never heard of paying to dump while being one of their guests did not matter to him as he explained all of his business costs to me. This and the fact that though the shower and bathrooms were reasonably clean, the sinks were not and the showers were set to give less that a trickle of water. Would I stay here again? Maybe as my wife and I do like visiting this area once a year at least and if you can get a site by the meadow I guess I would put up with some of their negatives. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
We camped here and used it as our base to tour the Watkins Glen and Ithaca areas. The campground does not offer any activities, but if you are just looking for a home base or a quiet campground this is the place. The sites were a nice size, level and clean. The pool was clean. The camper next to us did not have a good hook up for his sewer and we could smell his sewer on and off. The seasonal campers were mostly friendly, (there are not a lot of seasonal campers). Also, we did not have to spend our time dodging golf carts as you do at some campgrounds. It was not packed full over the weekend and we enjoyed the peace and quiet and relaxing atmosphere. I would rate higher if there were activities and there was no sewer smell from our neighbor. We will return if we tour the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
Expensive and if you stay a week or longer, they expect you to pay for electricity (nobody told us this at check in, but we got a phone call hours after we left expecting payment for $32 worth of electricity.) Speaking of electric, we had 30 amp but the breaker would blow with a sustained load of 25-28 amps. We told our Energy Management System we had 20 amps available, and we didn't blow the breaker after that. All power pedestals are at the *very* rear of the site as is water (you better have extensions). No telling where your sewer hookup might be located. The sites are large and ours was fairly level. If spite of this park being rated as "big rig" access, that pronouncement is very marginal (we are 40'). We complained about low hanging limbs on check in and they did get busy and trimmed a bunch of trees. When we left, it was *very* slow going around the campground loop to leave due to *very* tight radius curves. The primary clientele for this campground are local/regional 5th wheels, travel trailers and tenters. There are quite a few seasonal trailers/5th wheels permanently in place here. The pool looked well-maintained, and the grass was nicely mowed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Nice park. Very quiet. Surprisingly empty for the weekend before July 4th. Sites weren't huge but ample for our 35' fifth wheel with slide out. Our site was grassy and somewhat shady, reasonably level side to side. There was a playground with a variety of swings and slides and even a see saw and some old "McDonalds" (think Mayor McCheese) play equipment. The person at the counter was pleasant but not very knowledgeable as I asked her the best way to pull the camper to the site and was told the wrong way based on the angle of the site. I then had to go to the entrance and turn around and go back down the road I just came out. The only real drawback to this campground is the ride to it. The road is very steep and winding. 10 MPH corners and no place to get a running start. If you like wineries, this place is close enough to the Cayuga wine trail to be a base. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend and were required to supply a non-refundable full payment for the required 3 day stay. Considering it was the holiday, this didn't surprise me. However, when we arrived and throughout the weekend, the campground was never more then 2/3s full. The sites were just okay. In the area we were in they were all grass and had it not been for some former camper who had dug a hole for the left rear tires we would have had a bear of a time getting level. Our electric hookup was fine but the water was difficult to find and far at the back of the site at ground level. There was a group of seasonals at the bottom of the hill who yelled at everyone to slow down (whether they were driving fast or not) yet they had a 40' Motorhome with an outside TV that we all got to hear for the entire weekend whether we wanted to or not. Overall, the campground either had been nice once and was deteriorating or was being fixed up. It was hard to tell. If it is the latter, they have a lot of work to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
Nice quite park with many large sites. Located in a beautiful area close to the waterfalls and the Finger Lakes and the wine trails. I did not see any pull-thru sites but the roads are open and backing into many of the sites would be no problem. TV reception is poor and there is no Wi-Fi or cable, not a problem to us. We would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Nice setting,wooded and grassy sites. Nice pond.Quiet time was observed at appropriate time. Overall, nice campground.Close to attractions such as the waterfalls and the town of Ithaca. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$34
Bath houses are very clean , however the lights were out at night to save power. I could not figure that one out. Campground is well kept, owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. There is evidence of upgrades going on all around. We would definitely return to camp again.Campground is also very pretty and has large sites with many trees, nice pond and clean pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
The new owners purchased the CG last year and have made vast improvements. Still needs some work which you can see is being done on a daily basis. Very picturesque area. 10 minutes from Ithaca. Owners are extremely nice and eager to please their customers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com