224279 User submitted reviews online!!
Morefield Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (800) 449-2288
CGID5069

Morefield Campground

Camp Information
Sites
267
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   10   8   8   7   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
For all of the reasons already stated this is a beautiful park and a great place to stay as a home base to see Mesa Verde National Park. What is not spelled out is that this campground is at the top of a mountain. The road is good getting up there, but it is a mountain road with switchbacks and wonderful views from a mountain road. My point is that if you are going to use this as a base from which to visit the area - Durango in one direction and Arches National Park in another, you may want to find a more 'convenient' spot. But for camping with nature with the benefit of full hook-ups, this is your place. I gave it a 9 because of a less-than-friendly know-it-all Aramark clerk at check-in. Ignore her if you get her and have a great camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$17
Beautiful park. Lots of space between sites, similar to a state or national park, rather than a traditional commercial RV park. Wi-Fi available throughout – really impressive for the size of the area they cover. However the Wi-Fi devices are located at the bathrooms, so if you’re far away from the bathroom your signal may be weak. Wi-Fi performance in the evening is adequate. The only downside is that much of the campground is in hilly country and many of the sites slope to one side significantly – probably for drainage. We had to try three sites before finding one that only required 2-3 yellow blocks under the low wheels of the trailer. The others would’ve required 5 blocks or more to get level. The campground up 1,000 ft of elevation higher than the park entrance 4 miles away and 10 miles from the town of Cortez, so there is no AT&T cell signal – probably not for other vendors either, but I can’t say for sure. Rate reflects a senior discount (over 62 years old) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Wi-fi was weak, but usable. Campground was outstanding. Lots of room, level site, shade, wildlife in the yard (deer). Restrooms smelly but clean. Friendly staff and host. We highly recommend this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Nice campground, in the park and nice site with lots of space between, very beautiful surroundings. if you want to see Mesa Verde , this is the place to stay , had the full hookup sites and the internet was free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
Price reflects senior discount for no-hookup sites, which are normally $28. Full hookup sites are $38, no senior discount available for those. Sites are well-spaced, but not all are level, and some are too short for RV's over 20 feet or so. There were plenty of sites to choose from for rigs 30 feet or less, however all 15 full-hookup sites were taken. Dump station has fresh water, but no threaded connector. Threaded spigots inside the bathrooms, so we filled our tanks there. Free showers and WiFi at the campground check-in building. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
We stayed in one of 15 full hookup sites (200+ dry camping sites available. Full hookup sites are large and relatively private. Plenty of wildlife all around site. Great place to stay to see Mesa Verde park. Adequate Wifi available at campground headquarters - no cable TV or cell phone availability in park. If you stay in the park on Sunday, do not miss Christian nondenominational service held at amphitheater. Ranger programs held in amphitheater at 9pm nightly are very good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
The RV park itself must be close to five miles off the main highway and that drive is very scenic. Don't rush that part. We lucked out & got a full-hookup space with no advance notice. Apparently we were very lucky. There were lots of empty dry camping spots however. Some caution needed backing in with the trees. Site was level,clean,shaded. Lots of shower stalls with hot water & free. Huge rigs should keep it slow & easy. In some areas watch for branches. Park rangers were polite & well informed; knew their job. Park was quiet, especially at night. We used our own wi-fi and sat.TV but heard some complaints about the parks system. We spent 2 days here, and I know we didn't see it all. To see it all with the many tours would take 4 days or so. Oh yeah, after a hard rain there can be some soft spots, or so we heard. Very interesting place. See it ! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
This was a great site in Mesa Verde National Park. The sites are far apart and the scenery is great with trees and even deer in your back site. Wi-Fi is available for use in the registration office which was one mile away from our site 177. There were nightly ranger talks in the amphitheater. We would stay at this site again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
There are not very many large RV sites; however, if you find one, this is a very peaceful setting when portable generators are off. This is a dry campground and if you are aware of this, you should be pleased with the location. Lots of wildlife and trails right from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
Very nice park right within Mesa Verde NP. Sites were spacious and quiet. The park is outstanding. Highly recommend guided tours of Cliff Palace & Long House ($3 per person) and self guided tour of Spruce Tree. Walmart and other retail less that 30 minutes away. Minimal cell and data (Verizon) but text worked well. We would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
Aside from being the most convenient campground for visiting Mesa Verde there is little to recommend here. Access roads are narrow, rough and steep with low overhanging trees making back-ins a chore. No AT&T cell service or Verizon MiFi data service anwhere nearby. Some sites look roomy, but many are tight - not because of nearby neighbors but because of trees. The camp store Wi-Fi was unusable. One person I spoke to there had spent the entire day trying to download a mere 70 Megabyte file. After 8 hours he finally gave up. Camp store is passable, but not well stocked. I would not stay here again. Unfortunately that means I will not return to Mesa Verde as there are no better choices. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
Nice place. There are lots of trees and shrubs and lots of deer in morning too. Showers and Laundry are in central location next to registration building. Must have been 12 - 15 separate showers, but didn't count. Pancake breakfast was not bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
We really liked this place. We were fortunate enough to get to experience autumn colours and very much enjoyed the trips the park has to offer. There are only 15 hook-up sites and it would appear that you need to make a booking early to get one of these. If you are "self-sufficient" for a day or two - don't cheat yourself by by-passing this site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Incredible park. We recommend the Far View Explorer tour which leaves from the campground. Very informative. The campground itself is the most expensive and the least impressive of all national park campgrounds we've stayed in. The small section with hookups was full, but the rest of this very large campground was pretty much empty. The laundry and showers were a mile away from where we dry camped, so we had to drive there. They were clean and the showers were free. The folks at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We would have stayed longer had the campground been worth staying in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$23
Very nice campground. Wi-Fi is available at the store and restaurant. Limited number of full hookup sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$12
As other reviewers noted, the maintenance is slipping a bit with weeds and other over-growth, and some sites now completely closed. Few sites are big-rig capable, so early in the day arrival is advised to secure one of them. If they would move the concrete tire blocks back 3 to 4 feet on most of the sites, more big rigs would easily fit. Our motor-home is 38', and we dry-camped. This is almost all dry camping, with a few full hook-ups if you reserve way in advance. The soil is very soft except for the gravel parking pad. Make sure to not pull off into the dirt or weeds here. We observed one rig stuck deep in the soil (it had just rained). They really need to put up speed limit signs on each campground loop. It was scary watching rigs careening through at too high of a speed, with kids running around and bicycling. We would stay here again in order to visit the National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
Before you read further please understand that we loved this park. American National parks are incredible in terms of what they offer in the way of tours and such. This park was no exception- we would highly recommend the 700 years of history tour. The park facilities like the washrooms, showers, store etc. were excellent and we had no complaints. What gets us is this- it seems like in the States you either get a parking lot experience with full hookups or absolutely nothing. We camped with no hookups at all and loved it. We did have a good laugh when we were looking for our site as they are some of the most pathetic looking things we have ever witnessed. There is absolutely no privacy and there doesn't seem to be any effort made to create attractive sites. In fact, there are times when it is hard to determine where the site actually is. We experienced the same thing at Yellowstone. All that being said we loved our stay and would certainly visit again. We come from Ontario Canada and, in general, Ontario Parks has created an amazing system of campgrounds that are serviced, private and for the most part very natural. We have yet to find that in the States. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
Mesa Verde is a wonderful place to visit. We really enjoyed it but the campground was just okay in my opinion. The good - full hook-ups, clean restrooms. The down-side - trees and brush no taller than a camper so no real shade, the showers were 1/3 mile walk each way from our site in the Ute loop. What we really liked was the Far-View tour that we took. It was great and well worth the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
First: If you want electric or other hook ups, DO NOT use their Internet Reservation System (reservations.ahlsmsworld.com). We did and got a dry-site even though hookups were available. When we checked-in, the ranger told me this was a problem with the ARAMARK website. You must make a phone call to get a hookup site. Road construction was horrible: many delays to get to the campground. Cost of items at the campground store was high (unleaded gas was 40-cents/gal more than in town). We checked in and told to pick any site on the dry loops we wanted. I'd estimate less than a dozen sites would nicely accommodate us. Most sites were short, gravel, and not level. They are OK for popups or small travel trailers. We selected a grass pad in the Apache loop that was satisfactory. No trees = no shade = it gets HOT during the day. Bathrooms were adequate. We took the toad through the park which was a great idea: I'd not want to take our MH on those roads unless necessary. Plan on lots of driving. The sites were awesome. Do homework and plan what you want to see as there are so many options. Strongly recommend hiking to Spruce Treehouse: then sit on the bench and imagine life there 900 years ago. Rangers were great and very helpful. If you're camping, get into the park if at all possible: the drive to Cortese is not that pleasant. We left the park at 5:00am and had no problem. Oh: the dump stations. The fresh water and black water faucets have cut off hoses so you can't screw on your hose. However, if you lift the cover to the metal box on the concrete, there are faucets there to which your hoses can be attached. (Use the dump on the left as you enter the campground, the one on the right doesn't have a fresh water faucet into which you can tap.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$6
The full hook up sites are by reservation and they didn't have any available for drive ins. We dry camped here. It was nice enough for the price. It was quiet and we saw lots of wildlife around our campsite. They have a dump and water available also. The WiFi only works in the parking lot of the camp store. It was slow but was sufficient to get things done. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
There are no water/electric sites in this campground. There is dry camping only except for 15 full hookups with 30 amp service. With only 15 hookups it is unlikely one will be available without a reservation. Some full hookups are in the open, some in the trees. Wi-Fi is available in the camp store only. No cellphone service. There is plenty of space between sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Clean, quiet and laid back campground with free showers at the store where you register. Lots of wildlife! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This is a nice campground, but you would want to spend your time exploring the ruins of Mesa Verde and not in your camper. Spaces with full hookups are in very open areas. Spaces with just electricity and water are in among oak trees and very nice. There is ample room between you and your neighbor and sighting deer roaming the campground is not uncommon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We made our reservations well in advance and so we had one of the few sites with water, sewer and 30 amp. Every morning and evening we had deer just a stones-throw away (of course we did not throw stones). The camp store had several handy items including Wi-Fi access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
This RV campground is old and in need of major upgrading. The electrical peristyles are coming apart, the water supply is weak and the sites are anything but level. But it is close to the mesas that attract all these visitors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
We have stayed at prettier National Park campgrounds, but this is still a nice place. We made reservations in advance to get a full hook-up site, but if we go again we may just take our chances and settle for a dry site as there is not a huge difference in price. In September the campground was nowhere near full. Our site offered little privacy and no shade, but some of the dry sites do. It was very quiet at night and there were lots of stars to see. The park is very stringent about enforcing the bear-proofing rules. Basically don't leave anything out that might remotely smell of food or something a bear might think of as food (like sun-screen). Yes, this does include empty ice chests. We would stay here again as we always prefer to stay inside a park rather than at some place in a tourist town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
We are glad that we drove the extra distance to stay inside the park. It made touring and hiking that much easier. Our site was not very level. It took two blocks to do the job but we feel it was a small price to pay for the scenery and location. There are bear warning signs stating not to leave any food about. We weren't lucky enough to see any bears though. The sites are very private which is nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
We made our reservations several months in advance to obtain one of the 15 sites with hook-ups. Sites vary in size, length, shady or sunny; beautiful setting with deer walking by every morning. The bathrooms are located throughout the campground with the showers and laundry a bit of a drive near the store; clean by National Park standards. Showers and Laundry are open 24 hours. We had several problems with rangers at this park; they seized our EMPTY cooler we left outside on our site during the day; almost got a citation when I went to pick it up; when they came by our site to review rules, (don't know why as this was before the cooler incident), the ranger had her hand on her gun the entire time. We are a couple in our 50's very middle class non-threatening. Would definitely return to Mesa Verde, (awesome park), but would stay at private campgrounds nearby. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Long drive into park to campground. Very scenic and quiet. Large sites. Bathroom not very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Staying here takes a bit of extra driving. Check in is at the store, then a drive around the multiple loops to pick out your sight, then a drive back to the store to tell them which one, then a drive back to the site to set-up. We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our time here. Without a tow vehicle, we used our motorhome to tour the park, which is a lot of driving. The camp sites were nice with grassy areas and had some local deer hanging around. Showers were up at the store, no where near the camp sites, but the bathroom areas in the campground were clean and had flushing toilets - always a plus! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$26
The campground is 4 miles inside the park but the distance to the main attraction, Cliff Palace, is another 16 miles so being inside the park doesn't offer that much of an advantage. Only 15 of the 435 sites offer full hookups. These are first-come-first served. The remaining sites can be reserved. The campground is broken up into 8 loops among the hills and trees so it doesn't seem to be a big campground. The registration office, camp store, and showers are about a mile away. Lots of mule deer roam through the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com