221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Knox Hill RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (205) 372-3911
CGID51

Knox Hill RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   3   7   6   6   6   4   7   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$36
This place calls itself an RV Resort. . . not in the last 20 years by the looks of it. OK for an overnight stop with working water/sewer/electric but things are pretty run down. Saw nobody from office from 5:30pm when we arrived to 9:30am when we left. Self check in with a very confusing map of available sites. Map showed only two empty spaces yet out the window I could see eight or so on the upper level that you arrive on. Left the registration slip along with CC data in an envelope in a lock box and grabbed a site. Steep price for an overnight but not to far from -I59. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2013
$37
A storm was rolling in and we needed a place to stay. This was easy on and easy off. Our 43 ft RV and tow did not entirely fit in the site. Website claims cable, but the sign in the Welcome Center states no cable and no Wi-Fi. Park needs a major overhaul. Park is very unkempt. We were grateful for a place for the night, but this is not a resort and it is not worth the price. No one in the office, but the lady was nice over the phone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$37
Some websites will indicate this is a Good Sam park, but the owner no longer participates. This park is conveniently located off I-20. No one was on site when we arrived, so we called and were told where to park. The site we were assigned (#2) was a pull through, but we backed in since there was a rather large hump at what would have been the entrance if we had pulled through. We could see that others had scraped. The lady who arrived to check us in, was super friendly. As another reviewer noted, this park could use some TLC. It's a bit run down, but the electric worked and that was all that we needed for the one night we were passing through. Some of the smaller concrete pads had sunken spots and there was a lot of junk at one end of the park. We thought the price was high for the condition of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Only camper here. Grass needs cutting but sites are level and fairly easy to access, even with a 37' TT. Electric suspicious as 30 amp breaker couldn't handle load and tripped. Switched to 50 amp and used adapter. No more problems. Lady in office is friendly and accommodating. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
No frills, and a little run down; concrete pads on a hill with decent TV reception surrounded by woods and brambles. Clean home style showers and a free washer and dryer. Books to borrow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$33
Not quite a "resort" yet, but with a little effort and some $ put into it, this could be a really good park. There is some freeway noise, but not enough to make a difference. The showers were clean, hot and had good water pressure. All the lots have a concrete pad & patio, plus each site has it's own garbage can. They have a small cable selection but was a plus for an overnight stay. There is evidence of some repairs to the property, a new roof on one of the buildings and it looks like they are fixing up an outdoor pavilion. Maybe in the future they will pave the roads in the park. We will stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Last reviews are still correct except there are no tables or chairs on the site. It is only a good overnight stop because there is nothing there or around there. Lady at check in was very nice and friendly. Still no internet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
Easy access to I-20. Old Patton Road comes up on you quickly, so when you exit at #52, the campground road is only 0.3 miles north and you cannot see the street or campground sign from a distance. The GPS for the turn off from US-11 to Old Patton Road is N 32.992879, W 87.78905. Friendly check-in, small park, concrete pads, sites are good for satellite TV or satellite Internet (Datastorm.) No park WiFi. Interior roads are pretty good. Free laundry!! It's a little close to I-20 (noise-wise, you cannot see it), but that's the price you pay for convenience to an Interstate highway. There is a little table and two lawn-type chairs at the sites (the sites we could see), but the chairs are in dire need of replacement. Great overnight stop, or I would spend a little longer here if necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$37
As stated by others, OK for an overnight stay, albeit a little expensive for what you get. The park has definitely seen better days, and has lost its Good Sam rating as well as its Wi-Fi. Fair amount of highway noise but we slept through it. We'd stay here again but only if our travels made it convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This park was fine for an overnight stay. It is not what we would call an RV resort. The spaces were level and the park was clean. The office clerk was very nice. It was convenient to the freeway with some traffic noise. It is not a destination park but we would stop overnight again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$33
We have used this campground several times on our way from TN to points South. Nothing fancy and a good place to stop overnight. Sites in general are concrete and level. Ownership has changed recently and the new owner is making progress in firming up the interior roads. Some road noise at upper level sites. Some restaurants 10-15 miles away and more in Tuscaloosa -- 25 miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
I stayed here a month because there was no where else close to my work. The pool liner was hanging torn at two or three places, the Wi-Fi didn't work, the cable was almost non-existent and fuzzy when it did work, the power boxes need new breakers, they just about burnt off my plug, and the owner said maybe my plug was corroded ha haaha NOT!!! Last but not least the rent is exorbitant at $562.00 a month!! For what? I. getting me an apartment in Tuscaloosa, between the high rent and fuel to get to my job, I might as well live in style. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
What patio furniture? Oh the broken old stuff next to the over priced site. No longer a Good Sam Park, so you won't get any discounts on the broken concrete sites with inadequate WiFi and cable. We were planning a longer stay but two days here is long enough and we will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
This is a nice campground just off I-20. Most of the RV pads are concrete and pretty level, although a few had deteriorated somewhat. They are typically spaced for a commercial park with each pull through separated by a wooden privacy fence; there are no trees on the pull through sites. Sites also have concrete patio pads. The camp has Wi-Fi, but it has a weak signal and I could not connect while inside the RV. It is evident that the owners have worked hard to upgrade the park by adding nice landscaping, what looks to be a new pool, several camp buildings available for guests to use and new RV pads. It also has a desktop computer with internet access for those who don't have laptops as well as free washers and dryers. The park is relatively quiet except for the background noise from the interstate which cannot be seen from the campground. The camp operators are friendly and helpful. I would have rated this park higher, but I prefer more space between sites and some shade. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
Nice park with very friendly and helpful staff, They are working hard to upgrade the park and their efforts are visible. This is a very pretty area with a nice view. The only negative is the lack of grass and trees in the pull through area. They have concrete level pads and easy access to the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
Nice park on top of a hill, lovely view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
Park was clean and grass was mowed however it does need some maintenance. Sites are tight getting into but have privacy fences between them. They are concrete and mostly level. We paid on the honor system since the office was not attended during our 16 hour stay. Not bad for over night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
Very nice park for overnighting especially since there few campgrounds in the area. All facilities were clean, grass was mown, swimming pool was open 24 hours. Free book exchange and snacks and drinks available on honor system. The staff was very friendly and offered a special rate if you don't need sewer hookup. I will stay here again the next time I pass that way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
Nice park for an overnight stay. We were there on a week night so the close sites were not a problem since most were empty. A computer is available in the "Welcome Center" for campers' use. Free laundry! My only complaint was the showers.The shower handles did not work. I could not adjust water temp and finally gave up in frustration! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Only stayed one night on way home from North Carolina but it was a nice park. Good level concrete pads, nice little patio, sight size adequate. Overall good RV park. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Not worth the money. Amenities advertised not available. Example the grill was sold due to park up for sale. Campground looks like one big garage sale in the woods. Patio furniture being sold. Second experience here and the last. Workers not friendly. Reserved campsite only to discover reservations not honored. Moved me to a site they thought I would be happier in. Wrong. Asked to speak with manager, never saw him. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$29
We stayed at this CG overnight on the way back from picking up our new 5th wheeler in Tenn. We got in late in the evening and the Owners stayed open for us, led us to our site and guided me onto the spot. They were very helpful and friendly. The spot was leveled concrete, about 50-55 ft. long and wide enough for extended slides on each side if needed. There were 2 cushioned patio chairs and a small table at each of the spots we saw. Very clean and well kept up. We have stayed here twice now, and have not thought that highway noise was any issue to complain about, as someone else mentioned. In my opinion, this CG is not the family KOA, it's a great overnighter or few day stay to rest up. We like it, and do recommend it. We stayed in a 33' 5th wheeler. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
We did not see any of the problems described in the May 2006 review, but if the park is now for sale it could be a much different place from when we were there. We will base this review on what the park was like when we were there. The staff was very friendly and showed us to our spot. We stayed on top of the hill where it was easier to get in and out of (great for an overnight) but not as pretty as the sites down the hill. The pads were concrete, level, and long enough, but also close together. The row we were on had patio furniture (maybe this is what they were selling) and a privacy fence between sites. The park had nice landscaping with accent lighting, and the views were beautiful especially from the top of the hill. The welcome center was very nice, and there were 2 spotless individual bathrooms. There was a small laundry that was free. We happened to meet the owner, and he could not have been friendlier or more appreciative that we stayed there. If this park has gone down hill it would be too bad because it had a lot of nice features and met our needs just fine. Based on our experience I would stay there again and recommend it. However, because of the negative review it received I think I would call and see what was going on before I made plans to stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$29
Very nice, clean park. Sites are nice size with white fences in between giving privacy. Sites are level concrete with green concrete patio and nice patio furniture - 2 gliders and a table. In the Welcome Center there is a computer for guests to use. Very nice park. Would definitely stay here again. The reason I didn't give a 10 is that there are no shade trees. Doesn't matter in April, but would probably be hot in the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$20
This seemed to be a very nice park that we just stayed at overnight while on the way home from picking up a travel trailer. It seemed very unique, with outdoor lighting at each site, paved pads, chairs and privacy fences. We stayed in a tiered area with a great view, and it felt very private. Nice pool and other facilities. And nice people checked us in. We thought this a place where we would like to spend more time when we get a chance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2005
$19
Although I did not actually stay at this campground, I was in the area and decided to check it out as a possible weekend retreat. I'm glad I did. The sites are nothing more than large concrete pads, some with flaking green paint to mark the site. The sites are very close to each other. The park is fairly hilly. The sites looked level. Due to the hills, a few sites have a steep drop off near the front of the site that would make it very difficult to unhook a travel trailer or fifth wheel. Some of the sites do have privacy fences. However, they appeared to be a whopping 8 feet long and right up next to the neighbor's camper. I don't think they really create much privacy. While the scenery was decent, the tall weeds right near the road were not very pretty. Furthermore, the road was torn up in several spots. The pool was smaller than most residential pools, although it looked clean. If this is a fairly new park, it sure didn't look it. Except for having a level spot to stay the night, I see no reason to actually go camping here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$22
We were pleasantly surprised when we entered this park. All sites were concrete and level. They even had quaint tables and chairs on pad with small privacy fence seperating each site. Friendly staff. They led us to our site and helped us get parked. They pick up the trash. We will stop there when traveling through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2004
$25
Level sites, privacy fence between sites with patio furniture. Close to the interstate but little noise. Staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Good park for overnight or longer. Easy access from I-20, west of Tuscaloosa. Some highway road noise but did not bother us.Gated entry, nice concrete, level sites,some terraced sites and friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2003
$20
Clean! Nice friendly staff. No shade and quite evident on the 98 degree day I was there. The concrete pad was nice but without shade it radiates the heat for several hours after nightfall. This is a fairly new park. Too bad it is in Knoxville as there is nothing nearby. It's about 20-25 miles south of Tuscaloosa. Good place to stop for the night. Easy access. Wish all parks were run like this one. A work in progress during our stay. Owners were adding sites and amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Under-used, Under-completed. Mt-top Views. Modern Sites. Level Sites. Ez on-off-in-out. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$24
One of the nicest campgrounds we have visited. Beautiful landscaping. Several terraces (with accent lighting) and views of the area. We echo all the comments above. The only campground we have ever visited with privacy fences between sites. Very easy access to the interstate, but you can barely hear the trucks go by. Would make a very convenient stopping point while traveling through or to just sit and rest awhile. This will be a regular stop for us from now on. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$19
Beautiful Park! We stumbled on this park by accident on our way to Tuscaloosa (I-20/59), and this park should be a showplace for other RV parks. All cement slabs, 2 hot tubs, pool and complimentary laundry service. The owner has done a fine job on the design of this park. Highly recommend. Close to interstate. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Very clean, new park. We were very surprised by how nice it was, the area of the state isn't that nice. However, the park was spotless. Each patio had it's own two cushioned gliders and table and a garden hose. You don't expect a great view from anywhere in the area, but it was really pretty. Lots of rolling hills. It was our first weekend in our new RV and won't be the last at this park. Located in the Eutaw- Tuscaloosa area. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com