214481 User submitted reviews online!!
NK’MIP RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (250) 495-7279
CGID5136

NK’MIP RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
400+
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   7   7   6   10   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$14
Locals tend to give the park a rap. It was apparently once badly run and unsafe, but no more! It is all very professionally run now. We are staying here for a month (rate reflects monthly snowbird rate) for the month of April. I love it. Mountains topped with snows, rolling hills, in the heart of wine country with cherries in bloom and lovely willows down by the private lakeside beach. Osoyoos also gets lots of sun. We have had sun almost every day.This large campground is gorgeous, well maintained, with a wonderful bigger heated indoor pool and spa, well equipped game room, spacious lots ideally designed to minimize the feeling of being in a campground. Each lot has a row of trees between the campers in the "snowbird" area and lots are setback diagonally to make for lots of privacy. We have had many bird visitors from quails to flickers, a real treat. Water and cable work fine and the sewer is that blessed but rare design, sunk into ground level. Park is open year round and specifically caters to snowbirds in the winter but there are families and kids in the pool. In summer the available campsites double, prices skyrocket, monthly rate vanishes, and includes waterfront sites. It gets to be mayhem, we are told, but now it's quiet and lovely. Friendly helpful staff are eager to make your stay right. Downsides, well, TengoInternet that you have to pay extra for, $30 a month per device. (You can use more than one device by switching between them.) However no limits here and it's fast and the signal is strong. Laundry rooms were clean and midrange price. This is a desert so our dogs got stickers in their feet when we weren't careful about where we walked but its otherwise genuinely pet friendly and even has a dog beach. I wasn't impressed with how clean the bathroom floors were, though everything else was clean. They have only pay showers. We will come again. They can get busy, especially on holiday weekends, so I recommend a reservation. We came in without a reservation and the staff panicked as they only had two monthly sites left open. If you can, drive the park first as there is a lot of variability in the campsites, both view and size, with the back-ins being nicest, before you settle in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
In an area this hot (+39) why do they lay out the park with the sun on the exit/entrance side of the trailer? Regardless, pretty level gravel sites in this large, clean, family oriented park. Staff were friendly and helpful and we would stay there again. Great spot to do your own wine tour. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
We have stayed here many times in the past and will stay here again, but as the years have passed I find that the park is starting to get a run down look. The grounds are nowhere near as nice as the first time we were here 8 years ago. The price for a site has not gone up a great deal but you get less for your money now. It is like an ala carte menu- $5/day for pets, $5/day for Wi-Fi (I have never found TengoInternet that great), and pay showers. The pool, hot tub, and laundry facilities are all nice. It was kind of early to swim in the lake although the dog didn't mind. The new section has no shade or divides between sites and maintenance should pull the weeds before they go to seed and make it worse. All in all, we do like the park as a whole but the maintenance has gone down. It is also an excellent base to do your wine tours and stock up on the local area wines. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$29
In winter time, this park has plenty of seasonal guests. However, it didn't look too bad as there were almost no very old RV's visible. The sites are level, mostly backup in, long enough for a 5er and truck up front. Sites are gravel with a concrete pad for the picnic table and bushes between the sites for privacy. Hookups are good but almost at ground level. Washrooms and showers are not at the same level as the sites or the park in general. Showers are coin op and as the building is new, it could have been done more nicely. Cable TV worked, WiFi too but had to pay an add. $ 5.00 per day and register with Tengo internet. Good Sam doesn't give you a discount. We will return but after reading the comments and ads I was little bit disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
We have stayed here a number of years but this year found that the park seemed to be short on staff. We saw more litter, bathrooms were not kept up as often, and floors were dirty. The expansion at the park is very nice accommodating more rigs. They are very dog friendly here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
We didn't care for this park. It was very busy. The lakefront sites are very close together and not deep enough to park your tow. The roads are very dusty and the speed bumps are excessive. The water quality of the lake was dirty and murky. Kids were yelling and screaming and running everywhere. There are many seasonal sites. On the more positive side check in was easy and office staff were friendly. The utilities on our site were well located and in good condition. The bathrooms and showers were reasonably clean for the heavy use they recieve. There are some quieter and larger sites at the far end on the hill and near the club house. Be sure to request these if you want to be away from the heavy activity lakeside. Many people seem to like it here but it was just to big and busy for our taste. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Great location and a clean park. Quiet and well run. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Rate shown is for 30 amp full hookup in the F section. The wife wanted a more private site, and we had the entire F section to ourselves. Rates are higher for lakefront sites. Site was a gravel back-in. It was not level. Utilities worked okay. Office staff need a lesson in communications. Only section that has cable TV is in C section, so I asked what channels were available off the antenna. They gave me a cable TV lineup but nothing about Wi-Fi or even an information sheet on the campground. The Wi-Fi is Tengo, and the first hour is free and $5 for the day. Signal was strong, but slow at times on Skype phone calls. I found 2 TV channels off the antenna. Campground is within walking distance from the Nk'mip Winery and Heritage Centre. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
This was our second stay at Nk'Mip RV park. Our first was off season and the park was not busy. We had a lakefront spot with loads of empty sites around us. We tried to book the same site during the high season and it was much different. The lakefront spots are a mess. Very cramped and dirty. We stayed one night and moved away from the lake. The upper sites are quite nice. Quiet, fairly clean, and offer some privacy with rows of cedar hedging between sites. Our only real complaint was that they close the pool for the busy summer season. They say it gets too hard to keep clean when the park is full. I can see their point, but it would be nice to have it available to get the kids out of the sun for a while. I would give the lakefront spots a 4 or 5 out of ten and much of the beach area has been eroded by the high water this Spring. Stay in the upper sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
We've been going to NkMip for 13 years and have had ups and downs with it. We used to be able to book sites on the beach, but RVing has become so popular, its hard to get these sites anymore. That said, there are so many services offered (restaurants, horse-back, helicopter, proximity to Rattlesnake canyon, etc), that its impossible to not keep busy. Being up the in the C lot puts you very far away from the beach, which has been slowly eroding over the years. However, I still highly recommend this site as the people and the services they offer are second to none. We had friends join us that stayed up in the condo area and they had spectacular rooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
I rate on a scale of 1-3 on the basis of cleanliness, facilities, environment or ambiance and 1 point for special features. For this place: cleanliness 3/3, facilities 3/3, ambiance 3/3. There are special features but some negatives prevent the last "1" point. OK, yes some of the sites are sort of close: thats nothing new in the world of RV camps. There is sand which gets everywhere but, hey, its sand and people are looking for beaches, yes? There are 40-60' trees making it shady, lots of grass, waterfront sites and we had no issue with security or cleanliness. The staff were friendly and its close to town. All in all a 9 to us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$48
The sites in this Park are ridiculously crammed together, we were in a small Class C and our neighbors were only 10 feet away, there is absolutely no privacy at all. No one has room to park their vehicle in their site so they are parked all over the roads which makes it difficult for big RV's to park or even drive down the roads. They don't clean the sites when people leave, we had gum stuck under our picnic table, beer caps, cigarette butts. There is absolutely no security, vehicles are driving through the campground all hours of the night. There are loud parties going late into the evening, this place is out of control. The roads are not paved so it's very dusty. We camp a lot and this has got to be the worst Park we've stayed in. They charge $1.00 for a 5 minute shower. For the price they're charging, B.C. must be desperate for campgrounds if people want to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
Ahh, a wonderful place with warm shallow water. Lots of sun! Drive through the orchard and 2 minutes into town for quaint little shops and family run restaurants. Good prices too! Absolutely my favorite area for camping in BC. Never rains because it's a desert town. You can bring your boat. Onsite they have a Rattle Snake Rescue center where you can walk to, and see live rattlers. I give it a 10! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
We stayed at a standard site. Tight but clean and nice. Next time we'll opt for the Premium - double wide and way more private. Probably quieter too. Big campground with lots of people. Pool is only open in "off season". I guess you're supposed to swim in the lake in the summer. A bit weird to have a pool but close it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
We just returned from a 1 week stay at your campground. I must say, I am not one to normally write and complain but this week was awful and I thought I should let you know. We know that we booked fairly last minute and were quite pleased with our site, 118, when we arrived. It was close to the lake and the campground, which was great for us as we have a small son. Soon after arriving we started to smell strong wafts of sewer, only to realize that the main septic dump was right across from us. We tried to make the best of the smell but am disappointment to say, we had to eat most meals inside our motorhome and that my son complained of feeling sick t our stomachs every time he went to the playground so he stopped going. As the weather was not great (not your fault obviously) the lack of playground and lake time left us with a small son very bored and cranky. We then seemed to have some sort of flying ant invasion. Everything on and around our campsite was crawling with infant and flying ants. My husband got bit four times and I was forced to keep my son inside, yet again, as the ants were making it tough to play outside. Thank goodness they only seemed to stick around for a day and half. To top it all off, the last full day of our trip was the worst of all. Again, not your fault, but the wind was almost hurricane force, which would have been bad enough but now we get to listen, see and small the RED SEPTIC truck coming and going all day long. The smell was so strong when he was dumping and the wind was blowing right at us, that again we could not go outside as we were all feeling sick to our stomachs. We counted well over 10 visits and thought he was FINALLY done when the light went on indicating the dump site was full, but NO!!!! You guys just reset the light and on the dumping went. I can not believe that the last dump we heard, that had been keeping us awake as we went to bed early as the smell outside was to horrible, was around 11PM!!! What are you guys thinking? People come to your campground as you state that it is a quiet relaxing retreat! What a crock. I understand that the septic from your Spirit Ridge condos needs to get pumped out and put in the tank near the campground, that gets processed by the city, but do you honestly think it all needs to be done in one day, over a 15 hour period? There were a tons of small kids camping around us, with most of them in tents and tent trailers, who were not able to get away from the horrible smell, expect for leaving for the day, which most of them were forced to do. Plus, most people with kids go to bed early as do the kids. How are they supposed to sleep with a darn septic truck parked next to them with the engine going and the lights flashing??? Needless to say, we will never be back nor will I ever recommend your campsite to anyone. I will go above and beyond to ensure people do not come to Nk'mip. I realize that some of the sites would not have been affected by the septic but why should we have to suffer by wanting to be near the playground? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
I expected more. The drive in was beautiful with orchards and rock cliff views. Nice landscaping at entry only. The check-in staff was less than warm or caring. Our site was on a busy corner with a big dip into the site making it difficult to unhook and hook up. The whole place was dirt and unlevel. Wind made dust fly everywhere. They say they have cable, but its only available to a few long term sites. Its great for families with kids as kids were everywhere, they left trash about and knocked on our door rather late trying to collect bottles. There seems to be absolutely no staff policing anything. Being on the lake is very nice and the views are nice. We didn't use the restroom or laundry. Wouldn't stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Our site was on the waterfront. Nice view of the lake and the town. Site mostly sand and some grass. Power 30 amp only along the lake. The wind off the lake was so strong it rocked our RV. More sheltered sites are in the C section up on the hill. WI-FI connection weak as site some distance from office. Store on site, but closed. Cell phone coverage good. Still best park in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$26
This park is in a nice location, next to Lake Osoyoos. Lake sites are $2.00 premium. Staff is friendly. This is a very large park, and all of the sites appear to be full service. Payment by Canadian money or MC or VISA card. U.S. currency not accepted. Park rules are provided in very small type on the back of the site card provided. We stayed for 2 nights, and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
Stayed for 2 weeks in fall of 2007. Most others are here for the winter. Only some of the 320 sites are available after the summer season. The monthly rate is very reasonable at $325 plus electrical. All the services work well including cable TV and Wi-Fi which are included in the price. Sites are quite large and most rigs would not have a problem with either width or lengh. Only downside was the lack of exercise equipment therefore we did a lot of walking. Also, there is a winery on-site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Very nice park in a great location. There are some beautiful waterfront sites here, wifi throughout the park and all the sites are large and well positioned. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com