221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Calico Ghost Town & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 50 user reviews. Phone: (760) 254-2122
CGID514

Calico Ghost Town & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
253
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   10   8   3   7   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$0
This is a nice county campground. Each shower and bathroom set is in its own room so there's none of the institutional, locker-room feel. The showers take quarters and have no controls. The water is a set temp. We got there about 4:40 PM and couldn't find a host, ranger, or security so we found a space and hooked up, expecting someone to come around. No one ever showed up by the time we pulled out the next morning. My wife is trying to contact them to see if they can accept a credit card for our stay but, at this time, we're probably on the FBI's Most Wanted List for campground scoundrels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
As one reviewer put it "This is a Rustic Campground With all Facilities." It is about 3 miles from the freeway on a well paved road. Gravel once you get there. They had coin operated showers, but it appeared that the heads had been removed from all but one. That is why I said no showers. Very quiet. Summer appears to not be their prime season. No activities from May to September. We would return again. Rate is normally $34, We got a 10% senior discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
Nice place in the winter. Local geology is fascinating. Some nice hikes, but don't be tempted to poke around in the abandoned mines. We usually camp in the C-D-E areas which are electric only. Few of these are really level but we have leveling jacks and they cope with the slope easily. OHV trails are close and could be annoying if in heavy use. So far we've never been bothered. Restroom-showers are basic but clean. Watch the wind forecast, it can really blow here at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
We call this a primitive park with full hookups. We were totally surprised to find such a beautiful spot with no concrete, blacktop or gravel but with utilities we needed. Great night of sleep with absolutely no noise. The ghost town was an added bonus. The park and ghost town was once owned by Knott's Berry Farm but was given to the county several years ago. Rate posted was Sr. rate. Be aware that you will probably locate a site of your choice. We were told that A & B sections were full hookup but A is only 30 amp so we had to move to B to get 50 amp. Had a great snack and breakfast in the restaurant in the ghost town. Oh important: Our GPS took us to an empty field. The park is actually 3 miles after turning onto Ghost Town Rd. Look for the CALICO sign on the cliff side and head for it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
This was a convenient full hook up overnight stop for us between Jumbo Rocks in Joshua Tree national park and Red Rock canyon. We have 2 kids (2 and 4 year old) so we thought this would be fun way to recharge between state parks. The A & B sites are full hook up. We camped on a week day in March so it was not busy, and we had plenty of spaces to choose from. On a weekend, you definitely need to book. We went for the B spots as they appeared to be more level. Most of the RVs in A were leveled with blocks of some kind. There are limited 'views' in B site as you are between two slabs of red rock in a row but the sunset was really nice. The showers are basic - concrete floors and walls, however, they were clean. There was plenty of space and they were a really good temperature. Just note that you need to put 4 quarters in the machine for the water to start. It is a short walk to the ghost town which has a little train, silver mine, full restaurant (9am-5pm), panning for gold, horse rides (all for an extra fee) etc. Definitely touristy, but we didn't mind and the camping fee covers entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
For the money we paid to stay here there wasn't much to do about the park. The ghost town closes early, the washrooms were filthy, we walked around the park it was somewhat vacant. The road in was very narrow and the sites were pretty short, we have a 27'fifth wheel and we could barely fit in, we wanted to stay hooked up for the night so we could pull out early in the morning. It was a tight fit. I wouldn't stay here again unless they dropped the price, we paid our rate was for water and electricity only. No Wifi, no cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$40
Nice stop for a night or two and especially fun for a family as the Calico Ghost Town is a short walk. We stayed in a motor home and would return. High desert camping so rock and cactus are the surroundings. Bathrooms are clean and private. Pay showers are part of the individual bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
In the middle of the desert – no shade. All utilities worked well. Limited TV service. Not a very attractive campground. New bathhouses. Ghost Town was fun to tour. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
The rate includes admission to the ghost town, which is a plus as that is a nice little attraction. The hook-ups were good, but the sites were not level at all. There may be some type of discount, but we were told , "Not on weekends". The restrooms/showers seem newer and were individual rooms, which is nice, but they were not cleaned over the three days we were there. They looked like they had not been cleaned for several days. Showers must be paid for, but the coin changer did not work. I would have rated it higher if the price were less or if the restrooms/showers had been clean. We would stay here again (for one night). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Nice desert campground at the regional park adjacent to Calico Ghost Town. We were looking for an overnight stop, and this was in the right place, but we ended up staying two nights so we had a day to explore. Recent (and continuing) upgrades to the campground include new restroom buildings and a new entry for easier access. Sites in the full hookup area are tight, but those in the power only and no service areas are more open. Calico Ghost Town was good for a short visit, but was much more commercial than we expected with several tour bus with loads of foreign visitors swarming through the town. The location is good for access to other nearby desert areas, and the campground appears to be a place for individuals and groups who want to use their ATV's or Jeeps during the day but have a campground to return to at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$28
The rate reflects a $2 per night senior discount and is for a full-hookup site. We had good, strong 50 amp service. Because of earlier expressions of concern about the water, we arrived with a full fresh tank and did not use the water. We were there during the week, and the campground was not crowded at all. They do take reservations which might be advisable for a weekend or to get a favorite site. The campground is a fairly easy drive from the freeway. When you go through the gate you are directed to take a site and the “ranger” will come by to collect your fee. We did that and someone did come by. He did not get out of his truck; I had to go out to his window. Oh, well. I paid for two nights, but we decided to stay for three. No one came by to collect for the extra night; since we left early the next morning, there was no one to pay, so I had to mail in the check. The sites are not particularly attractive and are down in the arroyo, so no views. The park looks quite tired with some trashed picnic tables. One big CAUTION: There are nails all over the place, perhaps from folks burning wood with nails or perhaps from earlier construction. We got a flat in our tow car, luckily not in the motorhome. The park was fairly quiet except for one night with a lot of shouting and cars driving at high speed on gravel roads. There did not really seem to be much of an official presence after dark. You can visit the ghost town, but don’t get your hopes up for something very special. We would stay here again but only for a night while passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Well, it is in the Mojave desert. So we should expect hot and dry. No phone service inside the park but go on a hill and you might get a signal. The water gave us a problem, to say it politely. Very salty. Glad we had fresh water from New Mexico on board. Just walk up the hill to the Ghost Town and spend the day, included in camping fee. Very interesting place. Pretty birds, chukkars, abound. And kangaroo rats (but they look like chipmunks). And bats at sunset. Didn't hate it, but we were glad to leave after 3 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
The campground was basically a place to stop with water, 50 amp, and sewer. Satellite worked well (there was no over-the-air available), and our Verizon RAZR hotspot worked well. The Ghost Town provided something to do, which is why we chose to stop over here. We were scheduled to be in a site on the loop with 50 amp, but when we arrived the site was extremely uneven and only had 30 amp. We were told when we made the reservation that if the site we were scheduled for did not work for us, we could take any site without a reservation tag on it. We found and moved to another site that was even and had 50 amp. The park was hot and dusty, but an OK place for a night's stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Calico is a real ghost town made into a tourist attraction. The campground is clean and pleasant. There are rarely many people there. We always arrive late in the evening, after driving all day across CA. It is quiet and pleasant. You can make reservations online but it isn’t necessary. The security guy will come by shortly after you arrive and check you in. The cost of visiting the town is included in your camping fees and we always have a quick run through the shops and eat some ice cream before we head out again. It’s hot and dry there so having air conditioning makes it much nicer. No Wi-Fi available but the 3G connection was strong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
It was a great choice for the area. Overall the park is quite clean and the bathrooms were fully functional and very clean as well with nice hot showers. (Note that the showers are coin operated.) The camp hosts moved around the area off and on in a pickup truck keeping their eyes on things and helping campers out with whatever needs we may have so that was nice. If I had one complaint is was that you have to go through the "pay" gate that gets you into the Calico Ghost Town area to get to the RV Park. It was not too bad in early March although we did have to wait but I am sure the summer months the line of cars gets very long as does the wait. You don't have to pay to get in if you are camper but you do have to wait in queue so that can let you pass through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$36
To say the campground is 'rustic' would be generous. Nobody was in the guard station to check us in upon arrival however, we had our site # in advance so we found it ok although our site's accesses was initially blocked by another camper storing his tag-car trailer. Sites consist of the natural desert floor dirt, with some being very far off from level, and hook ups all the way in the back. Our sewer hookup was significantly above grade which made dumping interesting. Sites on the "loop" are generally short and very cramped laterally. Some sites had small trees between them and by trees I mean that ranged from the oddball small Mulberry to a full-blown thorn tree (with 3"-4" thorns on it). Fair amount of trash blowing around as well as dead vegetation such as large palm trees cut down and left to rot in place. The only thing that looked modern/decent/kept-up in the entire campground was the bathroom complex, which we ended up not using. AT&T and Verizon service ranged from weak to non-existent depending on where you were standing. The ghost town was fairly nice with our teens keeping themselves occupied up there for a few hours but the campground itself leaves a lot to be desired. Bottom line is the campsites are located in a small, but high-walled unattractive canyon (no view) that is dusty, crowded, and mostly unkempt looking. Doubt we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Very disorganized check-in. Attendant at entrance said pick any site and then go to the office (in the ghost town) to pay. So we set up and I went to pay, apparently most of the sites were reserved so we had to move. The next night one of the staff stops to collect our payment (we already paid) and to know why we weren't on the assigned site (the one we had to move off). More explanations followed. The park never did fill up with all the reservations. Otherwise, the campground is quiet, facilities worked fine, sites can be very non-level. Very weak AT&T/ Virgin Mobile service. We probably would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
I loved camping at Calico!! The ghost town (complimentary admission with camping) was excellent! Everyone who worked there was friendly. It was kind of cool as I went to the gate, they let me pick out my site and came by later so I could pay. If you have never been here, I would put it on my destination list. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Large dirt sites in an old ghost town. The town itself is a short walk up the hill and is a neat tourist attraction. Lots of places to roam and walk dogs. The camp is kept very clean. It's in a quiet area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
Rate reflects senior discount given through the week. Other reviewers cover the campground pretty well. We were happy with our site, but there weren't a lot of people so we were able to get one of the better ones. There aren't that many full hookup sites which our 32' fifth wheel could get into easily, so we felt very lucky. Our only complaint about the Ghost Town was they had really nice Christmas lights, but when we hiked up to view them after dark, we were told we couldn't be in the town after hours. The only place you could really see the lights was from the town at night ... doesn't make much sense to have the lights if no one is allowed to go see them. The terrain in the area is spectacular with many thoroughly enjoyable hikes and the town was fun as well as a lot less "touristy" than we were expecting. While here, be sure to head down to Peggy Sue's in Yermo. It's a trip, with really great milkshakes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
The rate was for a full hookup and it also gave me access to the ghost town. Access and park roads paved. Site was a very unlevel, mostly small gravel and sand pull-through. Sewer connection was elevated which forced me to use boards and supports for the connection. No cable TV or Wi-Fi, and TV off the antenna was poor as most channels distorted or snowy. Park brochure said there was a pay phone at washrooms, but didn't see one. I would only come here again if visiting the ghost town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$43
We have stayed at this KOA about 10 years ago when we owned a tent trailer. Thought it was fine place to camp for one night when passing by and decided to stay here again on our way back from Texas to Northern CA. Previous to this campground we stayed at two other campgrounds on this trip. This KOA was expensive compared to other non-KOA's and certainly the worst of the lot. Toilets were dirty, showers were dirty and there was no place to plug any electrical items in the shower booths. Most campgrounds we visited in the past have toilets, shower area, and sinks where you can plug electrical things, but not this place. Not only that, these were really rude reception personnel. The check-in was slow and rude and when my husband returned later to the store area next the reception area, the same older woman quipped, "Whatever we have is there and no more." She was very snide when my husband asked if they might perhaps carry another product. He's not a person to complain about the service, but he could not believe the mean manner exhibited by the woman. We will never stay here again, and most likely avoid other KOAs as well after this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
Calico Campground is a San Bernadino County Park located in the canyon below the Ghost Town. When we arrived the ranger directed us to the campground without giving us any kind of a warning. Turning into the campground (lower) we encountered flood debris everywhere, including in the campsites, specifically the campsite we were assigned. The rains and then a broken water main up in the town, drove flood waters through the canyon and caused a lot of damage to the campground. The campsite I had reserved was 2/3rds gone via wash-out so bad you couldn't drive through it let alone try to tow a fifth wheel into it. I picked another site since the campground was nearly empty. Because of the flood damage there was no water to the campsites and that information was not provided until after I had set up and tried to connect. I stayed one night and given the attitude of the rangers would not return to this campground. The Calico Ghost Town is fun for a day and lots of traffic comes and goes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Nice county park adjacent to the county run Calico Ghost Town. We arrived late, took a little while to find our site but it was clearly marked and tagged with our name on the post. Neighbor had truck blocking our site but they woke to move it. Plenty of room. We were a short walk to the ghost town. We did a lot of hiking around the campground hills. There is some BLM camping near by so you can hear the OHV. Some folks had their jeeps ready in the park and went riding into the hills through the east side of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
Campground has 25 full-hookup sites, plus dozens of partial- and no-hookup sites. I stayed in the electric-only area, which was much less crowded than the full-hookup area. Sites are narrow but long, and are just dirt plus rock. It's not great as a campground, but since you get free admission to the Ghost Town (a tourist trap, but a well-done one) it's a better deal. Amazing scenery around here; be sure to visit Rainbow Basin Natural Area while you're in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$23
I'd like to emphasize that I'm rating just the campground here, NOT the ghost town part of this complex. I feel the campground itself deserves just an average rating. It's not terrible, but it's not particularly great either. We opted for a site with just an electrical hook up. It was quite small and very uneven and rocky as are a lot of the sites. There is no privacy at all between the sites. I thinks this campground could be really dusty in windy weather too. The "ghost town" itself is quite interesting though and well worth a look. There is a small museum, lots of western themed shops, a couple of eateries and a little train ride. You can also take a self-guided tour of a real silver mine for just $1, a terrific bargain. Kids will love this place. Given that your camp fee includes entrance into the ghost town, we'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
Stayed in full hook-up site #A22 just outside of main circle, made things a bit more private. Park is clean and well equipped for what it is. Sites outside of circle were a bit rough due to recent seven days of steady rain. Price is reasonable only because it includes admission to Ghost Town. Was a good stopover on the way to Death Valley National Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$35
Nothing fancy here as far as the campground goes, but the included admission to the ghost town was a bonus that was appreciated. Breaks up the drive between Las Vegas and South Cal nicely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
Our first night here was a Friday the 13th of November. We chose Calico because it was pretty close to home, had the Ghost Town to explore, and had a lot of places nearby for shooting. We had a blast. All of our neighbors were great and there were a couple of large groups here for that weekend. We were scoping out spots for the next trip before we checked out on the last day. Late Fall was the perfect time to go: not too hot and not too cold. Loved it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Fun place to spend a night. The Ghost Town is included in the camping fee. Asked for and got a $5.00 senior discount. Used a full hookup, pull through (30 amp) around the circle, although it was not long enough to leave the dinghy hitched. Only negative is the leveling: required 4" blocks under the left tires. One weeknight in late September: we only saw 4 other campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
I rated this higher because it's such a good value, especially as it includes admission to the Ghost Town (which was rather disappointing). It's just got the essentials: full or partial hookups on gravel/dirt sites, small trees and no landscaping. Bathrooms/showers were concrete, but clean and private. It was quiet except for the wind. The ranger said it's either hot or windy, but I think we got both. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$22
A great deal. Not too far off the interstate. We don't have kids, but probably would be an ideal stop if you did, as you can access the Calico Ghost Town from the RV park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
Fun place to spend a night. When we arrived at 4:30pm no one was in the booth so we just pulled into a site. The county runs this park so they came around later in the evening and collected our fee. Some of the sites aren't very level. They had a big flood there last year and are still doing repairs. Real quiet place. When you stay in the campground you get to go into the ghost town free. Cute place with great people working the shops. Much more fun then your normal RV campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
The campground is still under repair at this time, so this is based on what we see today. Due to the recent flood, we were not able to stay in the full hook up area of the park, we had to just do E/W down below. The staff was helpful and called to give us the option. It's all dirt as you might expect from a ghost town area. The sites are big, and of course, this one is basically empty at this time. Make sure your AC is working. When we pulled in yesterday, it was 113. We're just doing an overnighter here, which is good. Bring lots of ice too, the water out of the faucet is probably 90 degrees on the cold setting. It was so hot, it overheated my pressure regulator (cheapo brass one.) The showers are very old and we didn't use them. Bathrooms are the same. The Ghost Town is cool, and worth the trip if you're coming this way, it's just a few miles out. I don't think we'd stay here again, but it worked for us for a quick stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
We stayed here 3 nights and it was as expected. We didn't call the county in advance for reservations so we had electric only (our fault, all the full hookups were taken). It is in the middle of the desert so it was hot and dusty, however, the ghost town was a delight, the campground was kept up very well and everyone we encountered from check in to check out was extremely polite and well mannered. The only draw back was the wind and that wasn't the campgrounds fault, that was an act of God. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$27
What a dust bowl! But, there is a lot to do including the ghost town. Great area for off-road driving, motorcycling, and mountain biking! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
This is a County park, with campsites set in a dry wash in the hills near Calico Ghost Town, near Barstow, CA. It's really not a bad campground, and most of the sites are pretty well maintained. Ours, however, (one of the longer pull-throughs) had been severely eroded with deep ruts and loose rocks, and it took some finagling to get situated and level. The next day, the wind came up and we all about blew away. That's not fault of the campground, but the winds can be really bad on the upslope of these mountains. The Calico Ghost Town is worth a look-see. The history of this area is very interesting and definitely worth the trip. It is convenient for us for a quick weekend and we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$22
Was a great park for families. Close to the town and a nice desert setting. This is a county park, so don't expect much. Bathrooms are bad but clean. Great security driving around all night. Free admission to Calico Ghost Town while camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Normally, I would give this kind of campsite a 6 but having the Ghost Town right there warrants a higher grade. For a 40 year-old man who stopped yearning to visit this place 20 years ago (when my hormones and ego fully kicked in!), the Ghost Town offered a satisfying amount of entertainment. Even my teenage sons had fun! The campground, however, was very primitive and virtually like "dry camping" in the remote desert. The only difference was the fact that we had some rowdy, noisy off-roaders camped around us (we got stuck in the overflow section) and there were times when I thought our neighbors might entertain us with a gunfight of their own. The bathrooms were pretty murky, too, which can be expected from a county-run facility. But. Oh yeah, did I mention how the Ghost Town was entertaining and worth the trip? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$22
If you want a full hook-up, pull-through site, don't bring any off-road vehicles. We were driving home from a long road trip and had our dirt bikes in the bed of the truck. We had to take a partial hook-up, back-in spot because they would not let us into the full hook-up/pull-through section simply because we had dirt bikes with us. The campsite did have a fire pit, which was nice. There was trash around the site, but it was very conveniently located to the Calico Ghost Town, which was great. All in all, the campground was basic, but okay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Level sites with tables and fire pits. The County has done a very good job of maintaining both the campground and the ghost town above it by not letting it get tacky. All the employees were helpful and full of interesting information. We only stayed one night but will definitely be back for a longer stay. There is a lot to do and see in the town and the surrounding area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
We tried site A4 but even using all of our boards we could not get level, site A7 was better for us, we have a 30 ft class A. Our FHU site had 30 amp electric, we saw some electric only sites with 50 amp. The sites are dirt and rocks, some quite narrow and short, others better; very quiet after everyone settles down at night. There are a few trees around that look nice but don't offer much shade. We got some TV service and a decent Verizon signal for phone and Internet. We took a look at the restrooms near our site but did not use them, they were very basic. The town was fun and the cemetary very interesting. We went early and had breakfast at the Calico House Restaurant, it was very good and the morning was beautiful and not too hot. Price of admission to the town is included in the camping fee. The campground isn't a resort by any stretch but it's absolutely fine for a night or two and the ghost town is worth a visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$21
Sites are close together and since we were there on a weekend, it was pretty tight. Dirt sites are not level, and many would not fit our 29' TT. $21 includes full hook-ups and admission to the ghost town, a good deal. The bath house was run down and needed some attention. Some hiking, a dirt bike area, and horse camp within the park. It is three miles north of I15, so very quiet except for the weekend partyers. The staff was really nice, although not enough of them for the weekend when the park is full. Market, gas and restaurants in Barstow, less than 10 miles down the road. Verizon Wireless cellular and aircard worked fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
This was a very fun park for our children. There are hills to climb and great rocks and mines to explore in the campground. Neighbor's fire pit was too close to the back end of our trailer. You could hear music coming from the off road vehicle sites below us at night. Overall it was a very nice park. We will be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$22
This is the third time we've stayed here. I'm rating the park a "7" as an average of all three stays. The sites are quite close together and it can seem rather claustrophobic when the park is full or near full. Bring plenty of boards or blocks as there's not a level site in the park. During our last stay the park was nearly empty, which was wonderful. Although many people complain about the heat here, it can also get quite cold in the winter. It got down to 19 degrees the night we stayed. $22 is a bargain for full hook-ups and admission to the ghost town. There is nice hiking within the park and TV reception is good with an antenna. It is very quiet at night and the staff is friendly and helpful. We've checked out other overnight parks in the area and always return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$15
Managed by the County of San Bernardino, we found this rustic spot a great side trip on our way back South on the I-15 from a Vegas visit. A visit to the ghost town was enjoyed by the family and despite the heat, the place has a pleasant charm. The Ranger visited all sites in the evening and was a great conversationalist. He was very friendly and offered valuable information on the area. We enjoyed one of the most precious night skies a city-slicker will never experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
We stayed here for two nights on our trip out to Arizona. Your price for camping includes your admission into the ghost town. The ghost town is a fun thing for families or anyone to do. Our site had two trees, one on each side. This really doesn't matter, because it is HOT at Calico. The site was a pull-through and not real level. I phoned them and asked about the sites before hand. They were nice to deal with and gave us a good site. The sites are dirt, with either pull-through or back-in. There is a restroom and showers, but we didn't use them, so I couldn't tell you what they are like. The gate is unmanned after 4:00 p.m. After that time, the ranger spots people coming in and gets over to your site to register you. We arrived about 6:00 p.m. and had no problem with our site being taken as said in a previous post. When you call ahead and make reservations your name and dates are already posted on the board at the site. The ranger makes sure that it is the correct person and proceeds with the registration. All of the full hook-up sites were not taken and there were plenty of partial hook-up and tent sites available. The other people staying here were quiet and we had no problems. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
Booked a site for three nights. Arrived and the spot we were assigned was taken. Checked with the front desk and was advised to take another site next to it. About 5 hrs later we were advised by another camper to get out of his spot. Got folks from the office down and we were told that since he had paid that we would have to move. We had full hook ups and was told that we would have to go to a site with no hook ups. Asked about the fact that we had paid as well and we were told to go to that spot. Asked about getting a refund and was advised that since we paid by check months before that it would take 3 to 4 weeks for a refund. Also while we were in the office trying to get help from manager another group of folks were being told they would have to leave the site they had as well. After a lot of talking the manager finally said that she would return us the first night fee. Said she would book us into the local KOA with no sewer for one night. We had booked three nights into Calico. We packed up after 5pm and went to the KOA rather than having the other guy whom told us to get out of his site bothering us all night. Upon arrival at the KOA, we were told by KOA that the manager did not pay for the night, had to have them call them to make arrangments for payment. The park is at the bottom of the Ghost Town and in a poor state of repair. The sites are very unlevel and the staff were very rude not only with us but with the other folks being told to move from site they were in as well. We had traveled a bit out of the way to go to this location and were very unhappy that we were treated in this way. We are sure that we were not the first threated like this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2005
$22
Well to start with, I asked about trees when I made reservations, because I did not want trees blocking our satellite dish. Was told that there were no trees, and was assigned space B-8. If you have a large rig make, sure they don't try to give you that space, there are two trees on each side of space which makes it very difficult to get your rig in. Also we could not use one of our slide outs because its so tight. Next day we were able to move to a pull through site. The ghost town is neat and informational. Camp ground is clean and the view of the mountains and desert is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$20
This is a great family campground, its good size has hiking trails and of course the ghost town. Its desert area but clean and quite. the employees are as nice as can be. Even if you only spend one night and see the town the following day it won't be a wasted trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com