220689 User submitted reviews online!!
Arrowhead Lake Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (618) 983-3535
CGID5146

Arrowhead Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   9   8   5   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$12
This is a fabulous secret! Only found this park because of the website www.uscampgrounds.info. Beautiful setting, very pleasant people, easy in and easy out. If you are coming from I-57, use the truck route to get to the park as the railway crossing is easier than going down Broadway. From interstate go down Broadway then take a left on Grand turn right on 9th street follow to Corinth which is past the railway tracks then turn left on Peterson. Some of the branches of the trees on Peterson are a little low so beware. Great spot to stop for north and south travelers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$10
We stop in southern Illinois annually. We were thrilled to find this nice city park. We were staying just one night and needed only E/W which was $10. The park is clean and taken care of. It is just 2 miles off the interstate. The train track crossing in town is a little scary, so take it easy. We will look to stay in this park again and was told that the rate may go up to $12 a night this spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
Our rate was with the senior discount. Tent sites are $10. Most motorhome sites are $16. This is a small fishing lake with only electric motors allowed on the boats and has lots of shore fishing area. There is a 2 mile walk on a nice graveled path around the lake with sights and sounds of birds, frogs and turtles. The camp hosts are very friendly and helpful. The campers are considerate and friendly. There is a laundry and dump site available. Nice playground and group picnic area. The only downside is the older push button showers that are too hot and the temperature can't be regulated. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$7
We stopped for an overnight. What a great place. Our rate is the seniors discount rate. Any time I can find a place like this for under $10.00, I'll pick it over a Wal-Mart, a truck stop or rest area any day. We need more cities offering this type of camping facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$13
The campground had a not so good review but I found just the opposite to be true. There are eighteen or so lakeside camping sites and through the winter most of those remained empty. The lake is just steps away from any site. There may be 3 or 4 motorhomes that are lived in year round as RV life is a way of life for some. A non-denominational chapel is located at the campground. The water service is seasonal being turned off from December to April. There are no sewer hookups but of course there is a dump station. The bath house and laundry are always clean and sanitary. The lake, besides being a jewel, has a two and a half mile improved hiking trail. The wildlife that frequent the lake or call it home consist of an occasional osprey, a bald eagle pair, and golden eagles (at least one pair). An occasional bobcat has been seen in the most remote areas of the lake. And then there's fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$17
This is a nice quiet park on a lake with nice fishing for pan-fries. The best RV spots are taken up by folks who can leave (store) their RVs there for about a dollar a day (with no hook up) and it is a shame that people who are actually here, who would like a chance to be on the lake, cannot. I watched the many days and several weeks those RVs in prime space sat empty. But, I must say that there are nice views of the lake from the other sites too. Price is so cheap. There is a good discount if you stay over 4 nights. The people running it are OK. No internet or cable here. We did go to the Johnston City public library in town (1.5 miles) and used their computer for free (nice folks there). There is a McDonalds in town that also has Wi-Fi (for a charge). You can rabbit ear for some TV. A couple of channels did come in with my converter box. PBS, FOX and ABC. It's a 12 month park, but they turn the water off in December through to the March thaw, allowing people to haul it up from the bathhouse if you want to stay the winter there. A bit too much trouble for me, but many RVers winter there too. Geese everywhere. The kids like them and they seem unafraid of humans, but watch where you step. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$17
Staff friendly. Permanent owners are also friendly. Every other Friday is country music night. Once a month Saturday is cook out night. Go with cash or a check, they do not take credit cards. Site was facing the lake. The early morning sunrise makes up for any lack of services(sewer/50amp). We where there for two months, got used to moving the RV to the dump, mostly used the site showers (clean). Go sit on the stoop of the General Store and put the world to rights with the camp host. The caretaker (permanent) and his wife turned out on a very wet morning to say their goodbyes to us before we hit the road for FL. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
The problem with this campground is that there is no limit to how long you can stay and you cannot make reservations. Some people have set-up residence in the CG so all the good waterfront sites are always taken. It is a city run CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com