206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Tall Pines Campground, Canoeing & Country Store was rated 8 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (607) 563-8271
CGID5177

Tall Pines Campground, Canoeing & Country Store

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   2   10   7   6   10   9   4   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
We stayed for 2 nights in this campground and I have to say we were very impressed! Our site was a pull through site with a great view of the river. It was level, had a well kept grass lawn and we found it to be spacious enough for us. Our coach is 40' and we were pulling a car, however we followed their directions to the large vehicle turn around area and did not have any trouble maneuvering when we left. I was confused by the earlier review that mentioned trains, as we did not hear any train noise, nor did we see any evidence of trains nearby (I am thinking that maybe he posted a review for the wrong campground here?). Overall the only thing I can think that they might need to improve is a few of the roads that have some potholes in them, but other than that we loved Tall Pines. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
We stayed here overnight, just passing through, and it seemed the best option based on other reviews. We were unimpressed. The entrance was full of potholes. We requested a pull-through because we didn't want to detach the tow car. We barely, barely fit. The site was grass and so unlevel that we gave up and just left it out of whack. We were instructed to go to a turn-around at the end of the campground when we were ready to leave. The only way we could get out of our site and make the initial turn was to crossover the RV sites adjacent to us (luckily they were empty). When we got to the turnaround, it was so tight that we had to do some crazy, and dangerous, maneuvering to make it without unhooking the tow car. It is very noisy with trains and near constant traffic from the road nearby. There are many long term RV's although the sites are neat. On the upside, the WII-FI was very good, even better with our extenders. Our price is based on a Passport rate, and it is cash only. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
We stayed at Tall Pines during a two month trip across the country. This was our favorite campground out of all the places we stayed. It was so relaxing listening to the river roll by. Can't wait to get back there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$41
This is a nice campground with a lot of activities to offer. Our rate is with Good Sam discount. Very nice sites along the Unadilla River. The reason I have not rated it as 10 is a few different reasons. The sites are way too close and there is very little privacy. Staff was disorganized with check in. You have to pay for the showers. There was a lot of activities, however it didn't seem that a lot of people were participating in them. Seasonal sites were well kept. Overall, it was a nice stay, but not one of our favorites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Nice campground site's are a little too close & not much room. Apart from that nice place. Would stay here again for a few night's We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
We can't say enough about the camp..or the owners and staff. First time camping here and had an RV site #1 that gave us a breathtaking view of the river right behind us. It reminds me of the Swanee River with its gently flowing waters lined with the elm trees on both sides. The peace and tranquility it created is second to none. So many activities,especially for kids of all ages, that no one could EVER get bored. Been a camper since 1963 and NEVER camped at a park that gave room service to your site with a full restaurant menu that is to die for and picked up garbage daily at your site. The owners are the friendliest people you would ever want to meet and will do anything to accommodate your needs.They have put their hearts and souls into this lifestyle for others to enjoy, and thank God there are people like them. Don't quite believe us? Well just come on down and see for yourself. You will NOT go home without being impressed. After only 3 days here we left feeling like we knew them for years. That's the kind of people the world needs more of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
So many great activities for children of all ages. Very relaxing on the river and made for a nice breeze as well. Our campsite was in A-J right on the river which was nice but made the walk in the middle of the night to the bathroom a pain. It would be nice if there were steps up the hill with a railing of some sort instead of having to walk all the way around the hill. After saying that the walk was well worth it, as the bathrooms very clean and updated if not brand new, showers were great, waters were hot! My favorite part was the glass painting (wine glasses) as an adult. I did take my son to the candy bar bingo which I was a little disappointed with, only because there were about 20 of people give or take and we only played one game, I have been to camps where they split them up into four games and you win 5 bars etc. Other than that had a great time and will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
A bit disorganized and shorthanded, but they were a week away from officially opening. Store was a mess, and park looked a bit like a construction site with holes and mounds of dirt all over. Roads were extremely dusty, & the site we were assigned was not marked well at all. It did not seem that this was much more than a stop over park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$44
First the good. The River was pretty, the cable and wi-fi were outstanding, and this campground has the many activities for children. The owners are also very good business people in the way they have found innovative ways to make as much money possible to accommodate the short camping season in New York. However, the "supersite" we stayed on was very narrow and possible the most unlevel site we have ever seen. This campground is really designed for trailers under 30 ft. Also the 30 Amp electric was very poor and desperately in need of updating as the voltage was extremely low. Also, this campground is designed very poorly in the way that the river sites or only accessible by one narrow dirt road making it very difficult to leave after a busy Labor Day weekend because the road isn't even close to being wide enough for two campers to pass each other. The dump station is also located along this narrow road complicating matters even more. Lastly, several sites were very muddy to the point where one motorhome had to be pulled out of their site with a tractor. I'm not sure we'll return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Great place. We stayed for a week as a fishing trip. People at the campground were very nice and helpful. Always had time to talk. We had camper trouble and had to pull out a day later than expected, they just moved our reservations out a day. Very understanding. Fishing is not great along the river (water was very low), but they suggested a few spots nearby that held nice smallmouths. Ice Cream shop was great fun and facilities are in nice shape. Try the all you can eat pancake breakfast for $4.00. Only thing I was not crazy about was their cats walking around on the counters. Overall we had a blast swimming in the river and catching crayfish. Was a really fun time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
Rate is 2 nights Passport America and 3 at regular price. They have 2 restroom/showers. The newer one near the office was generally clean and not bad to use. The older one located near the middle was dirty and both have pay showers. No sign to let you know how long you have for 0.50 cents. We did have a nice campsite backed up to the river. Lots of rain caused some of the campsites to flood. About 1/2 the campground is seasonal RV's but they only show up mostly on the weekends. It gets a 7 because the river is nice. If you Kayak or fish you might like this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
We came to visit Tall Pines for a day pass and barbeque and I just want to thank these folks and and their family for what was just such an incredible evening. I don’t even know where to begin. The campground looks absolutely beautiful, the bathrooms are just so lovely up here, and I know that it doesn’t happen overnight, that it takes a lot of hard work. I hope the season is great and I’m hoping we can get back soon. Tall Pines is just amazing. We had a great time and great memories. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Many permanent campsites. Side by side hookups put you very close to neighbor. Our sewer hookup was under neighbors slide. No respect for campsites from resident campers, they walked right through and kids played wherever they wanted without supervision. Grass sites and since it had rained before we got here, the ground was soft, hoping we'll be able to get out. We were supposed to have a back in site which would have given us a river view but someone was in our site so we had to pull in and face the trees. We will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
If you like the country, and a swim in the river. Get yourself some real camping experience and come stay here. Great! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
We stayed on a poolside site here in early summer and had a great time! Our site was spacious and level. My boys really enjoyed the tie dye, fishing off the dock, the ice cream socials and all the other activities. The pool looked like it was recently painted and had nice new pool chairs. Both bathhouses were clean, and the new bathhouse located by the pool was absolutely gorgeous! We would definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
This is a great park! We drove through here at the end of last season and excited to camp here this year. All we can say is Awesome. The place is VERY clean, the staff is friendly and the activities are great. We really liked our stay an will be coming back several more times this year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$39
A very nice country setting with variety of types of sites: some on a hill, some on a river, some are open field with water and electric for tenters. River sites are especially nice and all sites are roomy enough for privacy. Owners are very active with programs for children, pizza, BBQ prepared onsite and delivered to your RV if desired. It has a nice store, and an old-fashioned fountain with food service in office. One complaint: the older restroom serving the north end of property is totally unacceptable. However, the new facility next to office is very nice, yet undersized for the capacity of the park. It gets hard use from tenters. It is quite a hike from the north river sites to the new restrooms. Suggest that this nice park might be best for self-contained units. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
We picked Tall Pines because of a few good reviews and their website made it sound like an ideal place for us to spend a week. I think we were disappointed because in the area where our site was, the campers were stacked on top of one another with no more than 10 feet from our awning. Our site took on water when it rained as the concrete pad we had to park next to sloped in and not away from the door. The bathhouse in our area was unacceptable: the toilet rocked if you sat down on it and it lacked a door for privacy. The rest of the bathhouse did not look like anyone cleaned it. The "new" bathouse by the office was clean and seemed recently built. The seasonal people two sites over must have thought they had the right to walk through our site: until I sat outside with our 85lb dog! The owners had cats that when we were getting ice cream, the cat was walking on the counter right over the open ice cream case ?? That was a turn off. All in all, it wasn't what we expected. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
There are some good & poor aspects about this park. The staff are friendly & helpful. There is allot of outdoor fun: canoeing, tubing, and fishing. There are allot of kids activities, which are announced on a loud speaker, when they begin. This was a nice feature. The food; BBQ, pancakes, and pizza were all good. The ice cream pallor was the best amenity of the campground. The poor aspects were the bathhouse/restroom. It was horrendous. They were in the process of building a new one for 2010. The concrete around the pool needed upkeep. The building, which housed the office/rec hall/store looks like it may collapse. The sites on the hill are too close together. We stayed on the w/e sites by the river. These were good; however, all grass, no gravel. When it rained, it became muddy. I would return, but only after the renovations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
This is a family campground and we are a senior couple. Nevertheless we really enjoyed it, as the scenery is lovely and the owner delightfully friendly and competent. Enjoyed the pool and the badminton, and watching canoes on the river. Many planned family activities. Pizza on Friday nights made at the campground, and delivered on-site. We particularly liked an E/W site, 35, which is on a hill overlooking the river. In over two months of travel this is the first truly level site we have been given. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
My husband, myself, my 4 year old son and my daughter and 3 dogs all camped July 4th weekend 2008 at Tall Pines!!! I have to say it was the best 4th of July I have ever had. The campground has a lot to offer for everyone, the staff is wonderful and we were first time campground campers and felt right at home and they were very friendly. My husband and I have already planned a 10 day family vacation there it was so wonderful. Thank you to all the staff make sure when you stay there you say Hi to Eddy and Pat they are great - my son really loved them. Have a great time, I know you will!!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Where we were was a mud hole. Thought I was getting a different kind of site. We were here in July. Cars parked everywhere. I had to ask people to move their trucks so my husband could get our motor home out when we left 4 days early. Not our kind of campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Management extremely friendly and will do almost anything to please their guests--except fix the electricity. If you are camping in a tent, tent camper, small travel trailer or fifth wheel, you will probably do fine here. It is a peaceful, pretty spot on the river. Unfortunately, many of the sites are extremely narrow--no problem getting into them but look out your window and you feel as if you are practically in your neighbor's rig! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
We stayed at this campground this past week (last full week in July, 2007). The folks at this campground were outstanding! I can't say enough nice things about them. The super sites on the river are great and quite relaxing. The campground is well kept and the owners have improvements in mind. I could not get my computer to work with their WiFi, but that was really a blessing as it kept my mind away from the office. I am looking forward to returning sometime in the next year or two. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
We visited Tall Pines Campground in Bainbridge, NY this past weekend. The weather was not the best in the world... it rained, rained and rained, but Gayle and Eddy and family (cat & dog included) made us feel at home. The kids loved the rec room and the planned activities. Tye Dying was the BEST! The weekend weather was a bust and our luck wasn't so good (we crashed a canoe, got wet, lost the top to the tent,lost the oars, the boys weren't hurt (praise God),got wet and then cold). But everyone was nice and thanks to a kind person near Rockdale (who drove the boys back to the campground store)they are unhurt; although a bit sad that the trip ended so soon. I recommend this place to anyone that has children. You will not be disappointed. The hospitality is GREAT! We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com