218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Ponderosa Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (719) 376-5857
CGID518

Ponderosa Campground

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   9   8   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
What a gem! We camped here with a site right on the river and it was heaven! Luckily there was a cancellation as most spaces are booked months ahead of time. We booked our site for 2014 in December of 2013. Nice friendly staff. Seems like some of the campers stay for months at a time as they know each other and have group dinners together. Camp fires are allowed when by the riverside which is nice and spaces are spaced decently apart. Bathrooms are clean and well maintained and there is a sewer wagon that comes around several times a week. Small store that has a few things; mostly fishing stuff. Couple of towns within about a 10-15 minute drive. Only complaint is we wish they had cable TV so we could keep up with the local weather, news, etc. Wi-Fi was decent if you were near the office; otherwise forget it. Lots of hiking in the area. Definitely looking forward to our trip back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
A FAMILY FAVORITE! We stay at Ponderosa almost every year for the past 4 years, in both tent and pop up. We love the people here, the river, the fishing, EVERYTHING. For the fourth of July they have a bunch of activities including a fund-raiser rubber duck race down the river. We would like to keep it our secret, but they deserve all the attention and the success in the world! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
This campground is awesome. We moved from another campground down the road and were so happy here. Most of the sites are covered by pine trees. There are some awesome riverfront sites that are so beautiful. Some other reviewers complained about bugs, but we did not encounter them at all. Host and hostess are great: he wants everyone to have a good time and catch fish. The fishing at the campground is pretty good and for a ways up and down the Conejos River. After a distance, it is fly only. We were discouraged that there is no sewer, just a honey wagon, but it worked out just fine. My in-laws stayed in one of the cabins, they are pretty primitive, but do have a full fridge, full oven, and microwave. No sofa/couch, just table and chairs made it a little hard to relax. We will definitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
We absolutely loved this campground! The owners are very nice and accommodating. Jack knows all about fishing in the area and was very helpful. The sites are dirt with some gravel and it rained the time we were there, but it was not very muddy. We did get excellent Wi-Fi reception from our site, which was close to the antennae. There was no TV service without a satellite, but it is so beautiful there, who needs TV? The scenery is spectacular and the weather a welcome relief from the Texas heat-it was high 60's or low 70's during the day and 40's at night. We loved this campground so much, we made reservations for 2010, but there were very few dates available from which to choose and almost no choice of campsites. Jack said they stay booked over a year in advance and I can certainly see why. If you are lucky enough to score a reservation, you will not regret it. We did not stay in the cabins, but I understand they are nice as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
This is a small private campground on the Conejos River in the southern most area of Colorado. The owners are excellent and are experts in placing you in tight spots. The river sites offer a beautiful setting for relaxing for a few days. The river is stocked on a regular basis and you can fish right off the back of your site. This is a popular, rustic campground, that is well run. The non river sites are tight but people do not seem to mind. There is a honey wagon that will come around upon request. The first time is free and each addition visit is $7. Jack and Cathy, the owners, have a loyal following of campers that often stay for the summer and some into fall. There is a relaxed family atmosphere here. We have been here twice in the past two years and will go again when we need our mountain fix. Reservations are difficult to obtain because of the return campers. So repeated calls may be necessary. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This is a beautiful campground. Not as much private space as we like, but a very nice campground. We stopped without a reservation and we were lucky to be able to spend one night. There was a nice walking area to walk our dog and we had a picnic table for cooking out and enjoying the evening. We would definitely go back and make reservations to get a spot right on the river next time. There are lots of bugs, so you need to dress appropriately and have a supply of bug spray. Friendly owners, doing a great job. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
Absolutely gorgeous location for a campground. Our front window looked out on the Conejos River. It was a little tight driving through the park, but the owner directed us into our site. He was very friendly and helpful. Even though we were only there for one night, we would like to return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$26
The scenery and atmosphere in this campground is without equal. It can be a bit tight maneuvering, but I have seen several large Class A's and even a 40' 5th wheel so anyone can fit. There is excellent trout fishing on site or one can drive in any direction and be on a stream or high country lake within minutes. The hosts are among the best in the business. They will know you by your first name in no time. Lots of repeat customers in this place. No live ins but a few who stay a month. Ponderosa is only open from May 1 to Oct. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Have stayed in this campground for over 20 years. It can be a bit tight on manuevering, but the staff will be happy to help on parking. They are continually making improvements on the RV sites. No sewer hookups, but you get one free dump by the staff with a portable dump station each week. Extremely friendly staff and they have been working on this campground for several years. Each year one can see more improvements. The setting is beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com