214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Triple G Hideaway was rated 6 out of 10 based on 64 user reviews. Phone: (250) 774-2340
CGID5187

Triple G Hideaway

Camp Information
Sites
123
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   7   3   6   8   10   9   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
This park was horrible. The 30 amp service shut off 6 times in a half hour. We ran our generator just to cool the place down and were asked to shut it off, although nowhere in the park rules does it say no generators. Other big rigs were having the same problems and "management" who I suspect was the wife, was extremely rude, not only to us, but to others who dared to complain about it. We were going to stay 3 nights, but left after one. The sign in the office said1 no refunds, but I think they knew we would stop payment on the credit card so they gave us a refund on the other two nights. I would never recommend this park. Just drive a little further north and there are others that are much better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
A clean, well-run park by the looks of things. Car/RV wash at the end campground worked good. Gravel sites, long enough for 40' motorhome with tow still attached. Park is within walking distance of museum and visitor information centre. We didn't eat at the park's café, but it had a good crowd. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
We were there for two nights. They have a limit on Wi-Fi and it doesn't reset after the first night. On several occasions the power dropped below 104 volts. Good level sites. I would only spend one night here again and only with a voltage booster. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
RV sites and roads are gravel. RV wash station is a concrete pad with a pressure washer and a brush. The pressure washer is operated with coins. The 30 amp electric outlet for our site was not is excellent condition. Power shut down once due to a bad connection. I sprayed the socket with contact cleaner and it worked for the rest of our stay.There is a restaurant on site, but we chose not to eat there. This is a pretty good and popular park for an overnight stop along the Alaskan highway. The rate is an estimate as we were on a packaged tour. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Nice park, easy in/out of the pull-through sites, which were large and well set up. Very nice, helpful staff. Park is right on the highway so there is some road noise. Additionally, there seems to be an ATV area directly across the road which also can add to the noise level when those folks are out playing. We would return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
Wow! This is our 5th trip to Alaska but our first stop at Triple G: what a terrific addition to the itinerary. After the first time we stayed overnight in Ft Nelson, we stayed here only one other time and that was dry camping because it was better than the alternative. Next time through we will be staying here, both going to and from Alaska. Thank You for making your campground and restaurant fit in perfectly on this long trip! We camped here in a 42', 4 slides rig and towing, with no unhooking and no problems with trees. The WiFi was strong and free, and the cable TV offered 19 channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Incredibly friendly staff, good-size spaces, good Wi-Fi, lots of trees, and pretty landscaping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Nice enough camp, but bees swarmed the front of the RV's making it almost impossible to get in or out of the coach without one or more of them getting in. The owner said they were attracted to something in the front of the coaches that they liked to eat. The laundry room was okay. The park is close to a museum with antique vehicles that we wanted to see but didn't want to deal with the bees. We had trouble getting a satellite signal. There were no trees or mountains or thick clouds to block it. Our system found the signal and the guide came up, but no picture. It was like something was blocking it. There is a restaurant on the property, but we didn't try it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Very nice park. I rated it 9 for an Alcan park, would have only been a 7 in other places. Good restaurant, great management and shady location. There is an RV wash at the back of the park, along with a group picnic area. We stayed here with a caravan so I'm not sure of the price. We would definitely stay here again! Be sure to see the museum while in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Friendly staff to check you in, but awfully crowded. With 130 spaces, they should have more showers and bathrooms. They crammed a little rental motorhome into another space directly behind ours, like six feet from our rear window. Just a little too cozy for my taste. You have to take into account that this is really in the boondocks, and their high season is pretty short. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
Friendly staff and very efficient. Sites were close with shade. There is a nice restaurant at the park. Great place for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
An appropriate park for an overnight along the way. We stayed two nights because of a snowstorm in the mountains for our next leg of the journey. Staff was friendly; facilities were somewhat questionable. Toilets/laundry could use some upgrading, and heat; toilet building was cold. A little pricey for what you get, but that's the story along the Alaska Highway. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Nice park. Tight space. We was parked in the front of the park close to the road, which was noisy. Across the road was a Motorcycle/ATV track which they ran till 10:30 pm! Very annoying. If you stay, ask to be parked in the back, away from the track and road. Fair Wifi, no streaming or Skyping allowed. We stayed here in e 5th Wheel. We'd stay here again, we'd just park in the back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
I agree with the previous post regarding this campground. We had a site near the office, and the site was level and the hookups were very accessible. The WI-FI was strong and worked well, although at check-in the woman made a comment about having to reset it often. The restrooms/showers were somewhat old, but they were kept very clean. The laundry facilities were very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
This park is a bit of a diamond-in-the-rough. It is not impressive at first site. It looks pretty industrial. The lady at check-in was very nice and helpful. We had our pick of sites, as it was not very busy. There was some very noisy, industrial work going on in the park - quite a bit of noise. Hopefully, it is a park improvement. The layout is a bit strange, but we got into a site okay. It did take some blocks to level. Some of the electrical outlets looked very iffy, but we did get a connection of 30 amps and it worked well – nice strong electrical. The campground has some open sites so we were able to get satellite, but we are so far north that it did not work well when it snowed. The internet Wi-Fi worked well. There was a notice to use it only for checking email, but we had no problem in searching other sites. Our Verizon phone worked well. There is cable with many channels. It is a bit expensive for what you get and compared to our other camping experiences, but, overall, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
WOW! I can not tell you how much this place has improved. We stayed here 3 years ago, on the way to Alaska. There isn't much in the Fort Nelson area, so it was really this or nothing, particularly early in the year before the real season starts. We were dreading staying here, as it was the worst spot we stayed at on our trip up 3 years ago. It was like a completely different park. The showers/bathrooms that we used in the main building were VERY clean, looked freshly painted. The camp area was clean, and had fresh gravel. When we got up in the morning, there were ladies cleaning the already-clean bathrooms, and workers out raking and tidying and working on the property. We loved being able to have a fire in the pit, and were able to get firewood right there. We stayed mid-May, and the water was on at the sites. We *would* stay here again if we traveled up the AlCan again some day. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$39
The ground was covered with snow so I really can't comment on how clean the park was. Also, the water lines were frozen so we had to use our own water. The Wi-Fi was good though. The staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
Nice long level sites. Escort to your site. Far enough off road to not hear night traffic. Did laundry here and found the area nice and clean. Restaurant and bar on site, but we did not use these. Decent WiFi. Stayed here on trip north and again on our trip back south ! Would stay here again if in area. We camped in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
This is a pretty nice place. We were in a pull-through facing the highway long enough for 45-footer and connected toad. Several cable channels, best Wi-Fi in days. The staff was very friendly, even escorting me to the site while my wife registered us. On-site restaurant. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Nice, treed area with adequate space. Easy access off the highway and a full service restaurant/bar on site. Wireless internet available and cable TV. Area is graveled/dirt, which made it a muddy when we first got here with the rain. Easy walk to museum. Nice folks and clean laundry area. Would stay here again if our travels bring us this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
This is a decent park, and probably the best one in the area. The sites are long so we didn't have to disconnect our tow vehicle. Every one lined up next to each other. After the first night we had to move spaces as a caravan was arriving the next day and wanted to be all together. That put us closer to the road with more road noise. The trees around the park prevented us from getting Direct TV signal. Typical dirt/gravel sites common for this area. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
This is a park that has great potential. The park has spacious level spots and they are obviously trying to upgrade the landscaping. The staff are very friendly and helpful: even escort everyone to their space. The on-site restaurant is reasonably priced. The appetizers we ordered were good. The downside (and it is a big one) is the restrooms were abysmal. Fortunately we did not have to use them. They have firepits but the firewood sold was still green so we had a hard time getting it to burn. We would stay again only if we did not have to use the bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
We pulled in on a Monday without a reservation and got one of the last pull throughs. They had a caravan at the time. Staff was friendly, restaurant on site. We were satisfied just because they had a site for us as the other parks in the area were not very welcoming. No discounts, cable okay, Wi-Fi was poor. We could hardly ever get on and when we did it was very slow. Unfortunately though, there are not a lot of choices. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
We stayed here 8 years ago and this place was terrible. Glad we gave it another try. It is much improved. The sites are long, though narrow. Hookups, other than TV, worked well. Wi-Fi was strong at our site. Staff was friendly and worked hard. Laundry was fairly clean and reasonably priced. Bathrooms were dirty, however. Previous reviewer is too harsh, expects city amenities in the boonies. We would stay here again. First night there was a loud party. Owner came and asked if we had been bothered. Said yes. The folks were kicked out of there by early afternoon. We were glad to see that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Sites were dry and tight. We asked for a site with full hookups including Wi-Fi and cable TV. We were escorted to a site without cable. We asked to be moved and had the request granted. Bathrooms were old and 2 of the 3 women's coin-operated showers were out of order. Across the street kids ran up and down the hill on 4 wheel ATVs and mini-bikes for several hours. Very noisy and dusty. We might stay here again: not a lot of choices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
I would not recommend this park to anyone. Dirty and muddy sites. Laundry room smells, I would not use their facilities either. They advertise cable TV but it doesn't work and they look surprise when you tell them about it, they don't care. The prices are too high for their little restaurant, meatballs and spaghetti $19.95! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
Welcomed sight after a long day of driving! Typical of parks in the north, mostly gravel/rock with a little grass thrown in between spaces. Restaurant is decent enough. They cooked! I didn't have to, that's all that counts. ;=) WiFi is slow, but our satellite system worked! Yea! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
Excellent campground with a very helpful owner and staff. They were very conscientious concerning their guests. All systems, including sewers,water,electrical, and wi-fi, were operational and performed well. We were guests for three nights due to snowfall of 18-24 inches through Steamboat Pass. campground was filled close to capacity on Thursday in particular. Sites were relatively level and park overall was clean. Would highly recommend this campground to anyone driving through Fort Nelson, BC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
Good enough for an overnight stop. We parked here in a 40 ft RV near the front. Very low key place with its own set of local characters. There is a restaurant bar on site and the home-cooked food is pretty good. Breakfast is hearty. Not sure about the sewer. We ended up not hooking up to it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
The park is an easy on/off the Alaska Highway. The roads were gravel, but smooth. The hook-ups were located very well and the roads were solid. They have a restaurant on site. The restrooms were clean. We would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$37
The park is run down and needs some serious maintenance attention. The sewer system needs some work. At my site, the sewer water covered the sewer drain cover and smelled badly. The bathroom/shower is filthy. The showers have stains on the floor (looks like urine stains). The laundry room could use a really good cleaning. The worst part of our stay was the very loud noise from the motorcycles and ATVs hill-climbing across the road. None of them seemed to have mufflers and they paraded up and down the hill until at least 9 pm. The motorcycles and ATVs even cut through the park at high speeds several times. The only good thing I can say about this park is the Wi-Fi. It is one of the fastest I have encountered in some time. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
We were a little upset to pay $24 for a tent site with pay showers. Yes, most CG's in Canada have pay showers but they usually have tables and firepits for each tent site. There were 3 tables and 3 firepits for 10-12 tent sites. My biggest complaint is that the entire back area sites and especially the tent sites smelled of sewage!! By the morning, I was convinced that we might be actually camping on top of a leach bed. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
RV Park has long pull-throughs with cable, sewer, water, and 30 Amp Service. There were a lot of trees and an excellent restaurant and bar. We ate dinner there and thought the chef prepared very delicious meals. They also had an Italian Buffet for $17, which we chose not to partake in. The employees are very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
The location of this campground is perfectly placed just on the edge of Fort Nelson right next to the museum and a short walk to the information center. The campground had a restaurant with a big screen TV that attracted many local town people. The washrooms were older but clean. Coin operated showers were tiny. There was another washroom building but it was closed when we visited in June. We did wash the truck and trailer at their coin operated RV wash but without hot water it did not do a super good job. Campground accommodated a late checkout time so we could walk to the museum since parking was limited at the museum. Our picnic table was right next to our neighbors side-out so we parked back further in the spot, which looked like it was meant for another RV if the campground got really busy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
This park looked cleaner than our last visit here 4 years ago. Site good, but not level gravel back-in with a table and fire ring. A 20 channel cable TV with many spotty channels. Wi-Fi didn't work as I was unable to connect. Staff blamed the weather for the problem. Good food at the restaurant. Friendly staff with an escort to assigned site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
This place has potential, but still needs work. It is in a small village-like environment with a western motif and a shaded location. There is a restaurant and bar on the property that we thought was fun. There was a nice gift store. What was needed was improved internet service. The Wi-Fi was not really usable, always a problem for us as long term travelers on the way to Alaska. Also, the restrooms for both men and women needed work. They were outdated and really not very clean. There were no paper towels in the unit. This could really be a "destination" campground with some minor remodeling and cleaning. As it is, OK for an overnight on the way to Alaska. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
Triple G Hideaway is under new ownership again this year. The new owners have done considerable work cleaning up this park, and it was noticeable as soon as I pulled in the driveway. I was met in the driveway by a staff member who took me inside to register and then took me out to my site. The sites are fairly close together, but this seems to be the norm in many of the Alaska Highway campgrounds I've been in. My site was a pull-through, shaded by large trees. The grass is kept trimmed nicely, and the park looks much neater and well-kept than in the past. The food in the restaurant was excellent, and the service very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Our pull through site was long, but I was told I might need to share it with another RV if the park became full. In the pull-through section, they place RVs back to back in one site. We were lucky and did not have to share. The Wi-Fi did not reach our site and the cable TV consisted of a handful of channels. There was a sewer smell but I'm not sure where it was coming from. They have a neat little restaurant and bar attached to the office and next door to the park is a museum of the area. The staff was nice and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Better than average sites for the Alcan (though still a bit tight). Staff was very friendly: walked us to our spot. We liked the restaurant-bar; nothing gourmet, but good ambience. The bathrooms are clean: you do have to pay a $1 for a shower, but that seems to be common on the north highways. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
Okay for an overnight stay, but I'll make a point of not stopping in Fort Nelson again. The Wi-Fi and TV worked, but the sites are really cramped. Apparently the policy is to fill a section of the park at a time, because there were lots of empty sites but we had people jammed in on either side of us. There is barely room for a picnic table (turned longwise) between these sites. I saw a few back-ins with more room between them, but this park really maximizes their real estate usage (to put a positive spin on it). Couldn't wait to get back on the road after one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
This was the worst experience we've ever had. The place was filthy, muddy, dusty and poorly maintained. The cable worked only part of the time, and the Wi-Fi did not work at all. The laundry facilities were dirty, and expensive. There were leaves in the dryer for the length of our stay, and not one employee thought to check and/or clean the laundry area. The water was shut off for a time, and the power was sporadic. We had some of our personal belongings stolen, and we witnessed employees urinating behind the main buildings. The restaurant was expensive, and the food was horrible. The 3 times we did attempt to eat there we had to send the food back. The restaurant did not offer to reimburse us for the meal, nor compensate us in any way. The campground appeared to be the local racetrack for ATVs, which sped through at all hours of the day and night. Management's complete disregard to our concerns was quite disconcerting. We will never stay here again, and would recommend to anybody passing through Fort Nelson that they plan their trip so that they do not have to camp here at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
We stayed here while traveling through. The park is rather cramped. There is no real area to walk a dog. The park is gravel, sties fairly level, but when it began to rain that afternoon it was MUD, MUD, MUD. The showers are located at the shower/bathroom building and at the main building. The shower building had muddy rugs in the shower. Building looked like it was falling apart. No toilet paper (thankfully we had our own.) I tried to take a shower in the main building, because it was clean, (pay showers) and there was NO HOT WATER. Probably why they were clean. The laundry room was over-flowering with old laundry that people had left, not picked up. Many of the machines didn't work. Over all it wasn't a very good experience. We wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Acceptable for an overnight. We had a pull-through but they said that they may put someone in behind us if they needed to. It had better be someone very small. We had to use blocks to get level in a 40 footer, and didn't even try to hook up to the sewer. It was one of the ones that stick up about 3 or 4 inches from the ground. There are a lot of permanent residents, but the transients are relegated to the back of the campground. This is one of two campgrounds in town, and I've not seen the other, but I think that we would probably come back for a night if we needed a place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This park is fairly typical of the parks along the Alaska Highway. We got full hookups but only 30 amp. Some hookups are side by side. We had two water faucet connections on the same riser pipe. Water pressure was a little low. The Wi-Fi is free but pretty weak and slow where we were. There is quite a bit of dust. I had to put blocks under my rear jacks to get level in a long motorhome. They said that they might put a small pickup and camper behind me in the same slot if they got full. There are trees in the park which is good if you want shade and bad if you want to use a satellite dish. We would consider returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Okay as far as parks on the Alaska Hwy go. We had a large pull through near the office with good wi-fi and cable TV. There was highway noise, and it was dusty. Good places to walk dog and, museum next door was excellent. Lots of work needed to be done in this park. Lots of workers in back end of park. There was an RV wash at rear of park. Would stop again but would request a site at rear of park with less noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Under new ownership and now called the Triple G Hideaway. Rate is for a pull-through 30 amp electric and sewer site, no water. Other reviews used the word muddy, for us it was dust, clouds and clouds of dust. In the afternoon a large caravan of huge Beaver Motorhomes came in and turned the park into a dust bowl. Later all the workers came barreling home from work in their gas and oil service trucks, once again creating a dust storm. Sites in the rear where the caravan parked, were long pull-through sites with open sky, otherwise watch out for tree limbs. Our site was not level, though there had been some gravel dumped in a pile off to the side. It's obvious the new owners are trying to improve the park, but they've a long way to go. We would choose to try another park if we were in the area again this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
I stayed in a fith wheel for 2 weeks, and had to move to 3 different sites as there was no water, most sites were terribly rutted, washrooms were filthy and had a musty odor. The laundry facilities were antiquated. In fairness it is under new ownership and are trying to make improvements, which will take a lot of work. Night security is poor vehicles racing in and out through out night. An ATV hill climb across hiway makes it very noisy. In time as improvements are made I might try it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
This park is under new management as of September 1, 2009, and it shows. The owner registered us, and she was extremely friendly and pleasant. Our slot was fairly level and easy to pull into. The slots were a little close together, but there were plenty of trees and picnic tables. The bathrooms were meticulously clean and in good shape, although somewhat rustic. The park charges a loony to shower, but at least the showers were spotless. The laundry room was more run down but spacious. Wi-Fi in the park was hit or miss, but I was able to sit in the saloon and get a strong signal over a cup of coffee. Breakfast prices in the saloon were reasonable, but dinner prices were steeper. Unlike other reviewers, we did not find the park very muddy, even though it rained while we were there, and we didn’t have problems with potholes. In general, the park was a little run down, but the new owner seems to be making improvements already. This was great for an overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
Worst campground I have ever stayed in. It was a mud pit. The restroom and laundry were filthy with machines from 1970. They machines were very expensive and after 3 cycles my clothes were still sopping wet. Sites were dirty with smell of sewage. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
I concur with the preceding reviews concerning holes, mud, puddles, wiring, and the burned out building. It was quiet even though the front sites are right on the Alaska Highway. The Wi-Fi worked okay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
Maybe this campground would be better if you were not here during or after it rained, because the huge potholes, puddles and mud leave a very bad impression overall. That and the fact that the showers did not work in one building-you had to go to those by the office. Wifi was not working from our site and again, no desire to wade through the mud to go to the office. There were also big mud puddles on our site. We were asked to pull up as far as possible on our site when we checked in-to do so would have put our steps in the middle of a huge puddle. The site next to ours had experienced some kind of problem because it was covered in oil. They did eventually put down some sort of absorbers to soak up the oil. The burned out building is still there. The overall place really needs some major work done in just the basics-gravel, paint, trimmed trees, mow, etc. The one very good thing was the cable tv was excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
This is one of the most poorly maintained parks we’ve ever stayed in. The owner is helpful when there is a problem but she needs to fix many things in this park. Between our site and the next there was sewage all over the ground when we pulled in. The owner came immediately and cleaned the ground then put some acid in the hole. The site was assigned shortly after and they dumped their gray water into another sewer drain several feet from the one that had been cleaned. All of the water started pouring out all over the ground. The owner came once again and put more acid down both of the drains and said “my snake is at the other campground" (Dawson Creek- Northern Lights) and told the man he could move because he could not use the sewer. There are cable wires all over and our site had a 3 way splitter, so two adjacent sites could hook up to cable, but the cable channels were all snowy. The sites are fairly level in spots but have deep ruts in other spots. Wi-Fi signal was poor to non-existent at times. This park does get a lot of business each night because it is only one of two parks in Fort Nelson and is large. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
The water quit shortly after checking in. This took over an hour to be remedied. The Wifi was VERY weak, and slow, and accessible only from the laundry or near the office. The mosquitos ate me alive while I waited. The final negative was the shell of the burned out maintenance building with its collection of incinerated ATV's which had been pulled outside and abandoned. While this was mostly obscured by the trees, it was still there and had been that way for awhile. What a huge, junky, neglected mess. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
There were many pot holes and lots of mud. The cable didn't work, we tried 2 others and finally got it to work. The Wifi was weak in our rig, but ok at office. On a positive note the girl in the office was very helpful. If it where dry it might be a little better. I would look for a different park if going through here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
Campground is very run down. Sites have large potholes. You have to pay for showers and they aren't very clean. Wifi worked well in our camper. Not too many other options in town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We found this park to be an excellent choice, others in town are more like car parks, this campsite looks and feels very natural, with all the trees surrounding the area we were surprised how well the Wi-Fi worked, good strong signal, staff are very friendly, we had plenty of room in our 30ft motor home, if passing this campsite again we will ensure to make it our stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
Our second choice in Fort Nelson, the first was full. Older CG with dirt and gravel sites, kind of run down. Just here overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
The family that owns this park also owns Northern Lights. Northern Lights appears to be getting the upkeep. Ok for one night. Bathrooms are old and charge for showers. No wifi when we were there. Looks like it could be a mud bowl in the rain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Adequate park, but nothing special. Wifi might reach a few sites close to the office, but not the majority of the park. Most sites have trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Cable TV ($2 extra) available at some sites, but did not work at our site. WIFI usable (using it for this review), but sometimes cuts out. There is a restaurant/saloon on site open Wednesday to Sunday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
The wife and I disagree. She likes it more than I . I would give it a very low ranking and she would give it credit for Internet. WiFi is good at our site though we were told we should go to the laundry to get it, (which she did) if it is available, it is supposed to be iffy. There are several dogs running loose so we are not comfortable having our dog outside (supervised ) on a leash. "Beater Rigs" all over the place. The cable TV is poor, sound good, picture shot. We were there for overnight and were able to keep our tow vehicle hooked up on our big rig. The feeling is the park is not being maintained. Compared to other parks reviewed on this internet site, for this town, this was first choice on our list however, there were not a lot of choices in this town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
A nice park for an overnight; looked to be the best in town. Some grass between most sites, free WiFi near the office, CATV at some sites, RV wash $2 for 5 minutes. Located right next to the museum which has some interesting memorabilia. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Old and rundown, but that doesn't keep them from raising their rates each year. We have stayed here 3 or 4 times, and each time I swear not to do it again. But this time, in mid-May, the water lines and sewer lines were just beginning to thaw, revealing several bursted and broken lines. Raw sewage was all around the first site assigned to us. We moved to another site and reported the mess to the manager, who replied "the maintenance people have been notified." We will not stop here this year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$26
This is a beautiful park, full of trees, well kept grounds. Free Wi-Fi Internet and good cable TV. Friendly staff. I highly recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com