223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Ludington State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (231) 843-2423
CGID5206

Ludington State Park

Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$27+



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   3   10   9   10   8   7   10   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27+
"State Parks" all have several things in common - trees, usually narrow roads, close sites and lots of families with children. That said, we like them because they are "natural" and feel like "real camping". The smell of everyone burning wood in the fire pits, pine trees, children playing, birds singing, people laughing, it's all just so much more relaxed than at a "formal campground". The "down-side" is that you don't have TV, WiFi, and here, not even water or sewer hook-ups, but we enjoyed our stay, and you can't beat the nightly rate(+but don't forget to add the "park fee" or buy a year pass)! This park is along Lake Michigan, so you have that, the beach, the walk to the lighthouse (a long one!) the dunes, the river (looked like fun tubing!) to go along with all the "general trail walks" found in state parks. Very pretty! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
This park has a lot to offer. Extremely nice personnel. Clean showers and bathrooms. Wonderful beach area with magnificent sunset views. Great bicycle path and a river that runs through park for rafting on a nice day. Why the 8 rating? The campsites were too "dense" for us. We probably had 3 fire pits within 12 feet of our trailer. We drove the 3 campgrounds and saw some nice sites but overall there were too many cars, campers, and people for the area. The campers next to us were extremely nice and respectful, but overall we need a little more breathing room. If you should chose to camp here, I'd recommend you get a site on the outside of the loop and avoid those that back up to one another. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Beautiful state park located between Lake Michigan and another large freshwater lake, 5300 acres on the Lake Michigan shoreline. However, the campgrounds are similar to attending a football game tailgate party. Sites are shoe horned together with absolutely no privacy or landscaping. You would think that with the acreage they have and the income from campers they could expand and make the CG a better experience. Everyone has a campfire going so hope you like smoke. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
We camped at Cedar campground. The sites were very close to each other, but all the campers were very friendly. There are many activities for families to do here. The beach is awesome. It is over two miles long of beautiful sand. The beach house has just been upgraded and is a nice addition to the beach. We also rode faithfully on the bike trails and saw a lot of wildlife. We rented a canoe and floated on the Hamlin lake canoe trail. This is a very nice, family friendly state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
What a pleasure this park is. We were in the Ceders campground on the back loop; it has less traffic. A lot of improvements being done. A walk to the lighthouse is a must.. We have stayed in many state parks but will judge the rest against this one. A Must See! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Nice park. We stayed in Pine campground, we had a site backed up to the dunes that allowed us to walk a thousand feet straight to the water, albeit up and down some steep dunes. Nice 1.5 mile walk to the lighthouse. Walk north to it along the beach. Beaches are beautiful up there. I don't think we saw one dead fish in 12 miles of beaches we walked. Sites are fairly level, mostly hard packed sand. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
This was a very clean park. Restrooms and showers were exceptionally clean. The DNR patrolled frequently, keeping the noise to a mild roar. And it was all quiet by 11pm. The only negative was that everybody brings their small barking dogs, and allow them to bark constantly. Overall, it is highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We had heard such raves for this state park that we were expecting nicer than we found. Our site, #204, was in a loop that was very crowded and packed close together with no privacy. There was quite a bit of traffic through the loop all the time. The upside was that we were close to the store and the bike trail and we rode all over the park, including all the way to the lighthouse (1.85 miles one way) on the roughest road we've ever ridden bikes on! The literature says it's a good bike trail but only if you like nearly knocking your teeth out and loosing control in the deep sand in places. The lighthouse is worth seeing though and it was only $2. to climb to the top. There's a nice Lake Michigan beach also easy bicycle riding distance from the campground. The areas around the river and the other smaller lake in the park were very pretty and very popular. The best part of this campground was after dark when star viewing was excellent! I doubt we would return here though due to the lack of site space or privacy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
The nicest State Park in lower Michigan. Tons to do and see. Hamlin Lake, the River and Lake Michigan, doesn't get better than this! Hike to the Lighthouse. Bike or hike the miles and miles of trails. Explore the beaches, trails and woods. Almost a promise you will see deer and racoons! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
Definitely a park for Michigan residents;non-Michigan residents in Motorhomes beware. We were charged $4 extra for 50 amp power, $8 extra for fee for entering state park, THIS FOR Each night we were there,for motorhome and $8 for car. So total $16 for just being in park. If they would just say the the base rate was $45 instead of $25, might be easier to accept. Ladies in the office on Oct.1 not familiar with rules/regs. We felt like outsiders, lots of popups/trailers/tents--nothing wrong with that, just be aware that drive-in camping units are charged $8 each night, pull-behinds not charged anything. Showers lukewarm, no heat. No water hookups, no sewer, dirt surface, could get quite messy with rain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Large, diverse, and pretty park with lots to do. There's a long beach along Lake Michigan for sunbathing, a good-sized inland lake for motor boating and canoing, and a short stretch of river connecting the two lakes for lazily tubing/rafting. There are 3 campgrounds, and like most Michigan state parks, are very densely packed sites but do have well-kept bath facilities. I do really wish they'd allow a small section of beach somewhere for dogs, and would have a bit large camping sites. But other than that, the park is excellent and town of Ludington also very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
When we arrived it looked like a great Park. Tons of bike and walking trials. We were so excited about our stay. That night (6/12) the area got 10+ inches of rain. Our site was one of the lower ones by Hamilin lake (328), it was flooded. Stay away and book on higher ground. The lake started to flood our site and park officials had campers leave park due to flooding. The staff was very helpful and friendly with all everything going on. We were refunded our $$$. We hope in a drier time to return to this park and enjoy all it has to offer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Very impressive State Park, well run and well maintained. We camped on the inner lake loop. Very quiet with a wonderful boardwalk for fishing, walking and bird viewing. Many terrific hiking trails and a very picturesque lighthouse. Great campground if you like the outdoors and wildlife. The interior roads are not setup for our 40 plus foot RV that is also very heavy. Make sure to let them know your size of rig and then be patient and careful driving in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
Gorgeous setting. Beautiful dunes. Quiet. Family friendly. Be sure to see the lighthouse! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
Some of the sites are close together but all in all a very nice state park. Lots of bike/walking trails and miles of clean sandy beach on Lake Michigan. They have internet access for an extra fee, but it is not available at your site. You have to go to the office to use it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
We had a site in the back of the Pines Campground (45). We were disappointed to find the sites so close together. It almost looked like a parking lot. Some of the sites along the edge were more private (backing into the woods or dunes). The park as a whole is fantastic. We loved the Lake Michigan beach and floating along the Big Sable River. The lighthouse tour is another must see. The odd thing about the newer restroom buildings is the lack of hand dryers. I'm sure we'll camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Beautiful spacious campsites. Ours was 48' wide. Nice fire pits. Paved roads. A store is available with rental bicycles and boats. There are two lakes and a stream. There is a nature center, bike trails, a dam, a restaurant and a lighthouse. The trees are magnificent. This would be a 10 if it had sewer and water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Great park for camping. Nice sites with mature trees and friendly staff. Nice trails and waterfront sites. Only advice would be to keep food away at night from the racoons. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
Very well kept park. Rangers were friendly. Wish they had sewer hookup, but would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$23
This is a very, very large state park in the Michigan park system. It has wonderful perks, including both a inland lake and lake Michigan shoreline - miles of it!! It is one of the most scenic parks in the system. It has miles of paved bike paths, and a Dam from which many people were fishing. It has a fish hatchery and amazing beaches. No really bad sites, although many are tight together, but most are well shaded. None on Lake Michigan - but when you book you might think they are so read carefully. The best campsites (in our opinion) are furthest from Lake Michigan -Beechwood Campground. Sites 316-322 are on an inland lake but no beach just weeds, still it is a nice view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$29
One of the best and most popular state parks in Michigan. This park fills up very fast from Memorial Day through Labor Day as soon as booking is available online which is 6 months in advance. So book quickly or off season. Many large and shaded sites. There are three campground and we prefer the one closest to Lake Michigan. To us the sites here seem a bit bigger and not so packed in and a bit more "primative." The shower building however is quite new. Also the high sand dunes right behind the campground provide some shelter from high winds coming in off the lake. Lots of activities to do from canoe and boating on the inland lake and river to the huge sandy beach to tons of hiking and biking trails including a 3 mile round trip to the lighthouse which you can climb to the top of the tower and go outside! There is a camp store in the middle campground which has just about anything you need. The town of Ludington is about 10 miles away and has a Wal-Mart (along with everything else) should you need something. We'll be back when we can. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$29
This is a beautiful campground. This park has only 30 amp service, no water at site and one dump. We had to purchase state park entrance stickers for 4 dollars daily and pay 25 dollars a day to stay there (29 dollars a day total) too pricey for what you get. We were told we were lucky even to get a site, without at least fours months notice for registration. Needless to say we only stayed a couple of days. Full service parks in area are only a couple of dollars more a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com