217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Chris' Camp was rated 8 out of 10 based on 68 user reviews. Phone: (605) 642-2239
CGID5211

Chris' Camp

Camp Information
Sites
228
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$100



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   9   7   9   8   10   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$100
Near Sturgis. Bike week rate $100 cash or check only. Very nice park. Easy access off I-90 at Exit 14. Paved interior roads. Two swim pools. We had site 11: good hookups, level, good wifi, shade, everything great. Well run, felt like well-liked family member. Food service in park. Best personal guidance into a site that I have ever experienced. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Cabins and a wide variety of sites are available at this campground. Small, grassy sloped sites may be only suitable for tents but some level, gravel sites can accommodate large RVs. Most sites are closely spaced and offer no sense of privacy. The laundries, restrooms, and pool were clean and inviting. AT&T phone and data service were good in the area. Basic utilities were good but the WiFi was very slow and scarcely usable. The price includes a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
After reading all the great reviews about this campground, I was happy to arrive here! The only flaw we really had were the dryers in the laundry room. My wife reported to me that they were not very efficient. Clothes were not drying properly in a reasonable amount of time. There are 2 pools on the property and both are sparkling! Plenty of room to spread out and if you don’t have a fire ring on your site, they will deliver one to you. We enjoyed our stay here and would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
Good location for many attractions. Check-in was easy and staff was friendly. In fact, we were taken by golf cart to pick our campsite. This is a large park, with easy/wide roads and includes many trees that provide shade. Patio covered picnic tables are throughout the campground. Our site was level and clean. Site include picnic table and fire pit. Wi-Fi was very weak. Verizon phones were able to get 4G service. Many campers were long term, and these RVs appeared rough, which presented a negative look on the park. Close to grocery stores (Walmart/Safeway), fast food, restaurants and gas stations. Close to freeway access (I-90). DirecTV (free standing satellite) had no issue. While at this campground we visited Deadwood, Devils Tower and Sturgis. We also took the famous Spearfish Canyon Scenic drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This was a very nice park, green with good shade. They allowed dog kennels in your site which is a plus as so many parks are restrict that. There is a great pool for kids with a water slide and a petting zoo (free) with 2 baby goats, 2 baby lambs and even a calf. The staff were very friendly and voluntarily let us pick our own site from the many they have available. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
We really like the friendliness of this park. We have stayed here in the past and would stay here again. Only problem is we went to the newer area with pull through this time and Wi-Fi did not work. This was very disappointing and I am sure if we would have complained they would have moved us to another site but after all we were camping and not in rig very much so not an issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This is a delightful place to stay. The owners and staff are terrific, they will help you with everything from tour planning to pet care. They make you feel welcome from the first step through the office door. The facilities are immaculate and obviously constantly maintained. They take no credit/debit cards, but your personal check is fine. I would never stay anywhere but here when in the area. We look forward to returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Wow, talk about a fantastic camping experience. As soon as we arrived a staff member selected a number of different sites in the campground and had one of her boys drive us around in a golf cart to view each of them. Once we chose our site he took us back to the office and we were told to go set up and then come pay later. The place is beautiful, the sites have large established shade trees and there's plenty of grass so that you can sit outside and enjoy. The pool and laundry room were excellent. We will definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
We enjoyed our stay here. The site we had was very nice and was a nice size. The campground has two pool and both were well kept up. The owners and workampers were all friendly and very helpful with lots of suggestions of places to go. The grounds are well kept and clean and it is very quiet. We will come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
6/10/13to 6/17/13 -$ 33 per night This is a nice camp ground, quite, clean, well maintained and wonderful host. Two heated pools, paved roads. Most sites are shaded. I would estimate that only about 30% of sites will receive Direct TV due to the shade trees. The price we paid may have been special price due to Rally pricing. Back in sites are larger and shaded, however, they seem to be slightly sloped. The pull through sites for large motor homes are way to close together in my opinion, not enough room for a table and you cannot put out your awnings in most of these sites. Not too good for family camping or spending time outside on your campsite. I do not think I would be happy in one of these sites if I was staying for more than a couple of days We stayed in site “K” pull through and I would highly recommend it, if it is available. It’s an end site, very close to the site on your right (only about 7’ apart), but on the drivers side it’s a large space on a corner with a picnic table, nice grass, a view of the petting area and a nice view of the mountains and the meadow, Plenty of room to spread out. Satellite will work if dish is mid to rear of coach, but not the front due to a nice tree. The only drawback is that it is close to the main road of the campground and mobile home park in the rear of the CG. That was a very small price to pay for such a nice site. I cannot give it 5 stars because those are reserved for the very best, tight sites hurts. I am giving them an 8, because I was very happy with our site. If I had been in another site for a week, I may have given a 5 or 6 due to the closeness of the pull throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
Back when they were seperate parks, we had been to both this park and the park (Mtn. View) that Chris' took over . Chris's was the better park back then, and they have done a good job of renovating the old Mtn. View section of the park with better sites and bathrooms. We had a FHU, pull-through with cable TV and free WI-FI that was also satellite friendly. Many sites are not satellite friendly due to how heavily treed many sites are. There are a wide variety of sites (pull-through and back-ins, FHU, W&E, cabins, cable or no cable, etc.) so it is hard to say how good the sites are. The pull-through sites I saw were not long enough to leave a toad hitched. Many of the back-ins, however, were wide enough to easily park the toad next to the RV. Lots for families and kids in this park: 2 pools (in seperate areas of the park), a kiddie pool, a small basketball court, a playground, etc. Unfortunately, the animal farm/petting zoo is now closed. There are numerous laundries and bath houses. The ones I checked out were clean. Sadly, the showers were coin operated. This park is heavily used by locals for outings and get-togethers and is a destination park for many return customers. This is a nice park with good facilites and amenities. It is well located to be a base camp for many the northern Black Hills attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
We stayed here because of the positive comments posted prior. We certainly agree it is a great stop. Only downside was the very tight sites. There is not much room to move around outside under the awning. Other negative was one of the owners at times lacks decorum. The other owner was great and extremely helpful. We used our Dish satellite and Verizon MiFi which had a 4G signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
This is a very well maintained RV Park. Chose the location because it is central to all the sights we wanted to see in the Black Hills area. We were not disappointed about anything. Because it is a very family oriented venue the only problem was driving within the campground. Kids darted into roadway and road bikes as if they were on sidewalks. However, quiet time was heeded. Owners are very friendly and helpful. The pools are great - very well maintained. Location is great - beautiful countryside, no train noise, limited vehicular noise, near good shopping. Portable fire pits were provided for campfires. Excellent place for an extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
The park is now merged with the Mountain View Campground, making it a good size park. The hosts are very helpful. The site we were in was gravel and we were close to our neighbors: no room to sit outside. There were some nice tent sites. Not much room to walk the dogs, and the Wi-Fi was spotty. Our Sprint phone/Hot Spot worked OK. This park is a little too "family" friendly for us. Lots of kids running around. But it is vacation time. We would stay elsewhere next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
When we arrived, we were greeted by the owner and his golf cart. We hopped on and he allowed us to pick our site even though they had one reserved for us, we picked a different site. This is pay cash or check, no credit cards. The $33 after Good Sam discount. After we picked our site the owner then lead us back to it and made sure we were lined up. Right away we decided to stay more than our original 2 nights and decided to stay 3 more. Very friendly, family owned park. A great place to camp overnight or extended stay. Probably very busy during bike rally but another time this CG is A+. Wi-Fi off and on but worked great when on. We camped in site 20 across from pool (heated), laundry, showers and restrooms. Great location. We would come back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
We arrived at dusk. The person in the office was friendly and led us to our site with his golf cart. I went to plug in the power cord and stepped in a pile of dog crap. I then rushed over to the other side of our trailer to warn my wife but it was to late as she had done the same. I returned to plug the cord in as the trailer next to us opened their door and let their dog run loose. The dog charged me, I shouted at the dog and its owner came out and shouted at me for upsetting his dog. When I left early the next morning there were two other dogs running loose doing their business. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
We were here in a very quiet time. Few campers here and was blissfully peaceful, away from I-90 but easy, close access. This is a well maintained park with very friendly and helpful staff. Only reason to not give it a 10 was the off and on Wi-Fi access. Verizon was strong here and so used my MiFi. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
We loved this park! The owners were so friendly and helpful. The sites were spacious and the grounds were green with trees and grass. We had off-and-on issues with Wi-Fi but had great signal for AT&T connection. We were out looking at so many sights in the area we hardly had time for computers anyway. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Chris’ is an excellent, very well maintained park with all the amenities and very congenial host. Space permitting, they take you to a number of sites in a golf cart and let you pick from those available. A couple of caveats: they don’t take credit cards and if you select a site on the perimeter of the park you will not get Wi-Fi. Also they recently acquired a campground that was contiguous to the north side of their property and those sites are very tight. Spearfish is a great little city and is centrally located for visiting Sturgis, Deadwood, the Black Hills and Devils Tower. There is a Wal-Mart about 1.5 miles from Chris’ location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
We loved this campground. Very friendly. They show you around the Campground to view the available sites. Two pools, one for adults and one for families with kids. Lots of room and lots of Shade. Excellent Wi-Fi and cable TV. Will stay here again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is a great campground! The only reason why we rated a "9" is because of distance between sites. It is tight between sites, but this appears to be the case with SD campgrounds. The rate paid reflects Good Sam discount. First, the owners are fantastic people. The children provide services like dog walking if you were going to take in a long day of sight-seeing. The owner could tell you where to find the most interesting places to see if you wanted something off the beaten path. The owner will see you to your campsite. There are several sections, and he will take you around to the available campsites to let you choose your site. They were able to move us to a more shady site when we asked. The CG is extremely clean and well cared for with respect to dog walking and trash. We are making our 2nd trip here this Summer. Spearfish Canyon is almost within walking distance. You are very close to Devil's Tower in WY and about one hour's drive to Mt. Rushmore/Crazy Horse. You are about 100 miles from Badlands. There's a Wal-Mart, grocery store and hospital close by if you need it. They will let your packages/mail be shipped to the office too. If you are in the mood for a nice meal, go to the Bum Steer. It is fantastic! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Excellent campground. Friendly. Children love petting the animals. Large sites. Washing $2.50 is too high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Narrow Sites. Poor internet reception. Cable comes and goes. Many pull-through spaces are not accessible and you must back into them. Friendly and helpful staff. We may have just caught them at an unfortunate time based on other reviews of the park which were very complimentary. However we were disappointed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Owners are very friendly and helpful! They have two clean swimming pools and a petting farm for kids with daily bottle feedings. When this park is full, there is very little room between sites (only the width of a picnic table). Wi-fi was not working and advertised cable only had local affiliates (about 5 channels). Reliable electric service, but water pressure very low. Convenient to Spearfish Canyon and historic downtown. Easy access to I-90. Cash or checks only. Good Sam rate shown. Open sites or shaded with nice large trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
Price reflects discount. We have stayed here before and we definitely would stay again. They are so nice and friendly. They drive you around upon arrival so you can see what is available and where you'd like to park. It's much bigger now, as they just purchased and added the lower campground that was just before their driveway. They are busy getting everything up to present, with two swimming pools, tents, cabins and still have privacy. The pads are quite level and spaced nice between sites. We had problems with Wi-Fi, only because they were working on it! Cable TV was good. It's a great family CG, and they even have a small petting zoo for kids with goats and baby calf. Would stay here again and definitely recommend it. Handy to Historic downtown, a nice golf course and other businesses along the frontage road only a few miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Very nice park. The location was away from the highway and very quiet. The sites are large, and level. The owners are friendly and helpful. We would stay at this park again when in the Spearfish area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
Quiet park with large grassy sites and lots of trees. Close to town. Bathrooms are clean but need updating. Showers are metered. Friendly staff. Do not accept credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We stayed here 5 nights. The site we stayed in had plenty of room, well spaced, shaded and level! Unfortunately they had closed the new bathhouse and we were near the old one. They had repainted you could see, and it was clean enough but still room for improvement. There is a charge for showers, opted to use our own in the RV instead. The laundry was in a dark building, but machines worked fine, did what we needed for a few days. In my opinion, they could tear the building down and start over. BUT location was very nice and convenient to everything and everywhere. Nice people, helpful with any questions and I would definitely stay here again!! They're working on things you can see. At different times a group of wild turkeys walked through and we saw off in a distance some deer feeding out in a field. We enjoyed the dark quiet nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Very friendly and helpful with information in the area. Watched our pet at no additional charge. Let us chose our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Great place, nice people in the office. They went out of their way to find information for us on the place and times where we could get our SD driver's licenses renewed since the office in Spearfish was not open. We had a choice of sites and we were escorted via golf cart to see all the available sites. Pretty surroundings. Got to help bottle feed the baby goats, lambs and calves in the evening at the Pet Farm next to the office. We would definitely stay here again. Rate reflects Good Sam Discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
I'll simply say, for the price we paid, we couldn't complain. The area itself is nice. The views from the campground were beautiful. It does appear the place could use some fixing up. Either way it was okay and I would most likely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Great campground with hosts that take good care of you. A variety of sites and they ride around with you and help you choose the site you'd like. Wi-Fi worked fair and that is the only reason we won't give them a 10. Heated pool, clean grounds, easy access to I-90 and the fabulous Spearfish Canyon Road are good reasons to choose this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
We stayed at Chris' Camp immediately after the area had been inundated by bikers for the rally at Sturgis, SD. The staff were very helpful with getting us into our site, providing travel information and making our stay enjoyable. The site was shaded and spacious. I would definitely stay here again if I visit lower South Dakota. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
A very nice park. They take you to look at possible sites in a golf cart. Has lots of grass. Very nice employee's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Very clean and family oriented campground. Very friendly and helpful owners and staff. Convenient to I-90 but in a quiet and peaceful setting with no road noise. Many attractions within a short drive. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Nice place. Lots of things for the kids, which is why it gets a little noisy sometimes. I was there on the 4th, so it was packed. It is in a good location, and the site I was in was level and had good utilities. We would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This campground had an eclectic office worker, less than enthusiastic (he was having a bad day, apparently) but we forgave that. Showers are pay showers- $0.25 for 5 minutes. Very clean bathrooms. The sites were all gravel, and VERY VERY close to each other. Thank goodness we were there on a Sunday night, and it wasn't full. There would be no room for even walking around if it were full. Positives- VERY quiet, clean bathrooms, no road noise, some nice views. Negatives-pool was not open, sites were tight, showers were pay, gravel everywhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
Nice park, far enough off the highway so it's quiet. No trains! Has a nice pool area. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Sites were a little close together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Stayed at Chris's on our way west this spring. It was early so the drive through sites didn't have water yet but Chris helped get my fresh tank filled. Was a very clean park and plenty of room to go for walks. The hosts were extremely friendly and willing to help with anything. I would most definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Nice quiet park. Very friendly and helpful staff. Site was level and there were sewer hookups mid site and at the rear, unfortunately they were higher than my sewer outlet on the camper so were virtually unusable. I would stay here again if I could find a site where I could hook up the sewer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
This is a great campground and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. It was very busy over Labor Day weekend. Our site accommodated a 40 ft coach with 3 slides and our towed jeep wrangler. The office staff was very accommodating. Wi-Fi was very nice. We visited with people from all over and everyone was glad they picked Chris'. W/D are clean and pretty new: $ 1.50 for each. Deluxe cable TV. Nice 30/50 amp. Nice atmosphere and we would definitely return and tell others. With any review, it is all in the eyes of the beholder. Keep camping and remember to live life to the fullest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
We have stayed at this campground 2 times in the last 2 years. The owners are friendly and try to be accommodating. Our second stay was not as enjoyable as our first. It maybe because summer had not ended yet. Overall it is a fair campground but your are squeezed together when it's crowded. Half of the sites are shaded and the others have full sun. We are RV full-timers and maybe this isn't the right place fore us anymore. There was too much noise with adults & children running around through our campsite showing no respect. One camper next to us would let their large dogs relieve themselves in or on our site and it smelled badly. Informed the owners of this but I don't think they were forced to leave. We ended up moving to the other full sun sites in order to get away from the sardine feeling and ended up in the middle of a redneck family reunion. The wireless internet was a joke unless you were parked next to the office. Cable TV worked great. The washer and dryer's are on the old side and do not clean or dry your clothes well so we ended up using the local laundromat in town.The camp location is close to some tourist attractions but most of them are a good 45min to 1 hr away. We full time RV and this place is more for families with young children. Next time we are in this area we are going to stay at another campground.One more note, we did not pay the $30 per night but a monthly rate which was discounted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
A very friendly place, with knowledgeable folks who own it. Very quiet due to distance from I-90, and very accessible to Spearfish and surrounding communities. The office has a small supply of necessaries, which is convenient. Wi-Fi worked well, and we had ATT phone service. ATT air card didn't work. The park would benefit from a propane station, as the only one in town is very difficult to maneuver around. Sites were generally good, but need leveling in many cases. Some have quite steep approaches, which makes for interesting backing. There is a fairly deep swale along the camp roads, but not so deep as to cause problems pulling out of the sites. The laundry room is problematic. It is cold water only: the addition of an on-demand water heater would improve things greatly. There are too many video machines in the room and not enough folding space. Also, larger laundry machines and a wheeled laundry cart for unloading the dryers would be a big improvement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
This is a go-to campground. We thought we were going to hide out over Labor Day from the crowds. The crowds came here. It is very shady, grassy, and level. The pool has been full of kids. The atmosphere is very laid back. We talked with one family who live in Spearfish who come here for a change of pace. We would stay here for a summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
After five years of traveling this is one of the top five commercial parks we have used. Will use again if traveling in this area. Owners are very helpful and maintain their park in top condition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Office person was the friendliest I have run into in a few years. Very helpful on what to see in the area. The site was fairly level. Cable TV worked well and not too much problem with the Wi-Fi. The petting zoo was great fun. The mosquitos were really bad. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Love, love, love this campground! My husband and I were just needing a place to stay for one night when we were heading home to Iowa from visiting Glacier and Yellowstone National Parks but we liked this campground so much we stayed an extra day! The office people were incredibly friendly and helpful. They advised us of the best tourist spots to hit, which roads we could and should not take our camper on, where to find the nearest car wash, etc... and the price for a full hook-up site was fantastic. My husband and I are already planning a trip back to the Spearfish/Rapid City area and will absolutely return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
We really loved this campground. The campsites were spacious and grassy with lots of trees. We were here with our 13 year old and there was lots to do. It was a perfect location to see all the different sites in the area. The owners are very friendly and everyone there was extremely helpful. They even let me feed the baby goats and lambs! We would definitely stay there again the next time we were in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Called ahead to make reservations for this park in Spearfish and glad we did as the week-end we were there, there were lots of local activities. We got the last spot. Owners are great, very helpful and friendly. The park itself is rather a hidden jewel up on the hill and large. We had a back in space just big enough for our 40 foot motorhome. The spots are very close together and we had to park our tow vehicle across the road. Our neighbors were rather noisy and because we were so close it did make a difference. I checked several times for Wifi access and was never able to find any, however I did pick up the signal from the RV park next door! The guy next to us was not able to use his dish due to all the trees blocking the feed. The park itself was clean and very busy. The location was good for our local travel plans from Spearfish, we stayed three nights. I did notice others were having issues with not being able to pick up any Wifi signal. I did like the campground however I felt the spots were too close together, we would likely stay here again but for shorter time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Only complaint, the lady in the office was a grouch. Not very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Owner was very helpful. We were given a list of available sites and got to pick the one we wanted. We would camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Very friendly staff, let us preview several site before choosing. Escorted to our site and assisted us in backing in. Some pull thrus, full hookups including strong Wi-Fi and cable. Some shaded sites. Some sites a little tight, some sites have trees that impair the opening of awnings and/or slides. Staff very helpful in making sure your site is right for your needs. Washrooms and laundry very clean. Heated pool. We stayed there for three days and would stay there again. Good Sam rate $29 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
Owner offered helpful information on the area and took us around for choice of sites; this was a week after the Sturgis Rally. Even with the Good Sam discount it would be nice to pay less since we don't use all the amenities. Location is very convenient to Wal-Mart as well as touring the Northern Black Hills. This is a good spot to park a big rig and drive the winding roads to Lead and Deadwood; convenient to Devils Tower, Wyoming also. Many activities for kids, but not disruptive to retirees. We would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
We were looking forward to this CG based on the website, but it is misleading. The owners were very nice, but this is just another parking-lot-on the grass-CG. Open your slide and you cover the next site's picnic table. There are pull-through rows available and we got one, but that was a mistake. When we got up to leave at 7am, the other campers had beached their trucks and toads all over the lane and we had no way to get out! We would have had to wake at least 6 campers to get them to move their vehicles off the lane, so we did not tell the owners or wake the camp. We finally backed up 100' and went over an open grass field to get out of the park. The CG lanes are also littered with "speed bumps", which are not needed as the road is bad enough to provide many of them my itself. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
We reserved a pull thru site and was told this campground had pull thru sites, but they do not. The sites are all back in sites and very close together. Plenty of shade trees. The campground looks as if it is still under construction. I did visit the laundry room and did laundry, it was clean and well kept. The pool was large and also well kept. There were several sites that looked to be lived on year round and some not well kept. The entry to the campground is very steep and narrow. This was not one of my favorite campgrounds but I would stay there again for one night only not an extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Our rate included a Good Sam discount. The sites were spacious with green grass and shade trees. There is a fire pit at most sites. There are no bugs, no trains, and no freeway noise. Everything is close: Wal-Mart, restaurants, freeway, downtown. We drove to Devils Tower from here and it was about an hour and a nice drive. Go through Belle Fourche on the way home from the tower it's a pretty drive. Owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Small petting zoo. WiFi was very good. About 350 bikers joined the camp after we arrived, and we didn't hear a peep from them. I did not see the bathrooms or laundry, but the buildings looked a bit older. There is a small charge for the showers. I would love to stay here a full summer, so we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
The owners of this park are very friendly and accommodating. They understand that they are there for the customer. Lots of shade trees. Swimming pool for the kids. Plenty of room between sites for a private RV park. Nights were quiet as it was far enough way from busy roads. We were quite happy and would come back again. Free WiFi with a good signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
There are nice, large sites with plenty of shade. There is some I-90 noise.The bathroom facility is small and coin-op. For $30/night, I'd like a shower included. The staff was helpful at check-in and offered to bring us leveling boards (sites are not level). There's lots and lots of nice grass--our dog loved that. Our big criteria is site size, so this is a winner on that score. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Lovely, quiet park with extremely helpful staff. Wi-Fi and cable worked perfectly, sites were treed and certainly ample. Would recommend to anyone and would stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
We found this park by accident. We stayed here for 10 days. It was a very nice park. Owners are very friendly & helpful and live on the premises. The sites were adequate for our 40'MH and well shaded. Great location, close to shopping, dining and area attractions. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Nice campground would stay again. They had good WiFi, and real helpful staff. We arrived late on Sat afternoon Laborday weekend and they fit us in. I would come back anytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Great place, very quaint. The owner's and staff extremely helpful and full of knowledge about the area. Nice thing: when we pulled in we were taken on a golf cart tour of the place to pick out which site we would like of the available sites. Nice trees and very relaxed environment. Our kids even got to bottle feed baby farm animals, a highlight for them. This is the type of place that makes you feel at home, even when you are on the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Awesome park. Has nice shade trees. Pool was nice, clean and heated just right. The showers cost 25 cents and are a bit old but clean. The owners can provide dog walking and babysitting service for your dogs too! We will take our dog knowing that next time. Nice store and the owners live on site and are very nice. Convenient sewage dump on the way out. Great family oriented camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
Has everything we need - E/W/S and a nice site. Would have been a 10 if there were a few more feet between sites for the big rig slideouts next to us. WiFi works great. Close to town and all services. So early in the season, the restrooms and pool were not open yet. Neither was the petting zoo. Owners very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$21
There are about 62 full hookup sites and the rest are tent sites. The campground is very clean and in super condition. The problem I have with this campground is that I can't imagine how crowded it would be if all the sites were taken. A lot of the pull-thru's do not have enough room for a toad. The back-ins do not have room for a tow vehicle. I can't imagine where people park if the campground is full. It seems as if every available space is taken up by a campsite. There are few places to walk a dog and avoid campsites. We were there in September and it was very nice because there were just a few campers. We also picked this campground because it advertised free wifi. Upon checking in I was told that they don't have wifi available, except just outside of the office (there is no room in the office to sit with a laptop). I had to use my car as an office because of the low temperature and sit in front of the office to receive a signal. I would only stay here again if it were the off season and did not care about wifi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
We stayed in the lower part of the park. Sites are too close together. Close to I-90 and other roads, but not much traffic noise. No WIFI in this area of the park. Not enough room to park our T/V at the site, we had to park it at an empty site behind us. Many others did the same. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
Beautiful park with grass and shade trees, Park owners are exceptionally friendly and helpful,there are long sites for RV's and great tent camping sites. Showers are not very big and could use update remodeling but they are very clean and they have a good laundry room. We enjoyed a 5 day stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$21
There are 2 campgrounds right next to each other off I-90, Mountainview was the first, so we pulled in mainly because we saw they had WiFi. The couple who run the place were very friendly and helpful, with smiles on their faces. We were directed to a site adjacent to the restrooms and showers, which were immaculate -- 3 showers with privacy doors, sparkling clean. The WiFi is the strongest signal we had on our nearly 4,000 mile trek through the western US. The laundry room is in a cute little cabin with a front porch and nice patio furniture. A great place to sit and read while doing the laundry. They have an ad in one of the many travel mags you can find on the Black Hills with a 10% coupon. With our coupon and no cable TV, we paid $21. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com