206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Dubois Wind River KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (307) 455-2238
CGID5219

Dubois Wind River KOA

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   8   7   7   8   6   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
We love this park. We have stayed here many times and always enjoy ourselves. The campground and hosts are very nice. Being close to the Wind River is great. The facilities are great --bathrooms, showers, laundry. Small town which has great appeal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$56
This is rated a 10 because we spent extra money for a riverfront site. Well worth the extra cost. The rating would be lower if at an interior site, as they were typical KOA sites. Very friendly and helpful staff and very clean grounds. Walking distance to the wonderful little town of Dubois. Would have liked an enclosed dog "park" as other KOAs have built. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
A nice campground located 60 miles from The Tetons. A large pool is in a building which is nice. There is no hot tub. We didn't like the large stones located on each site. We were stay there again although the rates are high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
Located right in a small town, easily walkable to some shops & restaurants, friendly & helpful staff, clean facilities. This campground seems quite popular; it was mostly full each night we were there. Lots of cabins, some compact tenting areas, horse corrals for those traveling with their horses, several long pull throughs for big rigs, and lots of back-in sites with the Wind River running behind them (and plenty of lawn space to sit & watch the river). Beautiful mountain views, too. Lots to like in this campground, despite some sites being awfully close to their neighbors. We'll stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Dubois is a great little town and the campground was a great place for a one or two night stay. It was one of the better KOAs we have seen. Clean restrooms and showers. Nice indoor pool and a great location. You can walk to town for good restaurants and small town shopping. We stayed on our way to the Tetons and I would come back and stay again. They only reason it was a 7 is that the grounds are typical KOA grounds. Not much beauty, privacy or landscape. Site are decent length apart but not huge. I would really recommend it though as it is a great location and a great town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$47
Positives: Nice location with river access, nice facilities for children (in-door pool, playground, game room, store), and deep but narrow sites. Negatives: Overpriced, cable TV marginal (few channels and ours had a lot of static), no fenced off area for dogs to play off leash. We stayed only one night. This campground is located in an absolutely beautiful area. River access a definite plus and a nice campground to walk around. Staff was attentive and campground was kept clean. Major negative is the price. Much too high for what is offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
We stayed here while visiting Yellowstone. BIG MISTAKE!! We will never stay this far from the park again. There is major construction on 26/287 between Dubois and Teton South Entrance. It takes about 2.5 hours to get to Old Faithful from campground. Campground: As mentioned cable is very weak, most channels are static and not very clear at all. They brag about their internet, I was not impressed at all. VERY WEAK signal. Now if you can get past those 2 things, this park is AMAZING. We stayed 2 nights on the river side. Make sure you make reservations in advance and ask to be in a back in spot on the river. So peaceful and beautiful. They have some of the cleanest showers we have ever seen. Very impressed from what I remember of KOA's 10 years ago. Please add a fence to your dog area and possibly add another one on the other end of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
The restrooms and laundry area were very clean. The tent area is pretty spacious but there is no shade (looked like there was a lot of shade for RV sites which are closer to the river). It was overpriced, as all KOA's are. It was right in town so we were awoken by a fire siren in the middle of the night. I might stay here again but probably would try the place on the east side of town instead. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$61
We stayed here last night on our way to see Jackson, the Grand Tetons, and Yellowstone from Iowa. We checked in and the hostess welcomed us in. We got settled in then walked around the campground where you'll quickly see the beautiful Wind River, their horses. There are plenty of full hookup pull through sites, not to mention their 4 kamping kabins, 2 bunkhouses, and plenty of tent sites. They also have a large indoor heated pool, game room, and an outside pavilion where they host western shows twice a week. The kabins were very clean and well kept, and it was nice to see the two granola bars and two bottles of water when we walked in. Overall, this would be a great place to home base out of for the neighboring parks. Plus, with the western shows, there are free horseback rides for kids under 10. With the other family events they do throughout the week, you'll really experience the western feel. Overall, we'd highly recommend this park to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$43
Friendly Staff. This is an okay KOA, but sites are gravel and not level. It is close to the town of Dubois, and that we liked. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
We stayed here for one night on our way to Yellowstone. We had a nice back-in site on the river. The indoor pool and game room were nice, our boys loved it. The bathrooms were exceptional, very modern and very clean. Has a nice staff and a nice campground store. Within walking distance to town. We took a walk through town after dinner. I would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Definitely a great experience here. We reserved a waterfront site while planning for our summer vacation and when we arrived we all wished we could stay for a month! Kids loved the pool, I loved being 10' from the Wind River! Dubois is a must see town, and no better place to stay than the KOA. Only one brief interaction with a crabby lady cleaning the bathroom kept me from rating this a 10. Everyone else there was very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$47
Overall the Wind River KOA is a very nice stopping place for a night or two. As typical with many KOA's, the price is a little steep. We also received a 10 percent KOA discount off the $47 fee. The river sites are all back in, but there is ample room between sites, and the river is about 40 yards from the back of the RV. This is a rustic setting. Management and staff were very pleasant and accommodating. There are horses belonging to the management and you could be smelling the stable at times. That, to me, was a good thing, but my wife does not agree. The campground is within easy walking distance of restaurants and shopping. We would stay here again if the opportunity affords itself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
A very nice, comfortable park. It is convenient to a neat town. Has an excellent heated and covered swimming pool. Pull-through site was long enough for 40 ft plus toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
Excellent KOA campground in a beautiful location. We originally requested a pull through site but upon arrival requested a change to a back-in, river front site and were able to change with no problem or increase in price. Personnel are very nice and informative. They are very pet friendly. You can have your pet off a leash as long as you have it under control. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
Nice enough park, great location in town but no traffic noise or issues. Pool is indoors, but it sits under a galvanized roof so it heats up during the day. Nice showers, store has more gifts than groceries. There's a grocery store and a convenience store within a good walk which may explain why they didn't stock much of anything. If you go, demand a shaded site. We got a pull-through in full sun and it was bad. You're at 7000 feet and the sun is intense and it wasn't pleasant to sit outside at all. We used this as a final stop before getting to the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone, but I wouldn't use it as a base camp for that area, you're too far away, and local construction makes getting to the national parks a real hassle. Descent campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
We stayed here one night in early June. The office staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our site and helped backing up. Nice neat, clean, efficient service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Excellent wheelchair accessible toilet/shower. Would have been nice to have sinks with a cutout. Very friendly staff/owners. Ask about the local Petroglyphs. Cowboy cafe has excellent Buffalo burgers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
This is a nice park!! Owners are super and up-graded us to riverfront without charge. Spacious sites along river or otherwise. Bathrooms and showers were SPOTLESS! They have a nice store, pool, playground, etc. Lots of shade trees and just a nice peaceful place to walk around. We slept great, and hated to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$54
Our cabin was very clean and well maintained. RV sites had stone lined borders. Work camper staff was very friendly. Campground Store was neat and stocked with local items. Restrooms were clean and well maintained. Pool is located indoors and was clean and neat We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$46
While previous reviews have praised the wi-fi at this park, we found it to be very poor, requiring numerous reboots by the owner. We just couldn’t stay on for more than a few minutes at a time, making things very difficult to get anything done. On the other hand, our site was a much-appreciated long, level pull-thru, but for some reason, other “Kabin” campers seemed to think that there was a “path” through our site. The roads were very dusty, and no one respected the speed limit. Despite all this, we did enjoy a wonderful dinner at a popular steakhouse a few blocks from the park. As others have said, this is a very overpriced park, especially for the conditions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
We are not very fond of KOA, but this one was definitely an exception to the rule! Owners were great, and upgraded our site to a waterfront with cable at no extra charge as they were not that busy and we were staying for several days. Facilities were immaculate all around. Was quite surprised to find an indoor pool also. It was about an hour to Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons, but a it was a nice ride getting there. Would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$46
This is a wonderful park. We stopped here just for an overnight, but wished we could stay longer. The pool was great, the staff nice and the laundry was open 24/7. We would certainly return if ever in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$41
I generally don't like KOAs and, like most KOAs, this one is overpriced. But it is not a typical KOA. They have installed really long pull through sites that are well stoned,they have good TV cable, excellent wi-fi, and a huge indoor swimming pool. The folks who run it are very friendly and, overall, I would say it is a good value, despite the price. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
This is a good overnight or short stay destination campground to see the surrounding area. The manager/owner was friendly and helpful. The cable TV signal was poor and the channel selection was somewhat limited. Fox News was listed on the campground brochure, but was not available. I don't consider only being able to watch CNN as "Fair and Balanced". The WiFi signal was good. When I made my reservation the KOA automated web site indicated that only the pull throughs were available. However, upon arrival I discovered the back-ins located on the river were in fact available. I'm not sure why the site availability was not properly addressed in the reservation system or if the back-ins were more or less costly. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
The campground is located in the center of Dubois. Signage to campground good. We were at the very start of the season so office not officially open when we arrived. However we were greeted by the friendly owner and allocated a site. The roads around the campground were wide and well maintained. The sites were flat, wide gravel with grass close to river. There was some trees. Electricity was solid and water pressure good. Quiet and with good ambiance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$46
The price reminded us again to avoid KOA's. The park was very well maintained and had long level sites up top. We didn't look at the river sites. Large piles of boulders between the sites made it awkward to walk around the coach. The facilities are beautifully maintained and clean. The covered swimming pool looked good but was filled with school children from the local grade school the afternoon we were there. The owner/manager was pleasant, but this park is too rich for our budget! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
Great KOA. Very ample sites both long and wide. Free WiFi and cable. Indoor pool and game room which we did not use but looked good. Owners very friendly, accommodating and know a great deal about the area. We were right next to the lovely Wind River. Stayed a week. The rate reflects the winter weekly rate. Will definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
One of the nicest stops of our entiore trip. Staff is wonderful, chuckwagon dinner great and the town most enjoyable. Would return if we ever came back this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
We stopped here on our way to Yellowstone. Nice little park with friendly help. If I would of had more time, I would of liked to stay here more than one night. Town was very quaint, definitely a western town, and I would of liked to explore it, but did not have any extra days planned for it. Park is in heart of town. We had a spot on the river which was a great view out our back window. I would come back to this KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Very good park for an overnight stop before heading to the Tetons and Yellowstone. Some full hookups with good cable TV and WIFI. Mix of RVs, trailers, and tents results in a variety of campers - retirees, young people, and families. Can be very crowded and busy in the short tourist season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Excellent park. Great Wifi plus T Mobile full service. Good cable and Direct TV worked fine. On Monday and Thursday evening they have a chuck wagon dinner and concert, really worth the price for the meal and the concert is free. One of the best nights of our trip so far. Stayed five nights. Neat small town, emphasis on small. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Enjoyed our riverside camping very much. We found the owner takes great pride in maintaining this campground. This is an excellent stop on the way to or from Yellowstone and worth staying several days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$34
Friendly owners and Staff. Very nice campground. We spent 8 nights here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
This is a clean, well-maintained KOA. We loved the fact that we could fish in the river right outside our trailer door. The town of Dubois is within walking distance. There are great fishing lakes close by. We will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Nice smaller campground that is good for an overnight stay. Excellent wi-fi, and very friendly and helpful management. Close to a real western downtown. You can walk to three or four good restaurants. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$34
Nice shaded lots next to the Wind River. Indoor pool and many nice facilities. Campground is just one block from downtown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com