224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Arrowhead Point Campground and Cabins was rated 8 out of 10 based on 71 user reviews. Phone: (719) 395-2323
CGID524

Arrowhead Point Campground and Cabins

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   10   10   8   10   8   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
A nice park. We stayed on one of the sites paved with asphalt, which required leveling boards. I would prefer the gravel sites, but did not realize what was what until we were settled. The sites are well spaced; nice view of the surrounding mountains. All the hookups worked well and looked as if they had been recently put in. This park is a bit far out of town, which is a disadvantage, but it is quite near Kaiser Mechanical Services, and Tomken Jeep, so this is a good place to stay while getting your Jeep repaired, or modified. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
Very nice campground. They are putting in cable, and a few sites have it available. Clean and neat, very friendly staff. Owners try to make your stay smooth and easy. Allowed us to check in early, due to weather issues. Just a note, we were charged an extra $10.00 for making online reservations, and the showers are $3.75 to start. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
This campground has full hook up. However, due to the winter weather, their water has not been turned on when we visited. The owners are very friendly and enjoy visiting with guests if time allows. We happened to pull in on opening day (April 15) so we enjoyed the friendliness and time they took giving us ideas of sites to see in the area. Campsites are gravel but fairly level and space between campsites adequate. They are continually adding more and more to the campground. The WiFi worked well; however, they have no cable hook ups. We were told that is on the agenda to add soon. Because this campground is up in the mountains Verizon phone service was minimal. Our RV antenna would not bring in any TV stations either. We stayed here for two nights but hope to return during the summer when it is a bit warmer outside. If you like specialty coffee you will enjoy the expresso machine as well as many favorite specialty coffee types they offer to guests. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
Nice, clean, quiet campground. Very nice owners. I wold stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This is a very nice camp with excellent spaces. Up on the side of the hill opposite the Arkansas River, it is remote enough to be quiet, with beautiful nights and peaceful days. The managers are wonderful to work with, and do a great job maintaining their campground. Excellent coffee bar; good emergency supplies selection; lot of help with local advice, attractions and things to see; we had a all around pleasant experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
Nice large campground. Has a large covered meeting area for RV clubs meetings and cookouts . We stayed here in a 43 ft MH and had plenty of room. Campground is multi-leveled which is pretty neat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$99
We rented a Rv unit on premises and we were very pleased with it. It was very clean and had everything you need for camping without having to bring your own trailer. The trailer was in a good location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
This is a nice park, but seems a little pricey. Our rate of $27 was the Passport America rate. The sites are gravel, but they are level. Spacing between RV's is OK, but nothing exceptional. Verizon service is problematic; the park Wi-Fi worked fine for us. The park is open with few trees. This is a rural park, several miles north of town. The view of the hills and mountains is very nice. This is a pleasant park, but seems a little more expensive than other nearby parks, if one does not use Passport America membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
This park was adequate but not not as nice as some others in the Salida, Buena Vista area. Nearest public river access was 3.7 miles to the north. We were unable to access Verizon from this park and the park Wi-Fi was very slow. The owners were personable and helpful and sold expresso and capuccino, etc., at the main office. I believe we would choose a park with river access when we return to this area in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Daily rate with Good Sam discount. Here for two days while checking fire situation in Woodland Park. Nice location north of Buena Vista. Nice campground, but hardly a resort. Tried to use Passport America discount, but was told 4th of July weekend started a week before the 4th (?). For rate charged, I would have expected free showers, but cost was over $1 for seven minutes. Probably wouldn't stay again just for that reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
The owners are friendly, and are trying to make this into a nice park. The facilities were good (we had one of their new paved sites) but the roads are dusty. Also, this campground is quite a ways north of Buena Vista. We didn't see the pool, or the hot tub, don't think there was either one. Not sure why this is called a resort; they charge like one. Next time we'll find something closer to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Super nice people, very helpful, very clean campground. Great little coffee shop in the office, even had breakfast burritos on Sunday morning. Gravel interior roads and spots, although a few spots were being paved (blacktop), not muddy as there was lots of road base, there was little dust even with the wind. Great mix of spots, some shady, some big wide open (satellite hill), back ins, pull-throughs, tents, cabins, yurts. Much bigger than you think as it's all spread out. We stayed in a 50 amp spot, good tasting water with good pressure, easy dumps (although almost uphill, if you have a real low dump spigot, some sites could be a problem.) Pet friendly, very clean and well maintained. Very nice general store with a good selection of stuff you need right now that you forgot along with munchies, groceries, and goofy souvenirs. Nice view, although you are along the highway (but every park/campground in the area is along the highway; after dark there is no real noise). Stayed here in a 45ft rig and would stay again. Price was last week of non-peak season and included Good Sam discount and tax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$41
We stayed here for 2 nights on our way to Alaska. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The view is amazing. Our site had 50 amp on addition to the rest of the hook ups. I took some pictures of the tent sites for our son since they looked pretty big. The area in general is a good place to visit. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Great location. Generous room between campsites. The owners are exceptionally pleasant to work with and work hard to maintain the campground. Will come back next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Rate is with the Passport America discount. Very friendly staff and owners. We were guided to our site and assisted backing in. Roads and sites are gravel. Our site was not quite level so I needed leveling boards. Sites are wide enough to provide good distance between rigs and some privacy. Wi-Fi work fine but AT&T cell service worked spotty, whereas Verizon worked okay. No cable provided but most sites have a good southern view for satellite. There is a well stocked store. Views are great and campground is far enough from highway so it is quiet. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
The owners are exceptional hosts. Park is in continuous upgrade to keep current. Coffee bar is a great addition. Scenery is magnificent. Wildlife is all around. Quiet location. This park is a keeper! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$41
Nice well maintained campground. Power was good, water pressure was at 50 PSI and we had no problems with the sewer. Sites are dirt and gravel and wide enough for all of our slides and awning with room to sit outside. There is road noise but not at night. Wi-Fi was excellent. Verizon cell and aircard was iffy even with our antenna and signal booster. We were in #1 which is a back in site backed up to the trees. It’s about as far away from the road noise as you can get. We were able to use our dome satellite which was nice. Site was almost level and easy to level out. Lots of things to do in the area. The town has a great sports complex with very nice tennis courts. One thing, when owners use the word resort in the name of the park I expect to see a pool/spa, cable TV, etc. At $44.00 a night it would have been nice. Paid for 6 nights with the 7th night free. There was also a $5.00 charge for making the reservation online. We would stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
We stayed here for 1 month and were pleased with the obvious pride they take in maintaining the grounds. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and did whatever they could to make our stay memorable. They watched out for us if we spent a night away, helped us plan our trips, and always greeted us with a smile. They had activities that were entertaining and a great little store. We would return without hesitation. The bathrooms,showers, and the laundry facilities were immaculate. The sites had fire pits and beautiful views of the surrounding fourteeners. Quiet hours were respected and the road noise was minimal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
The owners and staff of this park want you to be happy with the park and their service. In prior posts there are comments which the park has absolutely no control over, i.e lack of AT&T cell service, lack of shopping and restaurants in town. The restrooms/showers have always been clean and tidy. The laundry room is clean. They escort you to your site, will help you hook up utilities if you'd like their help. The store is stocked with basic camping supplies and some groceries. We've enjoyed our stay here and will most definitely return. We appreciate the level of service we've received from the owners and staff. Very nice people! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We had a pull through site, easy to access. There was no shade in our area of the park but lovely views of the mountains. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
OK park - staff friendly. Wi-Fi sometimes very slow. Clean restrooms and shower (coin operated - .50 for 3 mins) takes 30-60 secs to warm up. Fairly wide sites (been in much tighter spots). TV antenna reception terrible - no cell phone reception at campsite (must walk/drive to top of hill in tent camping area to get a signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
I cannot agree with the prior posts. This is, however, the best Buena Vista has to offer. 7 is a generous rating. It is dirt with some gravel, but the dust isn't that bad. Some sites are close together and some have decent space between them. Most sites are fairly level, but some would be a challenge to get your rig level. The dogs don't respect the quiet hours. While we were there the electricity on the site next to us went out. As soon as they fixed that problem our power went out and apparently it caused one of our circuit breakers to fail. The Wi-Fi is strong at times and others not strong enough to get on the net. One serious problem is the lack of cell service. AT&T has no signal. Verizon has a signal but you have to wander around the campground until you get a signal that may or may not hold. Shopping is sparse as are good restaurants. If we come to this area again, we will try to find a place in Salida, just south of BV. If I was to stay in BV again, this is where I would stay, but would prefer Salida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$23
Stayed 3 months and got a special rate. Great owners. Great staff. Great site. Wi-Fi was excellent, but cell service was iffy which is not the fault of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$52
I always enjoy this well-run and well-cared-for campground so much and this stay was no exception. The owners, are so pleasant and efficient, and always remember the whole family. We were given a map to our level, raked gravel, pull-through, premium FHU site on the higher part of the park. We had good easy free Wi-Fi (even though they have changed to Tengo, which has been troublesome for me in the past at other parks) and usually adequate Verizon. Electric and water were all steady and good. Bear proof dumpster close to office. Office has a nice selection of various camping/cooking needs, little gifts, snacks and small selection of groceries. They have added a wonderful new coffee bar and barista service – super nice! I appreciate the great view of the Collegiate Mountains and the road from Buena Vista is all made new now. I mark more improvements made at the park again this year, and the several multiple-repeat workkampers are always visible at work tidying and keeping things ship-shape. There was occasionally a little road noise from 24. I was sorry they have finally had to make the beautiful, sparkling clean showers pay – they have mentioned in the past a continuing problem with outside people coming in to use them in the middle of the night. The park was always safe and tranquil. We ran a little late leaving and it was no problem at all when we asked to check out a bit late. Our rate included AAA/Good Sam discount and 2 kids. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
As far as we are concerned, this is the best park in Buena Vista. The owners are so friendly and helpful. As previously stated, the store is fairly well stocked and has some unique items for sale. The campground is very clean and inviting. The sites are long and wide. We stayed in site 33 which is a paved back-in. Each site is provided with leveler pads, which we've never experienced. Nice picnic tables and fire pits are provided. The Wi-Fi was spot on, never so much as a blip. The utilities worked perfectly. Such a convenient spot to enjoy all the activities available in the area: hiking, mountain and road biking, 4-wheeling, rafting, sight-seeing! Also an easy drive to Aspen and other surrounding towns. The only negative is the traffic noise from 24. We visited during the off-season so it was fairly minimal. We're pretty sensitive to noise so it may not bother other people! Our price reflects an off-season internet special. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
Campground is tucked against the western slope of hills lining Hwy 24. Rate quoted is daily broken down from a week paid ($179.42). A few sites have trees, grass is sparse, not unusual for high desert areas. All sites are terraced, since the campground is above grade of Hwy 24. Firepits at each site have a grill and wood is available at the office. Owners live on site and are VERY friendly and helpful. Escort to site was appreciated. Camp store was well stocked for camping supplies and cute locally produced gifts. North/South winds through the canyon keep traffic noise minimal. There is not much between sites, but late in the season this wasn't a problem (few campers). Picnic tables are new and there is adequate gravel at each site. Cement on the basketball court looks new, too. At sundown, deer and bunnies browsed 4 sites away, untroubled by me grilling outside. Owners also report a resident bobcat who is very shy, but still a good reason to keep small pets leashed. WiFi signal was very strong and speed was the best I've ever had at a campground. More campers using the service may affect that, but I got 4/5 bars and 44-56Mbs, enough to stream a Hulu show, because there is no cell or TV signal here (no cable). The camping cabins look new and are very tidy looking from the outside. I enjoyed the peace and quiet, being backed up to the western slope of the hill. Overall impression? Tidy, family-run, pleasant hosts, quiet, GREAT WiFi! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Our stay at Arrowhead Resort was incredible! Had a wonderful time. Was very quiet, and had clean restrooms and showers. Staff was very polite. Would recommend this place to all travelers! Thanks again Arrowhead and keep up the great work! See you soon! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
Not many RV parks in this area except in Buena Vista. This park is a little more expensive $40 vs. $29 without discount, but it was not as crowded and there is ample room between sites. Sites are 30' wide. They are 5 miles north of town off Hwy 24 with their own left turn lane. We found downtown two great places to eat: Jan's for home cooking and Quincy's for very good prices on steaks, prime rib, and sandwiches. We rented a 2000 Jeep from BV Jeeps for $140 a day. Sites are all level, fine gravel except for two paved with asphalt with grass in between. We were on what I call "satellite hill" because there are no trees so reception was great. The other hill backs to trees and an even larger hill so it looked like difficult satellite reception. I have a Winegard TV antenna with a Wingman extension, but it still took some fine tuning to get snowy channels for local weather. I only saw 12 pull throughs with full hook ups; the rest are all back-in. For 6 nights we were on a 60 ft. pull through with room for a toy hauler and a Jeep. They also have cabins, Yurts and space for tent camping. No flies, mosquitoes, gnats, goat heads, sand burrs or cockle burrs. Verizon was 2 out of 5 bars and AT&T was zero bars. Both cell phones had good reception in town. Wi-Fi was good. Some sites would time out, but most of the time response was good. As a bad example it took over four minutes to update an iPod app. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
What a difference from other RV parks. The hookups are nice. The showers are excellent and I mean CLEAN! I took a shower in a private room with a VERY POWERFUL exhaust fan that actually worked right! I have a problem with exhaust fans in some of these RV parks in their showers! It was so clean, including the toilets and sink and mirror. It's so nice to take a shower and be just like home. I love this campground and the showers here deserve a 20+. We only stayed one night but would have stayed more. The whole place was clean and neat and the staff is very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
There are 3 individual restrooms with showers that are extremely clean. The WiFi was weak, but the owners were most helpful. The sites were all large and kept clean. My only problem with this RV park was the total lack of any trees, so we didn't have any shade. We also paid $258 + tax for a week, which I thought was a little steep. Because of that, next time I will probably try to stay at one of the parks closer to town that have trees (and are cheaper). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
We stayed only one night in the park but would have stayed much longer. Tons of sites to fit whatever your camping needs. Small yurts and cabins for rent. We stayed in a 16' Vintage Airstream camper and used the park bathrooms/showers. They were very clean and the owners very very nice. Great to have a small store on location with group events in the evening. I would highly recommend this campground and will hopefully stay again in the future! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
We stayed here for 7 nights. The owners were great. It is a good place for kids with miniature golf, volleyball court, 1/2 basketball court. Sites are roomy with a table. There are some paved; some gravel sites. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Our second stay here and it was even better than the first time 2 years ago. The owners are very customer-oriented, knowledgeable, friendly yet professional. Check-in was efficient and pleasant. We were escorted to our full hook-up, long, pull-through, gravel, easy-to-level site, with picnic table and fire pit. The campground is well laid out, clean, calm, safe, and serene. Family and pet friendly. We enjoyed fabulous views of the Collegiate Peaks and lots of hummingbirds. The bathrooms were always sparkling clean, have automatic lights and very efficient fans. The office store includes some RV items, small selection of kitchen/grocery items, souvenirs, games, and very economical DVDs. Latest expansions include new bathrooms, cabins, yurts, concrete basketball area, and a really nice community fire pit area. This is in addition to the sand volleyball, kid’s playground, mini-golf, and covered pavilion. There was a pancake breakfast on Saturday, which we regretfully had to miss due to a rafting trip reservation. The WiFi worked excellently at high speed for our entire 5-day stay. My husband was able to work remote (of necessity x 2 days) easily from the campground while the rest of the family relaxed and recreated. Verizon signal strong by the office but varied up on the hill. Electric voltage extremely steady and the electric service box was high enough that the surge guard didn’t hang on the ground, a rarity. Our sewer connection was a little uphill unless we were more to the back of our site. You could occasionally hear loud motorcycles from Hwy 24. Some of the grounds may be seen by some as a little dry, but please remember that in Colorado we conserve water, and enjoy the huge century-old trees by the office and natural greenery throughout. Rate is Good Sam, 2 adults, 2 kids. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
Campsites had great views of the surrounding area. We stayed in campsite #63, absolutely gorgeous views! The sights were gravel, level, and a good space between each site. The bathrooms, showers, and laundry facilities were immaculate. There is a really nice area for group fire pit times, kid's play area, concrete basketball play area, sand volleyball, and plenty of room for good walks. The camp is laid out so that large groups can tent or RV's can gather and still others have privacy. The cabins and yurts are really clean, very functional, and seem reasonably priced. There are lots of local attractions that make this campground a great home base, too. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$8
We had a group of twenty teenage boys from our church camp here for an entire week. Our experience was outstanding! The staff are fantastic hosts and made us feel right at home. Everything exceeded our expectations! The views from the campsites were wonderful. The facilities were very clean (cleanest camping shower facilities I've ever seen). The pancake breakfast on Saturday was fantastic! I especially appreciated the basketball area and volley ball court. Our teens had a great time! I have been taking this type of trip yearly for 12 years, and Arrowhead Point Resort was the best experience we've ever had! We will definitely return again, maybe next year! Thank you for a great experience! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
We used to stay in this park for many years before the current owners bought it. There are a lot of parks more rustic, but we always thought it was a nice place and the owners were great. However, the people who own it now seem to be hit or miss. You see a string of good reviews that rave about how friendly they are and then a bad one when some poor, unsuspecting soul sets them off. That is our experience as well. The owners seem to get real unfrienldy, real fast if you happen to have even a minor run in with them on an off day. The WiFi was not working well during our stay and they were quite angry that we even mentioned it. Previous reviews are right: the pictures do make it look better than it is, and they aren't the only park that does that. I am not sure how they stay in business since there are so many nice parks in the Buena Vista area owned by people who don't randomly "go off" on their guests. We will never go back and it pains us, as we had good times here in previous years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
We have been camping here for four years now. The sites are level, wide enough for an RV with four slides and still have room. The bath houses are all new and very clean. The owners are like family. They are always asking how we are doing and if we need any thing. They make us coffee when we have our meetings and also at our pot luck. They have a big covered pavilion which they do not charge to use and have barbeque grills you can rent for a small fee. Each time we go, the owners have completed a new upgrade to the park. The views are just beautiful. We have just booked another year with them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$55
Loved this place. The owners could not have been nicer or more helpful. Gave us a great deal on the deluxe cabin. We spent two nights in the cabin and one night in a tent. They recommended great places to eat and things to do. The bathrooms and showers were clean and well maintained. They were even kind enough to mail out my postcards. Thanks! We will be back. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$99
The outstanding feature was the cordial way the owners greeted us and our group. They always were accommodating with our requests. Our group of around 45 to 50 all said they would like to go back. The Sunday morning breakfast was exceptional. The pavilion was an excellent place for a group to meet, especially if it was raining. The campfire site provided a 360 degree view of the mountains. It was an extremely aesthetic and spiritual experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Stayed in a rustic cabin, not sure about rate (can't remember). We had to change reservations due to car trouble, the management helped us without charging for any cancellations/changes. Very nicely kept and well thought-out bathrooms and showers (automatic vent blowers and lights, enough hooks and stools, etc.). Good people helping out with great flexibility to make your stay a good one. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
We were very disappointed with this campground. We were promised a "large pull-through, 50 amp site". On arrival we were assigned a narrow 30 amp site that required a really tight turn to exit. We were told that there is no price difference between 30 and 50 amps. The sewer connection was on the uphill side of our site that would not allow adequate drainage. Although the bathroom was clean, there is a shortage of bathrooms for this size campground. There was no AT&T cell coverage in this area and only a few "snowy" TV channels provided by an antenna. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$99
My family and I have been camping at Arrowhead Point Camping Resort now for over 25 years and have enjoyed every moment of it. This year we had our family reunion in June and found great hosts who went out of their way to make our reunion a great event to remember. We had over 40 people in attendance and everyone had a great time, thanks to the accommodations and the wonderful treatment we were given by the owners. I highly recommend this resort for those that love a beautiful quiet place in one of the prettiest places in the rockies. I look forward to our next vacation here. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Excellent place to stay. The owners couldn't have been any nicer or helpful. This was one of the cleanest places we've stayed in a while. In fact I think we're going to return next month. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$55
We loved this place and Cathy and Joe, the owners, were so helpful and friendly! Joe sent us on some great day trips. The cabin was clean and cozy. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
This is a great place to stay. The owners are fabulous and friendly and couldn't do enough to accommodate us and tell us things to see around the area. We stayed here under Passport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$65
Arrowhead Point is a friendly, clean campground located in one of the most beautiful spots in the country. It also has a feature found in few campgrounds today -- a complete shaded kennel where our dog was cared for by the campground hosts as though he were their own pet. Our dog is normally a little skittish and nervous, but when we returned after six hours away rafting and swimming, it was as though we had never left. I'd highly recommend this park, particularly for pet owners who may not be able to take their pet everywhere with them during their stay. First rate accommodations. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
The owners, Joe and Cathy Harbick, are some of the nicest people we've run into in RV parks. They are obviously interested in providing a completely positive camping experience at Arrowhead. Being Denver residents, we could have chosen many different parks to leave our RV all summer (we commute on weekends to Buena Vista) but their hospitality and attention to quality facilities attracted us immediately. Also, the proximity of the campground to the Arkansas River and Clear Creek Reservoir is perfect. It's convenient to Buena Vista and all the hot springs opportunities near there, without being in the hustle and bustle of the little town. Arrowhead is a terrific value, we think. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$84
We stayed in a Yurt (2 adults and 3 kids under age 7)that is provided by the campground and had other family in a tent on site next to us. Our spot was secluded from the other campers. We also had our dogs with us. The restrooms were clean and the Yurt was also clean, bring plenty of blankets if you choose your own linen package! The campground is very family friendly and the owners are very friendly and helpful. The camp store was very reasonably priced, and they had a movie one night for the kids. We will be back. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This was our maiden voyage as campers and what a great introduction! Joe and Kathy (owners) are the nicest people. We stayed 2 nights and 3 days and are ready to go back for a longer stay next time. The resort is beautiful and incredibly well maintained, they put a lot of work into the place. Our children were kept well entertained and the owners even stopped by our campfire on Saturday night to just hang out with us! Very family friendly atmosphere! Our rate was based on a Camp Club USA discount. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
We always have a great stay at this park, whether for a weekend or a week. The owners are definitely very nice and helpful, in our experience. They have always guided us to our site, and even help set up, while chatting and filling us in on local events. I can't imagine hearing a cross word from either of them. We enjoy hiking up to the top of the park and taking in the spectacular mountain views. Our kids love the stream going through the property, the trails, and the playground. The pool is not available, but we knew that because we asked ahead of time. I hope one day that it is, but we still had a good time on the Upper Arkansas, 10 minutes away. Lots of local events and possibly one of the most beautiful locations in the lower 48. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
We enjoyed our stay at this campground as it was quiet due to being set back from the highway. And the scenery was great. The roads and sites are gravel but well maintained and it was easy to level our unit. We had a pull-through site that had plenty of room for our slides and awning so we weren't on top of any neighbor. The hookups and the Wi-Fi all worked without any issues. We were led to our site and guided into a good position for setup. Owners and staff were very friendly and helpful and even stopped to chat at our site. We have stayed at other campgrounds in the area but will return here in the future. The rate was based on Passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This place is definitely not a "Resort". It is a gravel and dirt parking lot with a boarded up pool, with a sad looking playground filled with some kid's leftover toys. We offered to pay for one night even though we were not even going to stay there because it was so bad, but the owner went from nice to downright rude. She threatened to bill us for three days and then hung up on us. There is no shade, no grass, no pool, no character. We would never stay at this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
This was our first time at this park. We were welcomed by the friendly owners upon our arrival and after checking in, were led to our site where were assisted in backing our rig. The site was level and well graded with gravel. We had room to extend both the slide and the awning with room left over for the picnic table and more. We had two nice trees on our site. It's obvious that the owners take great pride in the park as it is clean, well maintained and trash free. The bathroom/shower building we used was thoroughly cleaned every day and looks and smells brand new. The office/store is well stocked and the owners are knowledgeable about the surrounding area and current events in the local area. The Wi-Fi worked great and we never lost service. All utilities worked just as they should. We looked at other RV campgrounds in the area and found Arrowhead Point Camping Resort to be the best value for the money. If you're going to stay at a RV park in the Buena Vista area, this is where you want to stay. We'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
This is a very clean, family friendly, and dog friendly resort with lots of owner and work kamper staff presence. Our pull-through, gravel site was level, spacious, clean, and well laid out. The owners were welcoming, always accessible, and helpful. They helped arrange or suggest several trips for horseback riding, hot springs resort, and rafting. The bathrooms/showers by the office and in the just remodeled south facility were sparkling clean any time of day. We really enjoyed the many hummingbirds and the clear starry nights. We ran on a scenic county road behind the park, beside the Heckendorf Wildlife Preserve, with fabulous views of the Collegiate Range. There was a fun Luau night Friday with native Hawaiian dancing and an ice cream social. We also enjoyed the volleyball, horseshoes, and mini golf, and nice playground. The Wi-Fi worked well enough for us to do our email, surfing, and daughter to do extensive online courses; it did slow down inside our MH in the evenings towards weekend. It seemed volume related and was resolved with closer access to office. Verizon signal was weak but worked. We could get a Pueblo TV station on batwing without much effort. There was a small but fun DVD library rental available in office. Our rate was based on a weekly stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$19
Rate is based on a monthly rate. Stayed here for a month. This is a quiet area with beautiful mountain views. Gravel sites and roads. Ice cream socials on weekends. WiFi worked for me. Verizon cell signal is weak. Owners were helpful and attentive. As RV fulltimers, we enjoyed the peacefulness, beauty of the area and friendliness of the owners/staff. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Pretty much what previous reviewers have said about this park is true. We have a little different take. We aren’t really campers. We are RVers. So, getting away from it all for that nice 2 or 3 week vacation isn’t necessarily what we are looking for. We pulled in here after being on the road for 3 months. Had a discussion with the owner at check in about how we really need our WI-FI and she smiled sweetly and assured me that it is reliable. In the first 36 hours that we were there, we only got to use if for a couple of hours because it was down. The owners are friendly unless you have a complaint. They didn’t like us complaining about the WI-FI. Initially, we were told that the whole valley was out. But then we found a couple of other campgrounds just down the road whose WI-FI worked. Also found several locations in town that were having no problem. When we brought that up, the back peddling started. Asked if we could have our money back for our final two nights so we could go to a campground where the WI-FI works. They said “No”. They stated that it just wasn’t their fault and that it was an “act of God”. I do not view the failure of inferior technology as an act of God. So, we stayed and it did finally come up but we left one day early when it started slowing down again. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all, this might be the place. Your cell won’t work, your antenna will not pick up any TV, and the WI-FI is unreliable. Like to swim? They have a pool but it is empty. To be fair, the ONLY thing in that list that they advertise as a service they will provide is the free WI-FI. Hardly their fault that the cell doesn't work and the cable TV doesn't come out that far from town. The word resort just doesn’t work for me though. They charge like it is a resort, but it is not. Obviously, we won’t be going back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Very nice park. New owners last three years have made the sites very level and spacious. They were very nice at check-in and helpful for things to do in the area. Family owned and operated and it seems to be family friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
Rate is Passport America. New owners are really making this into a nice park! The sites are level and have a great view of the mountains. Wi-fi works well, but no cell service for me. Owners are very helpful with directions to different things in the area and places to go see if you don't have any idea what is around like me. They also work with one of the BEST whitewater groups in the area and will set up a reservation for you plus offer a free shuttle!!! They still have some remodeling to do or I would have rated them a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
We spent four late season nights at this very nice campground to visit some of the local area including Aspen, Leadville, Breckenridge, and South Park City. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Although the park is somewhat rustic, it is very well laid out and very comfortable. The owners have obviously been working hard to upgrade the facilities since their purchase several years ago. The effort shows. The Wi-Fi was adequate for our needs and the layout of the park allowed for a good south view to the TV satellite dish. We enjoyed an early season snowfall during our visit and had a great time watching the deer browsing on the grounds. We would certainly return for an extended stay in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
This is a campground we would like to spend more time at--it has a "dude ranch" atmosphere. The sites are gravel. The staff is friendly and the scenery is great--but then, we like the mountains! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
We were pleased with our space, view, cleanliness of restrooms/laundry and location. Wi fi started out so-so but later improved. Cell phone service around area apparently depends on carrier. Beautiful mountain range right across highway from park. The owners went out of their way to accommodate us. They are working hard to update the park. We checked out all surrounding parks and feel Arrowhead met our needs as well as they could have. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
We really enjoyed our stay there and are looking forward to our next visit. The RV sites were nice but there could have been more sites with trees. My 8 year old son loved the playground area. The game room need more games to play. the restrooms and showers were immaculate. The office/store was well supplied and clean. The pavilion was of good size. They have an awesome tent area with clean sites and beautiful views. The new owners are doing a great job of restoring the facility. Keep up the good work. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
The new owners are really serious about upgrading this CG. Based on customer feedback, a new cell tower and internet tower were scheduled to be put up within the last couple weeks, after we left. All that should be done by now. The rest of the CG is a clean and friendly as always. This was our second trip and we will be back. Lots of activities on their web page. They also arrange pick up and drop off for local outdoor activities. We took the rafting trip to Browns Canyon on a lark and ended up having one of the best family outings ever. Just let them know what you want to do. We are already ready to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
Good level gravel sites. Nice view of surrounding mountains and valley. Laundry room was very clean and washers/dryers looked new. Looks like the park is being upgraded. The pool was empty and needed some work as well as a few buildings but the rustic look of some buildings seem to fit the overall park theme. Excellent customer service and the WiFi worked great. Limited cell phone. However I was able to make calls in certain areas of the park. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Older campground being rebuilt by new, younger owners. Nice folks who are trying hard to please. Big rig sites, all new utilities, great free wifi. negatives are: limited cell service, very sandy with little grass. Beautiful views and a great overnight stop on the way to other areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
The new owners are very friendly and have gotten the formerly run down park in very good shape. The sites were clean and spacious. The park is big and has lots of trails to explore. We also saw lots of deer wandering around, There is a nice pool, putt-putt golf, etc. We had a great time and there are tons of outdoor recreation activities available in the area - white water sports, fishing, hiking, mountain biking, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$29
Now known as Arrowhead Point Camping resort and under new management. The new owners are trying hard and it shows. Very nice family-oriented campground with a playground, putt-putt golf and arcade. Spotless showers and toilets. Port-a-potties even have deodorizer and hand sanitizer. RV sites are not cramped and some have shade. Great views of the Collegiate range and close to great fly fishing on the Arkansas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$27
We stayed at Crazy Horse with our 8 year old daughter from Saturday through Tuesday. The campground was never crowded (management says people are still staying away as a result of 2002 forest fires). Our only negative comments are that the picnic tables are falling apart and that the sites close to the highway are noisy (though there is little traffic at night). The pool was warm, clean and active. The mini-golf was just rebuilt last year and was a very popular activity for both my family and many of the other guests. The petting zoo and the playground weren't anything special but all of the kids seemed to enjoy congregating there. The office/store was well stocked and made a good impression. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all, this was a very nice family campground. We stayed 3 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Our tent site was poorly maintained (big rocks, small rocks), not leveled, lousy warped picnic table, and inadequate in terms of size of site and place to park car and its proximity to the driveway. Overloaded dumpster nearby and open gate near county road was unnerving as it related to animal raids at night. The bathrooms were small (hardly enough room to sit on the seat, dark and dank). Needed a maintenance work over, but were suitably clean. The disappointing thing, however, was that we went to this campground because it called itself a resort with activities in the ads. Sorry, folks, activities are for crowded weekends, not weekdays. Nothing was happening. Office opens at 8 and closes at 8. Public phone was broken, so the office had the only phone. We drove three miles for a phone after 8 pm. Not good. Save your money for another campground in the Arkansas River Valley. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$27
The Park was very nice. The kids really enjoyed the pool and playground. We are planning to go back there this year. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2000
$25
Vastly overrated by Trailer Life. Wide Open with minimal shade available, sites not tended to, picnic tables in need of repair or missing, site numbering markers missing. Plenty of space between sites in certain sections, too close together in other sections. Bathroom facilities inadequate for the number of sites, and are in need of repair. They were fairly clean, but just not adequate. Pool area was very nice and clean. They have on-site nightly barbeques and entertainment, and there is a small petting zoo for the kids. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. But this campground could use some attention! It's more rustic than the Trailer Life ratings would have one believe. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com