218901 User submitted reviews online!!
Cave-in-Rock State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (618) 289-4325
CGID5250

Cave-in-Rock State Park

Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
October 2010
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   8   7   8   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Nice clean park. Well maintained and everything mowed. Lots of shade trees. Lodge within walking distance from campground for meals. Lodge has breakfast buffet on weekends. View of river is beautiful from the lodge and scenic drive. River is not visible from campground. Campground was quiet with paved roads and paved camping spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This is a very nice and quiet park. We stayed here after the rains and wanted to see the cave. However, the Ohio river was in a flood stage and the path to the cave was covered with water. Should have called ahead. The camp sites are paved with a second paved space for parking a second vehicle. Be sure to bring leveling blocks as the pads are not level Sites only have electric. You will need to fill your water tanks and dump when leaving. There is a ferry ride from the KY. on the south side of the river to IL. Well worth making a detour off I-24 to see and spend a couple of days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Nice shady state park. Lots of well mowed grass in the center of the park with a heavily wooded area surrounding the park. Sites are paved, with some sites having a paved parking area. On the negative side: there is only 30 amp electric at the sites. From the camp you can hear the barge and ferry traffic on the river. It is an easy drive to Garden of the Gods or other scenic areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Nice state park. Only electric hook-ups. No water or sewer, although there is a dumpstation with freshwater available. Most campsites are 100 feet or more apart, so plenty of room and plenty of shade. Lots of hills that are fun to ride bikes down and less fun to ride back up. There are picnic tables on a ridge overlooking the river, and there is a river taxi that runs up and down the river if you would like to have a look. Great place to spend a weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Wonderful small park. Rated slightly lower due to lack of water at sites although public water at shower house/restrooms at highest point in campground loop. Also, showers scalding hot and several campers complained to host. May be corrected soon. Would return but be prepared with full water tank. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
If you are looking for a place to get away from it all, this is your spot. This is a beautiful, peaceful park nestled into the rolling hills of the Shawnee National Forest. We stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend and amazingly enough, the campground wasn't full. The campground was within walking distance of the cave and the Ohio River. The area also offers a lot of other natural, beautiful spots to visit. The campground is well maintained and almost all of the sites are shaded by large, mature, hardwood trees. The sites are large with plenty of space between them. We were able to set up our badminton game and had lots of room for the kids to play. The campsites have asphalt pads with picnic tables and a fire pit at each. My only complaint: the shower in the bath house was turned on by push button with no way to control the water temperature and the water was terribly hot. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
What an attractive and peaceful campground and State Park, - immaculately kept. We camped mid-week in September and there were only 4 other sites occupied. The actual cave is rather tired, - graffiti etc, but the view across the river from the cliff top, above the cave, was wonderful and was only a few minutes walk from our campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
Lots of fully grown trees and a hilly environment make for a variety of choices in the type of site you'd like from down in the valley to up on the hilltop. We chose hilltop and were able to get cell reception (barely) as well as be near the shower house with shade and satellite TV reception. Unfortunately, the area had seen record rainfall a couple days before we arrived. Within three days of our arrival, the mosquitoes were incredibly thick! Still, the Cave-in-Rock State Park along the river gave us an escape in the cave and walking the paths. The dump station has both gray and fresh water hookups within easy reach. With two hoses, we were able to fill our fresh tank while dumping and flushing our black tank. A great time saver as long as you have two sets of hoses. The water was clean and odor free. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
Very clean park. Staff was friendly and kept the place clean. We stayed for 5 days and it was almost empty the whole time. Part of the Shawnee National Forest so there are alot of places to go to around there. Access to KY is thru a free Ferry! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com