206899 User submitted reviews online!!
Hither Hills State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (631) 668-2554
CGID5267

Hither Hills State Park

Camp Information
Sites
168
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   9   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$56
This is an excellent state run campground. It is clean and very well maintained. The drawback is the out of state rate. We paid nearly $60.00/day with NO HOOKUPS. Additionally, reservations must be made through ReserveAmerica another costly item.We came from Connecticut Via the Throgs Neck Bridge, Clearview Expressway, Long Island Expressway, and Sunrise Highway without any problems. The campground is located at the far eastern end of the south fork. There is easy access to the Hamptons, South, East, and Bridge. If you are in a sightseeing mood, go up to the north fork and visit the wine country. Again, if you are exploring, visit the Lobster Grille on the 29 bypass just east of Peconic Bay (Southampton). Excellent views, food and dining at a reasonable price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
With out any shade, tenting there can get very warm when the sun is mid sky. Although you are not directly on the waterfront it is a short walk to the beach. People there were very pleasant. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
Fall in Montauk is always great. No crowds or traffic like summer time. Most stores still open. Also outside fires allowed in the fall as long as there in a pit. Most campers are bass fisherman. Camp store closed, but town is only 5 min. away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
Park store was well stocked, a little high on the prices. West end sites are definitely better, especially if it rains. There's less flooding if any at all, but also comes with more traffic noise from road. East end sites, all you hear is ocean due to a large hill between sites and road. Better to have some noise than the flooding that occurs if you have alot of rain. Short walk through the dunes to the ocean. Town just a short drive. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$62
I loved camping so close to the water. The smell of the salt water and the awareness of being in such a historic area was awe inspiring. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
We stayed over the Memorial Day holiday. There's a ballfield and playground and of course the ocean. It's what living on Long Island is about: salt air, sea breeze. Helps you get away from the daily grind. On the weekends they have movies for the kids. The camp store has a new owner and seems to be stocked better than in the past. It's hard to get a site during the peak season and one must book for a week. We live locally so we usually stay before and after the peak seasons. Not only are you allowed to book a shorter stay, but you are also permitted to have fires. You must provide your own fire ring. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$24
If you love the ocean, you will love Hither Hills State Park. Where else can you camp for less than $30/day and hear the waves crashing from your campsite. The sunrises and sunsets are fantastic. Although there are approx. 2 miles of beach to walk, swimming is limited to a smaller area due to large surf and occassional rip tides. The life guards are very vigilant about enforcing the rules. Our kids generally didn't go in the water past their knees. We like to camp in June when the campground is still fairly empty and campfires are still allowed. However, the water is still pretty cold in June . . . it's the Atlantic Ocean! Campfires are banned past mid-June due to fire danger. All of the bathrooms are usable. However, the main bath-house near the swimming area is less than 5 years old and is by far the nicest bathroom/shower facility I have seen at a campground. The campsites are all flat and sunny . . . very sunny. Your site comes with a concrete pad for your picnic table. There is a near constant breeze, which can get cool while the water is still cold. As such, most campers bring a tarp or a screen house with a solid wall panel to provide some relief. On a related note, the nights can be cool. All of the campsites are close to the beach. In fact, we have gone days at a time without wearing shoes. There is a nice general store, playground, and baseball field. There was also a very nice game room/library for those rainy days. The park staff also showed children's movies outside during the evening. Aside from the campground, there is an abundance of things to do in Montauk itself. See the lighthouse. Hike in a number of state/county/town parks in the area. Walk by the fishing boats in the area Marinas. In fact, we were in town during a shark fishing tournament at the Star Island Yacht Club which was a big thrill for the kids. Finally, it is nearly impossible to reserve a site at Hither Hills during July and August. Check out the the Reserve America website and plan your trip well in advance if you plan to go during the peak summer months. Enjoy! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com