214358 User submitted reviews online!!
Lone Duck Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (800) 776-5925
CGID527

Lone Duck Campground

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   8   8   10   9   2   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
Very friendly and helpful staff. We camped here for 3 nights while we explored the Colorado Springs area. It was a great location with easy access to Cripple Creek, Colorado Springs, Royal Gorge, and Pikes Peak. The sites were large and easy to get in and out of. They had a heated swimming pool and served an all you can eat breakfast for $5.00. We were in a 33 foot RV with 3 slides and had no problem in our site. We highly recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
Very nice staff, easy pull through site, choosing a site was easy as there were very few other campers. CG is mostly dirt but good shade with some grass. Restrooms were dated and not very clean probably because it is the end of the primary camping season. They have a wonderful pool but I am sure many campers abuse the restrooms, i.e. track dirt everywhere, after using the pool and then the restrooms. Excellent WI-FI but that may be due to the small amount of campers using it. Unfortunately this CG is just down the hill from Hwy 24; it is very noisy during the day, fine at night as long as we were inside the camper. Not a place to enjoy the out-of-doors unless you are just there for the pool and playground for the kids. It is close to Manitou Springs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This is a great park for a couple of nights, not within walking distance to any shopping as far as we could tell. There was a nice pool and a fishing pond. Great place to take the kids! The sites are gravel and not necessarily level but was easy enough to get level. Not a lot of room for bigger rigs to get around, once we got settled in it was perfect. Located close to Highway 24, however, we did not notice the road noise. Would have given a higher rating except that it appeared the locals also come to play in the pool. Over all very clean and highly recommend. We got in as early as we could and left as late as possible to enjoy it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Read their Directions before coming. We got Soooo lost. But the directions on the site are very good. You have to make a U-Turn off of I24 if you are going West. Then, there is a driveway angling down that you take to the campground. There is an ATV rental just before you make the U turn on the left side of I24. The park is clean and neat with good showers and a nice pancake breakfast for $4. All the coffee you can drink too. The sites are not particularly level, but we had not problems getting level. Longer units will have more of a problem. Ours is 32'. Like the people here. I24 passed above the campground and if you don't like road noise, you might want to pass on this park. That is about the only negative that I found here. Very convenient to the Scenic stops near Colorado Springs. Like this place. Great place for people with smaller RVs and/or tents. Big RVs, be sure you call and check first for a good spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
The staff was friendly and helpful. The restrooms were well kept. I would recommend this as an alternative if you are visiting the Colorado Springs area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This was a very friendly place to stay. The kids had a great time in the heated pool, fishing and getting their internet fix at the booths in the main building. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
If you like the constant smell (and smoke) of California forest fires, then go to Lone Duck. This is because there is constant camp fires everywhere. Also, it is mainly a place for tents and pop-ups. Very few spots for full size RV's, which are completely unlevel and very tight spots. Playground was very loud by fishing pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
Small park, but seems the norm for the area. Real estate is at a premium here. Stayed here during off season so pool closed and pancakes for breakfast had ended. Did have plenty of room since sites on either side of us were empty. Otherwise would have been a tight fit. Must say how nice the owners are! Our washer overflowed and flooded our rig. They called to let us know there was a problem and had turned off the water. Came back to find water dripping from under the rig and inside pretty flooded. Owner met us there and then offered up his wet dry vac to clean up with. They also let us use a cabin free of charge to store our things in while the rig dried out. Beautiful views, great people, clean your lint filter and don't be like us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$31
Overall it is a great place to camp. The pool was very clean and refreshing. Our site was moderately treed. They have an all you can eat breakfast for $3.00 and the campground is close to local attractions. The owners are very friendly and nice. My family and I would certainly camp here again. It would be nice if they had an ice cream social. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
This is a very nice and quiet campground. We stayed here late in the season starting on a Sunday. There were only four sets of campers. The staff was very friendly. This may be a difficult campground for very large motorhomes as some areas are very tight. We did fine in our 30' motorhome towing a vehicle. The Wifi has good saturation throughout the park and was very reliable. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$33
Lone Duck Campground was fun. The restrooms are a little old but fairly clean. There is a stocked fishing pond that you can pay $15.00 to fish in (up to three fish). Its close to some great attractions like Pikes Peek and the Colorado Springs Zoo. Its a little close to the road so you will have some road noise to deal with, but not too bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Nice CG but a little crowded for a 33" 5er. Fishing pond on site that cost to fish in. Nice playground and pool. Just felt a little packed in. Lots of road noise for Highway 24. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
This was our very first time camping. We had a 19ft 5th wheel. When I called to make reservations I asked for a secluded site. The owner told me he would do his best. When we arrived he showed us the site he had reserved for us, but also showed us other sites we might like better. The site he chose was perfect! Lots of trees, leveled, and in a nice location. There was plenty of hot water in the showers and the bathrooms were very clean. The lodge had free coffee and popcorn. Every morning there was an "all you can eat" pancake breakfast for $3. There was a nice pool and a great playground. There was also a pond for trout fishing, but we didn't use it. Lone Duck is close to many tourist places in the Pikes Peak region. We would come here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This campground is definitely for families with children. Roads are not paved and we had some difficulty leveling our travel trailer. This is not a park for large rigs. It is best suited to tents, pop-ups and small trailers. It is handy to the attractions in the area and owners were helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$23
Nice small park. Caters to families, tenters, tent trailers, lots of trees, not set up for big rigs. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com