219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Vogel State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (706) 745-2628
CGID5277

Vogel State Park

Camp Information
Sites
138
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   9   8   9   10   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Nice secluded sites in a beautiful wooded setting. We stayed right on a beautiful small stream. Sites were gravel, as was road. No TV or satellite due to tall, closely spaced trees. Bath house was old and not well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
I've been here in tents, pop ups and a 25' toy hauler. Really a beautiful park for hiking and spending time at the lake and the campsites are quite cozy. There are some tight spots for larger rigs, but overall a great state park and clean. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
We have stayed here several times over the last decade and it continues to be a great park. Not a lot of frills like phone and WiFi, but it has a great stream that winds it way through the camp sites and you can hear it gurgling as you sleep. Very shaded. Satellite radio wouldn't work. It is for the nature lover and a great, relaxing park if this is what you want. If you want hi-tec, it isn't the place. It was built by the CCC during the depression. We will be here again when in the area. This is one of the few times I have ever given a 10 points. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Vogel is a great state park with nice campsites. Several are along a beautiful stream. Pretty much all are nicely wooded. Park has a big field for playing and throwing ball. There is a nice playground. The lake and swimming area are nice and well kept and there is great hiking. Location is excellent if you are a cyclist that wants to do some climbing. We've camped here at least twice and hiked here many times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$1
If you drive a MONSTER CLASS A and pull a toad, I would skip this park. The road through the camping area is narrow and very dicey. In fact, at the beginning of the camping area, there is a sign instructing you to unhook your toad. I don't know how vehicles pulling trailers handle it. Some of the campsites can be accessed on the way up the road, some on the way down the road. You drive all the way up, turn around in a narrow "turnaround" area, and go back down. Some of the sites are dicey to back into. Site #28 was very spacious, but cumbersome to get into. But it was a very level site. There is adequate spacing between you and the neighbor. Restrooms were fairly clean. I had a great stay once I got into the site. I was staying "Free" due to a pass I got from previously camp hosting at another Georgia State Park, therefore, I put $1 as the price. The lake was wonderful! There is a great visitors center where you can buy T-Shirts and things. The park also has some great "hike in" tent sites, where you park here and "hike in there." Verizon Air Card (3G), Verizon Cell Phone, and Verizon Home Phone Connect worked great here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
We stayed here for a week and had a wonderful time. Vogel is one of Georgia's oldest state parks, but it has been meticulously maintained and the old growth forests are one of the nicest things about the park. The park itself is beautiful with lots of things to do. We enjoyed the easy access to some of the best hiking trails in Georgia. We also took the opportunity to visit several of the waterfalls in the area. The campground is a good one; the sites are spacious and level with ample shade throughout. The campground hosts were very nice. There are no sewer hook-ups, nor was there any Wi-Fi, but I think this is pretty much the norm for Georgia State Parks. Our Verizon cell phone coverage was excellent however. There was a crew of power company workers here with heavy equipment laying new underground power cabling throughout the campground (this created some "noise pollution", but it looked like they were almost done). If you're planning on coming in September 2011, you may want to ask if the power company crews are gone when you call to make reservations. Overall I'm giving this park four and a half stars. The only reason I'm docking it a half a star is because of the construction. This is a great park and well worth the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Excellent park, clean and lots to do. The lake is beautiful. The sites were great. You have to pick your site when you get here. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
All we can say is WOW! If you like camping near running streams in the beautiful mountains this place is for you. Streams, and little rivers are winding everywhere through this park plus a nice waterfall at the end of the lake. Staff was great and we really got to know the ranger and his family when we all had to evacuate during the recent tornado outbreak. It was a long and scary night we spent together in the one of the parks bath houses while the tornado sirens wailed. At sunrise we found that a tornado had touched down only a couple of miles away. Way too close! A little more on the park itself: It is tight if you have a big rig. We were in a 35 ft fifth wheel and were able to move around OK but we went slow. Roads are small and trees are everywhere. We saw larger rigs including one class A rig in the park. Vogel is at about 2300 feet and the pull up to the park is somewhat lengthy and tough if you come in through the town of Cleveland or Dalonega which we did. Many, many switchbacks and steep grades for over six long miles. Was tough with a F250 diesel and did OK but the truck was definitely working. One other thing from coming from this direction is the entrance is on the downhill side of the climb and sneaks up on you. We and two other guys towing campers could not get stopped in time and had to go past the entrance for several miles to turn around. Going home we choose to go through Blairsville rather than descending the six miles. Blairsville is the way to come and go to Vogel if you can. We live in Florida and using Blairsville added about 35 miles to our trip. Well worth it since the descent (and climb) are much easier. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$28
The price above does not reflect the senior discount of $5.50/night. We stayed in site 44. The site is difficult to get into but well worth it. Clean toilets/shower. Showers are heated and stay warm. I would rate it an 9 out of 10. A well managed and well kept park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This is our favorite state park. We usually go to Vogel in the heat of the summer where we enjoy the cooler temps. The park is very well taken care of and has a friendly staff. We enjoy the programs, swimming beach, miniature golf, and the other amenities. The park would probably get a rating of 10 if the bath houses were more up to date. There is one newer bath house but the park has two others that really show their age. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Best Georgia State Park we have stayed in. This park is absolutely beautiful. Perfect setting, sites were on the larger side. Ours had a nice stream across the street and a small one behind us. Perfect for our 4 year old to play in. Campground was very neat, grounds were manicured. On site store had everything that we would need. Nice shady sites. Only complaint would be lack of sewer, but Georgia State Parks don't usually have them. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
Campground is easily accessible off Hwy 129. Sites range from small to large and are gravel. Our site was pretty level. Large trees provide nice shade. Fire rings and picnic tables provided. One set of sites is in woods, second set of sites is along creek, third set of sites was closed for winter. This was just an overnight stop for us but we did take a leisurely walk through the campground the night we arrived and another on a trail through the woods the next morning. There is also a lake and cabins at the park. Overall a nice stay and I would not hesitate to go back. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
I agree with all of the reviews: it's a great park with lots to do and see. However if you have a larger camper of 36' or more: this is not an easy campground to maneuver around. Several campers, including myself, hit trees during the extremely tight turns. Make sure you know which site you're going to and how you're going to get out before you go. Even the pull through sites are hard to get to with larger rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This was our first visit to this park, and we were very pleased with this campground. The sites are spread around in different areas of the park, with some being next to a stream, and others more isolated in wooded areas. We hiked on all the trails and found them varied and beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The Fall colors were wonderful, and we are anxious to return to his park again. It is definitely one of the most beautiful Georgia State Parks we have been to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Really nice park except for tight turnaround at end of road, and not able to reserve a specific spot. Wi-fi hot spot behind the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
We camped next to the creek. The grand-kids had a wonderful time. Swimming, biking, hiking, mini golf, skateboarding & lots of other kids. Warm days cool nights. Perfect place for families. We'll go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
I have to say this is one of the most beautiful State Parks we have stayed in, in years. The sound of the rushing water from the stream behind our tent all night just put you to sleep. I found all the people to be very cordial and pleasant. Our children loved playing in the water from the stream, more than going and swimming at the beach. We couldn't keep them out of the water. I am so glad to see such beauty still exists and that it is maintained at a superb level. I look forward to our next trip here! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
Nice campground, good size spaces. It was pretty empty during the week but really filled up on the weekend. My biggest negative was the showers. You needed to hold in a push button to activate the water flow. In the summer that would not be an issue, but with mornings below freezing it was a chore to shower and not chill in the process. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
This is one of our favorite campgrounds! Everything was just perfect. The campground was beautiful and offered many activities. The scenery was excellent. The sites are rather large and private. We were in site 60 which was a pull-through at the top of the hill. The only negative comment I could make would be the lack of opportunity to reserve a specific campsite. We usually book months in advance to secure a suitable campsite for our camper. If you are a late arrival, you sometimes get left with bad sites. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
The park was beautiful! We had a great campsite, all the way at the top of the hill next to the primitive camping. It was right across from the stream, it was private, and completely shaded with huge hemlocks all around us. The temperature at our campsite was at least 10 degrees cooler than what it was down on the lake. On the downside, since it was the furthest campsite up the hill there was little to no water pressure. The park was aware of the situation, that is just the way it is at the top of the hill. As with all of the Georgia state parks, you cannot make a reservation for a particular site. When we arrived at the park, there were very few sites available. It was either the one we took or one of the interior sites. The beauty around us was worth the trade off of lack of water pressure. There is lots to do at the park. It has a nice beach, pretty good fishing, pedal boat rentals, biking, hiking, miniature golf. Despite some of the issues we had, we still had a great stay and it is an awesome park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
We tent camp here often. Great wooded and large sites. Tons to do; fishing, paddle boating, hiking, biking. Absolutely beautiful. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
This park is a great place. It has numerous activities for all. I enjoyed all the hiking trails in and around the park. I also found many other trails and attractions on HWY 19/129 to visit. Mountain Crossings Outdoor gear store, Helton Creek Falls, and Desoto Falls are just a short drive away. Lake Winfield Scott is nearby too and you would be able to do many different loop hikes using the park as a starting point. I camped here in the winter and while I was here it snowed so it was truly beautiful. The park personnel were very friendly and helpful. The park store has limited supplies, but it is open from 7 AM to 10 PM. Part of the campground was closed for the winter and some of the sites are situated in such a way that it can be difficult to maneuver into a site. Some seemed OK, others were a tight looking fit. The showers and bathroom facilities were very clean. There is a playground for kids and in the summer there are paddle boats to rent and a swimming beach. I was here for Meredith Emerson Memorial Hike and I think there were a few other people camping here for the same reason this weekend. It seemed to busier than usual. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
Vogel is a gem in the Georgia State Parks System. With a setting in the mountains the drive here is excellent: with both hands on the steering wheel of your RV. The activities for the outdoor enthusiast are endless. The trail to Blood Mountain is a great way to spend the day and shed some pounds. The easy 1 mile trail around the lake is beautiful. So why did I mark this park down to a 7? While the campground is one of the most scenic I've been to, getting a site for an average sized rig is difficult. For a popular fall weekend we arrived just before sunset with all the large sites taken. The last pull-through was just taken by TENT CAMPERS! We did find a beautiful site with a stream next too us but it took almost 1 hour of back and forth with the help of many near-by campers to help us out. Not a great way to kick-off a weekend. If this park can keep the tents off large RV sites, Vogel will get a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
We hiked the trails here. The sites are large and lots of trees. We were on a stream side -wonderful to listen to when resting. We hiked many waterfalls in the area. Showers clean. Rangers helpful. Lots to do in the area. Beautiful mountains. Will definitely go back! We were in site 57. Next time we'll get site #59. --latter was a pull through-- We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
Vogel is a wonderful state park and a great place to relax and get away. Sites are shaded and there are plenty of trees in each site. There are also plenty of activities for families such as putt putt golf, swimming, paddle boats, and many ranger led activities. A store is located inside the park office and it is stocked with basic items. The showers are very interesting in that the water only stays on for about ten seconds. You must keep pushing the button if you want to continue your shower. This can be rather frustrating. However, it is a beautiful park and we will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
Vogel State Park is one of the oldest state parks in Georgia and was built by the CCC. In my opinion, it is easily the most beautiful. At 2500 feet above sea level, a light jacket might feel good, even in the middle of summer. Vogel is wooded and the campsites are no exception. The roads are paved, but the campsites are gravel. Sites are level and easy to access. A few are close together, but most are well separated. Bath houses are kept clean throughout the day. Each site is equipped with a concrete picnic table, fire ring and lantern pole. Many have tent pads off of the main site. A stream (Wolf Creek) runs through part of the campground. Several hiking trails start at Vogel. Additionally, there is a beautiful lake which offers fishing and paddle boating. There are two children's play grounds, horse shoes, volley ball and miniature golf. Vogel State Park is very popular and fills up. Advanced reservations are usually needed. It is one of our favorite places and we usually have at least one reservation booked for Vogel at any given time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Nice park with many things to do. Do not like the current reservation system. First come first serve basis. Reservations only include a site and are not specific. We were stuck with small sites that were hard to get into. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$29
Vogel is one of our favorite state parks in Georgia! We had a site directly on a stream this May, and it was just heavenly! The kids played in the stream, rode their bikes, ate ice cream from the camp store, played putt putt, hiked the trails and swam in the lake. There is also a CCC museum that is very interesting to tour. One negative is that you can't resserve a specific site (all Georgia State Parks), and when you're camping with a group like we do, it makes it difficult to all end up in the same area when everyone is first-come-first-serve. We've camped all over Georgia, and Vogel is definitely one of my family's favorite state parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com