223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Prairie Creek COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (334) 418-4919
CGID53

Prairie Creek COE

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   10   9   9   8   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$11
This campground is typical of COE parks. It is beautiful, scenic, well laid out, and clean. Sites are very large, and most are separated from neighbors. The only lack is sewer hookup. Showers were older and could use some bleach. The park offers nice walking and water sports. Rate is senior pass discount. Such a nice bonus for older citizens. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
Rate reflects senior pass. This was so beautiful and peaceful. Docks are available with several sites sharing. Would be fine for more than overnight and would have a 10 rating if had sewer hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
We stopped here for an overnight and ended up staying two days. Perhaps in the summer and a weekend, this campground is busy, but here on weekdays in the fall of the year, it is serene, quiet and lovely. Walking the dog was a joy with literally miles of places to explore. Clean, level sites were a delight after travelling for weeks. The Hosts were helpful and friendly. The campground is a bit off of US 80, but very reachable following well marked turns and good directions from Google Maps. If following Trailer Life directions, use the directions coming in from the West. The other directions are dicey. This was our first trip here, but it will not be our last. Best sites for satellite is 21, 25 and 48. All others are positional. Over the air TV reception was great. This campground is probably 25 air miles from Montgomery and digital transmission was superb. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
We had Site #21 on the Creekside of the Park. The caretakers, Jim and Shirley are very special people. They are both very friendly and accommodating to your needs. The park is absolutely beautiful. We will make sure to return, when possibble. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Well maintained campground. Well west of Lowndesboro, much closer to Whitehall on the map, and adjacent to the Danneley Dam. Follow the signs off CR 40 west of the Corps of Engineers office near Whitehall on US 80. Landscape manicured. Entrance was like driving into some Southern plantation. There are two camping loops. One loop has leveled gravel sites, the other leveled concrete sites. The first loop (east side) is along a backwater of the Alabama River, while the upper loop borders both the backwater and the main river channel (on the west). Sites were large and spacious, each with picnic table and lantern hanger. Each site is well separated from the next, although we saw a few sites that looked as though they were close together to accommodate families. Hookups worked perfectly. Hosts were efficient at the gate, and the gate kept out non-registered visitors. Located within about six miles of the new Civil Rights Interpretive Center operated by the National Park Service (worth the visit) at nearby Whitehall. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
Beautiful CG with spacious sites and pleasing layout. Sites along the creek side seem larger and more private than on the river. Most appeared level with concrete pads. We weren't able to pick up any channels on TV, so don't plan on watching the news while here. No camp store on the grounds. Friendly staff at check in. We enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
This is our "home" park, near where I grew up. It is nice and quiet, never full but lovely. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
We agree with others: very pretty park, with all that moss dripping down. We were there mid-week and shared the park with only 2 other campers. We enjoyed watching the boats on the reservoir, but it gets pretty buggy (of course). We'd stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$8
One of the lovliest campgrounds we have seen. They accept the Golden age Passport and give 50% discount. Sites are easy to get into, both pull through and back-in. Clean as can be, didn't see even a gum wrapper on the ground. Almost hate to review this campground because right now it is a well kept secret. We will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$7
Very nice COE campground with good water and 50a power. We got the normal 50% discount with my Golden Access Passport. We had the only pull-through site in the Eagles Roost loop, and easily managed it with 40' motorhome with car in tow. All sites have plenty of outside room with picnic table, grill & lamp hanger. In spite of info on their website to the contrary, most sites would easily handle our 40' motorhome. One site w/ apx 100' concrete slab is limited to 35' !! Even the turn-around at the end of the loop was wide enough for us to get around with no problems. Bathroom/shower rooms are heated, which was very nice this time of year! Verizon cell phone is weak and/or on analog, but does work. Some sites are satellite TV workable through the trees. Hosts are visible throughout the day, and quite helpful. Very pleasant area to spend some quiet time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
Very nice campground. Trees were pretty with moss hanging from them. Would have given a 10, but no sewer connections. We will be coming here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$8
This campground is in the middle of nowhere, but that is some of it's appeal. So quiet, great staff, just wonderful. And the bathhouse is spotless and lots of hot water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$16
Sites are concrete or packed gravel, large and well spaced. Mine was level as a good pool table. All the facilities are well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. Sewer hookups would be nice, but otherwise I can't think of anything bad to say about the campground itself. The only negative for me was the location. Everything is more than 20 miles away. As much as I like getting away from it all that can get a little inconvenient. Make your shopping list carefully because you won't want to go back for whatever you forgot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$16
As with most Corps parks, the sites in this park have everything we want in a campsite - except for sewage hookups - but that's a sacrifice worth making. This park is located about 15 miles east of Selma, Alabama, close to Benton, although the listing is in Lowndesboro. The campground is situated right between Prairie Creek on one side and the Alabama River on the other. Some of the sites are compact gravel while others have long concrete pads. All sites are level and located among trees that are covered with hanging moss. Most of the sites are on the water and well spaced from one another. Each site has the usual pea gravel area with an aluminum picnic table, grill, and fire ring. The only reason I didn't give this park a 10 was because I thought the lights around the bathhouse were a little too bright at night. Get a site that's not so close and you won't be bothered when sitting by the campfire. This is one of the nicer Corps parks, which says quite a bit. We would definitely come back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2005
$16
This is a beautiful park filled with trees draped with spanish moss. The park was very quiet in December. Many sites are right on the water, a couple with docks directly accessible (#31 for example); sites are level concrete pads. We really liked site #39 with a deck right on the shore built for the picnic table. The COE campground guide says that maximum RV length limit is 35 feet but many sites would handle bigger rigs and there are no problems with the roads in and around the park. We have a 30 ft class A. Bathrooms and showers are warm, clean and well-maintained; there is a laundry with one washer and one dryer. Dump station was easy to access. Friendly helpful staff. We love the COE parks and this is a great one. One of the nicest parks overall that we've stayed at and we'd recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$16
Great looking camp ground located below towering trees full of spanish moss. The sites are wide and deep, many have decks over the river so you can fish at your site. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com