206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Steamboat Lake State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (970) 879-3922
CGID531

Steamboat Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
198
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   9   7   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
Our second visit to this beautiful park (with a beautiful drive up Elk River Valley). We concur with with previous campers about great activities, well-maintained facilities, and lovely views and sites. We lucked out this summer with the gorgeous profusion of wildflowers, as a result of all the rain. Our only complaint is that we had a site pretty close to the camper services bldg, and there is a mighty loud fan in the showers whose sound carries. Otherwise, a pastoral paradise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
Great location and views of the lake, Large and open camp sites. We will stay here any time we visit Steamboat area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Truly a treasure of a park. Steamboat Lake is a breathtakingly delicious location to meet a wide variety of outdoor activities for persons of all ages. From spotless camper facilities to a marina where you are rent anything from a fishing pole to a paddle or power boat, this park is a slice of Colorado's very best. Not only are the views spectacular, but the campsites are well spaced and fairly level on gravel. There is terrific birding, hiking, cycling (on and off road), horseback riding and ATV opportunities in or near at the park as it is adjacent to National Forest. Out of all the many great Colorado State Parks, this one takes the cake! We camped here with two happy dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$19
This is a very nice state park campground. Electrical sites are available, although not for us, since we did not reserve far enough in advance. The sites are level, and well spaced, so one can reasonably run a generator in the morning or evening, without too much concern about disturbing the neighbors. Verizon cell phones and Verizon Wi-Fi work at the campsites. The dump site is easy to get in to, and easy to use. I give this park a 9, rather than a 10, because full-hookups are not available. A $7 entrance fee, or a yearly pass is required in addition to the camping fee. I believe, greatly reduce fees are available for senior Colorado residents. For most this park will be a destination, not an overnight stop, since the park is some distance north of Steamboat Springs. So I should mention that there is hiking, boating, fishing and 4-wheeling available for outdoor activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$14
Pretty much a standard State Park Campground. Nice views but shy on features such as Electric, WiFi, and TV. Pit toilets other than the ones at the marina. Its about a 45-50 minute drive North of Steamboat Springs on a narrow 2 lane road with no real grocery stores within 20 miles so bring everything you will need. Verizon was pretty good but AT&T was poor. You can go to the Clark store and use their free WiFi but be prepared to pay double for any groceries. The lake is very nice as well as the views of Hahn Peak. You can get a bite to eat and a drink at nearby Hahns Peak Cafe. Also you are required to pay $6 every day that you stay to enter the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
Great views but no trees! OK, a couple of sites had some trees left, but most have been cut down due to pine beetle damage. However, the views are great! Sites are level, camp host was friendly. We camped the few days prior to the 4th of July weekend and our small loop with electric was empty except for us most of the time, which was nice and peaceful. But it was booked full for the holiday weekend. We will camp here again in a couple of years so the area has had time to heal from the logging. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
Nice park- showers were a welcome sight. Bathrooms were kept pretty clean. Vault toilets were awful! They had deodorizers in them so the smell wasn't terrible, but they were overun by flies! My daughter lifted the lid and a bunch of flies flew out. After that we rode our bikes to the marina to use the flush toilets! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
Gorgeous sites, lots of room between campers, great dog-friendly trails, lovely summer temps (hot in day, cool at night), beautiful scenery. Wish there were water hookups, but that wasn't critical. Negatives: showers/flush toilets weren't working in the central camper services building (water main break), the dump site was missing its hose. Made rinsing a little tough. Other negative: trash cans were a DRIVE away from campsite. Tough to keep bear/other animal-proof because I'm not storing my dog's "business" in my camper at night! Other than those minor complaints, a gorgeous place to stay. Plus the 26-mile drive north from Steamboat Springs has been the favorite 2-lane scenic drive of our so-far 6000-mile trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
A very nice park about 26 miles north of Steamboat Springs. Level, well-maintained sites, many wooded, some close to lake. Suitable for all types of campers, from tents to large RVs. Electrical hookups and dump station are available. Camper cabins can be rented. Swim beach and well-stocked marina and store are onsite, along with laundry and showers. The fudge is especially good. This is a very popular park, and reservations are highly recommended during the summer season. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com