220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Kirtland AFB FamCamp (Military Camping Only) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (505) 846-0337
CGID5312

Kirtland AFB FamCamp (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   7   9   7   6   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$22
This is our third or fourth stay here. Very friendly staff. Spaces are large and level. WiFi worked great. Somewhat inconvenient for an overnight stay, due being a ways from I-40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$18
We just stayed here for one night. We stayed in the new section which was okay for a big RV with our tow vehicle. Met our needs and we would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$18
Prior review is right on. We stayed in the newer section. Good gravel with table (bench swayed) with full hookups. Side by side RV's. One faced one way, the next one the other way. Hookups in the middle. OK when RV's are pulled up as far as possible. WIFI weak and slow. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
We are here once a year to visit family in ABQ. Easy access to so much. On the base the commissary & exchange are nearby. The FamCamp is easy to get to from the Eubanks gate. Really, there is room to get thru. There are 2 sides to the camp. The older side is lovely with trees, but mainly full of long termers. Most only have 30amp. The new site is long, gravel sites. Surprisingly, the gravel is not dusty. It's very deep gravel with wide sites. All pull thrus. We would stay here again - good park, convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
The gravel spots in the new section are easy in and out and long enough you can lave towed vehicle attached if desired. Eubanks gate is most convenient; however as noted, it is tight fit for big rigs. Gibson gate is easier access but further from campground. Staff is friendly and helpful. They do sell propane at the campground. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
Previous reviews are still spot on. This is certainly a good park if you are visiting the area or passing through. The Eubanks gate is perhaps105 inches wide. I was creeping through with my 96 inch wide RV. We stayed in the newer area which was double wide and extra long with deep (a little too deep) gravel. I don't recommend anything larger than a standard TT stay in the older section. My dog didn't like the stickers either. Camp WiFi was very slow. Verizon & ATT signals were strong. There's nothing for kids to do at or near the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
There are many pull through sites, but it is like camping on a large gravel lot with poor views. The older side is small and difficult for a big rig, and there only 30 amp is available. The park is very noisy as there is some kind of industrial equipment that makes a very large whooshing noise 24/7. Amenities are very basic, but the price is good and it could not be any more secure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
Big sites, good hook ups, OK Wi-Fi. We stayed here 14 days. Good location to sight see. Recommend you stop at morale and recreation because they have some really good programs. Good dog area, but getting there or anywhere around the park was very tough on dogs paws due to the stickers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
Parked in the old section. Poor 30-amp power. Only 108 volts with A/C and refrigerator on. Nice back-in, shaded site. Great Wi-Fi and over the air TV. Shower / restrooms clean, but only one shower stall and one toilet in men's restroom; one shower & two toilets in ladies. A bit noisy due to airplanes, but then, it is an Air Force Base. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
We stayed here for one week at the end of Nov-Dec. The after hours check in consists of a map with site info marked in grease pencil (available, problems, taken, etc. We found that the info was not totally accurate. We found a full hookup site that had 50 amp and proceeded. According to the map, it was the only one available. There was a lit Christmas tree plugged into the power at the site and the tree was literally on a picnic table right at the utilities for that spot. We decided to look around the camp and found many open spaces in the "new" section. This is a first come first serve place, so we took the one that was next to a site that was reported to have no power. We had no problems with the power and someone hooked up the same day and was able to use the supposedly non-working power with no problem. The sites are packed stone, but wide and easy to get in an out of. Be aware that this FAMCAMP backs up against base housing- if you're in the back row of large pull-thrus you are literally staring into the backyards and even windows of base housing. There is a large dog in one of those backyards that barks a lot and loudly. There were also kids bouncing on a trampoline and frequent foot/bicycle traffic into housing. It was an OK park; I'd recommend it for the price. The gates are super-tight to get into base, but manageable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
We stayed in the newer section. As stated in previous reviews, these spaces are huge, gravel and very level. Sewer connections could have been a little better located in order not to have to be right next to neighbor. Afternoon host was very friendly and helpful with directions, etc. Asked daytime host about price of propane and she acted as if I was truly bothering her. Because of other reviews, we came through the Wyoming gate. Don't think it was much wider than the Eubank's gate. Our rig is 108" and don't think we would have had any problem getting through Eubank's. The exit gates look about the same as entrance and we made it through them just fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Level sites, friendly staff. I will stay here again. It is convenient to local attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Hot and Dusty. It's a safe, nice park when just passing through, but I can't imagine staying a long time. There is a nice doggie area that we liked. All hookups worked out OK. Maybe nicer in the winter months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Very helpful and friendly staff. We stayed in one of the newer pull through sites. The only slightly negative comment I can state is that there was no shade in this newer section (but the trees are already planted to provide shade in years to come). The site was really wide for our coach which is great. There is a pet park but we chose to walk the park instead to meet the friendly people staying here!! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
If you have an RV plan on using the Gibson Gate. This is the gate that the city buses uses and it's much wider. We stayed in the new section - very wide gravel sites with plenty room to park your vehicle. They also have propane available by the office which is a plus. Well stocked commissary but somewhat small exchange. We will be back if we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
If you are told what to do about anything by a gruff and less than cordial camper who lives on the new side of the Kirtland AFB RV campground, please do a great service for current and future campers by sending a note about your interaction with this person to the Interactive Customer Evaluation (ICE) website: http://ice.disa.mil (click on Air Force, CONUS, Kirtland, and Facility Management). This camper’s site looks like she is homesteading there but she is not the campground host! The host lives on the older side of the park by the campground office (her site number is posted outside the office if you need assistance after hours, and she is quite pleasant). We were not the first people to be told by the gruff and less than cordial camper to not park our RV next to her site because it was reserved. In fact, the space is not reserved but she keeps placing parking cones there to keep campers from parking next to her! During our last stay at Kirtland a few months ago, this same woman actually told me to not bring my dogs into the dog park until she took her dogs out! I waited in my truck for the 5-10 minutes it took her to leave because I think I was too dumbfounded to do otherwise! There have apparently been more than several issues with this camper and people need to speak up by way of the ICE website so that complaints get to the proper officials. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
The Kirtland AFB Famcamp is at least as good as many military famcamps but is not one of the best that we have visited. The sites are either blacktop or pea gravel, are moderately level and spacious ( new section only) and comes with a picnic table and FHU ( 30/50 amp ). They do NOT offer on site cable, modem hook ups or wi-fi. Our Verizon cell worked just fine but our my-fi card seemed to get interference from nearby Air Force electronic emissions. We experienced a similar wi-fi problem when we stayed at MacDill AFB Famcamp. The campground shower/bath house and laundry is small and very much substandard compared to many other military sites we have evaluated. The golf course is about two miles from the campground and is very reasonably priced. The PX and Commissary are well stocked. There are lots of things to do and see in this area but like all of the USAF campgrounds no reservations are accepted and it’s first come/first served. We observed that they do NOT uniformly enforce their two week rule in this park. Their office is closed on weekends and they post a list of open sites with available dates. We entered the base via the Eubank gate and it is very narrow and only open M-F from 6AM to 6PM. Use the Wyoming gate if entering/leaving any days/hours outside the above days/times. There is a small dog park but it’s not convenient ( distance wise ) if in the newer section as we were. The “goat heads” are plentiful and a real aggravation to pets when walking them outside the dog park area. We’d return and use the famcamp if in the area but I’d pay a couple of dollars more for improved campground amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Rate is military discount. Wide, level, gravel sites: some sites have concrete pads. They also have overflow camping with only water. Some sites with picnic tables. Quiet even though it is an Air Force base and on the approach to Albuquerque Airport. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Good location on the base, great views of the mountains and got an end site, so only a neighbor on one side, on the newer side of the park with gravel sites and gravel roads and no trees - quite dusty and very windy which of course couldn't be helped by the park. Large and spacious sites and new hook-ups. Near three gates for exit to various sights. Would recommend for big rigs and also to fellow military travelers. Near airport, but never really heard any air traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
We like this park: big lots and very friendly people. Would go back again. It also has a very nice pet walk and play area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Recently added 40 new sites, all very wide & long pull-throughs, no wifi, no catv, some sites have tables, a few sites have grills, 14 day limit, no weekly or monthly rate offered, bathhouse has only one commode & one shower per sex, often dusty/dirty due to unpaved roads in new area, responsive on-site host, easy access from I-40, good value for overnight stop, poor value for longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$15
Available to military active duty, retirees, sponsored guests, DoD personnel. No reservations. Self-checking available after hourse. Gravel and some grass sites, number of sites reflects dry camping as well as with hook-ups. Only one shower for each gender for all sites available. Some noise expected from planes. Nice fenced, grassy dog park in NW corner with doggy bags and seating (no water). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
Watch out for gopher holes under your landing gear and stabilizers. Some sites have the sewer hook-up on the opposite side of the RV from the water/electric. The base has a indoor pool and full support facilities i.e. gym, BX, commissary, clinic, gas station, craft shops, outdoor rec. etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com