224371 User submitted reviews online!!
Hill AFB FamCamp (Military Camping Only) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (801) 775-3250
CGID5316

Hill AFB FamCamp (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
53
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   10   9   8   7   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Sites were level and had FHU. The reservation system can be strange. Per their recommendation on the phone, I made reservations by e-mail, I got prompt reply to complete by calling with cc number. I called 3 times to do this and never got a return call! We would have liked to stay for a few more days but they had not room, yet there were 3-4 empty spaces every night we were there. That seems high number of no shows, i suspect they did not have good hold on their space availability! Nonetheless, we would stay here again. We live the location and access! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Another nice FamCamp if you get to stay in the concrete pad area. The gravel area has sites very close together and short. Nice park area attached with large picnic area and splash pad. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
We stayed here for the Amazing Thunderbirds show! They, and the park were Awesome! The campground was full but the hosts were able to fit us in. They were very friendly. Restrooms were very clean. It was nice and pretty quiet, despite the road. On Friday night there was a movie. Saturday night was a dinner and a movie! Sunday morning pancakes! The park is very kid friendly. The splash pad & playground are right there. These people work all day and half the night making sure every thing runs smoothly and all is taken care of. And you absolutely cannot beat the price! We will stay here again, for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Loved this campground/famcamp! We were right across from the state of the art gym, just along a greenbelt walking path, and had easy access to the gate and all the local attractions! Staff was helpful, and very accommodating despite the campground being very full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Nice facility, clean restrooms, and showers. Ice machine available. Pet friendly. Close to base shopping. Camp hosts very helpful. WiFi not available at all sites, worked best near office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Really nice place to stay while visiting the area. Not a destination resort. Very well kept nice pull-through sites as well as back-ins. Clean and well run. Very nice laundry room. Yes, the airplanes are loud but its the sound of freedom. It's an Air Force base. We stay here whenever we are in this area and have always been satisfied. Its best to make a reservation as its a busy RV park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
We liked being here for a few days notwithstanding the guy that runs the place. The campsite itself was good, the price was good and the location was fine. We were next to the base running track and gym which was convenient. The base has a bike path that allowed me to ride a 14-15 mile circuit which I enjoyed. The site was on a concrete pad, had a full hookup and very adequate; though not what I would call a 'destination'. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
We had so much fun here! TV reception on antenna was good. Love the community room and the snacks left out for us. Some shade. Wonderful pet area with Grass not weeds We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
We did an overnight with a reservation. Staff member put us in a pull thru that was over 50' long, but he did get our name wrong, so without a confirmation there might have been a problem because of the short office hours. The park is adjacent to a very busy off-base road and the mil pilots were really working the pattern, so it was quite loud. Each 2 spots share hook-ups, so except for the end spot, you are door to door with neighbors. We did not use this famcamp going the other way due to poor info about getting in, but there is a night check-in, so give it a try if you don't care about noise. Howard will catch-up with you, after you get settled. BTW, the off-leash dog park is wonderful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Rates had increased $5 from our stay here two years ago and yet no discernible improvements. Still the awkward head-to-toe parking system. Very hard to get in touch with the camp host or whomever runs the park and has extremely odd working hours of four hours sporadically sectioned off during the day and e-mail seemed the only way to communicate. Good stopping off spot driving through Utah heading north and getting north of Salt Lake City. Would stay here again when passing through Utah. Good facilities and more permanent residents than last time even with the two week restriction for stays. No wi-fi, but used our broadband and satellite without a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Pros: Full hookups w/50 amp, easy access to I-15, nice commissary, dog park, friendly host. Cons: Difficult to contact campground manager, sand burrs, sites very close together. The sites in the older section of the famcamp are very close together, are not paved but do have trees. There appear to be some full-time residents. The newer section has concrete pads with picnic tables between each site but no trees. In almost all sites a water connection must be shared with the next campsite. The numbering process in the newer section is very confusing. The campground is tight but it is possible to maneuver a large rig. I would recommend disconnecting the towed vehicle if you have one, prior to entering the base. There is a large dog park which is fenced and has several benches. Your dogs can safely run free here and tend to business and play. The grounds themselves are not well cared for and this lack of caring shows in the weeds and sandspurs which are everywhere. Pictures in above web site are from 2006, better condition then than now. Reservations are supposed to be available for this famcamp and from my experience are needed. A telephone number and email are provided on the website. However, I have found that emails and telephone calls are not usually returned. The office is only manned from Wednesday through Sunday from 8:00AM-10:00AM and from 1:00PM-3:00PM. The rates recently went up here from $14 - $20 (1 June 2011). The laundry room and bathroom are clean. I have stayed here before and will stay here again, but this famcamp definitely needs to be upgraded and cared for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Our son is stationed on this base and we like staying there even though we have to start the reservation process well in advance. It's all done with e-mails and can take weeks to get done. The new part of the park is the place to be because the rest is all under the trees with no way to get satellite plus the hookups are side by side. The views of the area are great and we love watching the planes fly! The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is the general worn condition of the park and the road noise, which is really beyond their control. As long as our son is stationed there we will stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
We called very close to our travel dates and were relieved to get a reservation. We got the last one for the period we were here. We had to take a 30 amp, but would have preferred a 50. The sites are very close together and at odd angles to each other. It looks like they "squeezed" an extra site in between most of the existing sites. This did NOT cause any problems, though and maneuvering space for our 40 foot coach was fine. Everyone was careful of their neighbors' space and noise levels were pretty much non-existent. This camp is probably half the price and twice as nice as others in the area. Only the FamCamp Manager can make any decision of any kind. It's best to use email as he returns that before answering phone calls. Nothing happens or changes on Monday or Tuesday when he's off. We stayed 11 days and would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Campground was fine for an overnight stay. $20 seems like a lot for such a small park. It has an old section and new section. My biggest complaint is with the manual reservation system. It is not automated and we emailed and left a message. The manager was gone for a week and left it to the camphost. The camphost did not know the manager had reserved a spot in the new area. When we arrived we set up in the old area under a large tree. The camphost found the manager had reserved a spot in the new area but we were never notified. We moved to the new site and it is excellent. It has concrete pads and are very spacious. The laundry facilities are fine. Wash was only .75 which was a bargain. The campground is next to the base gym and running track and has some nice views of the mountains and the Salt Lake in the distance. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
I stayed for one night, with no reservation. I was lucky to get in, as there were only 3-4 open spots. Very nice campground, but kind of packed in, and very close to other base facilities (fitness center, gate, etc.). Laundry facilities and bathrooms were nice. There appeared to be a shortage of water hookups, with multiple trailers splitting off of one hydrant. The onsite manager was good to work with. No Wi-Fi, unfortunately. I would stay there again, but would call ahead first. And if you're not familiar with the base, write down good directions to get to the gate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$14
We had reserved a spot and asked for a clear southern sky for our satellite. When we arrived we asked to make sure we would not be blocked by trees and the manager said he would move us to a spot with no trees but it would not be paved. What a mistake we made. Not only was it unpaved, it was not level, had no picnic table and was right next to the highway with a lot of noise. We road past the original spot and there were no trees to block the satellite so I don't know why he moved us. This park is not well cared for and is showing it's age. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$14
Nice family camp. We liked the concrete pads, and patio. Was nice to sit out in the evening and enjoy the breeze. No WiFi, baths were clean, and had all the conveniences that you expect on the base: PX, GAS, Commisary, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
As stated, for military or retirees only or acceptable ID card. Beautifully located, near south gate. Good directions for big rigs to enter post from office personnel located near BX/commissary. Well maintained, on concrete slab, sewer on same side as are picnic tables, but noise isn't bad because we are running AC. Don't know about being so close to a neighbor in cooler months. Love seeing the Great Salt Lake from our front window. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to fellow military retirees. Perfect hop-off spot to many area attractions and I-15 and I-80. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$14
For those with Military ID only. Campground was well kept. Nice doggy park. Park was full and some rigs in overflow. We asked to stay an extra day and we were accommodated. Side by Side camping, but we do not see that as a problem. Camp host in site 1 when office is closed. We would definitely bring our motorhome here again. Reservations suggested We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$14
Well maintained park. Close to BX and Commissary facilities. Wi-Fi available at library. Club has 2-fer prime rib on Sat. nights. It was OK. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
The campground was extremely crowded and we were assigned a site with utilities shared by four RVs and water hoses strung out in all directions. Since another rig had taken the only 50 AMP connection, I had to take a 30 AMP connection but the breaker tripped throughout the first evening whenever I exceeded 20 AMP. I reported this to the campgrounds manager who had very limited office hours. I checked back with him over our 4-day stay and he said he had called in the repair but appeared not too concerned that it would eventually be corrected. The laundry was well equipped but dirty, as were the showers and restroom facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
This is the first time we have ever been to a USAF campground where the bathrooms (womens was dirty, someone cut their hair there and it was there when we arrived and still there when we left 4 days later; mens room was fine), and the laundry room wasn't dirty, it was disgusting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
Being retired military, we always like staying at FamCamps when possible, as it gives us access to commissary, BX, and medical facilities and we can be assured of a nice, clean park. Hill FamCamp was no exception. It's a good central location for visiting the Salt Lake City sights. Only complaint (if you want to call it that) is having to come in and depart through a gate that is the complete opposite side of the park location itself. Also, the camp host was rarely available and when gone, he never left reservation info with his alternate. We had come in a day early and he had no idea where we were going to be assigned and check whether it was open then. Other than that, it was a great experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
We have been here two days and will be staying 14. First of all, I'm grateful that military bases provide an RV park for retired veterans! They don't have to! And for $14, if you receive full benefits, you have an excellent rec center across the street, a running track and field next to the RV park, a comfortable library with free WiFi and comfy chairs or private desks! The commissary, BX, bank, ATM, everything you need is within walking distance! I'm thrilled that I can use these parks - compared to what an RV "resort" would charge for the same services! And the location and scenery are wonderful. Howard was very gracious to us as was his assistant. So what if the hookups are a little awkward in some spots or the track light stay on late? If you don't like it, the commercial RV parks will gladly take your money!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$14
This is a military installation based campground (must be a military I.D. card holder to stay there). Mixed emotions on this famcamp. Positives are: The base itself is very well kept; the famcamp is located very close to the base's world-class gym, the medical clinic, a nice grassy park, and relatively close to the BX. Negatives are: Must use the very northern most base gate (Roy Gate) to enter the installation with an RV, this is 8 miles north of the famcamp; many of the sites have water hookup detached from the electric hookup in that the water hookup on our site was on the wrong side of the coach which necessitated hooking 2 hoses together; telephone contact with the camp manager is a nightmare, screwy office hours/days, non-returned phone calls etc, best bet is to contact him via email (address listed on web site); campground manager is generally hard to deal with, we got the rubber hose treatment just asking for a site map (terrorism prevention you know); our site (spot 1) was a back in that took me 4 attempts to get in. Would stay again using the above info to make it easier. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$14
We camped here on July 4th weekend. All private campgrounds in the area were full. Of course, you must have a military ID card (active or retired) to stay here. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this campground was. Very clean, quiet and not far to PX and commissary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com