223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Timber KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (406) 932-6569
CGID5339

Big Timber KOA

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   5   7   9   2   6   1   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$46
We stayed here on a weeknight in mid-July. We had a level, FHU site with good, at site WiFi. We had requested an open site for satellite reception and were given one in the center of the park. I changed the listing above to "No Cable". According to the owner, they were flooded out a couple years ago and were unable to replace the cable. The roads and sites are gravel and the bathrooms and laundry are old but adequate. The only problem we had was with a member of the staff (part owner?). The younger woman who checked us and took us to the site was fine. The older gentleman (original owner since 1968) was friendly and interesting. However, the middle aged woman (his daughter-in-law, I believe), was not friendly and rather rude at one point. She yelled at one elderly customer at the pool because their umbrella pole was broken and would not stay attached in a light breeze. Later, I tried to engage her in conversation about the park and she was very curt with her answers. Fortunately, the owner jumped in with some interesting stories. I think this is the women who ticked off a previous reviewer. She shouldn't be doing a job that requires good customer service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
This park is NASTY! It does NOT deserve to be called a KOA. The manager was rude and refused to honor our online reservation for a 30 amp site saying that, "The Fire Marshal does not allow rigs the size of yours to use 30 amps." When I said we had been using 30 amps all across the country she insisted that's because, "The Fire Marshals are not doing their jobs." She charged us an additional $11 for a 50 amp site. We should have left, but we were tired. The usual staffer led us to a site in a golf cart, then just sat there while I picked up paper and garbage from the site: including a used pair of sewer gloves someone had just tossed on the ground! He didn't even offer to take the trash. The grass was all dried up, the table was covered with food remnants and dirt. We left as quickly as possible in the morning! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Overpriced. They do have some long pull throughs, for overnight who prefer not to unhook a tow vehicle. You can hear I-90 from your site. Interior roads are narrow with gravel base, Sites are narrow. Electric & water fine. Wi-Fi good. This KOA has an unkept feel to it. The camp ground & sites are in need of Big cleaning up. This park is In need of mowing/weeding & a clean up from fallen tree branches on interior roads. It felt like they were not quiet up & ready for the season yet. The Laundry was not clean. The staff were friendly. There was an odor of Cows in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
Third experience staying in a Kamping Kabin. This one was OK, but did not have a ceiling fan nor a heater as some others had. Had my own heater so was OK; did not ask if they had something available. Internet access was excellent. Otherwise, very similar to staying at other KOA Kamping Kabins. Clean well-maintained bathroom and showers. For folks that have never stayed in a Kamping Kabin, they are basically tents with wooden walls. Have beds, one queen and a set of bunk beds and generally a chair with a small table built into the wall. Cost is less than a hotel, but one is definitely camping. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$13
I had a gift certificate so that is what reflects the rate we paid. The staff was very friendly. Felt bad for them as they had done so much work after some of the park had been flooded. This is a very nice older park with plenty for kids to do: big pillow and a small water park next door. Was an additional fee but looks fun. Was not quite open when we camped. Also down the road within walking distance, is prairie dog town. Was just a small viewing area of these fun, furry ground animals. Our overall stay was a very nice one. Oh yes, if trains and highway traffic noise bothers you, this might not be the place for you. But in Montana trains are in most every community, and being from Montana this never bothered us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
This park is way over priced for the location. Let me start by saying we have stayed at parks that had trains near by and had no problems with the sounds of trains in the back ground. IN THE BACK GROUND being the key word! This place sounded like it was IN the train station. We could feel the train going by and they did... OFTEN. That is just to name one thing wrong. The cable TV went out and was not good quality even when it did work. The lay out is a little funky, and its also right next to the freeway. This park is WAY to proud of itself. They need to lower the rates! I would never stay here again. I would rather boondock at a rest stop and save myself the money. About the only thing this park had going for it was the jumping pillow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
This older campground has beautiful, well maintained grounds, with lots of mature trees. At check-in, I asked for, and received one of several satellite friendly sites. The interior gravel roads are quite narrow, however, and it’s difficult to avoid cutting across the grass when exiting. There is an adjacent, small, inviting, water park, which seemed to be a popular family draw. The water pressure and Wi-Fi were adequate. I did not investigate horse shows, basketball, mini-golf or bike rental opportunities, criticized in an earlier review, but I saw a number of people apparently enjoying the pool when I arrived. All that said, there seemed to be an air of haughtiness about the place, reflected in staff distraction at check-in, a ridiculous 10:00 am checkout and a minuscule pet area, inexplicably enclosed by a six foot tall fence, without plastic bags or even a waste container. Traffic and train noise was audible, but not overwhelming. (The park brochure says, “We are sorry that we cannot control the train noise nor [sic] can we control the traffic noise. We do have ear plugs available in the office.”) We probably will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
We came here from Yellowstone, even though it was out of our way, for the advertized activities for our 13 year old grandson. The park was and could be a great park, but has not been maintained. The building is desperate for some paint and repair. The adjacent water park is in a worse state with some real safety concerns due to the lack of maintenence. The advertized amenities were: horseshoes, located in chigger infested weeds by a creek; a broken up basketball net, in the driveway entrance; mini golf and bike rentals, non existent; pool, not maintained, we had to skim it before we could use it; and lastly a hot tub, which we couldn't find anywhere on the property. When we arrived, at noon, and hooked up we were under several large trees, so no TV. We hooked up to cable TV and got nothing. Also could not get on their Wi-Fi. We stopped the 'parker' and he said he would come look, but it should be up and running soon. When the attendant came to check with his TV, he said the 'leg' we were on had been down for awhile. When my husband went to the office to check, after 6 hours had passed, he was told, "You must have asked to be under the trees and you can't get cable there." May I add, there was only one other camper in the park when we came in, and we did NOT ask to be under the trees. Meanwhile that evening the electricity went out twice. The next morning we went to the office to see if we could find an area that was on the cable line that worked. They said we could move and we did. We were able to get cable TV there for a short while, then throughout the day and evening we lost power, cable, and internet several times. That evening about 7:30, a service man came to work on it, and proceeded to turn off the water! We were then without water, power, cable or Wi-Fi. That was the final straw. They were really rude about the situation, no one had even made an effort to apoligize, and most of the campers were upset. When we complained about all the problems and the total lack of services advertized in Woodalls, the manager said, "I can only control what's in the KOA book, I can't control what Woodalls puts in there. (I didn't mention it was a paid ad in Woodalls I was referring to.) We have all the things you said except for the bikes and mini-golf!" My husband said "where is the hot tub?" She said, "It's in the back of the office. We keep it locked and you have to ask for the key to use it." He said, "Where is the sign or any indication that you even have one and that campers can use it?" At this time, we were told if we were not happy with the accommodations, she would give us 1/2 nights refund, if we wanted to find another place to stay tonight. It was after 8pm by then and the closest campground was more than 50 miles away! These were just some of the 'nicer' exchanges that occurred. We have never been to a business that had so many rude and disrespectful employees in one place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This is a beautiful campground with many amenities. It is next to a small water park which is great for the kids on weekends. There is lots of shade, but the trees are nicely trimmed. The noise from the highway is muted by all the trees and bushes, but it can be heard. This is a typical interstate campground, built so it can be seen from the freeway. The WiFi was fast and had good coverage but was down for part of the day. I had good Verizon service, though. Overall a nice park that we have stayed in 3 times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
This was the first KOA that we have ever stayed at and we will be returning! The facilities were very clean and the staff helped us out so much. The jumping pillow was tons of fun for the kids. The swimming pool was very warm and clean. They even have fruit and vegetable plants all throughout the campground that we were more then welcome to pick! The older gentlemen doing the free gold panning lessons was a sweetheart: quite the entertainment for our children. We were even allowed to partake in the fourth of July firework display! The nearby train is not a controllable thing but totally bearable. We stayed in a site in front of the easy to find office, that had just about everything. Also located at this building was the restroom and showers. Wow: what a clean place!They are card-key locked which made us feel a whole lot safer sending our kids to use. They even offer a 20% discount to the next door waterslides! We really appreciated all the things that the management did for us: even helped us make reservations for the KOA in Cody, Wyoming. We will be returning at least twice a summer. Hope they keep up the good work! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$44
This is your average KOA except it is close to I-90 so there is some traffic noise. Luckily we were away from the road so that reduced the noise somewhat. There are trains that come by every hour and blow their whistle several times. The tracks are right beside the interstate. We were given ear plugs at check-in so I knew we were in trouble. The ear plugs did help but if you were up close to I-90 you wouldn't get any sleep, ear plugs or not. We had a hard time finding the office because there was no sign. Also, it is a little tight but we saw some 40' motorhomes in here so you can maneuver carefully. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$55
Very rude office staff. Acted as if they were doing us a favor by letting us stay there. Very noisy- right on a busy train track. Poorly maintained sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$42
Very KOA with gravel, but level sites, narrow access roads, and nice staff. This park has free WiFi that is quite good and seems to reach all the sites. There is a waterpark that is simply amazing, if you have kids they will love it. We will stay again for an overnighter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
Park was nice with shaded lots. No cable or WiFi...managers said lightning had struck tower. Our reservations, made weeks in advance, was not correct when we arrived. Also, the rate seemed very high for the overall conditions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Stayed over 1 night traveling through. Quiet CG. Sites were not level. DO NOT LEAVE MONEY IN NIGHT DROP - OURS WAS STOLEN!! They knew who did it and the Sheriff knew him well too!! Wait to pay next AM if overnighter. Don't think we'd stay here again. Wouldn't have the first time except we were VERY tired and couldn't make it to Billings. CG itself isn't bad, very uneasy about the management and the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com