215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Golden Eagle Ranch RV Park & Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (719) 576-0450
CGID534

Golden Eagle Ranch RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
500
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   10   8   4   4   9   4   3   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
Friendly staff. Dirt roads throughout with a few rough spots here and there. Sites are gravel and hit or miss: many are not very level and in some sections are very close together. The strangest part is the unpredictable hookup locations. For some sites you'll need a long cord and/or hose, and you may share a post with the adjoining site (so too bad if you both need 50 amp). Some fire pits are so close to the roadway to be basically unusable. They did give us a bunch of site options to choose from once we got there, and we eventually found one we liked. This was our alternative campground for the area, and once we got over our initial disappointment, it wasn't bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Nice, large park. Full hookups, no cable. Wi-Fi is fine but park is at 20% capacity right now. Gravel drives, no pads but each site has a picnic table, some shade. Easy access off I-25. Fairly remote from business areas (south of Ft, Carson). May Museum a must see if you are intrigued by extremely large insects. Will be here for almost a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Superlatives fail me for this park. It has everything going for it. Great people run the place, really friendly and helpful. The location is incredible. Something like 1,000 acres on the eastern slope of the Rocky Mountains with miles and miles of hiking trails, amazing wildlife, and sunrises are incredible. The May Museum at the office is one of the world's best. This is one of my very favorite places on earth to visit. The scenery, people, wildlife, and campsites are just wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
This is a family owned park, and they are wonderful hosts and fantastic people!!! The park is rustic, which is nice and clean, and extremely quiet and "homey"! The location of hookups are odd, but they will be renovating the park this winter while they are closed. They told us they plan to perform many updates in the park. We certainly look forward to returning to see all the improvements and visiting the awesome family! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
If you are looking to be surrounded by nature and do not have the need for television or internet this is a nice place. The starting rate is affordable, but then they tack on prices for an extra person, using air conditioning and more. They like to charge a lot of extras. We did not attempt television because they told us what to do if we had satellite, so no satellite, no television. They state to have wi-fi, but dial up is faster. I make a living online and my wireless card that is typically slower was faster. They have lots and lots of rules, but do not enforce them. They said you don't need air conditioning, but during the day you do. They say keep your dogs on a leash, but people letting their pets run loose and no one was monitoring them. Oh there is a $1.00 per guest per day if you want company, serious!! I couldn't believe this one at all. Roads are narrow and dirt, the sites are unlevel and you will spend time driving around trying to figure out which site will be the easiest to set up and get level. Other places were booked up or too far away otherwise I probably would not have stayed here. I don't plan on making this the place I stay the next time I am in town for what you pay, I could have stayed at a nicer property and had everything I needed. The staff is nice, but the rest is not worth the money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Nice friendly staff. Huge park with many seasonal sites occupied. Dirt roads (no gravel) are rutted badly in places. Electric and water are shared between sites. Extra cord and hose are needed for many sites. Extra charges if you use your A/C or have more than two people. The "fishing lake" is not exactly as advertised either. Park has lots of potential but in bad need of a little maintenance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
This campground is a treasure. With miles of hiking trails, stunning views of the plains to the East and the Rocky Mountains to the North and West it has a lot going for it. There is a small lake they keep stocked with several species of trout. Fishing from a granite rock on the shore of the lake will provide some memorable moments for any family that loves to fish together. The campground is spacious with a lot of sites to choose from. Campfires are permitted and firewood is available at the office. Wildlife abounds in the RV park. Turkeys run through, rabbits, deer and more can be seen as well. The May Museum of Natural History is at the bottom of the hill where the RV office is located. This museum houses one of the world's most comprehensive insect collections. It has to be seen to be believed. The insects are from all over the world and include specimens of some of the world's most stunningly beautiful butterflies. Between the miles of hiking trails, the peace and quiet, the incredible natural history museum and the park's close proximity to Colorado Springs/Pike's peak and more there is much to like. My wife and I will be back for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
We paid for 2 nights but left after staying only one. Office was not yet open when we left and we didn't care about getting a refund. This RV park is listed in Woodall's directory and I certainly wonder why. Extra charge if you use your AC. The RV park's website and their listing states that 4 TV stations can be picked up, but we couldn't get any stations off of our antenna. It is tranquil with lots of trees, but the sites are rutted and un-level, the WIFI is available only at the laundry (and we couldn't get it to connect there)and the road up to the RV park is very narrow and winding. This is a large property that has allot of potential, but clearly needs money put into it. If you're looking for peace and quiet, this is the place for you. If you need a level site, WIFI and TV, best to stay elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Greeted by extremely nice person checking us in. Didn't appreciate extra charges to run the a/c. In the same breath we were told they were on water conservation so laundry room was closed! And the only spot for wireless Internet was in the laundry room. Stayed the course and tried to find a suitable spot for our 40 ft coach with no help from the staff. Sharp uphill turns to get to the RV area. Rutted out sites, very unlevel and complete dustbowl. We loved the location of this park, but it is in desperate need of attention. Great potential. We left without even trying to get a refund. Clearly they need the money more than we do. Just hope they use it to fix up this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Lots of space, which is the only thing this park has going for it. Be prepared for extra charges in the summer for AC, and dry wells to complete your bug museum experience. P.S. have a good surge protector ready. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Called in May for reservations -- would not take a credit card to hold a spot. Yet when we got there the only UNRESERVED sites available were unlevel, inconvenient, hookups were too far from the camper, ruts in road and narrow roads with tight turns. We looked for a suitable spot but did not find one. Park needs lots of work. Were told the grandfather who owned it died and a daughter/granddaughter were trying to run it. Would not take visa - wanted a check. After spending about 1 hr looking for a site with no help from the owners, we decided to leave and go elsewhere. Don't understand why we could not make a reservation yet all the good spots were reserved when we got there -- called several weeks ahead but still no reservation! Would not recommend - most of the RV's there were unlevel despite many blocks under the wheels! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
Even through most of the complaints you read here are more or less valid it is still the second best campground in Colorado Springs. The nearby state park is best. The rest of the local parks are just crowded parking lots near main roads. Golden Eagle is spread out over a very large area. I have camped at Golden Eagle twice. The sites in the back part of the park are larger. The tent sites are excellent and well away from the motor homes. The dirt/gravel roads are great for bike riding. There is a large grassy area near the play ground for games. There are 2 small lakes and a "bug museum". There are 2 lakes. Behind the lakes is an old RV rally area that is now used as an off leash area for dogs. This camp ground is a wonderful place for kids and dogs. There is a challenging 5 miles hike. If your main goal is to enjoy nature this is a good value for the money. If you are looking for a place to take Brownies/Cub Scouts for their first tent camping experience Golden Eagle is prefect. However, if you love KOAs you won't be happy here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
This is a nice park, kind of out in the boonies, bathrooms, showers, and laundry room were well kept. You do have to watch for bears, people in office were pleasant. There are very tight turns to make, we were here a week and seen 3 people wreak on either trees or rocks, if your not experienced with your haul don't come here, the sites are difficult to find numbers and nobody offers a escort to your site. We felt a little bugged there, office staff was always knocking on our door, weather to ask if we were leaving on our set date or was our electric working properly, you have to pay extra to use your air conditioner, seriously! The road to go back to park could be marked on highway better, but if you miss it there is another one you can take, you have to trust your gps. Kind of pricey for what they offer. But remember those tight corners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
We camped here on a July weekend and the place was packed with people. There are some long-term summer residents, but overall it was FULL of families just having a good weekend of it. People were quite friendly. However, the sites are relatively small, roads are rutted by stormwater here and there, the sewer connects are far away from where they need to be. Power and water supply were fine. Overall, this is a rustic campground that needs a major overhaul in terms of infrastructure. The staff was more than friendly. There have been bear problems near the dumpsters, but we never saw any bears. Entry drive is a hairpin turn, but that did not seem to stop any big rigs. Sites were sometimes level, sometimes not. Could be a challenge if you don't have blocks. We would not camp here again, however. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
Very nice park, quiet, love it. In the mountains, but close to town and Fort Carson. Yes, the road are dirt and the rain does wash them away, but for the price and the view, and the location, will stay here again during the summer of 2011 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
Roads washed and rutted. Sites poorly marked. Side by side parking meant somebody got stuck with 30 amps. Layout of sewer and electric meant you either had to have long extension cord or long sewer hose. In fact we had to move in order to dump. Don't waste your time here. It is terrible and there are so many better ones available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
Although this park is in a nice area backed up against the front range mountains the sites them selves have not been kept up well at all. Many are overgrown with weeds and when it rains water runs everywhere including right under the RV. The electric outlets, sewer and water connections are located in the wrong place. Without extra 30 or 50 amp extension cords you won't be able to reach the electric power plug. The campsites themselves need major upgrades to accommodate newer larger RV's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
I liked the location of this park. It's about 10 miles from Colorado Springs, up in the foothills just south of Cheyenne Mountain. There's an abandoned road leading several miles up the mountain that serves as a hiking trail. The trail doesn't appear to be used often, so if you're looking for a little solitude in the forest, you've got it. The park itself, however, leaves a lot to be desired. I had to find some extra cinder blocks just to level my 20 ft trailer, and when it rained, which was nearly every afternoon, sand washed over everything. The Wifi is only available in the laundry, which was open 24 hours, but the doors wouldn't close completely, so it got very buggy in the evening. The worst thing about the park for me, however, was the barking dogs owned by one of the fulltime residents. Despite rules against it, this person had three large dogs that were kept outside most of the time and they barked incessantly. I originally intended to stay a month, but left after less than three weeks because of the noise. Another resident was a younger person who had noisy parties. Overall, there's nothing here that would encourage me to come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
To call this place rustic is probably being too kind but it does have its charms. It is located on a pretty treed hill a little south of the Air Force Academy near Colorado Springs. It is well off any major roads so is very quiet. That is the good part. The interior roads are dirt - uneven and rutted - as are the sites themselves. The utility layouts are haphazard. At our site, billed as a full-hookup pull-through, the sewer connection was in the usual place but nothing else was. The electrical box was way up front on the right and the water was way up front on the left. The electric box was shared with the adjacent site and had only one 30-amp and one 50-amp outlet. That was not a problem because the other site was vacant but if both sites needed the same service it couldn't be done. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
A beautiful mountain setting with lots of trees. Although their website says that they have multiple "lakes", they are actually ponds that are mostly dried up. The electric is shared between RVers, you may need 50' of power cord to plug-in. The sewer hook-up is also questionable. Some sites had the sewer hook-up where a 20' hose would work, but some sites such as the guy next to us needed 3-20' (60' total) sewer hoses to connect. The sites where most of the BIG Rigs went are not even close to being level. Park is in severe disrepair with dusty rutted roads. If you have very low standards, this RV Park will be fine for you. We will never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Very nice staff. The camp is clean and a nice place for a family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
A beautiful mountain setting with lots of trees and nice lakes. Park is in disrepair with dusty rutted roads. Electric is shared between sites (one gets the 50 and one takes the 30). Sites uneven but spacing is good. I will not stay here again. For a family group looking for a mountain get away that was somewhat primitive it would work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2004
$31
A large park which is the home to some permanent resident campers (Colorado Springs is very expensive). It was curious to see small fences surrounding some of the outfits. Restrooms and showers were clean in the morning. Plenty of space between sites, and a wonderful view of the surrounding mountains. Close enough to enjoy the sites surrounding the city, yet far enough away for a meaningful camping experience. The playground was rather poor and needed substantial updates. Only drawback was a large, loud party in the rally area one evening that continuted late into the night. We got even by honking our horn as we passed the rally area via the access road early the next morning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$21
In mountains above Colorado Springs, great scenery. Every night bears come to the dumpsters to feast (host encourages this so bears won't bother campers) - this made us real uncomfortable but they were fun to watch. CG roads in poor condition so drive slow. Bathroom closest to our site closed entire time we were there- had to drive to other bathroom. Some sites are pretty small (tent?) and others are close together. Private lakes stocked w/fish. Nice walking paths. Good place to have base-camp while exploring Pikes Peak, Garden of the Gods, and Colorado Springs in general. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com