214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Metamora-Hadley State Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (810) 797-4439
CGID5402

Metamora-Hadley State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
214
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   10   7   8   6   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
We have stayed here often. Close to home. Sites 170-213 in the north side are the best, decent grass, level and good shade trees. The remaining sites on the north side are really unlevel, poor grass and small. The south side sites are small, unlevel and sparse on grass. The beach is very nice and well kept up, its public but large enough for everyone. The store is basic but OK. The lake is good to kayak or small boat fish, decent bass, pike, bluegills. Motors OK but the entire lake is no wake. DNR patrol and keep things calm. Camp hosts are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
There is a north and south loop. The north loop has waterfront sites, some shady sites, many sunny sites, modern restrooms near the center of the loop, a mix of grass and dirt on the sites, and around the south end of the north loop opposite the waterfront sites are sites that back up to woods. The south loop is mostly shady spots, deeper into woods, the lake may be visible but seems to be at the bottom of a large hill. Many of the sites on the south loop are very un-level so bring a lot of stacking blocks. There are a few private or more secluded sites on the south loop. The south loop's restrooms have been updated more recently than the north loop (not a difference that should affect which loop you choose). We stayed at site 131 (in September 2012) in the north loop and it was fairly level, backed up to woods and was much larger than most other sites around. It had a mix of grass and dirt surface with some big trees for partial shade. It was a very quick walk to the restrooms. Overall, this is a very nice campground and park. There is a camp store where you can buy some basic groceries, ice cream, camping supplies, firewood ($10/2 bundles), propane tanks and rent paddle boats. There are a lot of people fishing on the lake and from the rented boats. The hiking trails are scenic and deep in the woods. There are at least 3 possible routes to hike. Definitely plan to return! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
This is our favorite campground. The North area is grassy and less trees. South is sandy and shady. The sites are roomy and staff is friendly. The beach is clean but the lake is over fished so not a lot of catches. They have movies for the kids in the pole barn and of course ice cream. The park can be loud in the late evening but not always. This is a great park for those who love to camp without being entertained. Those who would rather entertain themselves in nature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
I had very high hopes when we arrived at Metamora-Hadley recreation area, and for the most part, I was pleasantly surprised. Our site, which was located on a corner, was very large and had plenty of room for the trailer, picnic tent and various games we brought with us. The south campground, where we stayed, was nicely wooded and very hilly. However, we did get a good dose of rain, and there were a handful of sites that were literally under water. Thankfully ours wasn't one of them. There were a fair number of party people at night, and it didn't seem that the "quiet time" was terribly well enforced. The beach is very nice and large, with a sand bottom lake and plenty of room to play. All in all I would return to this park, provided I can find a site that won't flood. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Another nice Michigan State Park. Nice and wooded, sites range from grass to dirt based on the amount of sunshine. Facilities were about what you would expect.. Fairly clean and usable. Good place to camp although it is a bit more cramped than most other State Parks. Barking Dogs again though. Seems like there were as many dogs as there were people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
A nice State Park for a weekend family getaway. Gets crowded on weekends, though. Some sites are tight and not very level for large rigs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
Camping in Michigan this time of year means that the facilities have been winterized and put out of use. No access to showers or restrooms. However, the campground itself is beautiful. Very scenic and natural. Access to well marked hiking paths right out of the campground. The fall colors were spectacular. We were able to get a prime location without reservations because the park was less than 10% full. I cannot wait to come back here in the summer and take advantage of the lake and beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
Overall, this is a nice campground. They have activities throughout the summer for families to take advantage of. The lake is an 80-acre, no-wake lake with a spacious, clean swimming beach. They have canoe, paddle-boat, and row-boat rentals for $7 per hour. This was our second time to camp here. The first time we camped at the north campground, which has absolutely beautiful lake front sites (171-191). However, the bathhouse was old, dirty, and full of bugs. This time we stayed on a "lake front" site in the south campground. The view was obscured by trees, but there was a trail down to the lake. We could fish there, but swimming was not an option because the lake is full of seaweed type plants in that area. However, the bathhouse in the south campground was immaculate. It was nice, new, and very clean. All in all, we really like this campground. Choose the north campground if you like great views and access to the lake. Choose the south if you like a very clean bathhouse. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com