223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake San Antonio/South Shore was rated 6 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (805) 472-2313
CGID5421

Lake San Antonio/South Shore

Camp Information
Sites
500
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   2   3   4   6   6   8   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Price reflects July 4th holiday. This is a first come first serve site. You can drive around and take any open spot. Lots of tents in the sites but no rowdy parties. Kids had a good time and plenty of deer around. Concrete pads and dirt. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
My comments are essentially the same as last year when I said, "For the past 20 or so years we have visited this park usually at least once during the year. It seems the only thing that has changed is the price. I have a problem in that sites are not designated for RVs only. I have a bigger problem in that I cannot see that any improvements have been made over the years. This year we had to settle for a spot way up the hill from the Marina, not at all level, and if ever there was an asphalt pad, it had disintegrated. We will continue to visit here, most likely, as we rent a lodge unit for our grown children. That makes the discomfort of a far too costly site, in my opinion, amidst tents, worth while. There seems to be no rules as to where boats can be parked, even intruding into space of others. My preference is that if it is an RV space, the space should be restricted to RVs, not whoever gets there first with however many tents. This year, trying to use the dump station would have been hilarious, if not so frustrating. The person before me, 20-30 mintues later, was still in the process of dumping tanks. When he started hosing out the inside of his dump hose, I left, figuring I would find another place to dump my tanks. In short, this place needs lots of improving and monitoring to make sure rules are enforced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
For the past 20 or so years we have visited this park usually at least once during the year. It seems the only thing that has changed is the price. I have a problem in that sites are not designated for RVs only. I have a bigger problem in that I cannot see that any improvements have been made over the years. This year we had to settle for a spot way up the hill from the Marina, not at all level and if ever there was an asphalt pad it had disintegrated. We will continue to visit here, most likely, as we rent a lodge unit for our grown children. That makes the discomfort of a fat too costly site, in my opinion, amidst tents, worth while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
I met my son and his in-laws here for an annual birthday celebration camp-out. We stayed 3 nights in the A loop in the Lynch Campground. I agree with the previous reviewer about the erosion of the roads and pads but it didn't take much work to level in A-2. I looked at the B loop, and it was much WORSE. Very eroded and the sites weren't even close to level. Had no problem with the electric or water, and the water pressure was fine. There was no grass whatsoever, but the kids playground is next to the A loop, and it had well-cared for grass. There were some tent campers up the hill from us, but aside from them, the only motorhomes in the campground was ours and my son's. The nightly rate is very high for what you get. The staff, both county employees and concessionaire employees, were very nice and helpful. I'll come back, but only for the annual camp-out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
We visit this park at least a couple time each year and will continue to do so. It does, however, need upgrading. Interior road through the Lynch campground is eroding away. Spaces are not level and asphalt has eroded away in most places. We had the entire campground to ourselves the two days we were here. Lots of wild animals, including deer and wild turkeys. There are two geocaches, difficult to get to, and not within walking distance of Lynch campground. Still, I managed though I need a cane to get about. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$38
First, let me say that we are state/county park kind of people. Love nature and well-spaced sites. This park has both. We also love off-season camping--no crowds. The park also offered recycling, which is always a plus. But we found this park to be way too expensive for its very rustic state. Un-level sites, crumbling roads, lots of deferred maintenance for $38 (or was it $40? Signs within feet of each other conflicted, so we opted for the $38). We enjoyed it, but doubt we'll be back, even though we only live 2 hours away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
As others have said this is not a resort! What it is, is a wonderful rustic area with tons of wildlife around! We saw deer everyday we were here including several bucks. The lake is low this year, like most CA reservoirs. The sites are not terribly level especially for longer rigs. So if you have an issue with leveling make sure you have something to assist you in the process. We were fortunate and the weather couldn't have been better, cool at night and low to mid 70's during the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
A resort this place is not but lots of camping sites with the focus being a lake. There are two entities, North Shore and South Shore, neither offering cable or Wi-Fi though there is cell reception. We camped on South Shore where there is a marina offering boat rentals, rental lodges, restaurant and convenience store, now managed by Carefree Resorts. We found resort personnel pleasant and more efficient this year than last when arranging boat rental was uncertain and chaotic. South Shore has several campgrounds with Lynch being in the marina area. For many years we have camped here and will continue to do so though about the only change over the years is a price increase. Not much has been done to upgrade facilities, as paving RV sites or upgrading interior roads. Reservations are not taken and there are no separation of tenters and RVers or seemingly the number of tents that are allowed on one site. A great place for basic camping under the stars and in the dirt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
This is a campground we've used each year for more than a decade. Not much has changed insofar as improvements. This evaluation is of the Lynch section near the marina. There is a nice playground with a lawn near the store. Most sites need leveling. Certainly we will continue to return but it would be great if improvements were made, like interior road improvements and site leveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
We camped in the Harris Creek campground, asphalt road needs some work and sites need some leveling. Restrooms were clean but old; good hot showers. Our site had 30amp electric and water. There is a dump station near by. Very peaceful and quiet at night. Sites had picnic table and fire ring. No TV antenna reception, bring a book. We stayed for four nights and had a good time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
Great campgrounds, saw wildlife as in deer and birds. Eagles are there also but didn't see any. We had a level site away from the lake. There is a store and marina for boats. Beautiful area. We are going back in October and camping on the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
To call this a resort is a stretch of the imagination but a campground it is. We have been at the Lynch section, one of three sections, almost every year for the last dozen years. Accordingly, comments apply to this one section. There is a landscaped area near the store with a playground. Other then that there is a lot of dirt and dust. Upgrading would be nice, like new asphalt and some leveling of sites. Lots of wild animals around as turkeys and deer. A great lake for boaters and for those who want to have non RVers accompany them, as there are lodges for rent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
The only thing that kept Harris Creek Campground from a 10 was the uneven pads and upgrades badly needed in rest rooms and showers (though they were very clean). Beautiful setting above the lake with paths down to the water. Most sites well shaded and you need it in summer. This a for sure come back campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
We love camping and not having to stay in RV parks where you are lined up side by side and never feeling like you have any privacy. This is camping at its best. Full hookups and loads of privacy. It's off season and there's only a few people here. The weather is wonderful, and the rates are cheap, 5 days for $125.00. The deer are everywhere along with the turkeys and quail. This is the second time we have stayed here this time of the year and we will be back!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
This campground is under the umbrella of Monterey County and consists of three different areas on the South Shore. Two areas provide electrical and water and one area sewer along with electrical and water in specific locations. My evaluation is of Lynch Campground where all sites are within a quarter or half mile of the marina. We have camped here over the past ten years during the months of July or August, and during these ten years little visible has been done to upgrade the camping area. Interior roads are paved though they do need a lot of work. Many of the camping sites are a challenge to impossible to level a rig. Many of the sites are dirt with the picnic area containing a table and fire ring of dirt. Most of the sites are shaded by large oak trees and most require backing into. The campground gets very busy, and noisy, during the summer months. This campground has the potential of being a 8-9 since nearby there is a fenced playground with a lawn area, a store, restaurant, arcade, swimming beach and large lake with several launch ramps and a marina. Pontoon boats are available for rental at the marina. Many different kinds of birds are visible and deer and wild turkeys wander through the campground. An undesirable aspect is that tenters are allowed to claim the hookup sites on a first-come, first-served basis, with several tents on one site. As only a few camping sites are open to reservation, and none in the Lynch campground, it can pose a problem for recreational vehicles needing hookups. Despite the drawbacks, we will continue to camp at this facility because of being within less than three hours from where I live and of the availability of the lodges (actually modular homes), as we rent an air-conditioned unit for our married children and their families, retreating to our motorhome whenever we want. July and August can be very hot with the temperature well above 100 when we camped here in July. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
This is a favorite lake somewhat close by to go to. It is hot in the summer months and can be crowded on weekends. The rangers try, but there can be noisy and/or drunk people. The lake is big and fun to play on. Even if you don't have a boat, San Antonio has a swimming area set aside. There is camping right on the beach at North Shore, but South Shore you can just camp near the water, not on the beach. There is fishing for those that like that sort of thing. South Shore has "cabins" (really mobile homes) that you can rent. We did this one year. It was ok, but too pricey for what you get. Stay in your tent, trailer, or motorhome instead. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com