221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground - Full Hookups (Parks Canada) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 63 user reviews. Phone: (403) 762-1550
CGID5425

Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground - Full Hookups (Parks Canada)

Camp Information
Sites
321
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   5   9   7   7   9   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$39
Nice provincial park 1.5 miles from the city center of Banff. Large sites in a wooded setting. Animals saunter through the park on a regular basis. The restrooms are okay. Usually flooded in the morning, but usable. Nice to have power, water, and sewer. A nice park in a great area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Nice campground for short stays in the Banff area. Full hook-up pull-through sites are nice, with good shade and privacy. Not a lot of organized "activities" and "facilities", typical of the national park campgrounds. Definitely not a "full service" campground, so you will spend a fair bit of time in town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$49
$49.20 (includes sur-charge for registration). This campground was one of the finest government operated facilities we’ve stayed at. Well developed and maintained with full hook-ups at each site. Restrooms and showers were clean and well maintained, however, only had one shower stall in each restroom. Hiking trails were easily accessible and marked throughout the area with spectacular views of the mountains. The only negative we found with this campground was the online registration process was expensive and cumbersome. In addition to the nightly rate, you have to pay a National Park Entrance fee of approximately $20/day. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Now that I've discovered Provincial Parks, I think I would pass this by, unless you need to hookup to charge batteries or dump. I would probably by-pass Banff as well - really a winter Ski resort town that says it's a 'National Park' in the summer but there is really nothing here. Travel up the Bow Valley Parkway; however, is Excellent! Laundry was mentioned, but it is $4 to wash and $4 to dry, fuel is good (cheaper) in Alberta than BC but groceries are pricy everywhere - you pay Resort prices - $7 gallon milk. Don't expect 'National Park' activities like in the States, this is different. See other reviews for parking and site details, but if you're self contained, look into Provincial Parks - if you'll fit! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
We thought this was a great place to camp for a week! Some earlier reviews complain about the parking layout but we liked it. Wide paved roads run down the aisles with RVs staggered well apart on either side. You can choose a full site (for larger RVs) or take a shared site where 2 smaller RVs pull into one site. Plan ahead with early reservations. Satellite access is iffy with all the trees and there's no wifi. We only found one place in town with free wifi--a small coffee shop. Rogers cell phone coverage was good. Only laundry mat we found was in town. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
The campground is conveniently located to Banff and the Trans-Canada Hwy. It consists of 8 parallel roads with sites off both sides of the road. All services are adjacent to the road, so those on the North side have to turn around to orientate the RV to the services. Interior roads are paved and in good condition. Choose you site carefully, as they aren't all full service and some are double sites. We were in 322, which was large enough for our 41' 5'er. Services were conveniently located and of good quality. This site has no access to satellite signals from a roof top dish, but some in row 100 should see the satellites. The convenience to Banff and the Park is great, but being without Wi-Fi today is a challenge. If we return we will look at a Canadian hotspot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Stopped for 2 nights on our way to Alaska. The full hookup site was a nice pull-through, and the view each direction was amazing. Friends went out at dusk and saw elk. Don't drive through downtown to get there - very stressful. Don't get gas downtown - impossible to pull into and get out. If we went again we'd stay closer to Lake Louise, which is what we wanted to see anyway. Restrooms were central and an easy walk. Rain brought a beautiful rainbow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
This is a nice campground convenient to downtown, and the sites are all pretty level and most are drive-through. However, it does have some sections that are not full hookup so make sure you know what you are signing up for when you get there! We would definitely return to this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
First, note that the title of this park on this review site implies that all sites are full hookup. That is not the case. We camped here in our fifth wheel in an electric-only site. All of the sites near us were electric only. Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court is basically parallel parking with green space in between. Driver-side slides protrude into the street. We had to run the power cable under the RV and across the patio space. The grass around the picnic table was overgrown. We had to pick up debris left by previous campers. On the positive side, views from this campground of surrounding mountains are spectacular and unobstructed from some sites. Unfortunately for us, Village II was under renovation. We do not recommend this campground unless Village II is not available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Some of the sites had amazing views. We were originally going to stay in Tunnel Mountain Village I, but we learned that the trailer court had full hookups, which we decided was important. Sites are clean, and you have a decent amount of space between your neighbours. Only a 5 minute drive to downtown Banff. There are numerous walking trails around the site, but make sure to bring your bear spray! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Great location and some sites have amazing views of the Rockies (ask staff which ones). Kids loved the wildlife and walks and the views were great. Early booking essential. Some shared sites require careful parking so aim for a single site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
This is a very nice CG with an unusual layout; all the sites are along the interior roads. Technically they are all pull-throughs, but it's almost like the RVs are parked along the road. The design gives you a lot of privacy if your site is a single, but far less privacy if your site is a double in which you share a pedestal with another site. The real problem is that there is no simple way to tell if the site you are reserving is a single or a double since none of the site descriptions or maps available from Parks Canada directly tell you that. The best thing to do is pay careful attention to the site descriptions since only the ones labeled as suitable for trailers >35 feet are likely to be singles. As has been noted in other reviews, two-thirds of the CG is closed for renovation which makes reserving a spot difficult. But once you are settled at your site and you look out the Canadian Rockies that nestle the town of Banff, any other complaints you might have fade away. Of course there is no Wi-Fi and satellite is "iffy" depending on where the trees and mountains are relative to your site. I did see someone with a Shaw antenna, but those satellites are several degrees higher in the sky than are those for the US providers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
We had site 746. The view out our front window was like someone had painted a picture. The view to the rear of our RV was gorgeous, too. We were even able to get satellite signal. The town of Banff has lots of shops & restaurants. There was only one gas station in town that sold diesal & we had to unhook to get in there. Unfortunately in addition to your campsite cost you have a reservation fee & you have to pay to get into the park. But it was worth it. I wished we had stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
I booked a specific site online. What the online system did not divulge to me was that it was a dual site with a single point for water, power and sewer. That meant that I had to lay out power and sewer lines under the rear of my unit. Fortunately my lines were long enough to accomplish this but it would be good to divulge at the time of booking. If I had known that they had both this type of site and single pull-through sites, I would have booked the latter We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
Breathtaking view from the campsite overlooking Tunnel Mountain and the Bow River Valley. Had elk, mule deer and Columbian Ground Squirrels in and coming through the campground. It was not real busy, so very quiet and comtemplative. Facilities are clean, well-kept. The staff at the registration station were very friendly and helpful. We recommend highly. Thanks, Banff National Park, for your great facility. It's great to be in Canada, eh? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
No Wi-Fi. Nice level pull throughs, but half of the campground is closed due to renovation (already almost for 2 years). So be sure if you want full hookups to be there early. The renovation will take much longer, and they put loose gravel everywhere so when we were there in a dry spell in the renovated area (if open!) you cannot see your neighbors when people drive around. Old section is great and with tar streets, much better. We would stay in the old section without a doubt. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Staff very friendly and informative. It looks like all sites are pull through and level, paved drive in and gravel parking. Stayed in site 342, the sites are huge and level. About a long mile from downtown Banff, very easy access to and from campground. For those who like to hike, this is the place: trails to Banff and around campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Campground is in disrepair. If you don't get an individual site, be sure to have extra lengths of cables and hookups, as you back into the site on the 'wrong side', as the workers call it. The park was poorly designed. We had to try several sites to find one that we could back into and our trailer is only 27 foot. The positive side, is the location. Its convenient to all Banff amenities. Weeds are abundant. Over half the park is closed for "repair". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Good park. Has spacious sites. Was easy in and out. Level sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Always wise to reserve ahead during busy summer at Parks Canada Campground Reservation System. A reservation fee of $10.80 is charged in addition to nightly rate. All amounts are charged at time of reservation. In addition, daily fees are charged for entering a National Park of $9.80 per person or $8.30 for seniors. Those are paid at entrance to Banff or Jasper National Park before reaching the campground. Park fee is good for all national parks you may visit during each day. Full hookups including sewer and pullover sites along roads so useable for big rigs and not needing to unhook. Huge campgrounds in the trees and must be aware of animals at all times. Bus service available at entry area to town of Banff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
This was our first trip to Canada and we were impressed. We had a hard time finding the entrance because the signage wasn't that good. The park itself was great and the sites were all pull throughs and full hookups. Very quiet. We would definitely return if we come back to Banff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Good location for Banff, run by the Canadian Government. Very friendly staff, nice clean heated restrooms but only one shower so go early or late or prepare to wait. Easy in and out sites with good hookups and level sites. Can't beat the views of the Rockies! We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is one of three Parks Canada campgrounds a short distance out of Banff town. Tunnel Village 1 has no services, Tunnel Village 2 has electric only, and this, the third, has full hookups. It shares an entrance station with Village 2. This campground has about 400 sites arranged as “lay-byes”, where you pull just off the road, and parallel to it. This means you have some space between sites, but everyone is only a few inches from the road. The overall arrangement is a giant rectangle of eight straight parallel roads, with street lights. Not what you think of for a forest campground, and not very attractive. Most sites are very level, gravel, and most roads are too. There are nine bathrooms (called “washrooms” in Canada, eh?) each with one shower, and they are bright and clean, with stainless steel sinks and Corian counter tops, but no soap. Some sites have very little shade. You do not get to choose a site when you reserve. There is no highway traffic noise, and only distant trains. No cable or Wi-Fi, and cell service can be spotty. Friendly staff. Views from around the campground are of the stunning mountains in the area of Banff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
This was indeed a unique layout for a RV park. Pull through sites were easily accessed and made hookups simple to connect. No fires allowed in the area we stayed. There was only one shower stall in each bathroom at our end of the park, but surprisingly, there wasn't a wait. I guess everyone else just uses the showers in their rigs (ours is a little too small for comfort). We would stay here again if we had the opportunity to come through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
The layout is a little unusual for an RV park. You more or less just pull off the road and line up with your utilities. Sites are large. More privacy than the average RV site. No campfires. The site must be left clean after meals--no grills out, etc. Location is very close to downtown Banff. I walked back to the motorhome when the wife's shopping took too long. I'll stay again when the time comes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Always a pleasure to go to Banff. 1st time staying at Tunnel Mountain. It was supposed to be a stop over but ended up staying 7 nights. They have a 1st come, 1st served policy for extending your stay which made it easy. They keep 50% of the RV park unreservable for people like myself that enjoyed the area and wanted to stay longer. We did move to another site but it was better than the reserved site. Excellent service and will be returning in the near future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$49
Large campground with large, pull-through sites. Staff helpful and area regularly patrolled. Surrounding scenery unbeatable! Lots of wildlife. Definitely the place to stay in Banff! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$46
Overpriced! We were charged $49 Canadian, which included a $10 reservation fee. Showers and restrooms were clean, but only one shower stall and the hot water ran out very fast! Why? Parks Canada has a monopoly on camping in the park. Take advantage of the bus going into Banff. It's well worth the $2 price (P/P, each way) not to have to fight traffic and looking for somewhere to park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
Full hook up was available and the facilities were OK. For a site of this size a laundromat should really be provided. There was only one shower per washroom block, and the hot water seemed to run out too quickly. No soap in the washrooms, though hand disinfectant is provided in the DRY toilets throughout the National Park. No recycling facilities, which for a N.P. campground I find incredible. (We're from Europe where we recycle paper, cardboard, glass, tin cans etc, and not just bottles with a deposit). Bus from the Village II campground into town worked well: it saved us from unhooking and moving every day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
We really liked the pull through campsites with lots of room between the sites. Our only concern was that there was only one shower and it had privacy concerns. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$41
Nice pull off sites. Everything was as advertized. Come early as some sites are shared (2 RVs per site) and putting two 38' motorhomes in one pull out is a little tight. We had a full site and our 37' with 2 vehicles fit easily. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
We loved the area and the campground. It was exactly as advertised, so we knew what to expect. We had gorgeous views in any direction. I asked at the Banff National Park Visitors' Center in downtown Banff, and they told me where to go to get Wi-Fi. To be in a national park and have full hookups was wonderful. We stayed 10 nights and needed all of them to see all the wonderful things in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Great pull through site - same as previous stays. Everything as advertised. Wonderful place and staff is, of course, great. Would strongly recommend reservations as 2/3 of this is closed for re-construction. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
This campground had parts of it under complete renovations and the area we were in looked pretty old. The sites were right next to the road as the pull-throughs were the kind that make a small half circle. There were no pads to speak of and the sites were quite bare. It was basically open for all to see as were all the other sites. It was such a switch from Jasper and Lake Louise which had straight pull-throughs and lots of vegetations and trees. Banff was a bit of a disappointment. But it was clean! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Don't like back-to-back sites. Not much else to do in the campground but park your RV. That said, the campground is in a beautiful area, close and easy access to the town of Banff for plenty of shopping and restaurant options. Would likely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
For a few extra bucks, it's worth it to stay here as opposed to the other park, where they pack vehicles in. We had a nice, comfortable pull-through with lots of trees, very little noise (except for the construction), and no immediate neighbors to look in our windows. There really are no services other than the basics, though--nowhere to get tourist information or anything like that without driving into Banff (which is a wonderful town). If you're trying to decide between here and Lake Louise, I would suggest here--Banff is a great town with tons to do, great places to eat, and a very youthful atmosphere. Lake Louise is much more touristic, much more crowded, and much less fun--there are lots of people with tons of money there, but you won't find the friendliness and relaxed atmosphere that we loved in Banff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
A well maintained, busy park with full services. Sites are pull-through and well spaced. Restrooms are clean and well maintained. Close to Banff (maybe 1 mile from town center). No Wi-Fi, but available in several places in Banff. Staff were uniformly helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
The area is simply spectacular, with tons of things to do and see. There is a bus that runs hourly to town right from the campground. There is not much swimming around, but Cascade Ponds is not too far away and is an awesome swimming spot. However, as long time tenters we were sorry to find that in building the trailer/rv Tunnel Mountain site, the Parks Service sadly opted to follow the "squeeze em in" maxim of private RV court operators. The sites were teensy, and there was no room after parking our small, 24' RV for the picnic table to sit on the gravel pad. It sat tilted at sharp angle, making meals and games very uncomfortable. You are asked to stay off the non-gravel parts of the site. We were also surprised to find the pad itself was seriously not level. And they only put the pull through sites (parallel to the road) about 3' off the access road, so it makes for a very worrying setup if you have small children with you. We had a nice spot with a clear view of Tunnel Mountain (#117), but there were many sites that had virtually no trees and were horribly exposed. This is not our idea of a Park Experience. I hope Parks Canada rethinks this campground, which would be far better set up with pull through sites perpendicular to the access roads (forming an I with the roads at top and bottom). This would allow for much more privacy, safety and a much more aesthetically pleasing setup. Deer and elk were daily visitors to the campground and we saw a nice Northern Lights display as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
We opted for full hookups on this visit to Banff. Although this part of the park is heavily-treed, we asked for and received a satellite-friendly space. Interior roads are paved (pretty poor shape) and sites are gravel "parallel parking" or shallow loops. Many sites are set up for two rigs to share a loop. Big rigs are accommodated, although power is limited to 30 amps. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This is a huge campground. The traffic on the highway disturbs quite a lot the ambiance. The site we had was level. Most sites we saw were level, too. If one does not make a reservation in time, only dry camping is possible; the hook-ups are limited. We were warned for elk on the campground. They could be aggressive in this time of the year. Therefore we were surprised to find out, that the showers were at the entrance only! This was at least 2 miles from our site. Walking in the dark with a small flash-light does not seem to be such a good idea with wildlife around. We recommend this campground anyway for a stay in Jasper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
Excellent view of the mountains from our "patio". Easy in and out. Large treed site that was clean and quiet. The staff was very helpful. The only negative is they don't allow campfires (I understand why). We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
This is a beautiful mountainside park that has easy in and easy out access. Interior roads are paved but the sites are gravel. All sites are parallel parking type pull throughs, which we really liked. We had a lovely view of the mountain across the valley. Restrooms were the cleanest we've ever seen in a state or national park. We saw elk and coyotes plus prairie dogs in the park. Its just a short drive to downtown Banff from here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We stayed here for a week to hike, bike, and see the local sights. The campground is very convenient to the Banff town shuttle, which stops not too far from the front gate of the very large facility. Our site was totally level so no blocks were required for our unit. Throughout the campground the views of the surrounding mountains were phenomenal, almost ethereal. There were also plenty of trails nearby to enjoy the local flora and fauna. (On one hike in the area two wolves crossed our path about 30 meters ahead of us!) There were also nightly visits to our site by the local deer -- who left their "evidence" outside our RV each morning. Prairie dogs kept watch over our RV during our absences -- watch our for their holes! While the campground has a large number of sites, we didn't feel crowded at all. The major problem we had with the area (not necessarily the campground) was the total lack of any communications at all. No TV, radio, or cell phone service. There was a signal for our Verizon broadband card, but the charges in Canada were absolutely prohibitive. I guess that left us with more time to explore the area. Overall, a good campground. We we definitely stay here again on our next trip up to the Canadian Rockies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
We enjoyed this campground. Sites are in among large trees with some views of the surrounding mountains. The pull through sites run parallel to the road so easy in and out although because of the placement of hookups, the back of our camper actually faced the road and mountain view. The interior roads are in good shape and plenty wide. Our contact with the staff was minimal. Restrooms were clean. It's location makes it very convenient to explore Banff and surrounding sights. No Wi-Fi and one TV channel. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
We enjoyed staying at the Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court. All the full hook up sites are in the treed area with lots of shade. The majority of the sites in this section were pull through on gravel. Easy access for all sizes of rigs. We noticed that the electricity only section was paved, less space between sites, but with gorgeous views of the mountains. We decided that next time we stay here we will try this section. We enjoyed this campground and will come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
This park is located right in Banff and is a great place to base your tour of the Banff and Lake Louise area. The sites are level and covered with gravel and the hook-ups are well laid out. the campground is terraced so there are campers below and above you, but not right next to you. The interior roads are in need of repair. The restrooms are clean, but there is just one shower for a whole section and I would think it could be a problem in the summer when the campground is full. There are no rules for this campground. At least I was not given any and I saw people washing their rigs and not cleaning up after their pets, but maybe they don't care. The staff was the least helpful of any campground I have stayed at. There was bus service to the campground, but they didn't tell you or hand out schedules. Who know what else was going on? But if you want a place close to town you can't beat this campground We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
Absolutely great. Good sites and wonderful views. Lots of wildlife. Restrooms and showers clean. Close to town center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Nice enough and handy to Banff, but nothing "special". It is nice to have hookups in a National Park though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Excellent location and wonderful, super large pull-through sites. Great privacy and very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
This is a beautiful campground. As mentioned, the sites are situated on semi circles so the pull in and pull out is very easy. The views are wonderful! The things that would be great if added are a camp store for some of the basics and some of the normal "rig" stuff. There is no RV store in town and the hardware store (using the term loosely) has some TP, a couple of hoses, and two kinds of tank treatment. Be prepared when you come here. The second thing that they would make money at by adding is a laundry facility. Parking in the town of Banff is a real challenge: be advised. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$49
We liked this campground very much. Price reflects internet reservation fee. All sites are full hook-up in this specific campground. The other Tunnel Mountain campgrounds are nearby. All sites, at least that we could see, are pull-through using semi-circle driveways that you pull into and then out of. Washrooms are conveniently located so not far to walk from any site. You lose a little privacy with the arrangement they have as you can clearly see the neighboring RV just across the road. Would definitely stay here again. Reservations are probably essential for weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
We love it here. Breathtaking views in each direction. Our site is level and fairly private. The location is perfect for exploring the Banff area. Interior roads could use some work. We had reservations in Tunnel II with only electric, but staff found us a full hookup site in the Trailer Court. They could not have been nicer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$44
Signage to campground good. Usual National Park check-in i.e queue. Office staff friendly and efficient but failed to tell you where you needed to go to ensure you were facing the right way to pull in to site. No map provided. Good wide access roads reasonably maintained. Sites were parallel to road pull through with variable tree cover. Most sites were fairly flat (watch 300 row). Full hook up services in good position for easy hook-up. We had site 103 which had wonderful views of the mountains and ground squirrels for neighbors. Good ambiance and a number of walking trails are nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
We had a site with full hookups. Some of the campsites accommodate two RVs, but ours only fit one (so we had more space). It was a pull-through. The bathroom was a short walk away. It had four stalls and one shower, no soap, paper towels or hand dryer. We were able to get a few channels on the TV. It was a very quiet campground with a lot of ground squirrels. We were at a far end, so having bicycles was handy. There is a bus stop right outside the campground entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
Beautiful campground with spacious sites spread far apart. Heavily treed, but we managed to get satellite reception. Located right inside Banff Nat Park, couldn't ask for a better location to sightsee the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$48
Very enjoyable park. Spacious sites. Wifi not available anywhere in the park, and very few sites suitable for satellite TV in the full hookup area. Electric only area is much more open and would be good for satellite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
We stayed here for three nights and totally enjoyed it. Sites have a sense of privacy. We were quite close to the bathrooms which made it even nicer. Huge campground but still very quiet. We missed the evening programs at the theater the first night because we were not aware of the time difference and we were tired to go the next two nights. Easy drive to town, but difficult to find parking for RV in town. Other cars took up the spaces designated for RV parking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This is the nicest of the NP campgrounds. Lots of trees for shade and hookups in good condition. Paved interior roads, however, are in poor condition. Staff are just kids acting as clerks. They did not have any info on the area and could barely direct us to our site. Some sites share utilities, which forces you to park right up against the other camper to reach, so be sure they don't stick you in one of these unless you like that sort of thing. Banff is small and crowded and expensive, so stuff your wallet before you leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
This is a huge campground, but the way it is laid out, it doesn't feel big or crowded. The sites are pull-through loops along the interior roads so you have lots of space and are not particularly close to anyone. It doesn't have a lot of amenities, but then you don't come here to hang around the campground. If you want full hook-ups for a week while you explore Banff, Lake Louise and Jasper National Park, then this is the place to be. The area here is drop-dead beautiful and shouldn't be missed by anyone who loves the mountains. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
This was a great campground with a nice view of the surrounding mountains. The way this campground is set, makes most sites very large and private. On the other hand, we noticed that some sites were split in 2, making 2 small sites with no privacy ! There is no playground or pool for the kids, but a vast area for hiking and bike riding (even through the campground). Overall, we really appreciated our stay a there and we would come back anytime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$29
That's $29US ($33CN) Great views, big level pull-through sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
Nice place. Huge sites. Friendly and speedy greetings. Quiet, except for train horn in the distance. Elk around the park perimeter at dusk. We've stayed here before and would definitely stay here again. Can make reservations on-line. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Located close enough to Banff townsite to ride your bike into town. No fire pits are provided for in this camp ground. If you want a fire pit but no services, consider the Tunnel Mountain tent campground. We'd stay here again when wanting to explore the Banff townsite and immediate area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com