221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Lightner Creek Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 64 user reviews. Phone: (970) 247-5406
CGID545

Lightner Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   1   8   8   10   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
This was a relatively quiet stay of 5 nights away from the highway. The facility was nearly full always. The sites are rather close together, many not level and some maneuvering was tight. The staff was very friendly, escorted us to the site and assisted with backing in. Some sites, like ours, were water and electric only. So the use of the dump station is necessary. This is my biggest criticism: when your are positioned to use the dump station, the access to a significant portion of the west end sites is blocked and your rig is parked on a slope. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
We enjoyed this park very much even though cell phone coverage (AT&T) was pretty sparse in the park. WiFi was och at the office but poor inside the park. Restrooms and showers were pretty much spotless, and the campsites were kept neat and clean. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
No wifi as listed on this site. No cable. Located far from Durango about a 15 minute drive not 5 miles as stated. Cancelled on arrival after learning of these issues, they charged an extra $5.00 to cancel because I booked online. AVOID! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
Although this a few miles outside of Durango it took just 15 minutes to get downtown, where we enjoyed the train to Silverton, as well as the bike trails along the river. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the sites are among trees along the creek. Our site backed up to the creek but was a bit tight. The pool was nice and the ice cream social was a hit. The Wi-Fi is only available outside the office on a shaded patio. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$46
Campground had just opened for the season and we were the first in. Entry for our 45' RV was tight but doable. There are only a few sites for a big rig. WiFi was not working but being worked on. Verizon was 3G and AT&T was very weak at our site. Nice quiet location for a weeks stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We stayed here for five nights and had a wonderful time. We usually like to stay at state parks and this is the most park-like commercial RV park we've ever stayed at. The owners are very friendly and the park is kept up very well and is very quiet and peaceful. It's located in a beautiful canyon just 10 minutes from town. We will definitely stay here again next time we're in Durango. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at in our yearly vacations to Durango since 1972. It is clean, quiet and professionally run. Even though it is surrounded by mountains satellite TV is easily obtained even with a small portable 18 inch dish. Wi-Fi is available but during the evenings when all campers are in camp it is slower than the old dial up internet. Better Wi-Fi and/or cable TV would make this RV park perfect. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
Real nice campground with new owners. The owners and camp host were real nice and helpful. Some sites along the creek are a little close. The campground is along a creek bottom with trees. Out of town but just a short trip to town. No TV reception but satellite is possible. No AT&T cell service except by the camp store. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
I would have given a ten, if they had cable. We really enjoyed our stay here, we were here for three days. It's just outside of town, but its quiet. People were very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
What a treat! This park is located in a forested canyon alongside a small stream. A gorgeous setting. The owner checked us in and we were escorted to our site by TWO work-campers who helped me "back & forth" until close to level. No problem with hook-ups or leveling though I did see a couple of bigs with their jacks way up. There were people all over the park cleaning, picking up branches, etc. The park is somewhat "rustic" so the showers aren't ultra-modern, but adequate and clean with plenty of hot water. Our site was nice and wide, with several trees, space for chairs, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$49
Excellent location close to town. Setting is in scenic canyon with great views. Stream is small, yet nice. All work campers extremely nice and keep the restrooms and grounds spotless. Owners are onsite and plant lots of ground coverings and flowers which definitely adds color. Would definitely stay here again. Another plus is highway entrance from the camp road was obviously engineered with campers in mind with safe, dedicated, protected lanes from the road leading to campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$49
We were in one of three new creek side sites, too close to your neighbor. Our 41' motor home was also a just barely. The sites are small, gravel and dirt. Somewhat of an older feel to the park, but the location is quiet and serene. My ratings for overall appearance: 7, staff: 10, value for the dollar: 5, site sizes: 6, surrounding ambiance: 9, Wi-Fi: 7 (a little weak where we were). Would I stay here again: probably not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$47
This campground is located in a beautiful setting and is super clean. (I hope that it has been spared from the fire that was started by lightning several miles from the campground a few days after we left.) The park has a number of beautiful well spaced spots for tent camping as well as pups and average sized rigs. There are a lot of trees in the campground offering a lot of shade. Most of the roads are asphalt or gravel as well as most of the sites. The pull-through sites have asphalt pads but are unlevel and in need of refurbishing especially for larger and longer rigs. Some utilities for the pull-throughs need relocating also. (For example, my neighbor's electrical connection would have been under my awning had I put it out.) Washer and dryer prices are reasonably priced. I would normally rate this campground a 7, but it is in such a beautiful location and so clean that it deserves an 8. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
Lightner Creek Campground is located in an idyllic location in Durango, CO. Lightner Creek runs through the campground creating a beautiful backdrop for many of the camp sites. I would recommend this campground for smaller rv's or tent camping; however, they have only a few sites that they allocate for larger rigs and they are almost touching one another with slides out. We were unfortunate to be placed in site 68, which is back in site located next to a dirt hill. We were jammed in there so tight, that we actually had to come out the door, step to the side, close the door and then climb over a dirt mound to exit our rig. Additionally, we were only separated from the bath house by a short fence that provided privacy if you were sitting down outside, but not from inside your RV. Our RV has an outdoor entertainment center that is located on the passenger side. Because site 68 boxed us into a cave, we did not spend one evening outside and that is a true shame in beautiful Durango. Sites 67 & 66 pull in front wise so that you can enjoy Lightner Creek and I would recommend requesting either of those sites if you would like to be outside. We would have moved to either of those sites if we were not told that they were booked fully and actually got the last site they had available. This irked us as each of the sites only had a rig staying in it 1 night each. Oh well, hopefully you will have better luck. The campground is 50% populated by camp workers who are constantly cleaning and maintain the park beautifully. There is a convenient dog park and several bath houses which we did not utilize. The camp store was well stocked and the pool was a perfect temperature. I will add that the pool situation was strange in that they do not provide a single chair or lounger around the deck. I hauled my own lounge chair up to the pool one day and enjoyed a book and solitude. I never saw anyone else ever utilize the pool, but the work campers cleaned it everyday and covered it every evening. The campground is very quiet and would be perfect for someone who does not wish to socialize. The wifi was intermittent and worked very well at some points and not at all at others. This was our first visit to Durango and will probably give another campground a try when we visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
Wow, what a beautiful setting! The park is actually 3.5 miles up a paved road off highway 160. The $44/night was the cost for being located next to small stream plus taxes, but it was sure worth it. We only stayed for three nights, but this is an RV park where we now want to stay a month! Lots of trees. The owners have cared enough to plant some Aspen in logical places. Owners and hosts were great, and the pool sure looked inviting. We had just driven from an RV park east of ABQ that was only $24/night but bare bones. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
This is still the best campground/RV park in Durango by far. Nice and quiet. About 1 1/2 miles off of highway 160 West of town. Wi-Fi works very well. Super clean bathrooms and showers. Staff, both owners and workampers, are very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
Very nice, shady & quiet during our stay. Park helpers were exceptionally nice. Pet friendly. Great place to stay while visiting attractions near Durango.We stayed 3 days and loved it. No cable TV, but there are 5 over air channels available with a little antennae turning and we did not miss cable at all. On my list of top 10 in NW states. They closed this year on September 1. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
The park itself has nice shade, plenty of room, clean restrooms and showers, and the 4th of July parade was fun. That said, the restrooms and showers are closed at inconvenient times for cleaning, the staff can sometimes be overwhelming, and the wireless is patchy and goes in and out, and there is hardly no cellular service. Another thing that we noticed at certain times was septic smell throughout the resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
We found this campground to be one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. Everything was super clean and the owners and the Workampers very friendly and helpful. We especially like this CG because it is well off the highway and nice and quiet. We have stayed here several times before and will most certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
We only stayed one night, and I wish it was more. We did not want to leave. Quiet location off the beaten path. Friendly staff and dog people. I loved the location and the stream going through the campground. Pool was a nice addition after a long day on the hot road. Will plan our next trip just to come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
I absolutely LOVE this RV park. Between tether ball, swimming, hot showers, and nightly walks in the stream, I was in heaven! It is so cute and friendly. Everyone there was so nice. The view was amazing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$46
Kids loved camping along the small creek. Creek-side spots offer plenty of shade. Park is very quiet and close to town. Staff is extremely friendly and present: they drive around nightly in a golf cart to "check-in" with campers. Spaces were tight and doors face neighbors (not a lot of privacy). No campfires are allowed here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Nice, family park. It is for sale as of this month. Lots of work kampers here. We were told 7 couples and you see them everywhere. Friendly and they run a tight ship here. Sites are gravel and close together. Older park but in fairly good shape. Bigger rigs don't leave room in pad for tow vehicle or toads, therefore there are quite a few vehicles parked on edges of road, also on weird angles, making the park seem more crowded. Nice, warm pool. Creek had very little water running in it and no creek noise at all. Creek sites cost extra. Campground is in a canyon. No AT&T at my site. Verizon air card had two bars. Brochure says Wi-Fi, but we couldn't get it at our site. Others said they could at other locations. Direct TV with good aim in certain sites. High, south canyon wall next to campground. Heavily wooded. Office, laundry, rec room and pool at upper level. About 100 yards and a steep, paved road down to campground below. About a 10 minute drive into Durango. We'd probably come back if we were in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Nice park with convenient access to Durango. Stayed 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. Trailer sites are a bit cramped. Lots of shade trees. Dog park was a nice bonus. Located outside of town, so walks on the country roads were enjoyable. Several hiking trails within a few miles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
We chose this park from their web site which stated 50 amps, but when we got there we were informed it was only 30 amps. The sites are close, so close the staff had to come and trim brush for our slide. This is an old park and needs much updating, but why should they put out the money when sites are filled. We did find 2 other parks in the area that we will chose from the next visit to Durango. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
We camped here for a week, and it was lovely. Our campsite was located on the creek, and it provided many hours of entertainment for our kids. The heated pool is well maintained. The office staff was friendly and helpful. There is an ice cream social twice a week, and this was a fun activity. Our site was level, and we had a great wi-fi connection. Our AT&T phone did not work at our spot, but it would work up by the road. The roads are paved and the park is very well maintained. It is about 10 minutes in to Durango from here, but the mountain setting is beautiful. We will stay here on our next trip to Durango. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
Park is a mile off main highway over narrow winding road. Driveway is steep, roads are paved with narrow dirt/gravel sites. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Park is clean and cared for. Water and power were good. Cell (AT&T) usable by entrance, but not in park. Laundry was clean. No recycling. Like all parks in Durango, it's pricey. We would recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
A jewel of a campground with a stream running through the middle of it. Has family friendly amenities. The sites are level. Roads are a combination of asphalt and gravel. Just west of town (35 miles from Mesa Verde). Convenient to the train station. Owners and workers were very pleasant. It's up higher so it makes for a cool summer. Magpies and robins abound. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
Our second visit here in two years. Very scenic campground just a few minutes from town. Staff was very accommodating as there were 3 rigs traveling together. Wi-Fi worked fine from our site near the back of the campground. Small store for necessities. Can't think of any negatives other than some of the sewer connections don't match all rigs, but they seem to have temporary plumbing already available to remedy that if needed. Could possibly become pretty crowded in midsummer but would still stay here rather than in town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
We loved this park. Campground hosts were helpful and friendly. They actually cared whether we were satisfied or not. Bathrooms and showers were clean. There was no road noise. Setting was beautiful. Wi-Fi was excellent. The only issue we had was a small one. It was that where our site was was rather crammed. We were too close to our neighbors. But there were trees and brushes between us so there was plenty of privacy. We would be glad to stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
Lovely campground with lots of shade and feels more like a State Park, although the stream was dry when we stayed here. The pet park is excellent; a reasonably spacious, fenced in area with obstacle course see-saw and jumps for the smart pups!! Sites were level with nice grassy areas alongside, with cabins dotted between the RV sites. The pool appeared spotless, as was the whole campsite. Very friendly staff help you back into your site, and the campground seemed extremely well run. A small store on site has basic necessities available. We would definitely stay here again when visiting the Durango area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
Very nice hosts! Escort to the site and they help you to get situated. Several sites not level fore and aft (not a real problem), but ours was perfect side to side. Sewer was a bit far and they provide an extension if you need it. Hosts knowledgeable of area attractions and can make some excellent suggestions! Bring your hummingbird feeder! Lots of other birds to watch too! Our AT&T cell phone didn't work until we walked up the hill to the office. No cable, so bring your dish. Some with fixed dishes had problems with trees, but I had portable and had no problem with reception. Location had minimal road noise, just the wind in the trees and the birds. We will come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This was an excellent place to camp. It was actually pretty quiet, considering there were a lot of kids here the two nights we stayed. I would most definitely stay here again. Thanks to you guys for keeping the place neat as a pin. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
Nice quiet park in the woods. Some of the sewage connections are not placed in the best location. However, they have extensions that they will provide for those situations. Most parks won't go to that extent. Staff was very friendly. Pool was clean and the pet park was great for the dogs. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$41
This was a very nice park with gravel sites right on lightner creek. The sites were not the most spacious but not cramped either. The park owners are very nice and accommodating. There is plenty of shade and the kids had a great time building rock dams in the creek. The ice cream socials on Tuesday and Friday are a great way to meet other campers and for the kids to make friends as well. We used this campground as a home base to do the Durango-Silverton Steam Train and to hit all of the jeep trails around Silverton, Our, Telluride, and Lake City. The campground is only a few miles from town but makes you feel as if you were in the back country of Colorado. We have a 38.5 foot motorhome and were well accommodated although you want to make sure that you have an 50 to 30 amp adapter if you're in a big rig. With the climate in this area it is no problem to get by with one a/c unit. We stayed for five nights and had a great time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
A very nice place to stay. Would definitely return. Staff was very nice and escorted us to the site. Located close to Durango. There are lots of trees and good sized spaces with table. Kids loved the pool. Only reason not a 10 was due to the spaces not level in the middle section as advertised. We had a great time at this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Full marks for beauty. Zero marks for the person who was so unbelievably rude that we cut our stay short and left. I'm happy for those who had a good stay but we would never consider going back nor recommending it to any of our friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$41
This is the first "10" I've ever given to a campground. We stayed 6 nights in a premium site by the creek (#34). Our site had plenty of room for our hammock, picnic table, lounge chairs, gas grill and hummingbird feeder. Everything in the campground was clean and well-maintained. Our site offered electric/water/sewer and the WiFi was consistent and speedy. An ice cream social was held on Tuesday and Friday nights. The campground is only five minutes from downtown Durango but it borders the San Juan National Forest and there is a nearby trail head for hiking and mountain biking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Beautiful little camp with a country feel, but only minutes away from Durango. Camp staff were very friendly. Nice pet area. Pull through sites were a little narrow but we were still able to get our slides and canopy out. Our rig was too long to camp next to the creek, but we could still hear it from across the street. We would definitely stay again when traveling this direction. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
Very pleasant, quiet campground with easy access to Durango. Paved, level sites with trees. Heated pool. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
Staff and camp hosts helpful and pleasant. Bathrooms clean, showers comfortably sized. Facility is well maintained. Close enough to town, but definitely has an away from it all feel. Quiet and beautiful. We were alongside the stream. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
Nice park a few miles from town. Very quiet area, nestled along a creek. The wi-fi worked only up the hill at the office while we were there, but was told would be in all the campground in a few days. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
We have camped here twice so far. Each time we enjoyed very much. This campground has beautiful campsites located along the creek. Make sure to get one of those, they are the best. Sites are not only alone the creek, but nestled in-between trees, and very shady sites. The pool is fine, and the restrooms are clean. I highly recommend this campground for families. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
Thanks to this web site I found this park for a 5 night stay. Toward the end of the season for tourism in Durango (I was told) so I had a back in, stream spot with very few "neighbors" for my stay. My site #4 didn't have sewer which was the only down side. The owners/staff were all very nice and helpful. The bathrooms were the cleanest I have seen in an rv park. Laundry room was also extremely clean but up the hill and not very convenient. Wifi worked well but tv reception was all but non existant. Enjoyed my stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
Sites were very close together, but very shady and right on the stream (price is $4 extra for a stream site). My boys fished outside our back window and caught a few small brown trout. There are many lakes close by as well, so they had a great time. It was tough to get into our space since it was a back-in location, but they provide spotters to help, so we got in there pretty quickly. On-site staff is very friendly and very helpful. Mr. Barnett helped us find some area lakes for fishing and gave us some tips on lures and bait. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
Nice place, beautiful setting. Sites are too close together, and it's rather expensive. Small picnic table, no grill or fire ring, and only a dozen feet from our neighbor's sewer pipe when sitting down to dinner. Still, the people running the place couldn't be better. From the guy at the front desk letting me dig through his change looking for state quarters, to the workamper couple who let me into the pool early to find the ring my daughter lost, everyone was very customer oriented, so maybe the fees were worth it. The WiFi was a very strong signal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$44
Great Park! We had a site on the stream, (price reflects stream site). From check-in to departure, the owners and staff go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable. There is no cable (one local channel out of Albuq.) and we were unable to get the satellite tuned in due to the trees and mountain setting. WiFi (free) worked great from our site. Pool was clean and refreshing. Restrooms were clean. We did not use the laundry. Sites are larger than most parks in Durango area. If you are looking for quiet, mountain setting, this is the park to stay in Durango. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
We really liked this campground for the closeness to Durango and Mesa Verde. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They escort and help you set up at your site. We had a pull-thru and was very level. The roads were all paved. There is only one TV channel but the WIFI was the fastest we had in our western travels. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
We arrived on 4th of July and the owners were very helpful. When you arrive they escort you to your site and even help you set up! The owners also helped us find out where the fireworks show would be in Durango and were to see them best. The kid were welcome here as well. We liked the fact the campground was not near the highway and it was in a beautiful and quiet setting.When we left some of the staff helped my husband hookup the trailer while I was finishing laundry.We have a tricky hitch. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
I have to say this was the most enjoyable camping trips I've been on in awhile. The owners have been wonderful from the beginning of reserving the sites to our stay. Our extended family (16) stayed here and couldn't stop complimenting the campground as well as the location. In fact, we are planning on coming back next year! We had narrowed our choices to 3 campgrounds in Durango and after seeing them, we were glad we chose this one! The pool, restrooms and the office are all well maintained. The creek added a nice ambiance to our evenings while looking at the surrounding mountains. If you're going to Durango, stay here and you won't be disappointed. The Kent Clan. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
This experience was close to perfect! Great owners, view, restrooms, stream, and the surroundings were fantastic. Highly recommend!! This is a true gem! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$39
We loved the secluded feeling of the park. But was close to town. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Not very good TV reception. The WiFi hookup was excellent. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$36
We really enjoyed our stay at this campground. From the moment we pulled onto the property, we felt like we were at friends. The host’s escort you to your site and ensure you have everything needed. Then a number of times each day, the hosts and owner came around keeping the park clean as well as friendly discussion. The pool was clean. If you are able to get a creek site, these are similar to a state park with vegetation between you and your neighbor. The hummingbirds were abundant- we had to fill 2 feeders each day. The only reason for not rating this park a 10 is there is no cable and your satellite wont work due to the mountains. You can pick up 1 local channel with your antenna. There is no WiFi but you can connect to a modem at the office area. This is the nicest campground in Durango. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
This is a great campground. While some of the sites might have the electric box for the site next to you under your awning it was really no problem. It is so quiet and peaceful. The owners and camp workers are first class and some of the friendliest people you would ever meet. The sites are clean and the restrooms and showers are immaculate. They even have a dog walking service if you plan to be gone for the whole day. Highly recommend the Lightner Creek Campground in Durango, CO. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$34
This is a wonderful campground! It is located in a quiet valley that is just minutes away from Durango. The owners, Cheryl and Joe, are gracious hosts. There are several very nice host couples who guide you to your site, tour the area to see if there is anything to be done, keep the campground meticulously neat, or stop for a friendly talk. A previous review notes that not all campsites are created equal, but we were satisfied with ours, and most are very nice, if somewhat close together. Other guests are sociable, and we enjoyed the ice cream social. This is definitely a destination campground; we stayed for over a week. The only thing missing was a WiFi connection. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
Lightner Creek is one of my favorite campgrounds in the U.S.! The staff/owners are exceptional and the camp hosts are great. The modern bathrooms are ultra clean. The park is small, but it is and cozy. Our site was by the stream which was very enjoyable. I love the paved roads. The great thing about Lightner Creek Campground is that it is secluded, yet right near Durango. It is also convenient for visiting Mesa Verde National Park. There are no seasonal or permanent residents except for the camp hosts. We will visit Lightner Creek everytime we pull west! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$37
We had a wonderful time at the park, excellent staff, clean and well maintained facility. My granddaughter enjoyed the heated pool and watching the Hummingbirds. The park even followed up with a thank you card for staying with them. I would highly recommend this park if you want to get out of a RV PARKING LOT and stay in a wonderful family place with a great view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$34
Can't say enough good things about this CG. It is well off of the highway and nice and quiet. Owners are terrific people as are their workampers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$33
The RV park is nicer than most of the other parking lot styled "campgrounds" in the Durango area. The photos on their website are misleading in that you are not separated all that much from your neighbors. The camp hosts are exceptional from the time you arrive until you leave, very helpful and knowledgable about the area. They do not have a dog run area to use so that people let their dogs do their business where ever they want and you need to hope they clean it up. This needs improvement. There are sites for any type of camping from tents to big motorhomes and should please anyone staying in the Durango area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$35
Wonderful campground, used it as a base for going to Silverton, Ouray and Mesa Verde. We had a stream side site which was very private. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$40
The owners and employees of this campground are wonerful and very helpful. The only reason why I didn't give it a 10 is that no campfires are allowed. I was told this is because of all of the on and off restrictions placed on campfires in the area by the forest service. None of the campgrounds in the Durango area allow campfires. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2004
$40
Loved this campground. Hummingbirds were awesome! Not a parking lot type of campground. This is why I bought the trailer. Great place to use as a base camp or just to relax. Enjoy the town by day and watch the stars at night. Wish we lived closer to so we could go every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$
Very nice campground 5 miles from Durango. Peaceful and quiet in a pleasant setting. Some sites are outstanding, some are poor, so check the site before moving in. The sewer hookups use a non-standard connection, and are also a very long way from the site (you may need an extension). We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$25
An excellent campground, probably the best in the Durango area. Beautiful valley full of trees for shade, with some open sites as well. Paved interior roads. A stream runs thru the campground, several sites are streamside. There are several bath houses/restrooms, all immaculately clean. There's a separate area for larger rigs with pull thrus, and there are camping cabins also available. There is also a lodge with lodge rooms available. The facilities are all nicely laid out, although the entry/exit is a bit steep, but not a detriment. The swimming pool is located away from the camping area, allowing for quiet in the campground area. The entire area is away from the hustle and bustle of Durango, yet very easy to get into town -- less than 5 miles from the Durango-Silverton Railroad. The owners and staff are wonderful, and very knowledgeable about events in the Durango area, to include arts, crafts, and museums. A wonderful place to stay, very family friendly! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com