206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Whispering Pines Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (401) 539-7011
CGID5459

Whispering Pines Campground

Camp Information
Sites
212
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   4   7   4   6   4   7   7   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
I would stay here again even though it's very geared toward seasonals. The access road while narrow was well maintained. The staff was very helpful. While it isn't the best access from the Interstate it was a very nice, quite campground. If in the neighborhood, I would stay here again. Given the fact it is rather remote, cable would have been nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Nice park .... Saw Mill road was a little scary, it is definetly a one vehicle road, but if you know what you are doing, you will be fine. Our motorhome with tow is 62 ft long and we were just fine. The pull thrus they have are 40ft long, so we unhooked out truck. People there are all very friendly... most are permanent, but very nice. There is a little snack bar there and we enjoyed that. This would probably a very busy place during the summer, but it was fairly quiet when we were there after Labor Day on a Saturday. Would visit this spot again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Would never attempt to take any motorhome or travel trailer bigger than a pop-up. Roads are horrible, insanely narrow due to large pines that should be removed. Roads are very rough due to large tree roots, buried rock, and loose gravel. Terrain is extremely hilly. Management and staff were very courteous. WiFi was very weak and unprotected. No cable. Satellite impossible due to trees. Only 50 minutes from Newport, RI. Easy access to I-95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
OK campground. The interior roads were narrow and very poor and bumpy. Two rigs could not pass each other in many locations. We were in the J pull through section & it was long & wide enough for 4 slide units. Lots of trees but our rooftop dish worked OK. Sprint cell phone intermittent, and its Internet didn't work. Park's Wi-Fi worked well for us. Laundry was outside in a lean-to with new clean machines but being outside it was dirty. $1.50 to wash or dry. Staff was friendly but office open only from 1 to 5 PM; they did cruise the park in a golf cart. Pool was busy with kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Very disappointed, kids all over the place not being supervised by anyone. Bikes, dogs, all over. Again no one supervising and inappropriate language. Try to find a staff member to help you. Signs marking the campground are non existing, make sure you bring a map. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
Staff non existent. Seemed like they mostly cater to seasonals. Barking dogs and children wandering through sites. Plumbing needs some updating. Heavy equipment through campground at 7 am on Saturday morning along with the chainsaws cutting the campfire wood. (staff) Our site had the septic tank in the middle of it, kind of smelly. Sites narrow. Overall visit was OK. Probably won't go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Not well marked from the highways. Very narrow roads throughout campground with lots of trees everywhere. Small sites, mostly seasonals. The few "big rig" sites are in the middle (J Section) with a very narrow road to access them. We were lucky to get into our site with 6 inches to spare on power post (we have a 40-foot fifth wheel)! Our neighbor's awning was over our sewer connection. New folks came in with 35 foot fifth-wheel and didn't make the very narrow turn - ran right over the power post on the end. There is a security gate used during the day, but it is left open at night! Our site was definitely not level - had to use 3 levels of lego blocks. Lots of planned activities for kids. Quiet times are strictly enforced. Will not stay here again - not worth the fee charged. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
The trees made it a little difficult to maneuver through to get to our site. I was glad we didn't get a site in the J section as they looked really cramped together with no shade. Playground was great for my kids. Rec. hall was nice. Lots of activities for the kids. The free use of the canoes, paddle boats, and row boats in the pond was one of my kids favorites. Pool was nice with plenty of seating around it (I counted 62 chairs) Lots of kids having fun and for the most part were well behaved. I would go back again as my family loved it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Nice weekend campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
I agree with the previous review. We were in the J section. They really cram you in. Tenters set up the night before we left and there tent was touching our bathroom window. You were so close that you had to whisper to have a conversation. Hmmmmm maybe that's why the call it whispering pines. The staff was very friendly, although my husband did not like the gate keeper. We didn't use the pool I; can't remember why (camped in 2004) but we did find a wonderful beach with bathrooms and a snack shack nearby, East Beach. They did have entertainment, that was fine. The seasonals next to the J section were grungy and laughing at people. We will not be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
My family and I have camped here many times and always have a good time! The staff are very friendly and the sites are good size and are very wooded. There are a lot of seasonals there but they are all very friendly. They have lots of activities for adults and the kids too, but the best part is it is very close to all the beaches in Rhode Island! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
An older campground that is very much starting to show its age. Everything is packed in with a crowded feel to it. Driving to our site was not easy because the roads are narrow with a couple of turns that are tight. Our site was not even close to level and most others appeared to be the same way with water pipes running between sites on top of the ground. The bathhouse was probably the worst I have used in a while; it was old and not so clean with holes in the screens for the bugs to come in. It didn’t even have a soap tray in the shower and for some reason they keep the doors open and you can walk by and see peoples feet under the stalls. On a positive note, the kids loved the pool and arcade. They also have a pond with canoes and paddle boats that you can use free of charge. And, the wi-fi worked very well at our site. However, the few positives didn’t make up for the overall bad feeling I got from the place. As soon as I arrived I was sorry I had come and that feeling never went away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
We camp there on Saturday it's very crowed and the site we were assigned was very narrow we have to unhook our car to fit in the site (I have 34' MH). A lot seasonals and kids. We never use the bathroom and restroom. The Wi-Fi was free but very slow. We only stay there one night and left next morning early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
Nice family campground. Fun rec hall with snack bar. Pool was big and clean. Mini golf course in good condition. Bathrooms were clean - did not use showers. Wireless was free and I was able to access from site (although they don't guarantee it will work at sites which are far from the rec hall). Lots of seasonal sites - seasonal campers were friendly. We were up in the "G" sites - narrow roads made for tricky maneuvering in our 19 ft trailer - might be very difficult for bigger trailers or novices. Store was small, but supermarket not far away. Management seemed overworked, but very friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$45
I wasn't very impressed with this campground. Seems like a little older of a campground which needs some TLC. Although they have a pool it is unkept. Hardly any activities even on theme weekends. Good campground for a stay over but not for more than one day. Nice little pond with boats to use was only glimpse of saving this campground. Old bitty security guard who takes her job to serious. Small sites for pull throughs with no shade. Didn't use bathroom so can't comment on that. Nice location but doesn't offer much of a bang. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com