224108 User submitted reviews online!!
Elk Meadow Lodge & RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 114 user reviews. Phone: (970) 586-5342
CGID547

Elk Meadow Lodge & RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
170
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   9   4   2   6   4   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$60
This is our new go to spot for Estes Park. We have stayed in several others but this one is our favorite for EP. Nice amenities. Live band entertained us in the lodge. Great views of Long's Peak. Place was packed as you would expect for Labor Day weekend but the spots are far enough apart so claustrophobia doesn't set in. Pet friendly. Nice dog park. Plenty to do and close to RMNP. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2014
$68
Location is great to visit Rocky Mountain National Park. The dog run is very good. Those are the positives. Before we arrived we had called and explained we needed to have mail forwarded to the park. They supplied the address. When we got here we were informed that they do not accept mail, and only make a run to the post office on Mondays. In an RV park, mail forwarding is normal. If they did not accept mail, they should have said so, and not given us the address, and not mentioned they do not accept mail for travelers. The office staff's attitude about this was rude at best. As far as the sites, most are unlevel. The roads are very dusty. There are large trees that make getting into and out of certain sites very difficult especially for a "big rig". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
Very nice campground with awesome mountain views. Very friendly and helpful staff. Close to entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park. Far enough away from town/activities without being too far. Restroom/showers/laundry facilities were clean. Very nice lodge, pool, camp store. "Some" sites are close side to side and back to back. Also, "some" sites you will need a long sewer hose, water hose to reach utilities. Most sites are not very level but you have to realize you are in the mountains. Do you homework when reserving a site and you will be happy. Roads in campground can get a little dusty at times. Overall, a very nice place to stay and we would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$60
I would give this park a 9 for its view, but the sites are terrible. We could not get anywhere near level without lifting the right front and rear wheels off the ground. Ruts in main roads and in sites, some deep. Hook-ups are okay, but you may need an extra long sewer hose to reach the ground connection. The club house/bar was not open, but is on the weekends. Be aware that the road up the mountain is steep and winding, and the turn at the stop light in town is difficult for a large motor home, leaving the camp ground, use the truck route to avoid the stoplight turn to the right. I would not stay here again unless I had to, and that would probably be the case as I did not see anything the area any better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$56
Pros: Friendly staff, nice lodge, dog run, decent pool. Cons: This park is in dire need of site landscaping and leveling. 6 diesel pusher rigs in our group and all sites (Pull thrus) that were very un-level. Took me 3 inches of boards height to level my rig along with my levelers. Grass/dirt area between sites so slanted that you could not use the picnic tables for fear of turning them over. Roads in the park/resort actually had "old" asphalt under all the dirt and gravel that was on top. This place needs to re-blacktop roads and install rain gutters on the edges. Will cost $$$$ but these upgrades need their attention before we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$58
We would have given a higher mark if this campground had not been so expensive. This price is with Good Sam discount! Long dirt sites with plenty of room for trailer and tow truck but sites not level. OK, the campground is on a hill but the sites could have been graded to accommodate this. Ours and all of the RVs round us had one side wheels off of the ground. Internet good at times but could be very slow. Good cable channels including the golf channel, which is quite unusual these days. Restrooms clean but in need of refurbishment. Pool and club house which we did not need to use as here to see The Rocky Mountain NP. Sorry but cannot recommend due to the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$70
The Good: Beautiful setting. Large, long, level pull throughs. Nice large off-leash park. The Bad: Dirt, dirt and more dirt. Very dusty. I hate parks that advertise free WiFi that are almost useless. Why should the wifi be useless when I pay $70 per night! The WiFi actually disconnected while I was writing this review. Download was less then 0.5mb. Price includes Good Sam discount. Would try different parks when I return to area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$60
At first we thought the sites were small, but after we drove through the other RV parks in Estes, we realized they were very spacious. Beautiful views in every direction! We will definitely stay here again. Great location near one entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Friendly staff. Good pet area for off leash playing. We didn't use the putt putt or the pool, but we saw other families enjoying them. Only two slight annoyances: there is no lock on the restroom, so anyone can walk in at any time. I would not have felt safe to send my teenage daughter in there alone at night. Also, in the laundry area, there were two dryers out of order. I read some reviews that complained about the dust, but I think that's just dependent on the weather (whether or not it's been a rainy time or dry time). Overall, it's a great place to stay in one of the most beautiful places in the world! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
We stayed here for 5 nights. This is an "OK" park. Nothing to write home about. The pads are level, but the sites are not. The outside space is on a slope and it's nothing but weeds/prairie dog mounds, so any sitting outside is almost not do-able. You need to be creative with chair placement. The picnic tables are in desperate need of refurbishing. The roads (although being graded while we were there) are dusty/sandy and dirty. Walking in anything less then shoes/socks leaves your feet dusty/dirty. The showers/bathrooms/pool from our site G-1 is a hike, though once you get there, are nice. It's too expensive for what you're getting in return. Unfortunately, it's the only RV park in town that would fit our RVl and our kids live in town, so we'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$63
We've stayed at this park several times, usually one of the first to open for the season in Estes Park. Convenient to downtown as well as the Beaver Meadows entrance to RMNP. First and foremost, it's overpriced. The fee we paid was with a discount for full hookups. The most recent visit here, we discovered (along with their maintenance person) an anomaly with their electrical system. Initially, we didn't have electricity and tripping the breaker on the post didn't resolve it. What maintenance discovered was that, the sites are tied together with EVERY OTHER SITE, not the one next to it, that would be logical. Had to trip the breaker on a site 2 sites up! Once that was resolved, there were no additional problems with utilities. Sites are somewhat level...but not consistently throughout the park. We usually stay in the area more on the southern side of the park, and the sites there require a bit more leveling then some of the others closer to the highway. The access roads need some attention, in places it's asphalt that is breaking up, other places it's more gravel. Restrooms have always been clean every time we've visited. There's a bathhouse in the central part of the park that's more communal. Then there are restrooms at the upper end by the tenting area, that are 4 individual restrooms, that give more of a sense of privacy. Both cases, they are clean with plenty of hot water. Staff has always been friendly each time I've been there. I've read complaints about unfriendly staff, but have never experienced that myself and we've been going there for several years. Normally we don't use the group facilities such as the pool and hot tub area, so can't comment on them. The company that owns this park also owns Spruce Lake. Their pricing structure seems to be the same, but of the two, I prefer Elk Meadow, as the sites are not quite as tight as Spruce Lake, and there are pull thru sites, which Spruce Lake doesn't offer. If you're willing to spend the money, Elk Meadow is an acceptable park. But like all the parks in Estes Park, there seems to have been a decline in quality, while prices have increased. Unfortunately, there's just not many alternatives; USFS campgrounds aren't close by, and the campgrounds inside RMNP fill up rapidly during the camping season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Nice location just difficult to access thru town very dusty locations and not level. However, we have stayed here a number of times and would go back , The elk wander close to campground and lots of wildlife in area. You can tolerate a little inconvenience to be in such a beautiful part of the world. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$59
Overall this is a very nice place. Close to Rocky Mountain NP entrance. Scenery from our site was terrific. The newer restroom/showers were very nice. Our sewer connection was almost at the same height as the dump valve on the trailer, which was not good. The only other negative is the price, which is quite high. Most sites are pull-through, but one row has sites back to back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This is a very convenient location from which to visit Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. The sites relatively wide, and the historic buildings extremely interesting. The campground staff was friendly. On the downside, the roads were extremely dusty and even the seemingly constant leveling did little more than stir up the dust. The really need to pave the roads. As the other campgrounds in town are very much tighter, we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$56
High marks for being next to the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park and near downtown Estes Park. The campground itself gets low marks for dirt, rutted roads (especially during rains), no gravel left on roads or sites, dying grass between sites, and almost all sites on hills. Cannot find a level spot for picnic table and chairs next to your RV. We could not open our windows because of the dust created from cars and RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$60
Unlike other bad reviews, we find this park to be pretty nice. The roads are fine, not full of pot holes, our site was very level, I just had to raise the one side a few inches is all. Spacing between sites is not overly spacious but not tight either. The views are amazing, staff and office area very nice. Only negatives are the wi-fi is horrible and our sewer dump is pretty high which was a pain. Overall it was a very decent spot and I would stay here in again in a heartbeat. I'm a pretty picky traveler too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$53
Very nice place to stay with a fine pool and a lodge bar. From here you can discover Estes Park. A shuttle bus stops right next the campground to take you all over the park. We recommend this nice and clean campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$53
We were skeptical about what we were going to find when we arrived here after reading about bad roads and uneven sites. But in our opinion, none of those things were really an issue. We were in Row F, up close to the tent camping area at the back of the park. Our spot was level and although we had a back in site, it was fairly easy to get into even with our 38' RV. The sites are staggered so even though there isn't a ton of space in between the sites, you aren't neck and neck with your neighbor. The only leveling problems we had were with the picnic table that we had to put a board under one side to even it out. The roads aren't paved as many have indicated, but they were decent roads in our opinion. We were right across the road from the WiFi tower, so had a great signal when we were outside and a decent one inside. Their cable TV signal was great, too! We also had a fantastic view of Longs Peak when sitting out on our patio area. The view around the entire park is great, and only a couple of minutes to the RMNP entrance. Although paying $53 a night seemed excessive, and likely the most expensive park in the area, after seeing a lot of the others in our sightseeing, if we were to return to Estes we would most likely go back here to Elk Meadows. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
The park has gravel & mud sites & they are not very level. Very little sitting area by your coach that can be used due to being on the side of small hill.The grounds were clean plus there was a nice guy who guided us to our site. Their is very little grass in the site area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$57
The public areas of this park are very pretty and nicely maintained. The camp sites are on a hillside with gravel roads that are roomy enough for big rigs. Diesel engines going up the gravel roads to campsites are quite noisy. The parking areas are flat, also in crushed gravel. The sites are quite narrow. They have picnic tables, but our table could only be used in front of, or behind, the motorhome as nothing else was flat. My only complaint about the park was the lousy Internet service. My husband called the office, leaving a message. The call was never returned. When he went down to ask them about the Internet the clerk was not pleasant, saying that we were told that they were having difficulties with their service when we checked in. This was not true. The clerk on duty at that time simply pointed out the router name and password. I marked the park down for that as well as the lack of a fenced dog park. I also marked the park down as the size of the spaces didn't seem to be in line with the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$58
Nice park and nice hosts. Utilities well placed with good space between site but no trees. Only negatives are there are prairie dog holes everywhere. Very hard to walk around the RV without springing your ankle. There is not a good dog area. This is our second stay and we plan to return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$62
We stayed here for a week. WiFi was free but mostly non-existent. Sites were tight. Although they have picnic tables at the sites, you can't really use them as they are sitting on the side of the site which is downhill. Bathrooms are closed for cleaning in the morning when many people are wanting to use them. There are no walkways to bathrooms so people are constantly walking through our campsite to get to them. Office personnel are very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$70
The negatives are the pool is extremely crowded and there needs to be another restroom facility. The positives are they have a nice camp store and an even nicer restaurant with a saloon attached. Beautiful views from the park and on the ride in. I'd stay here again, mostly because of the saloon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
Elk Meadows is the best of a group of mediocre RV Parks in the Estes Park area. This is the least crowded of the parks. The sites are plenty long for any size rig and tow, and there is enough space between sites to extend your awning and have a bit of privacy. The staff is great: friendly and helpful, and the keep the park clean. The utilities are well placed and in good working order. There is no grass and very little effort has been put into improving the "natural" landscaping. It is a nice park, but it could be sooo much better. My primary complaint is with the WiFi. It worked pretty well about 20% of the time. The other 80% was extremely frustrating and annoying. Most of the time, we couldn't even open the browser, much less open a website. When we did manage to open our browser, we would suddenly lose internet connectivity, requiring us to disconnect, reconnect and start all over again. They have antennas all over the park, which makes it easy to connect, but apparently the ISP lacks bandwidth to provide decent service. You can tell that, for me, WiFi is an important service. In my opinion, it needs to be improved. All that being said, we'll return. This is as good as it gets in Estes Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$53
A good park but over priced. What makes it good is its proximity to Rocky Mtn. NP and the common area amenities. The pad sites & hook ups are average to poor. Cable was good - WiFi was poor from our location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$53
This park was very dusty and dirty. There is no grass area for dogs only rocks and itchy weeds. The sites are unlevel. We had to move the picnic table to the front of our motorhome right by the road just to get it level enough to sit anything on it. Our area just outside the door was a steep incline and unusable. Our friends that camped with us had their neighbors sewer hookups just 3 feet from their door. They also had no usable space to sit outside and enjoy the views other than on the edge of the street. Anytime a car drives by you get dust blown. The pool and hot tub were closed for repair while we were here. It is close to the national park but that's about the only thing it has going for it. We were charged an extra $10/ night because we had 2 little boys with us. I would not call this a resort and don't feel it is worth the price in any way. We have stayed at much nicer places for way less. We will NOT ever waste our money at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$65
We wanted to experience a cabin, so we chose this site. The location was good and we enjoyed Estes Park. The cabin was clean. It was small, but had a good layout other than the sofa. When it was out you couldn't walk around it. My only complaint was the sofa made into a bed and was extremely uncomfortable. I ended up having to sleep in one of the bunk beds. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$53
Super convenient to RMNP, not sure why a previous complaint about the road noise, it didn't bother us in the least. It's not a "luxury" resort by any means but everything was well kept and the staff was friendly. Yes it is not paved and the sites are dirt/gravel with grass in between but the views are outstanding. The only sites with shade are some of the back ins. Also the cable & WiFi worked very well while we were there. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$49
This campground is not as good as it shows to be in the campground guides. The sites are gravel and dirt - more dirt than gravel. It is not worth the price and that was with our Good Sam discount. When I made the reservation, I asked for 50 amp and when we got here it was 30 amp. We were late arrivals and there was no one to talk to about changing so we set up at the assigned site. Very disappointed since rating was good in the books. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
We had stayed here twice before and said never again. But we agreed to meet friends here and also to give it another chance. As said in previous reviews on this site or sight was not level,and the pad a combination of dirt, sand and ground black cinder. The roads are black cinder, so do not where white tennis shoes on them. Although maneuvering is not a problem the reception and disconnect/turn-a-round area is just dirt and will blow up huge dust storms. Electric and water were OK at our site. They had placed us in a 60' sight that was closer to 50' and we are 45'. Staff, we found one that cared and help work out a workable site for us. The others did not seem to care. Our coach was clean when we arrived and filthy when we left in 4 days. The sewer on our friends sight was "up-hill" from the pad, as were several others we saw. PRICE: In 11 years of full timing this park is the most over priced park we have found. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
This park is close to everything in Estes Park. Just 3 miles from RMNP. We stayed in the G row and had a huge site. We could use our portable invisible fence. The site are not level and the road could use some tlc. I used the laundry, it was spotless and reasonable ($1.50 wash $1.25 for one hour of dryer). The view of the Rockies was great. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
Large park with large gravel sites with good space between sites. The sites are not very level, however. They do have picnic tables, but if you are in a large rig, there is no level place for the table. Has lots of amenities (pool, spa, horseshoe pits, etc.) but we did not use them. The price is a little on the high side, but this is the best park we have found in the area. We stayed here a few years ago. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
Here is the most important part of my review: if you want to stay in Estes Park and you have a large fifth wheel or class A, then this is your absolute best choice. Estes Park is so unique and beautiful that we always keep coming back for the beauty and the hiking. The RV park has a pool, hot tub, and miniature golf, and those are maintained well, and the maintenance folks and the office folks are all friendly. We stayed on G row which still has 30 amp power but good sewer and water. Lots of 50 amp sites are available but a majority of those are back in and we try to avoid those. my biggest complaints are that the sites are generally not level, and the RV park could be so much better if the roads were maintained better. Bottom line: wish they would repair the roads, put 50 amp on G row. Then I would rate this a 10. It is an expensive RV park, but really you have no choice if you have a big rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
A somewhat friendly staff and nice views of The Rockies overlooking a storage lot full of rv's and old propane cylinders simply did not make up for for the high priced facility. The dusty gravel roads and unlevel sites that are so close together were less than desirable for our one week stay. The location is very near to Estes Park and downtown, but so are many other RV options in town. The Wi-Fi is very weak throughout the park. We camped in the "G" section that is supposed to have the best "views". The pet leash law is strictly enforced. There is no area for off leash exercise except for near the fairgrounds where there is a very nice dog park. We will not return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
When we arrived their computer system was down. The young lady checked us in and said stop by later to pay. She was a hoot, made everyone laugh. Site was level and everything worked well, went to the lodge and the lady working inside gave us a wonderful history lesson on the lodge (Brothel). The park was just great and it was one of the better parks. We have ever stayed in large sites, sold sewer connections. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$48
This was our second stay at Elk Meadow in Estes Park. We just love Estes Park and RMNP. Elk Meadow has a great location. However, I do believe the condition of the park has deteriorated since our stay in 2011. The grounds, roads and sites were in horrible shape. The roads and sites were full of holes and wash outs. The grass needed mowing around the sites. The bathrooms were not dirty but they were not overly clean either. The hot water in the bathrooms was non-existent. I try not to be too negative but for the price you pay at this place it should kept up much better. If were $25 a night I would be much less critical. All of this is really ashamed as the location is perfect for exploring Estes Park and RMNP. A few simple actions by the owners would make this such a nice place: - grade the roads and bring in more gravel - grade the sites and mow the grass - do some renovation on the bathrooms (update the facets and shower heads, bigger hot water heater, replace the floor in the bathroom) - a big time cleaning with a pressure washer of the entire bathroom. We will hesitate to stay there again unless improvements are made. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
The terraced sites allowed excellent views of the surrounding mountains. The site was gravel and grass and not very level. The laundry was clean and well equipped. Wash was $1.75 and dryer was $1.50. Laundry located in middle of the campground. Internet was not working when we were here. In 2012 the campground was located on the Estes Park free shuttle route, great for us since we do not tow a car. Staff was pleasant but disorganized. This may have been what led to their double billing me when I made my reservation. I was charged twice, once from the campground and the other from the Lodge. I had spoken with the manager before we left but she never called me back, so that when we arrived I had to explain it all again to the woman completing our check-in and then to the manager. It was eventually reconciled, but required a second trip to the office and I was glad I had come prepared with my credit card statement. We did not use any of the other facilities but they include a miniature golf course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$49
Good news is it's close to RMNP. The space I was in was long with plenty of room for the tow vehicle. Bad news, it need some work. The roads are in terrible shape and the pads need to be leveled (they are dirt and this should be a simple grading project). I ended up with the right rear wheels off the ground. Problem is this is probably the best park in the area. Could be a lot better with just a little work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
We spent a week at Elk Meadow RV park. I find this park difficult to rate. Compared to other campgrounds in the Estes Park area, Elk Meadow is probably the best of the bunch. We were in the “B” section which I considered to have the tightest sites in the park. The roads and sites within the park are a gravelly dirt and not maintained very well. Most sites will require some leveling. Some parts of the park really are overrun with ground squirrels and their burrows are everywhere. The Wi-Fi worked, but at times was slow. On the positive side, the swimming pool was very clean but the hot tub usually had a number of children in it. There was a beautiful mini-golf course, horse shoe pits, a bean bag toss, and a playground. The on-site laundry was large and clean. The bathrooms were dated, but clean. The cable TV offered a very large number of channels. There is also a small store on the property and the park staff was very friendly. The biggest plus for this park is that it is very close to the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. With better road and site maintenance and better terracing of the sites, this park would rate much higher. Our nightly rate reflects the weekly rate with the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$49
Don't look beyond location & you will not be disappointed. The lots in this park are NOT maintained. Would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
Park sits next to Rocky Mountain National Park. Great views of the mountains, elk was nearby, it is big rig friendly. General staff friendly, but don't expect any help from front desk staff. They are rude and insulting. I asked about the advertized shuttle to town and was told it wasn't operating. The pool and hot tub wasn't available Memorial Day, and the front desk didn't offer any alternatives other than what a burden it was to refill the hot tub. Managers were "unavialable" Would not return We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$44
This was our first time with the motorhome in Estes Park. The website for this park is a little more lavish than the park actually is. We camped here on the final weekend of the season, and the water had been turned off the week prior. Estes is a great base camp for many outdoor activities, and we were glad we had our toad for transportation. To be honest this only the only Big Rig friendly RV spot in Estes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
If every other place in Estes Park is busy, I would stay here again. The web pictures are not a good representation of the park. It is very crowded in B row with rigs feet away from you on all sides. There are very few trees and all sites will require some leveling. The bathrooms are very nasty. The toilets were all stopped up one time I visited and someone had thrown up all over the place on my second visit. There is quite a bit of dog waste on the areas between trailers. Overall the staff was very nice and they do have a campfire every night. Also, elk stroll through the park nightly. They had a bear in the park the week before we arrived. Since we don't spend much time at the park, I would stay here if the other parks are booked. I would not recommend the park to those that like to use the showers and restrooms at the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$55
Although this campground gives very good first impressions (Nice office building, game room, front area landscaping), it gives way to a poor RV parking lot! We were very disappointed in our stay here. We were here some years ago, and it was a lot nicer then. The entire campground is just a cramped parking lot on a hill. Although the pull-through sites have some room, there is no shade. The only shaded spaces are in "F" loop, which we requested. However, our spot was the only one without trees in that loop and we were very, very cramped together! The awnings almost touched each other end-to-end! The grounds in the RV area were a disaster. The interior roads had been paved a long time ago, but it is now slippery rock ruts. The gravel they layer has been ground to dust. The overall impression is that it has not been maintained for quite some time. The huge RV storage yard right next to the sites doesn't help much either. The only positives were the close location to RMNP, hookups worked well and Wi-Fi was good. The pool area has also gone downhill. Their old below-ground hot tub is now boarded over and a tiny above ground 4 person tub sits in the corner. Although the spa is for "16 and above" as the sign states, toddlers filled the tub with no parents to be seen. When we asked the staff about it, they shrugged their shoulders and walked away. Nice. This place need a major renovation and some serious money put back into the sites! We will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Price reflects monthly rates. Nice place, one of the better options in Estes Park. Great staff. Can't beat the setting and location. No problem leveling here, but I can see where some of the sites could have issues. Entry road was redone in late July but still has some washboarding. Keeping in the town spirit of making as much money as you can while you can in the summer, some of the amenities are a little pricey as noted ($5 pancake and sausage breakfast?). But in fairness they are optional and not built into the site rent. Verizon is marginal, and yes wi-fi is veeeery slow or nonexistent in prime time. I hear AT&T and T-Mobile are solid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$49
Sites are not level. Restaurant closed now. Wi-Fi completely worthless. Rodents throughout campground. Very few trees. Never could find a dog area. Roads very rough. Seems that some tent sites were occupied by undesirable transients. On the up side: Estes Park is fantastic. The campground is near entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
The positives of the campground were the incredible mountain views, a nice pool and hot tub, the proximity to Rocky Mountain National Park, and a cool restaurant/ bar on the premises. The negatives were the very high cost, limited camp store, no fire rings, smaller campsites, a very potholed filled road, a not particularly friendly staff, Wi-Fi that did not work one day of our four days, and they cleaned the bathhouse at 9 am the one day I tried to use it. I would stay here again if I couldn't find a better campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$53
There are so many things wrong with this campground, I hardly know where to begin. It is very expensive. Rate reflects Good Sam discount, $5 coupon and weekly rate discount. They upcharge for 50 amp and cable. Worst of all, they charge $1 per day per dog and don’t provide clean-up bags. The sites have you packed in like sardines. We had to share a picnic table with another camper for several nights. There is a nice pool and new hot tub that we did not use. We did not use their bathrooms either, so we can’t comment. The Wi-Fi is one of the worst we’ve encountered. It works reasonably well before 7 am. Forget it in the late afternoon and evening. Just not enough bandwidth for a campground of this size. Electricity was stable and water pressure was adequate. The campground was infested with rodents. (Wyoming ground squirrels.) I counted five active holes on our campsite. These rodents are a health issue, and their holes are ankle breakers at night. The roads are rough full of potholes. The campsites are not level. Saw more than one bus with one of its wheels completely off the ground. Bring plenty of leveling blocks and wood. Campground is owned by a partnership that specializes in buying campgrounds with good cash flow in locations that offer the possibility of selling the land to developers at a later date. They just don’t seem interested in providing a quality camping experience. The only thing this campground has going for is its location at the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$48
Great campground. The spots are gravel, but have patches of grass and are quite level. This was our first time here, but we have stayed at Spruce Lake and Dakota Ridge in this group. They are all great. Friendly staff, clean, nice things for kids to do and free ice cream. What can be better than that? Kudos to all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
This is a big place and is the best we saw of several close to town. It is well kept and clean. Everything worked. The staff was pleasant. WiFi was slow at peak times, but usually OK during the day. Our site required one board to level. Some sites required more adjustment. Plenty of pet walk areas. 76 channel cable is good but extra $ and there are no premium channels. Pets are extra $ also. Our Verizon cell phone only worked when we were downtown (a Verizon problem). Campfire smoke from the tent campers can be an allergy/irritant problem depending on wind direction. You can catch town and RMN Park shuttles to get around. Paved interior roads are quite rough; the gravel roads are better and are graded after rain as the park is on a slope. The laundry is more cramped than we thought it should be. We did enjoy our stay and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$48
We camped here in a tent trailer with 2 kids aged 2 and 5. The campground was kind of tightly packed in. I kind of expected that near Rocky Mountain National Park. There are no fire pits in the regular camping area, probably due to the fact that it would force them to spread the sites out a little more. There area a couple of group fire pits on the grounds. We were told staff would come around before dark and put wood in the pit and light the fire. A group of us stood out one night and even flagged staff down and asked. We were told they were out of wood. There are wood boxes next to the pits and you could see inside through cracks and we could see there was plenty of wood. I don't know if it was just lazy staff or what. On the other side the very next night a younger guy (40's) came by and lit the fire and even put out extra wood. I just happened to be there at the time with my kids at the playground to see this. The same man came back later and checked to see if we needed more. Staff in general was horrible. Don't plan on going to the main buildings to ask for any help. You'll get an answer eventually after they snap at you. The staff here were elderly. It appeared they had to work here, instead of wanting to work here because they all acted like they hated it and it showed. It is definitely not like the normal elderly staff you find at most campgrounds who are wonderful. In short the park had wonderful views and was very close to the park. On the negative side we were here about 4 days and it was the worst staff I have ever seen. Other campers I spoke to agreed. I would look at other options before staying here again due to that. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Beautiful views, reasonably close to town, great location for Rocky Mt. Nat park, plus friendly and helpful work staff. So, it would be hard to not love this park, except for the "invasion of the ground squirrels" and the poor condition of the roads. The roads can be blamed on short season / tough weather. The squirrels generally drive litte dogs crazy. We would come back, but hope that the invasion can be reversed somehow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$48
I echo the last review I read. I gave them a 7. Washboard roads, a bit run down. Deep ruts in front of some sites. It is close to Rocky Mountain National Park which is a plus. Verizon does not work well but AT&T does. Satellite is no problem. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$48
I really struggled with rating this park an 8. However its location and proximity to RMNP and views are the main reason I did so. We stayed in spot G-9 which are the premium sites and have an unobstructed view of the mountains. The entire facility is on a hill. The sites are cut sideways and an attempt was made to make them somewhat level. The keyword is somewhat. The sites are fairly large especially on the G row. The roads in the park are horrible. I can't state how bad they are. They really need to pave them again instead of just piling on more lose rock and gravel. The word washboard to describe them is a compliment!! The shower and bathhouse facilities are in much need of an upgrade and update. The facilities were clean but just had the old / well used dingy look. Hot water in the bathhouse is non-existant. It ran luke warm for about 5 minutes then went cold. The entire facility is overrun with prairie dogs. There are prairie dog holes everywhere so watch your step. The putt-putt facility is a joke. It was covered in prairie dog waste and all of the holes are unlevel so the ball just goes to the corner every time. You can not have a campfire at the RV sites. The Wi-Fi is a joke as it is so slow it is unusable. Thank goodness we had Verizon signal here. The positives are the fact that the facility is run by very nice people. It is very close to RMNP and the the views are outstanding. We would stay here again but we really hope that they pave the roads and make some improvements. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$48
We stayed 2 nights at this great RV Resort. The entire campground is on the grade of a hill and the roads are a mixture of asphalt and loose gravel that made it a toss up to pull the trailer up the hill to our site. We didn't spin out, though, but going down hill to our site and having to back uphill into it was accomplished without problem. The campground was half full for the Memorial Day weekend; even with all of those RVers, it didn't feel small. The sites are all level and long. Services are as advertised, but I couldn't get WiFi to connect, possibly due to my PC. Rates are as expected for a high demand resort area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$44
Front staff very nice. Plenty of pull-through sites, but they are gravel and not level. Laundry room was clean and reasonably priced. Beautiful old lodge on site, which was due to open for Memorial Day weekend (a few days after we left). Right outside entrance to the Rocky Mountain National Park and yet close (by car) to downtown Estes Park, a charming small upscale town. The views of the mountains and surrounding hills are absolutely stunning. Elk roam the campground in the early morning. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
Probably the nicest park available in Estes but it needs some TLC. Don't know if it is the hard winters or just poor workmanship but the blacktop roads will jar your cupboard belongings. The sites are larger than most in Estes but not level. We placed 4x4 blocks under one end of the picnic table to level it. Showers, restrooms and laundry room were clean and working properly. Other facilities (store, club house, etc) were closed for the season. We had good cell phone service (Verizon). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$49
Selected a pull-through site months in advance and paid a deposit. Was called later and told the site had been reserved for the season by someone else but they had another site for us but it was a back in. What could we do? The site was not level and we had a lot of trouble fitting our large 5th wheel in. No trees or shade where the site we had picked out did. The people were very nice, some of the nicest we've dealt with, but the mix-up and the terrible site with the high cost results in the low rating we gave, and we won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
The campsites were not level at all and the picnic tables were in very poor shape. The entrance to the park is very rough. We arrived after the office was closed for the day and the camp host was very accommodating and gracious. The pool and spa close at 8:00 p.m. which we thought was too early. After dinner and cleaning up, there is no time to enjoy that part of the park when it closes so early. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
This is not the nicest, cleanest campground, but we enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in the lower part. One of the nice amenities, is the free shuttle that runs hourly into Estes Park. We saw elk in a yard close to the park and a small coyote running through the park. Good location and we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
We were disappointed in this park as it is basically just a giant dirt parking lot. The sites are terraced and fairly level and nicely spaced apart. The showers are ok, the laundry is good, cable TV was excellent, and WiFi ok. The park is close to everything. There are no trees in most spaces and the grass is ugly. But the park was full most nights, so reservations are recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$49
Nice and close to RMNP. Drove passed the KOA on the way in and it wasn't nearly as spread out as here. Sites are rocky and somewhat on a slope, but not that bad. The roads could be nicer and the internet was sketchy at best. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Reservations not honored, staff rude and not helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Great campground if you like Estes Park or the Rocky Mountain Nat`l Park. The older help was very good and friendly. The younger help needs training on dealing with customers, simple things like someone asking for change for the paper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
We spent one night here after the Labor Day weekend and the park was not very crowded. The end of the row spot we were assigned would have given us an unimpeded mountain view from our left side. Unfortunately, the site was occupied: that camper had evidently taken the wrong site. We ended up in what was supposed to be their site with a view of them instead of the mountains. Not a big deal but I have to wonder whether or not the other camper knew they were taking the wrong site because of the view. Still, it is the park's responsibility to make sure that customers have taken the assigned sites. The park has good facilities (FHU, cable TV, Wi-Fi and a pool (unusual for this area))and the sites are decent. There are 360 degree mountain views from everywhere in the park. You can walk (less than a mile) to the Beaver Meadows Visitor Center of Rocky Mountain NP to the west and several restaurants to the east. Nice enough park, but we decided to try one of the other RV parks in the area for our second day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$52
Way over priced; dusty, windy, unlevel and very poor dirt interior roads. $3.50/day for 50 amp power, $2.50/day for cable, and of course 9.7% Co. sales tax. It is on the side of a hill with hook ups in poor condition. Haven't seen other Estes Park RV parks but have read they are also poor. Of course the national park is worth seeing! Good luck. I won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$41
This is a fairly nice park. We made our reservation in August 2008, and requested a 50 amp site. When we arrived we found that we had been assigned a 30 amp site. At first the staff was unwilling to do anything about it because the Labor Day holiday was just a few days away and they were fully booked. We pulled into the assigned site and I went back to the office to try again. This time, I got someone who was more than willing to help. We were moved to a nice, shady, 50 amp site. My recommendation to anyone wanting to stay here is to get a written confirmation of your site requests. Also, the best views are in row F, sites 28 through 16. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
This is our first stay here (4 nights) but will not be our last. Staff - excellent! We were first given a site where the tree limbs were going to be a problem for us trying to level. They immediately gave us another site (Row C) at top of hill (no trees as we requested), and it was great!! Easy to level, too. Restrooms and showers clean and close by. Close to National Park. We will stay here in the future. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
The best thing about this campground is its proximity to the Rocky Mountain NP. The entrance is literally just around the corner. We were in G row which has an incredible view of Longs Peak. The bathrooms were clean and there were an adequate number of bath houses. The grounds could use some upkeep but the location outweighs the disadvantages. There were some problems with barking dogs but anymore we seem to encounter that wherever we are. The sites are fairly close together but not on top of each other. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$90
The description of the cabin was very misleading on their website, and by phone. Cabin is maybe 12' by 12'. The hide-a-bed was terrible: bunks were ok for kids, however when the hide-a-bed is folded-out, you cannot get out of cabin unless you crawl over it. This has to be a safety and fire hazard. No table in the cabin but they have a picnic table outside. Which is ok unless its raining. Very dusty, and no air conditioning. I complained on Wednesday about the poor sleeping conditions. We were planning on staying til Friday. The host could only offer us half of our money back. I would not recommend anyone staying in one of their cabins. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Stayed at Elk Meadows the last of July, very close to RMNP entrance. Cable TV was great, did have some issues with Wi-Fi, Elk Meadows said the weather was the cause. Had to spend time leveling my trailer. Enjoyed our stay and would come again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
Great location and beautiful views. Basic place to stay if visiting Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. Charge extra for 50 amp and cable TV. Spaces are carved out of hillside. Our spot did not allow you to sit on the side of unit, sloped too much. All roads and spaces are dirt. DUST - everywhere. After a week you could even taste it. High rates because of location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Called the RV park about 6 hours out and asked if there was a possibility of a reservation that night for five days. Lady took phone number and said she would check and call back. Be patient. Two hours later she called back. There was only one space left: a back-in rather than a pull through but they would help me back in. Upon arrival lady at registration quite helpful. Great site at rear of RV park with 15+ feet between units. Noticed other sites some what more crowded. Cable TV had many channels and WiFi had strong signal. But Wi-Fi is secured with a password and nothing was said about that at registration. Had to return to get password. Our site virtually abutted National Park boundary. Sites all gravel with little leveling needed. Few sites with trees or shade. Absolutely fabulous view of the mountains. Bathrooms and showers very clean and modern. Easy access to the RMNP and to town. RV park had a Friday and Saturday night buffet with entertainment with a dance following at $50 per couple. Make reservations for dinner early as reservations fills early. This seems to be the place to stay in Estes Park. We were in a 29 footer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We lived in Estes Park 1995-2003 and stored here; this is our third trip back. I have always said that Elk Meadow is not a great RV park but it is the best in Estes. I still feel that way. But I also feel it has gone downhill a great deal. On the positive side it is very close to RMNP, has many activities, has great views which means not too many trees, etc. When we were here last year they acknowledged the Wi-Fi was bad and the manager sent me an email when we got home and said a whole new system had been put in and was great. Well, we are here for a month this year, 3 weeks to go, and the Wi-Fi is marginal at best. They even told me in the office that their speed is low and they get dropped off. It is dusty. It is gravel. Yes, there are ruts and the sites are uneven: 3 orange blocks worth. Cable is $2.50 / night; I set up the Dish. The Hot tub spa is now working again; it was down for a while. This says something. The manager and spouse and 3 work camping couples all quit and left about July 1st. Don't know details and not sure I want to but you can imagine staff issues right now. The new manager has just been hired; local person. Before she came they gave me the name of the owners to call with several items and he seemed nice enough but nothing changed. One major concern is that there is very marginal cell phone service here. They removed the only outside pay phone by the office. There is no way to call out once the office / lodge has closed and this, to me, is a serious issue in case of emergency. There is nothing posted on the office as to whom to contact on site in case of an emergency. I brought this to the attention of the staff here and the owner rep a week ago and they basically have ignored it and did not get back to me on it as promised. But, I would stay here again as it is the best place in town! Honest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
Did not see the ruts that were talked about earlier. We had a nice site, beautiful views of the RMNP. Very quiet and clean. It was in need of some TLC, but other than that it was fine. Could use more trees. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$41
We had reservations for 5 nights at this park. The park had charged one nights stay for confirmation. My husband had a bad motorcycle accident and we were unable to travel. I called the park right away (over a month before our reservation) and was told there would be a $20 cancellation fee. I was okay with that. When I didn't receive the refund, I called again and was told they did not give refunds for any reason. She actually told me that another camper had died and they would not refund their money either! Seems like a very unreasonable policy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
We stayed here for 10 nights. Would stay here again. It is the largest RV park in the area, and as far as I am concerned it is the only choice for us. The other parks appeared to be too cramped and hard to get a big rig in and out of. Not this one. Plenty of room. Appears to be an older RV park, mostly with gravel. Our site had no trees, but we did not find it to be an issue. Stunning moountain views, including Long's Peak. Bathrooms and showers were spotless. We had to pay extra for cable tv, but was worth it, as we got as many channels as we could handle. Wifi was available, and we accessed it each day of our stay. As other folks have posted, this park is literally at the entrance to Rocky Mountain Natl. Park. You can walk to the visitor center, as it is about a mile down the road. Moreover, you are also about 15 min. walking distance from a few shops and a small grocery. Bottom line: recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
We stayed here for Memorial Day weekend. The office staff was still getting their act together and it took us forever to get checked in even though we were the first in line. The WIFI was in and out, and mostly not available. The office staff was apparently not really familiar with the campground because they sent us up a roadway that made access to our site much worse than if we came in from the opposite direction. We've stayed here a number of times because of the location and we're going here again soon. Hopefully the staff will be more efficient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
I ditto comment on Aug 08. I rated this campground low because the management was not customer friendly. The few staff were more helpful and friendly than the management. I always got the voice message machine when trying to call them for more directions. Don't bother waiting for a return call back until the next day when the staff gets messages off. There are deep ruts in the road and in most of the campsites. We had a hard time getting our water hose on because of the poor condition of the hook up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$42
We had to rate this a eight based on location right outside the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park, the mountain views, and the friendly work campers who checked us in with smiles and jokes and filled us in on useful local info. The campground itself shows neglect of a onetime very nice facility. The dinky pool was closed but looked liked it needed a lot of long deferred maintenance. Sites were eroded and uneven gravel with slope impacted weedy side yards. If you plan on spending most of the time away visiting Rocky Mountains National Park this is best choice from a very bad selection Estes commercial campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$41
Typical campground with gravel roads in large sloped field. Very helpful staff. Guided to campsite. Plenty of space between sites. Excellent view of Longs Peak from site F15. Tall pine trees in row F. Laundromat was very clean, large and inexpensive. Herd of Elk wandered through campgrounds one evening - rut season. Conveniently located near Rocky Mountain National Park Beaver Meadows entrance. Acceptable WiFi reception at site F15 with two antenae in campground. Camped with a 34' 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$48
Where's the elks? From their website, you would think that elks everywhere in the campground. Wrong, we didn't see any elks in the area except at the RMNP. Good location but that's it. This is basically a big dirt parking lot. Yes, it would accommodate any size of rig but it's on a gentle hill. Extra kid? that would be $5 per night. Want 50amp? $3.50 extra. Cable is $2.50. We stayed four nights and the bill adds up quickly. If you stay in a tent, you get a fire pit but not for an RV site. What is the logic to that? The only thing we like is the heated pool, but it was so crowded during the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$54
First the positives: This campground is right outside the gates of the Rocky Mountain National Park. The campsites are long and relatively level with a reasonable amount of space between them. The view of the surrounding mountains is very beautiful. The bathrooms and the swimming pool are clean. Now the negatives: This campground is on the side of a hill, and there is no shade. My biggest complaint is that they advertised WiFi service and didn't provide it. If it weren't for this, I would have given eight stars, but since they advertised Wifi and didn't provide it, they only get five stars. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
This is basically a big field you park in with dirt roads, not even gravel. Any car driving through the park, stirred up a cloud of dust that floated through your campsite. The WiFi didn't work, the bathrooms were below average, and the bathroom/showers in the back were uni-sex. It is in a great location right by the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park, and it has some nice views of the nearby mountains. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
Best location for visiting Rocky Mountain National Park if you are not staying in the park. The front office seemed very hassled during our visit. They were having problems with the Wi-Fi and were very tired of answering questions. The sites are large enough for any rig. While the parking area is fairly level, the sides of the sites slope very badly, almost dangerous to walk on after dark. Easy in and out for any size rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
Pretty much agree with last posted comments except that there is not a charge for the TV. If you have a 5er with back window as for Row G; then you get a great view of Long's Peak. Laundry is excellent. Lots of activities. Roads could use some improvement but no real big deal. The WiFi is terrible -- you are on and off and on and off. However, this is the best park in Estes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
We have stayed in this park before and it is our preferred park in the Estes Park area. Our rate ($43) reflects the Good Sam rate during peak season -- and it would be more for 50amp service or cable TV (check the web site). On the positive side -- The sites are further apart than the other RV parks, and that is the main reason we stay here. We have a 33' 5th Wheel and this is the easiest RV park to navigate, and there is plenty of room for larger rigs. The pool and hot tub are clean and well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful, and lead you to your site. The showers/bathrooms next to the pool are clean (there is another set up the hill that we didn't check out). This is the closest RV park to the Rocky Mtn National Park entrance. On the negative side -- Some of the sites are getting uneven and some have erosion which require more than "normal" leveling. Except for one row of sites, all sites are out in the open and therefore subject to the wind and dust. The wireless was very spotty -- ok at times but with numerous dropouts so as to make it very frustrating to use. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$44
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The scenic views of the mountains were spectacular. The pull-thru spots were easy to access. My biggest problem with the park was all the Elk scat on the ground. You couldn't help but step on Elk scat everytime you went outside. For me, I wouldn't go back until this condition was remedied. Other people may not have a problem with it, however. If this doesn't bother you, the park is fine. The location is especially good as a base for seeing Rocky Mountain National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$47
Read other reviews. I specifically asked about wifi before reserving. When we booked in, no mention was made of the fact that wifi was not operating nor had it been for some time. We really, really needed wifi for business. Not happy, should have informed us before check in as we would have gone elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
The best thing about this park is that it is the closest park to the entrance to Rocky Mountain NP at Estes Park. Despite advertising the availability of wifi, I was told when we checked in on Sunday that it was not working. I was told that it would be fixed on Tuesday. I asked at the office on Tuesday morning and was told it would be fixed Tuesday or Wednesday. It still was not working when we left on Thursday. Obviously, wifi is not a priority item with this park's management. The park is built on the side of a hill. An attempt was made to level the individual campsites, but ours was not level. It seemed that each site was also occupied by a ground squirrel den. The squirrels were enjoyable to watch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
We were here at the end of the season, so most of the park's facilities were closed. There’s not much grass in the park - it was very windy and we felt like we were in a dust bowl. However, the park is located next door to the entrance of Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park. The sites are gravel and ours was level, the cable and wifi worked great. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we were escorted to our site. The laundry room had plenty of washers and dryers and the cost was very reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
This is our second visit here, not a bad little campground! We did have some reservation problems, we booked a specific site several months in advance, but were put in a different spot on arrival. When I complained, they said it was all they had. No individual fire pits, but we could use our propane campfire. Was a bit windy, so be aware of leaving your awning out. Mini golf was fun as was the pool area. This place needs a little more staff supervision. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$50
Park is at entrance to Rocky Mountain Park. Roads and sites are gravel. Good cable TV and WiFi. Nothing fancy, but excellent entry point to Park. Very helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$41
There is a reason why this campground is named Elk Meadows; that’s exactly what it is. The campground sits on a mountain meadow, however, there’s not much grass in most of the Rockies, so don’t get your hopes up. However, we saw elk in and around the campground just about every evening, so be careful when you are driving through the area. The park is located at the edge of Estes Park and it’s next door to the entrance to RMNP. The sites are gravel and ours was level, as were the three others traveling with us. The staff was very friendly and helpful, we were escorted to our sites, we were all parked together and the cable TV and WiFi worked great. After looking at most of the other campgrounds in the area, if you have a big rig, this is just about the only one in the area that will work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this campground, which has a beautiful setting at the base of Rocky Mountain National Park. We had a gorgeous view out the window of our 5th wheel. We had a spacious pull-thru in the "G" row, which is on the west side of the park. Not all sites were as spacious. There was very little road noise and it was extremely quiet at night. The staff was friendly and efficient. Guests are escorted to their sites. We did not use the 50 amp, WiFi, Cable TV or the restrooms so cannot comment on those amenities. The pool and spa were closed and we did not ask why. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$41
This park was very close to the entrance to the RMNP and had great views. There was a bit of elaboration on their website as to exactly what the campground offered. "Perks Coffee Bar" was just expensive cups of coffee you added your own sugar/creamer to, the ice cream and snack shoppe were donuts and a chest freezer with ice cream sandwiches etc. We spent a week there and hoped to sit in the hot tub at least one night due to the walking/hiking we were planning to do, but the hot tub was not functioning and had not been functioning for a while (and was never repaired during our week long stay). The kids enjoyed the mini-golf, small arcade and pool. We are accustomed to space in between our sites and this campground offered no space and no grass. We traveled with another family and when they opened their slide out and we opened our awning we were touching each other. The campsites are gravel and extremely tight, NO campfires, (except in the tent sites), only reason I can figure is because there would be a domino effect if one camper caught fire. I would not recommend this campground if you don't want to know your neighbors well and had planned on spending any time at the campsite, it's basically a place to sleep at night. There is a $2 a day cable charge and also a $2 per person charge if you have more than 2 people in your camper. We spent over $400 for 8 nights. We did find the staff to be friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$41
View is spectacular, pull throughs are long and level, great base camp for doing the Rocky Mountain National Park and other activities around Estes Park CO. WIFI seems to work well, cable has a good picture. The only drawback is that access roads are dirt, but they are wide, 2 units can pass on each road, you don't see that in many places and sites are gravel that really could be redone. Infrequent trees, this is a sun spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
We love the location, but the sites are not shady, they sit right out in the open. They are very busy though, as they are close to RMNP and Estes Park. Their wifi leaves something to be desired. We were right across the road from the bathroom where the antenna was located, and still had trouble getting connected. The pool is nice as well as the lodge. Think they take advantage though by charging $4/nite extra for over two people in the rv, and extra for 50 amp service. This is getting to be more common and I don't think it's right. You pay for a site with water, sewer and electricity. Most motels don't charge extra for your kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$41
The view of the Rocky mountains is great from most every site. The camp ground is a dump. Very tight and uneven sites, our door faced our neighbor's door and the electric, water and cable were between us. About 5 feet behind us was another RV. We made our reservations about 2 months ahead for 3 campers together and that didn't happen. The staff doesn't know the difference between 30 and 50 amp service or, don't care. The buildings seem to be in good repair but no attention is being given to the RV sites as they are going down hill in more ways than one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
We stayed here 3 nights and then moved to Colorado Springs, wished we'd stayed longer here. The kids loved the heated pool, horseshoes and the lodge for the ice cream. It was too dry to allow campfires, but the campground has a nightly fire by the office, great time to visit with other campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$41
The park is in a great location - at the entrance to Rocky Mt. National Park. It is a large, well-run campground at the foot of the mountains on the outskirts of Estes Park, CO. There are a couple of shady sites, but most are in the sun. The hot-tub was not operational while we were there ("waiting for parts"), but the pool was nice and well used. The staff were very helpful and available. Evening programs (slide shows, music, karaoke, bingo, etc.) are provided almost every night. The city has a shuttle which stops at the campground and drops off most places in Estes Park. Restrooms are clean and well stocked. Many pull throughs and easily maneuverable by big rigs - most unit there were large motorhomes and fifth wheels, with a few smaller units and tents. The only complaint was that the WiFi was "hit or miss", available in the morning while in our rig, yet later in the day, one would have to go near the office and make the connection. We would gladly return to Elk Meadows. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$43
My wife and I are fairly new to the RV world. I wish all the campgrounds we have stayed at were of this caliber. The staff was pleasant and the facility was clean and well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$50
This campground is in a great location. Close to Rocky Mountain National Park, close to Estes Park for shopping. The staff is so helpful and professional. Pool, bathrooms, showers, grounds are all spotless and well maintained. From our experience, you can disregard the previous review regarding the bad roads. Yes, they are gravel. Yes, the facility is designed into a hill. We experienced a moderate rain one night while we were there and it was evident that the rain did create some small ruts and erosion in the roads. Within hours the next morning a park staff person had regraded all of the roads with a small tractor and the roads were in great shape by noon. I was impressed. We camped here as a family and loved it. Except for spoty wifi(which they are working to improve) you can't go wrong here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
Even though it was rather expensive, we spent several days in this park because it was the only one we could easily get our 40' motorhome into. The sites ARE close together and are in a terrace formation so you have a rig above and below you. When it rains, and it rains every day, whatever is in the site above you ends up in your site. Also, if the people below you are partying, it is like they are in your bedroom. The roads are very bad and that is because of the rain. The entire campground is on a huge slope and the water rushes down through the campground. One storm washed out a ditch 3' wide and 2' to 3' deep all the way down our row behind our rig. We could not have crossed it if we had to leave. The campground crew filled in the ditch which I'm sure washed out during the next storm. This problem has to be addressed with culverts or something. The sites were level. The pool was rather cool, but the hot tub was very nice. In the office they said they always have a problem with their WiFi and we were never able to connect. Some people took their laptops to the rec. room to connect, but the campground is very large and you shouldn't have to carry your laptop to the office if "free WiFi" is advertised. We would camp here again because it is the only park we can fit into in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Big park but sparse terrain. Located on a sandy and rocky hillside. No shade trees on our side. Nice pool and playground. Laundry facilities clean enough and maintained and regulated (process kept moving on a busy day). Park offers evening entertainment that we did not participate in. Propane filling available. Management had some difficulty in helping with a request to change sites one over beside friends but eventually did work out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$39
While this campground has beautiful views, it has, without a doubt, the worst streets and roads I have seen in 35 years of camping. The "streets" are not gravelled but are nothing but dirt and sand. The streets have huge ruts and washouts, and ditches run in front of many of the pull through sites. It appears that erosion is wasting away the streets but they are doing nothing about it. You could break an axle in this place quite easily. The wi-fi is useless. It reaches very few sites yet they claim they have wi-fi. Not true. Not a good place, but it could be with some work! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$36
I have read previous reviews and disagree with the negative posts. My husband and I found ourselves in need of a campsite as the one I had booked at another campground was too small for our 29 foot fifth wheel. The staff at Elk Meadows was incredibly helpful and accommodating in every aspect of our stay. Yes, the roads are gravel (or dirt) however, it appears this area of Colorado at this time of the year was suffering a drought and it certainly wasn't the campground's fault that the area was dusty. I found the sites to be large enough and I would certainly not call it "rig-to-rig" close. The campground which we could not get into was "rig-to-rig" close. This was not. The views were reason we came to this part of the country and we were not disappointed. I would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$33
The folks running the park seemed a little "stand-offish". Don't know if they were tired, or had a long season or what. Site they gave us on Row G, was just dirt. They claimed it was premium. We requested a site across the road with a large pine tree, and it seemed to really put them out. Dog policy is very strict, but not enforced. Our dog on a leash 100% of the time, while others roamed freely. The extra charges for 50 amp, or cable TV a little insulting. $1.25 for a can of soda seemed a little high. However, probably the best area to stay since the competition was not close. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
This is a very nice RV Park. A little on the expensive side but about average for this area. The sites are large and level. We had ample room and did not see any sites where it would be difficult to put out an awning as indicated by a previous review. Also, the playground equipment looked new. This is the closest RV park to the Beaver Meadow entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park; easy to get into and out of. There are not very many trees, which we like because we have satellite TV and Internet. Most sites have a great view of the mountains. The people working here were very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again the next time we come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
Elk Meadow campground is just outside of Rocky Mountain National Park. It was very clean, and staff was friendly and helpful. The activities and ice cream social was entertaining. The campground also offers Sunday morning bible reading which was nice for someone who doesn't know the area. From our site we could see the mountains with the eagles flying over it, which for us created a very relaxing time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Very nice view from any campsite in campground. Restrooms and showers were very clean, nice and friendly people running the place. My biggest complaint is the size of each campsite and the lack of shade. It pretty much looks like a used rv dealership. No room to put out an awning. But the pool was brand new and very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$40
We arrived in early June when the weather wasn't great. The campground wasn't ready for summer visitors and there wasn't anyone around. The facilities are in good condition and the one staff person we met was very nice. Our biggest problem was the playground. It is in terrible condition and even had broken glass on the ground. We will not go back to this park because of the horrible playgrouund. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2004
$37
Don't be fooled by the photos, this campground is basically a grass parking lot, with rv's parked end to end and row by row. I guess you can see the mountains if you get away from your camper and walk to the end of the road. Sites are fairly close together; you can see into your neighbor's rig if you look out the window. Sparse, young trees. Staff kind of friendly but did not seem to like kids, were rather uppity. It was too cold in June to use the pool, but it looked nice. Very clean and nice laundry facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Very close to RMNP entrance and a nice place to stay. Good pet walk area. Pretty muck open ground with fairly level gravel sites. Very nice people and a good view of the mountains from some sites. Sort of dusty though as the interior roads are gravel/dirt. Elk walk thru frequently. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
1999
$23
A pretty nice campground, nice level spots with plenty of space between spots. Some limited shade, but pretty much open space. Can sometimes be susceptible to wind, but not as bad as other locations in Estes Park. Nice clean restrooms, well kept. Not much of a playground for the kids. Meeting hall available for large groups. There's a separate area for tenters, and you will likely see a lot of Elk in the campground! Staff is very friendly. Looks like they had a swimming pool at one time, but it has since been filled in -- too bad -- that would really add to this campground. We camped here in a 1999` .
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com