206676 User submitted reviews online!!
Huron River Valley Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (419) 433-4118
CGID5491

Huron River Valley Resort

Camp Information
Sites
197
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   9   8   7   6   9   9   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
Mostly seasonal campground. Located on Huron River with marina. If you enjoy the river you may like. Many seasonals with older trailers. Transient sites are good size. We were on pull thru site near marina. Good length and width. It poured the morning we were to pull out. We opened our door to our site fully under 6 inches of water, with geese walking by. The gravel drive we were parked on was above the water level. If in the area again we would look for another campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
I highly recommend this campground. We loved it! The location is great if you are going to Dearborn, MI (2 hrs), Cleveland (1 hr) or Sandusky/Cedar Point (minutes away). The sites are all on or near the beautiful river, the showers are good, and the sites are nice and flat. We would have liked to have sewer hook ups but the dump is very easy to get to - right next to the overnight spots. Most of the guests are permanent, but this is great for both short and long-term stays. We weren't there on a weekend, so there weren't very many kids, but it is definitely family friendly with activities for kids and friendly people living there. Best of all, the owners are incredibly nice. We had bad weather, and they worked 24 hour days to make sure everyone was safe. They also went out of the way to help me with a tire that they noticed was in bad shape - way outside of the expected service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
Under new management, the park is very clean and well run overall. The staff can't do enough for you. We camped here over the July 4th holiday and everything was run well even though the campground was full. The only thing I would recommend is that if you are pulling a large RV or have a motor home and are in the pull through sites near the marina, you go straight ahead a the bottom of the hill them make your way to your site. The left turn is pretty tight at the bottom of the hill. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
A very quiet resort with mostly permanent people and a few spots for overnights. There are no sewers, but they do have a good sewer dump. The lady managing the resort was very helpful and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
I stayed in this park for three nights (P.A. rate of $20/night) and was right on the river. I feel the people are extremely nice and would give higher ratings if I had TV and/or internet included in fee. No cable with little or no 'over the air' TV would make the rating much higher. Bathrooms/showers are clean with hot water and free. I would certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Most sites have seasonal or long term residents. They are OK & helpful. Overall we felt "depressed" while here overnight. No problem with the entry; narrow & twisty like many campgrounds with rough potholed gravel. The exit before the office was short & steep, but our fifth wheel didn't quite touch the bed rails. There are only 5 or 6 pull throughs and they are long, but the gravel is narrow. Not sure if it was dog or goose dropping, but the grass on our site had it. We saw one resident walking her dog and not picking up after it. Too many trees for the rooftop dish. Sprint cell phone & internet access was very good. Campground charges for their Wi-Fi. Womans bathroom was quite dirty. Good 50 amp power & water. Price was Passport America rate. Power and water hookups on opposite side forcing use of a second hose. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
This always has been a great campground, and now that it's under new ownership a lot of marginal things have been fixed or improved. It's steep getting out but no problem with our big rig. Kind of dusty on the access road, but that's the worst of it. We look forward to coming back every year on our tour. And now the staff is great, too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
We had a long, level pull-thru site that had a nice grassy space between our neighbors. This campground was quiet, well kept, scenic, and the new management is enthusiastic and very friendly. The showers were hot, clean and freshly painted. A little off the interstate, but a great stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
The rate is for Good Sam. It is a fair distance from the highway so it is not an easy on/off for a night. The road/driveway to the campground is very narrow and steep. There are more permanent mobile homes and campers than overnight sites. The overnight sites are only electric and water. Of the overnight sites, 5 are pull through sites with the rest back ins. We woke to find out there was no water, the campground tank had run dry due to large number of people here; mostly permanents. The Huron River is typical northeast river, muddy brown. No we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
Rustic, but the new owners are working on the place. Nice 50 amp sites and at the Passport America price you can't go wrong. We enjoyed our stay. Roads in are gravel, but not too rough. We would stay here if we were in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
It is a very nice campground, well taken care of by the new owners. It has spacious sites, all areas are well mowed & trees trimmed up. There are clean restrooms & showers. There is a nice camp store wih a good selection of necessities. There are a variety of activities & entertainment on weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$19
Worth the price using Passport America, but not for full price. Would rate higher if there was pool, WiFi, cable TV, sewer hookups, paved level sites, and if the roads were wider and paved. Gravel road access is bumpy so go slow. Some roads on the small side for big rigs. Grassy areas were kept, mowed and most seasonal sites were not junky looking. Bathrooms clean but tired, push button showers with no hot/cold adjustment. New owners this year are starting to make improvements and were very helpful and accommodating. The first site we were given had low voltage (102v) and our power management system kept shutting down power to our motorhome protecting it from the low voltage issue. Owner came right away to check the trouble which proved to be an Ohio Power issue. We were moved to another site on a different transformer and voltage was fine. Water shared by two sites and a bit on the low side especially if your neighbor is running their water. No sewer hookups, honey wagon comes every Monday (extra charge). Gray water dump “rings” (stone filled hole in ground) by some sites and a dump station available. Very steep entrance/exit road in and out of lower area sites by river. Many seasonal/permanents but all we encountered were nice. Quiet hours were mostly observed, however the language used by our neighbors made us glad we didn’t have children along. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
We stayed in a large pull-through site with 50 amps and water. Lots of grass and new gravel roads. We found this park in the Passport America book. New owners are doing a great job of keeping the park in good shape. Big rig friendly. Shade or sunny sites available. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
A fairly nice location with lots of year-rounders there. CG was reasonably well layer out with a big field divided into sites. No gravel or pad to park on, so it might get mushy and/or muddy in rainy weather. Owners were OK to deal with. Not a lot of bathroom maintenance or upkeep. An OK place to stay for a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Some seasonal and mobile homes in select areas of park. Reasonably level angular reasonably-sized grassy sites (no pad). Not too crowded so people requiring more space didn't feel too cramped in clearer central area. Boat slips (Marina) and some river front sites. Located on recreational trail. Would overnight here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
This is quite a nice Passport America park, but we camped there one of the four nights in the year when we couldn't get the discount. Roads were pretty steep going in, and we would have hesitated to use the dump because of concerns with accessibility. Sites were reasonable size, and we were able to point our Internet satellite dish. There is a nice bike trail that goes along the Huron River Valley (rails to trails) right at the inlet to the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com