223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Whitney State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (254) 694-3793
CGID5506

Lake Whitney State Park

Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   7   9   8   8   7   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
I will just bullet list the PROS and CONS.. PS (There were NO CONS except one) .. We camped here in a 5th wheeler for 5 nights on our way to San Antonio. BEST Check-in of any state park anywhere in my entire life. Seriously. They did a great job. Friendly beyond expectation. Bryan checked us in. Had pictures of what each of the sites looked like - provided us with his recommendation and turned out to be a GREAT site. We were right next to the water with probably the best view in the park. We camped in slot 130. One of the other Ranger girls showed my daughter while I was checking in where the best fishing was and which bait they recommended… Sites are long for pull thrus – short but wide for back-ins. No one should have any problem parking here. Pull thru Sites are somewhat level but long. I had to only put one set of blocks under my tires to get me level. Good water pressure. Electricity stayed right at 120 VAC the entire time. 30/50 amp. Half the sites have very good shade… the other half is directly exposed mostly to sun. The sites right next to the water does NOT have sewer hookups. They are elec and water only. For supplies there is small town of Whitney about 4 miles from the campsite and 2 miles from the State Park gate. There is also a Brookshire and a well stocked ACE Hardware. Tons of wildlife – turkeys, deer, armadillos, and at night lots of strange looking things in the woods. It is so quiet out here. Absolutely no noise at all but the wind going through the trees. Yes the lake level is down about 12 feet but this lake is huge and barely noticeable. My daughter was catching fish 5 minutes after she through in her first throw at our campsite. If you enjoy walking the entire “road” loop around the park is about 4 miles long. There is spotty wireless here… they have wireless at the group camping areas – but not hardly anywhere else. I have TMobile and was getting 5 bars and 4G the entire time. Kids went swimming in the lake daily. Water was warm of course but kids had great time. Clean water. OK – the CON –.. OMG we had zero night time activities outside … during the day not a single bug, fly, wasp, anything – the reason is that they are all sleeping getting ready for the night. I swear you cannot keep any outside lights on at all otherwise they are covered in a thick carpet of gnats. Not many mosquitoes but billions of gnats. If you start a fire they seem to stay away from that – just be warned. Bathrooms and showers were super clean. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. This was our first time. If you enjoy walking the paths are will maintained – in fact the entire park is well maintained – everything was mowed – no trash – no graffiti – just very clean. The Park Host cleanup guys did a phenomenal job also. I noticed that after each guest left they went by the site – cleaned up any residue – and in fact saw them actually take a water hose and a broom and clean up some fish residue that the previous camper had left. Our site when we pulled in looked as if it had just been cleaned also. There is no pool – there is no boat rental – there is nothing but a huge lake, majestic views, awesome quietness, long trials, and peace and quiet. If this is the type of place you are looking for – then this is it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
Excellent Texas State Park, we've stayed here many times and will return. We were in pull through site #31. It easily accommodated my 37' 5th wheel with multiple slides. Good shade in the full hook-up loop. Good water Pressure and quality. Stable 50A electric service. Sewer hook-ups at sites good location, but some sites have high sewer opening in relation to camper. Dining hall available for a fee is large with a full kitchen and nice restrooms. Nice easy nature trail with a geocache. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Nice State park! The ranger at check in was very helpful and friendly. The site was easy to back into, paved and fairly level. Just a slight down hill slope, spot on level side to side. At least this site was(site 91). The site was close to the water. It had a covered picnic table (always a plus). Ground fire ring that was directly behind the site. 30 and 50 amp electric, with the standard water hookup adjacent to the power post. The site had plenty of room for everything and good room between neighboring sites. The trails are well marked and a comfortable walk. The bathrooms are well maintained and clean. The only negative is there is not a bathroom shower in each camping loop. It didn't matter to me since we have a bathroom in the camper, but to some it might be a bit of a walk. There is only 1 dump station near the entrance which is OK. We had a good time and will try and go back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$16
Clean State Park. I had a very good site. No one around due to the Holiday.. I would stop here again . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Most site are pull thru and are varying shapes & lengths. Some are pretty close together. Staff was very helpful in choosing our site due to length of our RV and the weather. The first time we stopped was on a Monday of Spring Break, and then we returned on Sat. eve. On Sat. the wind was really blowing and she chose a sight that would be best for the direction of the wind. Dump station has 2 dump connections. Only had a swing set for playground area. Nice park. I'm not sure if we'd make it a destination park, but was very nice for a stopover. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Nice place. Saw lots of wildlife. Lake was way down, not their fault though. Great place to ride the bikes. Good landing strip, I've flown in here many, many times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$8
Suggest you call ahead as some weekends are busy. Nightly rate does not reflect day use fee of $3 per day per person (BUY A TX STATE PARKS ANNUAL PASS). Nightly rate posted here is the non-advertised "winter rate" which runs from 1 Nov thru 28 Feb - you must stay a week or more to get the lower rate otherwise, the nightly rate is $16. Friendly staff, clean, spacious older park. Excellent over the air TV (HDTV), cell and wireless. Be advised, most of the back-in sites are at an angle of 90 degrees from the road. Not all sites are the same length or width so tell the park personnel your rig's length when you check in. Sites are gravel/paved with W/E on side or near rear; the park no longer has W/E/S sites (except for the hosts). Good space between most sites, shade trees, lake views for some, all have covered picnic tables. Surprisingly, there is an airstrip within the park for small planes. Unless you like to fish/boat, there is not much to do. There are 2 miles of "official" trails but I walked along the shoreline and the park road for quite a distance. This is a nice place to kick back and watch the sunrise/sunset, listen to the birds and take pictures. I enjoyed my stay and will definitely return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Parked away from the lake. Lots of oak trees for shade. The sites were level, parked on dirt. Camping is no frills, but pleasant place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
This is a good park if you have a boat. Tent sites with water only outnumber water/electric sites. There are lots of stickers if you have a long haired dog. There is a grocery store and plenty of eating places within 5 miles. They even have a landing strip if you have an airplane. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
This Park is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
This is a quaint little park. It does have full hookups, although sewer connections are on the wrong side and it does take a long hose to reach. The lake wasn't close to the site we stayed in, which was just fine with us. The people near us were very quiet, unlike the campers on the lake side. You could easily drive around to the other side of the park and visit the lake. The sites were nicely isolated from each other where we were. Sites on the lake side looked to be much closer together. There is a very nice hiking trail which took about an hour to traverse. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
This park is a real gem. We arrived on a Monday & stayed for 2 nights. Just about had the whole park to ourselves. We were lonely. Big sites. Exceptionally clean. Well separated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2007
$19
Full hookup sites have sewer on opposite side of drive from water and electric requiring a very long sewer hose to reach under your trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2006
$20
This park needs lots of updating. The road in to the park is long and extremely rough. Not a nice drive. There is not much grass at the sites and we did not see any lake in site. We spent only one night here. This park is on our list as "do not stay again". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
The front gate attendants were rude. The electricity box was supplying dirty power, and the park was running out of water from their well. Lot's of weeds and trash around the sites. We came in Friday evening and left early the next morning. We were supposed to be there for the week. This was obviously for tents and pop-ups, not recommended for Class A's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
We enjoyed this campground. They had 50ft campsites (pull-through), with water, electricity and sewer. There are also trailer dump stations for the non sewer sites. It has a group recreation hall for rent for family reunions.; a fish-cleaning facility; a launching ramp; a playground; and 2 trails. Our kids loved the boating we did with some friends of ours. The lake is about 1000 acres. No limits on boat speeds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com