206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Sherkston Shores was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (905) 894-0972
CGID5507

Sherkston Shores

Camp Information
Sites
400
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$93



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   1   7   10   1   5   10   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$93
First the good! This is a huge BEAUTIFUL resort. Lake Erie is gorgeous with lots of beaches and very clean water. We had a premium site which was worth the extra dollars. Huge with enough room for our almost 40ft fifth wheel and long bed truck to easily fit in the paved pad. Overlooking the Quarry in a big grassy site. VERY nice. There is a lot to do for the kids, enough golf carts that we all got one (8 families in all). Make sure you get one or bring bikes. You'll never make it walking everywhere, too big. Store was decent. Pool and waterpark area were OK. Kids liked the bungee jumping swings and other various games at the pool. Security was patrolling constantly; everything was great! I would have given this place a "10" if we had only stayed Mon-Fri like the rest of our group. BUT we opted to stay the weekend as well. Oops, it was Canada's civic holiday weekend. We went to Niagara Falls on Friday and when we came back the resort was full of all new campers. Mostly loud and obnoxious teenagers and 20 somethings. Golf cart speed with loud music increased with loud screaming and music well after midnight each night. Not sure what happened to security, but we will NEVER stay here again on a weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$90
Been here before, will be back... it is a great 4-5 star resort with lots to do. Wonderful area if you somehow manage to be bored. WARNING... if you are tenting/Tent Trailering, be advised that the washrooms are notoriously poorly kept. Most times very dirty and not enough for the amount of people that stay there. If you are there in something that has it's own facilities, then you are probably OK. Other than that it is a first class resort. Quite noisy and party atmosphere. Not to all's taste for that reason. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$99
Sherkston Shores in my opinion, needs to take a step back and look at what's wrong here. Chocolate Bar bingo with not enough cards to go around; water slides where only 1 or 2 work; pools are dirty; kids drinking and smoking! It's crazy here. If the fed's were to raid this place: it'd be shut down instantly! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We found the pull through sites to be narrow. I would recommend the "premium" sites as they are a lot nicer and mostly larger. The "heated" pool was very cold, too cold for the little ones. There is no modern splash pad for the wee ones. Water slides were nice, but again, the water was very cold. The park was clean and well maintained. Overall a nice campground for camping with kids. Recommended ages: 5-15. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Excellent 5 star resort. Lots to do at this park and the camping sites were excellent. 50 amp paved roads with cement pads. Pools, waterslides, spas, and beaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$88
Security allows the teens to do whatever they please. Drugs and alcohol are openly used by teens, without consequence. They preach " family park", and it is not a place for families. Many teens are caught stealing alcohol from campers. They are caught in campers stealing, and then they are out again the next night. The electric throughout the park is not updated and often appliances do not work. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
We are staying here for two months, September and October. The sites are great as they have paved sites with cement patios. The rate for the off season is very reasonable. This site is geared to permanent seasonal park models with an area for RV sites that cater to weekender traffic and overnight stays. The park attracts a lot of teenage users who party hearty and keep the more sedate awake to all hours. Security is infrequent and ineffective. Dogs bark all day and teens drive around with rap blasting at ear shattering sound levels and young idiots yelling all hours of the night. During the week days the park at this time of year is quiet and peaceful. Weekends are terrible. I will pay extra for a quieter park. Washrooms are cleaned infrequently and the shower change areas are full of dirt most times. I had to request they be cleaned a number of times after the same dirt was present for more than two days. I will not stay here again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$69
For the size of this campground, it is very well maintained. There are always plenty of activities for all ages. There is never a dull moment or bored child. We will be returning for the 3rd year in a row the last week of June 2007. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
With everything this park has going for it regarding activities, I was sure this was going to be a slam dunk 10. Then I encountered the nightly "cruisers" with their sub-woofers turned up to 100 watts or so. Frankly, there was no attempt to even slightly conceal the under-age drinking there. Even though there is a private "security force" with some really spiffy uniforms, they turned a blind eye to the drinking and a deaf ear to the loud music. The kids in our group had a great time, I was just surprised at the lack of management presence during the evening hours when the problems were taking place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
We have camped all over the entire East coast from St. John VI to the top of Nova Scotia, this is one of the best! It's more of a resort style camping then in the woods but almost everything was perfect. Bathrooms/showers were immaculate. pool's very clean, lake was amazing, you can pull your vehicle right down to the waters edge. Store was well stocked. Only downside was quite time not adhered to, but almost anywhere in Canada its the same, people stay up all night. Sites are right on top of each other but grassy and nice. Would go again in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$80
A family campground 20 minutes from Niagara Falls, so much for the kids to do, water park game room, great food, entertainment & fair prices. The premium sites were assume this place was GREAT!!!! We can't wait to go back. If your going to travel here from the states stay for the week you will not be disappointed. We camped here in a Jayco 31 BHDS. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
We took a family trip to Sherkston Shores in Sherkston, Ontario, Canada in June 2006. We found this location after doing much research online for the Niagara Falls area and were not disappointed. It is a stand-out among campgrounds, actually more of a resort. There was one large heated pool, a kiddie pool (was cold, though) and even water slides. There were 2 hot tubs, but do not let your children near them! There were many lifeguards on staff, but they won't even let kids dip their toes in the hot tubs. We went off-season so not all attractions were open, but still plenty to do. Sand volleyball, mini-putt, arcade, etc. Had laundry facilities and convenience store. Was a swimming quarry there as well, with sandy beach. The best asset is it's right on the shores of Lake Erie and was just beautiful. Cars can even drive right onto beach, which may get hectic at times. It was a large campground and very scenic, although no privacy between sites. Nice shower building but was not kept very clean while we were there for a period of 4 nights. Plugged up toilets, no toilet paper, dead bugs all over, mildewy showers, etc. The staff were split between quite nice and quite indifferent. Apparently, there are permanent residents who own park homes there and I felt they were somewhat rude to us as tent campers. So each person's experience may vary. Also, I should add we have 3 children under 12 and that surely made us stand out a bit. The majority of people there when we were seemed to be older and very few kids there at all. That and the fact we were the only Americans there as far as we knew, we felt a little out of place! Very pretty location a bit outside of touristy Niagara Falls, we'd give a 7 overall. Plus: beautiful location. Minus: Not enough attention to detail and some rude staff. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$69
My family and I decided to head over to Ontario, but made sure that we were not going to go during any long weekends.. we really had a good time at Sherkston we where close to the lake and the park had a lot of activities for the kids. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com