220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Spruce Lake RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 64 user reviews. Phone: (970) 586-2889
CGID551

Spruce Lake RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
118
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   8   6   5   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
We spent four night here and enjoyed our stay. The views and the river were great. We would definitely stay here again. We had no trouble getting around with our 36 1/2 foot RV. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
We had probably the closest site to the river and thoroughly enjoyed the view and the sounds! Strangely, the "premium" sites are all in the middle of the park, with people constantly driving/walking through, close to the bathrooms, etc., and overlooking the "lake" (really just a pond). Not sure why those are considered prime sites. But overall it was a great place...nice enough space between the RVs, and located in an absolutely beautiful spot. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$59
Okay, other reviewers aren't wrong, but they aren't being fair. This is a fantastic park! Yes, it's tight. So what? Look around you...mountains and wide open spaces in every direction. Amazing views. Great facilities. They are up and running with very few small exceptions after a 500 year flood that would have put lesser parks out of business for good. Wifi sucks. Useless. So what!? You don't come to Estes for wifi. You come for mountain air, vistas, shopping, food and the most amazing feature of all: the RMNP which is a short jog away from this park. We come year after year and will never stay anywhere else because you can't walk to all the awesome amenities this park offers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
While this park was damaged by the flood in 2013 it appears they have repaired most of it. The only facility not yet restored is the on-site mini-golf course but they are planning to do so. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites are large enough to enjoy the outdoor space and all have green grass and picnic tables. Some sites are shaded with pines but most are open. We saw elk graze through the park one morning. Our site was near the river that flows around the park, which was especially enjoyable. The fishing pond was the center of activity for many and we saw several folks catching nice-size trout. The swimming pool was heated and sheltered from the wind so it was comfortable even when the wind was blowing. The setting is beautiful yet the park is convenient to downtown Estes Park and well as Rocky Mountain National Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$59
Great staff, but the office is only open 8-5. Sites are dirt with patchy weeds in between, back to back, with power at your rear and fairly close together. Max length site is 42'. No security. I was never able to get onto campground Wi-Fi. Verizon and AT&T two to three bars. Close to town and walking distance to several restaurants, liquor store (very expensive) and gas station. Also very close to Rocky Mountain NP which is magnificent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$58
This park was OK, but not worth the price. The staff were very nice, however the sites were dirt and there was only weeds between them, no grass. They were close together and many were tandem so you had another trailer right behind you. They do not allow outside dog kennels. The only thing we really liked about this park was the dog walk which was right along the river with lush grass. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$58
Spruce Lake is a fine park. Like lots of businesses along the Big Thompson river were damaged in the Colorado floods last year. But they are up and operational with some major repairs to the office and newly graded roads. Great spot for visiting Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. Sites are of good size. Mix of 30 and 50 amp locations. Only downside was poor WiFi but that isn't unusual these days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$58
The view from this park is beautiful. You are just a few miles from Rocky MT National Park. The RV park was fine gravel very level. The showers were large and clean, very clean. The internet and cable were good. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$55
Large RV park with fishing pond (fee required). Wide RV sites available. No shade. All gravel roads and pads, some with grass. Playground, heated pool. Friendly check-in. Apparently a popular place, very busy at this time (Sept. 8 - 11). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
We love this park!! We come back annually. Just cannot beat the location, walk to smokin Dave's or grocery store and the worlds best dog walk view (the Big Thompson river!). Sites are worn and tired (some call that charming) and make no mistake about it: this is a family park and the kids are everywhere and always heard. And sadly so are their redneck parents. But hey, that's summertime in 'Merica, right? If you love it, you'll love it, if you know what I mean. I have no idea what my rate really was. I didn't ask, look, or care. We love this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$160
We did not like this park. The woman who handled our reservation over the phone seemed overwhelmed by the process, and the woman at check-in was equally overwhelmed by that process. The RV sites are situated at odd angles, and they are packed on top of one another. The pool was small. The park is overpriced even by Estes Park standards. They purport to be pet friendly, but you will find plenty of no dogs allowed signs and no fenced in dog park in which to walk them. We would not return to this park. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
Fifty five per night reflects a Good Sam discount on a weekly rate, which is too much for this park. The overall appearance is unkempt & weedy. Each site is almost level, but not quite. However, the pond and Big Thompson River are beautiful. The restrooms are spacious and clean. Each shower is really large. I probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$44
The park has no pride of ownership. The sites are full of weeds and not mowed but are mostly dirt. The roads are VERY dusty as is the entire park. The Wifi is weak and the cable is analogue (poor quality). The Jacuzzi was unclean. The park is overpriced. There is no shade and the sites are laid out goofy as one space has two units backed in opposite directions and overlap the front of the neighbors coach? The utilities are good and the staff is friendly. Rules like no clothes lines, speed limits, dogs tied up outside and cleaning up after your pet are not enforced. The park has a good location and there is a cool river running through it but they can't hide the run down park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$58
When we first arrived, there were two other RV's practically right next to us. Half of the park was empty which made no sense as to why they would assign sites like that. After 2 days, I said something to the office staff who realized this was happening and agreed to not put anyone next to us if not necessary. The gravel roads and dirt are a real pain, but I have noticed all the parks in the area don't seem to care about that. They charge a lot of money but cram as many people as possible because of the proximity to RMNP. There are no trees, but a wonderful rushing river/stream that is on the grounds. I didn't take advantage of the family activities, but it does look like they have a lot for kids. The sites are wide, but because they are back to back it looses some of the feeling. They are level which based on what I have observed checking out other parks in the area is a plus. I would stay here again but think that this company,(which owns several parks), needs to upgrade their facilities based on these prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$56
The CEO of the parent company must be pocketing a lot of money because we paid royally for a site with no view and only W/E. Previous to this we were in one of the "sister" RV parks. However, they did accommodate us with a site that had pine tree shade (and next to maintenance building) at our request. The remainder of the sites were mostly in the open dirt/dust bowl which was a big factor with high mountain winds. We had just gotten our truck and rig washed. Bummer. The place is worn down and needs lots of maintenance attention. On the good side there was a lake for kids to fish from. The park is on the Big Thompson River which was profusely flowing and enjoyable to see/hear. We would go elsewhere on our next visit to Estes Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$49
Nice, older RV park. Sites were very wide, back in only. Utilities worked well, although the Wi-Fi was a little weak in the evenings. Although they required you to sign an agreement to clean up after your pet and keep them on a leash, no more than 6 foot long, most pets were on retractable leads and were allowed to go out more than 6 feet, causing me a little irritation, as they seemed to routinely run into our campsite, where my dog was laying quietly. Also, a number of dogs were tied out and left alone. There was also a problem with bears knocking over the big trash dumpsters and having the trash was strewn all over. It was a nightly occurrence, and, although the trash was picked up every morning, there was still some "wet" trash that was never able to be re-collected. Owners said they were begging the trash company for bear proof containers, but to no avail. It would not have been difficult to alter the trash bins to be at least resistant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$47
Pricy for what you get like most things in Estes Park. Nice location along the river. Sites are not very long but they are wide, about twice as wide as an RV. Pads are sand/mud but you could tiptoe around on the mowed weeds to avoid the mud on rainy days. I didn’t see any pull throughs. Fishing available for a fee. Wi-Fi was good. Staff was friendly. Evidently run by the same company as Elk Meadow. Restrooms were newly painted, but I wish they had swept the floor before spreading the paint. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
Front desk person was frazzled and not very friendly, but did get us checked in quickly and efficiently. No pull through sites meant we had to back in, but the escort stayed with us until we were settled. Close neighbors on 3 sides, and the site was all dirt, but other than that it was level and all the services worked. In summary, it is a fairly nice resort for Estes Park, which doesn't really have an upscale or luxury place to park your RV. We'll keep looking for a nicer place, but would stay here again if we didn't find anything better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
We stayed here 2 nights in a tent trailer. The bathrooms/showers were large, very clean and the best we have ever seen. The elk in the campground made the memories. Drawbacks: our site was muddy when it rained, it was expensive (they charge for pets), the fishing pond license was expensive. Also, with a sick son we had to depart early and forms/signs make it very clear that refunds for early departures are not provided. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
Very nice, clean, friendly campground. We have a 40' fifth wheel and had plenty of room on our site. We saw no garbage overflowing and never heard the staff yelling at anyone, they are all very helpful and friendly. Our Verizon air card worked well and our cell phone with AT&T worked well, too. Nice laundry, nice fishing pond (for a fee), and the Big Thompson River runs right by the park. The free shuttle stops very close by and the park is right behind the Rocky Mountain Opry which we highly recommend, some of the best entertainment we have seen, ever. We have seen a herd of elk come through the campground, but have not seen the bear they say visits some. All in all a very nice park and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
We have stayed at this campground many times over the years, and are sad to see it being run down. The pool was green (we did not choose to use it) the grass in the sites is dying as the sites are not made for today's big rigs. The garbage piles up and in general is it not being well maintained. Restrooms are still decent, but that is about it. This was our favorite campground, and used to be a real gem. Sad to see it go downhill Unfortunately, in Estes Park there isn't much to choose from, and this is about the best around the area. It's a decent place to stay if you're expectations aren't too high. Wi-Fi is passable, cell service spotty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$49
Had three great long weekends here in 2011. Beautiful river flowing by. Fun fishing pond. Limited trees in campground. Fantastic staff, always 2-3 people in the office to help. Maintenance guy was really helpful. Pancake breakfast on weekends. Nightly campfire. Nice pool and great hot tub. We'll go back every summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This campground is very convenient to Rocky Mountain National Park. It is located along a rushing stream and has a small fishing pond in the middle of the campground area. There is a pool and an activity building. A bridge over the stream takes you to a shopping area with groceries, restaurant and liquor store - very nice. However, the campground sites have been neglected - weeds, no trees, dirt roads and pads, missing sewer connections, broken picnic tables. All sites are back-in and fairly wide so you can park your car next to your camper. However, folks are allowed to park more than one car and more than one trailer in a site which can put a neighbor's truck right up against your camper. The mobile phone service is spotty and Wi-Fi is poor. I was not impressed and would not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
We have stayed here 4 or 5 times and my review is mixed. I like the proximity to RMNP, campground sides to river, pool, easy access to store and a few restaurants. Disappointed with our last stay and will probably try somewhere else next time. Very busy weekend and staff exceptionally grumpy about everything. Trash overflowing everywhere. Pool was very cold the first day and rather dirty the second day. Sites are very tight and roads are dusty. I did not have a pet but the staff was constantly yelling at families about their pets. Just not as friendly as I remember. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Cons: Interior roads are dirt, so in dry weather it can get a little dusty. Sites are close together, but in tourist areas like this they are all close together. Sewer hook up drained very slow, but when I reported it, they came immediatly to try to rectify. It helped a little but was still a challenge. Trash bins were consistently over flowing during the entire week we stayed. Pros: Family friendly. Thompson river runs adjacent to this campground. Located about a mile from entrance from RMNP. There is a walking bridge across the river to a small grocery store, liquor store, and restaurant. Friendly, helpful staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This campground has a nice view of the mountains. It is close to the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and downtown Estes Park. The campground is clean and well-kept. There is very little shade (not unusual in that area) and the sites are close together. You feel like you are in an RV parking lot, but again that is not unusual. It was a nice place to use as a base for trips into Rocky Mountain National Park each day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Very, very nice park. Helpful staff. Restrooms were very clean. Close to Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park and area attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$53
Wonderful park, friendly staff, and great for the whole family. Restrooms & showers were very, very clean. Didn't use Laundry, but was planning too, as also very clean. Kids loved the pool, playground, and miniature golf. (Basic mini-golf course, and exactly what you'd expect in a park.) Didn't fish in the private lake, but saw several people pulling out descent sized trout. The kids were constantly saying hi to the staffers which seems to always be within ear shot for any need. Staff guides you to your slot, directs you backing in, and points out all the necessary hookups. Quiet at night, and never really heard sounds from surrounding area. Quick hike over nearby bridge to restaurant, mid-sized convenience store, liquor store and gift shop. (Saved driving across town to Safeway, and so close we ended up eating at the restaurant twice. Slots are side-by-side with marked walkways between. South slots are shaded, and trees surround park on all sides. Multiple access points to river. Close to Rocky Mountain National Park entrance. We are definitely going back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$46
First thing about all RV parks in Estes Park: they are dusty and this one is too. But it is a very nice park. The sites are reasonable in size and they WiFi really works and is free. Cable TV is $4 a night. There is a nice pond where you can fish for $7 a day and can keep three fish. For fee fishing that is pretty good. Saw a lot of trout caught. There are lots of things for families to do here during season. People in the office were very nice and did all they could to make my stay enjoyable. The campground has a good location. Near a store and free shuttle to town. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
The park itself was nice. Very level sites, acceptable space between campers compared to other places we have stayed, Wi-Fi worked well. Customer service was non-existent. We had problems finding the place and nobody EVER answers the phone. My husband went to get fishing permits for their private lake and the lady in the office was beyond rude. I will consider other places next visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Way too expensive for what we experienced: water and 15a electrical. Sites are slideout to slideout, jam packed to get the maximize numbers possible. The restrooms and showers were ultra clean. We would not pick this spot again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$52
Spruce Lake RV Park is a good news bad news story. The goods news is it is conveniently located to the Rocky Mountain National Park. The bad news is it is an old facility and sometimes over-crowded. The interior roads are not paved and most of the sites have little or no grass. Multiple cars are allowed at the sites, barking dogs can be a problem and trash dumpsters are often over-filled and located in the middle of the park in plain site, the smell can be offensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$62
The place was nice and staff was very friendly. Too many rules with pets. I felt like we couldn't walk our dog anywhere. The hot tub was very dirty, had algae growing in it. The pool was nice. The stocked fishing pond didn't have many fish in it. It is stocked every 2 weeks and we were there a week and a half after they stocked it. They probably should stock it more often in season. No fires were allowed but that was because of city code. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
At first we had trouble adjusting to the back in spots with gravel pads and the short turning radius in order to back in. We did note that many other campgrounds in this area had very narrow campsites so Spruce Lake did have room for your vehicle and a table area. The amenities are nice including washeteria. The staff wasn't real friendly but I think there is so much paperwork involved that they lose site of public relations which should supersede the paper. Pictures on website show non typical sites. In fact, only about 6 sites have trees. However, the kids loved the miniature golf, the ice cream social (staff was very nice and helpful at this event) and the pool. Close to RMNP and town and river. We did have elk in our campsite one evening so one does get the flavor of the area. We had a discount and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$53
I have mixed reviews about this campground. First, the positives: The staff is abundant, helpful, and customer oriented. The people staying in the campground are also quite friendly and seem respectful to those around them. The location is right on the Big Thomson River which is nice to walk along during an evening stroll, but there are not river side camping sites. There is a lot of family activities ranging from fishing in the pond to a small playground and a swimming pool. Now, the negatives: The sights are jammed in together. Every location was tight. The only spaces that looked like you had breathing room were the three that sit at the back of the campground near the trees. The sites are not level and all dirt/grass/gravel. If you are interested in some personal space, this is not the campground to go to. During the time we were there, we witnessed three significant errors made with reservations or customers placed in the wrong campsites (including coming back and finding someone in ours). The staff made it right every time, but it certainly didn't inspire much confidence in the accuracy of their reservations system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Very nice park located just outside the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. We stayed here for 2 nights. All sites are back in, but we were lucky enough to have an empty site behind us, so it became a pull through. WiFi service was fair but dropped the connection often. Cell phone service ranged from very poor to non existant. We have Verizon service and did better than most with other services. Wonderful location and very scenic. Lots to do in and around the park, but we came to see the national park. All interior roads and sites are gravel. We were happy here and would gleefully stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
The facility was as expected; clean, close to town, lots to do on site. The front desk staff was a little rough, and generally not hospitality oriented. Everything we needed was received with a attitude of a huge inconvenience. On the other end the maintenance staff was great. Very dog friendly. Great views and river frontage made it enjoyable. You can hear the river at night! Also, they let us have a 4 hour late check out at no extra charge!! A big negative is no true online reservations. You leave a online message, but they are slow to respond. Your best bet is to simply call and not leave voice mail, just keep calling until you get someone. In today's world, this is unacceptable for busy people. Internet access was free and good signal strength, but the cable TV was $2.50. I think the cable was a rip off. Also, not all the channels advertised were actually available, including HBO. Also, the sites are designed for minimal privacy as they are backed in pretty tight. They advertise them as extra wide, and they are. But the way they are arranged you back right up into the unit in the next row. Try and get an end cap if you want any type of privacy. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$43
A little short for a bigger rig, but had wide spaces. A great location by Rocky Mountain Park. Has friendly staff, and a well stocked fishing pond if that is what you want. It's close to Estes Park, too. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$51
Lovely campground in a beautiful setting and very close to Rocky Mountain National Park. Well maintained and a nice friendly feel. Sites very generous size with plenty of width, but no pull-throughs. RV's were parked alternately so you're not back to back, which was nice. Wi-Fi was very good from our site (12). Although expensive, it was well worth a visit and we would use again. Restrooms and showers were spotless. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$56
We have used this campground before. What used to be a decent campground has turned in to a rather run down mediocre campground. They price themselves as a Resort, but are really just another campground. There is antiquated 30 AMP service, with aluminum wiring, in 2/3 of the sites. 50 AMP is available only on limited sites, for $3.50 per night. Cable TV? $2.50 per night, Wi-Fi? only if you are lucky. Where there was once grass, there is now dry tinder which is worn down very badly. Staff? I never saw any one out doing anything to make things better in the campground, and office ladies were not at all pleasant. We would not waste my time going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This campground is like being in a sardine can, everyone is crammed together and there is a lot of dust. Very hard to back in to. 50 amps? Another $3.00 per day. Cable, another $1.50 per night. Big rig site? Very limited and in back row. Wi-Fi service? Only if you are lucky. Grass on sites? Only if you plant it and water it. Lake on facility is good for kids. I want peace and quiet. Would not stay here again. The office help were two crabby old ladies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
Great place to stay: right on the Big Thompson river. Nice swimming pool, and nice folks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
I was a little disappointed in the park because the sites were close together and we were parked near the pond, and the path towards the laundry and game room so there was a lot of traffic and noise around our site. The trash containers were always full or over flowing. My husband enjoyed getting to fish in the pond, even though he had to pay $7.50 a day but got to keep 3 of the trout. It was nice to be able to hear the river close by. I would stay there again but in a different location if possible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
Overall, a decent campground. It was our second time staying there. We stayed in early May, avoiding the busy time. Had some luck fishing in their pond, so that was fun. The biggest gripe is that they want to charge $2.50 each day for TV! We spent family time instead. It was nice. We'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
This campground used to be a very nice place to spend a month or two, but has priced themselves so high, it is now nearly prohibitive. 50 amps? Another $3.00 per day. Cable, another $1.50 per night. Big rig site? Very limited and in back row. Wi-Fi service? Only if you are lucky. Grass on sites? Only if you plant it and water it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
$50 ouch! Pond, pool, spa, wifi,cable and the Rocky Mountains. Had 22 elk in the campground, nice treat. Easy access to area, via free shuttle into park and into town. Camping atmosphere was great. People very friendly and great to visit with. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$41
I've come to realize that grass is a sparse commodity in the Rocky Mountain area, so learn to live with that fact that you will park in gravel/dirt. The management here was very pleasant and did not charge me for the missed first night due to car trouble. The spots are all back in but very wide. I could park the trailer, have room for a picnic table, and park the tow vehicle nest to that with comfortable space in between. Deer wander thru and it was quiet. Looking at the other campgrounds, I'll come back to this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
All sites are back-ins and are dirt/weeds. Access roads are dirt. Sites are large but feel small because of the odd arrangement of the park. It is a giant parking lot interspersed with a trout pond and a few buildings. Staff generally friendly and helpful, but don't even think of using the swimming pool if there is a cloud anywhere in the sky. Risk of lightning. Park is off the road and quiet. Appears better than most alternatives in Estes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Campground is close to Rocky Mountain National Park entrance, only about 3 miles away. It has a fishing pond and fair size playground also a miniature golf course. The laundry facilities are well kept and nice. Some of the sites are on the small side and quite crowded, the WIFI is free but very spotty and slow. We felt the park is overpriced for what it offered, $5.00 charge for each of our grandchildren per day and a $1.00 a day charge for our dog. After making reservations two months in advance we were put in a site adjacent to the power and phone boxes where our triple slide 38 foot Motorhome barley fit and left almost no room for our toad. If you camp here don't let them stick you in site 56 unless you have a small class C and are not pulling a toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$39
This is one of the better parks in the Estes Park area. It is clean, quiet with gravel roads thgroughout the park. The sites aren't really deep but they are wide. Very friendly people run this RV Park. Excellent free wifi service. Satellite window best for sites closest to the river. Fishing and miniature golf for the kids is available in this RV park. It is sort of tacky to have a daily charge for cable and for dogs given the $39 off season rate. I would likely stay here again, mainly because of the wide sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
This was an average park in a great location. The sites were kind of short for larger rigs but fairly level. The National Park was just up the road and downtown Estes Park was just a short drive. The lake is more like a small pond that they stock with trout and you can catch 3 fish a day for $7.50. The river runs right alongside the campground and you can fish in that. If you like elk they are nightly visitors to the point of being annoying. We would probably stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
Easy access for large rigs with level sites. Sites are dirt which is a problem when it rains. Good view from most sites. Good cable TV at $2.00 per day but WiFi is included in site fee. Staff could work on being a little more friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$33
Best campground in Estes Park. Nice size spots, playground, pool and campstore. WiFi is slow. No campfires allowed, but they provide a large fire everynight. Very close to entrance into Rocky Mountain National Park and close to town. Campground is next to the Big Thompson River for fishing. Lots to do in the area. Will be staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$41
This park is situated in Estes Park, a very touristy mountain town. The area is loaded with all kinds of activities, accommodations, specialty and tourist shops. There is a small, full-service grocery right next to the park and a large chain supermarket at the other end of town. The next nearest shopping (aside from Estes Park itself) is a tough 25 mile drive up and over the canyon to Loveland. There you’ll find a huge outlet mall, Walmart Supercenter & Sam’s, along with every other major store you can think of. Go 20 miles or so in the other direction the other way over more mountains and curves to Longmont - to another Walmart Supercenter. The park is a great place to headquarter for a visit to Rocky Mountain Park. The park is surrounded by thickly-forested beautiful trees, it sits along the banks of the Big Thompson River – swift and quite lovely. The park shares one of its other boundaries with another nice-looking RV park (the Manor). Nice greenery and mature trees surround the entrance and the lake. (The term “lake” is a bit of an overstatement, it’s not very big – it’s more like a large pond or a puddle on steroids, if you will. Fishing is permitted (no license) at the hefty fee of $7.50 a day or $20 for 3 days. You must keep any fish you catch – (no throw backs). The roads and the RV pads are dirt (maybe some crushed gravel), and each rig site has a wide lawn expanse and some intermittent young trees. Things are a bit dusty when folks drive by or the wind blows. The sites are incredibly wide, a good 30’ to 40’ - if you could drive into them from the side, you could park crosswise! The sites are also amply long – plenty of room for our 37’ fiver and F-350 dually. All of the sites are back-in, backing up adjacent to the next row of back-in sites. Fortunately, the sites are staggered, checkerboard style, so the view out the back window is not the other guy’s back window, just his toad or tow vehicle. Not too bad. Thanks to the width of the site, even full, this park doesn’t feel particularly crowded. [Not side-by-side hook-ups]. Terrific water pressure & good voltage. Garbage pick-up at the site. Pancake & Sausage breakfast on Saturday ($2.00 – extra sausage 25¢ each), ice cream social once or twice weekly and other planned activities. No instant-on phones and some dog breed restrictions. Free wi-fi but we couldn’t get a signal at our site (#46). Ala Carte pricing: cable - $3/day , 50 amp - $2/day and so forth. If we returned to the area, we might look around for another park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
Very poor Wi-Fi service; will not connect. Lack of 50 AMP electric service. Managers and assistant managers are not at all friendly; curt at times. Park has great potential, but not with current management. Needs a lot of improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
This RV park is very close to the entrance of Rocky Mtn. Natl. Park and has spectacular views. Our site was next to the banks of the Big Thompson River, which provided a soothing sound as we were drifting off to sleep. The downside of the campground is that RV's are packed in like sardines and there is no shade. The grounds were not particularly well-landscaped and were muddy due to rain. I would rather stay in a park campground with no hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
My wife and I went there for a first trip in our motorhome with our granddaughters and had a great time. There was a small fishing pond for the kids, playground and an ice cream social. We had a site next to the stream where there is trout fishing also. My next trip to estes park will be there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$36
Friendly staff, clean neat grounds. There computer reservation system needs improving, because many guest reserations were lost or given to others including mine. There are extra charges for, dogs, cable, more then 2 persons in party, fishing, and a few others which makes it expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
A little deceiving, lake is really a rather small pond! No campfires are allowed and sites are a little close. Kind of parking lot-ish! The up side is that the restrooms/laundry and pool were very nice, and there was a fairly good view of mountains and we had elk that walked right through the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$36
Very nice campground and friendly staff. We stay here any time we visit Estes Park. Nice wide sites. Nice playground for our little girl. Wonderful swimming pool and free mini-golf (needs some fix-up). No problem getting our 30' Fifth Wheel backed in with room for the slide out. Close to shopping and RMNP(and my favorite fly fishing store). All around great experience. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$31
All back-in gravel sites. Extra wide sites. Restrooms, showers, and laundry room very clean. Walking distance to groceries, gift shop, liquor store, and restaurant. Private lake on property. Modem hook up in office free for 15 min, $2.00 for each additional 15 min. Best all-round campground in Estes Park. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$25
This was a nice campground but it wasn't the best. It has a nice lake in the middle of the campground. Staff was very friendly and it appeared to be a well maintained campground We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$33
Back to back sites (if one vacant - can be pull thru) but easy access. Elev 7,000'; RMNP entry nearby. Mountain streams run through the park with 360 degree mountain views. Handled 40' 5th easily. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$20
Very nice RV park/campground, probably the nicest in Estes Park. Large sites are all back-ins but easy to get into. Park is located on a stream, has a small fishing pond. Clean restrooms, very friendly staff, well maintained grounds. Easy to get in/out of, close to all the major sites in Estes Park, including the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Nice views of the mountains of RMNP. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com