223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Talkeetna Camper Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (907) 733-2693
CGID5538

Talkeetna Camper Park

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   8   7   6   8   8   8   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Very friendly staff. Staff was able to suggest and secure several tours including; train, plane, and jet boats. Sites are a little tight. Lots of trees. I'd go out of my way to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
I have to give this place lower marks for deceptive advertising. They claim they are a full service park, but not sure what they mean by that. They are really no sewer sites(they have 4 sites) and they are the worst spots and usually taken don't expect to get one. They have no cable TV not a big deal but again what is "full service". Some slots are laid out a bit strange and make for some interesting maneuvering. The good points is the setting is nice, there are some trees, and you are really close to town for walking or biking (we never took our car the 5 days we stayed). Also, if you take the Alaska Hurricane Turn train (a must do!) you just walk out of your RV and on to the train platform. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
This is the only true RV park in Talkeetna and it fills up fast during 'the season'. The managers are very friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. The price given is for electric and water only. The showers are expensive ($4) but that price is for a complete private bathroom so you and spouse can shower together. The park is next to the RR tracks, but the last regularly scheduled train is at 5 PM, so the noise is not a sleeping problem. There is a good restaurant next door. The park is within an easy walk to all the attractions of Talkeetna including shopping. River trips and the airport for flight seeing. Great place to visit - we would stay here again if we make the drive to Alaska again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Very friendly and helpful staff. The park is really your only option in Talkeetna with hookups, but it is wedged in between the railroad tracks ( not many trains though and those that pass are the beautiful Alaska railroad cars) and the highway. It is also very close to the local airport so you get car, train, and aircraft noise. The spaces are close to each other. The park is close walking distance to the fun tourist town activities and shops. Despite the proximity issues, everyone was friendly, especially one, who went out of her way to ensure we were happy with our stay here. The restrooms and showers were very clean. Overall, our stay was nice for an overnight stop. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Cozy park, trees, right by the train station, but quiet in spite of that. Walk to town. Spotty Wi-Fi. Friendly staff, well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Nice shade trees make this gravel campground much more pleasant, and it is located a short walk from "downtown". The sites are level, if a bit on the small side. Electric and water hookups were convenient, but our site did not have sewer. WiFi was strong. The bathrooms were clean and spacious, but showers cost extra. There are laundry facilities here, but we didn't use them. The campground hosts were especially cheerful and helpful. A military discount helped bring the cost into a reasonable range. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
We spent one night here because we were taking a flight seeing trip over McKinley the next day. We did not have a reservation and got the last site available that would hold our 33' RV. The campground host was very friendly and worked with us to get us a place to stay. He even offered to let us park on the side of the campground the next day while we were flying, but it turned out to be easier to park over at the airport. The campground was clean, our site was level, and the hookups were all fine. There was a little noise from the airport and train station, but it didn't bother us. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
The positives: the management staff was outstanding! Friendly and helpful - they ordered a ride to the flight-seeing company for us, recommended eateries in Talkeetna, and were most pleasant to talk with (UK Nationals). Shower and restroom facilities were new, clean, neat, and well supplied; WiFi was fully functional; water pressure good, power stable (30A only); gravel sites reasonably level. The not-so-positives: yes, the rearmost row is <200' from the Alaska RR - half a dozen trains a day, and it wasn't at all noticeable to us (we were closest to the rail). We didn't experience the noise issues noted in a previous review. Don't know if any sites had sewer, but dump station was clean and properly equipped, even if it was just a little tight. And yes, you're nearly in your neighbor's lap, with regard to the slot-size, but our stay was quiet and relaxing (with the exception of the slaps and snaps of our mosquito zapper). We look at these short-term stays in cramped quarters as a welcome test of our abilities to stuff a 35x12' motor home into a 30x13' space. From our perspective, the only better place in town would be on the ramp at the airport, parked amongst the myriad glacier-landing airplanes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
RV park has lots of trees and is next to a railroad station. This did not make any difference to us. There was enough room for our 40' motor home. The showers/bathroom were clean, but it is time for them to be upgraded. We did not use the bath/showers but they had pay showers. It is very close to town and within walking distance. We would stay here again, if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
This is as bad as it gets. The surrounding area is as noisy as it gets & it never lets up 24 hours a day. We realized this shortly after arriving. We were stuck with the 1st night but were able to cancelled our 2nd night. The management didn't give us a hard time & refunded our money. The sites are tight & difficult for our 32' RV to get in & out of. But, what makes it bad was the busy train depot right next to the park. Cruse liners transport their passengers by train to this depot where waiting buses, with their diesel engines running constantly, transport their passengers to various locations in the state. It seemed never ending as one train after another, along with bus after bus, arrived. Nothing like being awoken at 2AM by an arriving train with its horn blowing & partying passengers! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
We had a great site and the park is right in town. We could walk to everything and hear and watch the trains. Good electric and water. Excellent Wi-Fi. But only 3 restrooms for whole park. Since they were private rooms and included the shower, the wait could be quite long. Showers leaked water onto floor so dirt on shoes made a mess. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Clean facility and friendly staff. Easy walking distance to town. Stayed two nights, and would have stayed longer if itinerary allowed. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We stayed here for 3 nights., Its a very nice park with friendly owner and staff. The advertise full hookups but they only have 5 sites that are, or I would have given them a higher rating. If you like trains, the summer depot is behind the park and you can take the Hurricane up and back or pick up the train from Anchorage to Fairbanks with a stop in Denali. Also short walk to town and airport if you want a scenic ride. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Very good CG for short term camping. Relatively level and clean. Easy 1/2 mile walk to town due to very crowded parking in town. Owners very accommodating and helpful in meeting the needs of their guests. Stoned sites with easy in and out access. Family friendly. Systems in good working order and very accessible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Pretty area in a neat little town. The park is located next to the railroad depot, but the train didn't come through that often. We had a pull-through without sewer, Wi-Fi was very iffy. You can easily walk to town, eating at the Roadhouse is a must. The town does get crowded midday before the train picks up individuals who are on cruise tours. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Requested full hook ups when I made the reservation, but didn't get it. They only have five sites with sewer hookups, and they don't guarantee you'll get one when you reserve. I'm not sure how they decide who gets one, but the sites with sewer connections look to me like smaller sites. Everything is pretty cramped, but fairly quiet. Wi-Fi works, but no TV. RR station is right behind the park and the trains, while infrequent, can come through any time of the day or night. Around midnight seems to be a regular run. Not much else to choose from in Talkeetna; but then there's not a whole lot of reasons to come to Talkeetna in the first place. Doubt I'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This was our second camping site in Alaska and our first wake-up to typical commercial "campgrounds" in AK: gravel parking lots. The setting for the park is lovely and is a lovely, short walk into Talkeetna, but NO care has been put into making the campsites attractive. The sites are jammed together (thankfully our driver of the 32 ft motorhome is a long experienced and skilled driver, or we would have had problems!). We would have loved to have an evening around a campfire, but there was no space and fires are not allowed. There was no fishing close by as some literature suggested. The have no internet. We found it disappointing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
A nice campground. We had a great space but others were crammed in. Good internet and we had no trains after 10 PM. Has very nice management. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Stayed here two nights. Our site had plenty of room, but others looked tight. Owners are very accommodating. Train depot is right behind RV park, but we only heard the train twice our first night and none the second night. 15-20 minute walk to town. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Very clean campground, the hosts are very down to earth and friendly. Within easy walking distance of the downtown area, trains and airport. Yes it is near the tracks but it was not a problem like some of the earlier posts claim. Trains do not come around that often, a little more on the weekends but still not a big deal. We RV'ed in Alaska for about two weeks and this place was one of my favorites if you are looking for convenience, neatness and a friendly staff We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
This nice, small campground is located very close to the Talkeetna airport and Talkeetna Air Taxi. Unfortunately, it is also very close to the train tracks and a railroad crossing, and trains run all hours of the day and night with loud whistles. Our pull-through space was easy to get in and out, and we were located close enough to the office to have a great Wi-Fi connection. The nightly rate is reasonable, but you must also pay $3 for a seven-minute shower, which can get pricey quickly. Unfortunately, if you want to get a shower, you must also purchase tokens when you check in. We camped here at the end of the season, and the staff was not always present in the office, so they were not always available to purchase shower tokens or to handle questions at check-in. There were only two washers and two dryers, since it is a small park, but they were very nice and in great repair. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
There are only 5 sites in this park that have sewer but there is a dump station. We'd made our reservation more than 6 months before arriving and did get a site with sewer but they will not guarantee that you will get one even by reserving early. On one side of us there was only about 5 feet between us and the next RV and on the other there were some trees but not much more room with slides out. It was easy to get in and out of the site with our 33 foot 5th wheel. WiFi worked well at our site. The main negative about this park is its location just feet from the Talkeetna Spur Highway on one side the the Alaska Railroad on the other side. While we were there we heard 4 trains during the day and the earliest one was at 5:30 am. The highway has very little traffic on it during the late evening and night. The small town, which was crowded with tourists and has limited parking, is about a half a mile walk and consists mainly of shops and places to eat. We would stay here again if we wanted to fish with Mahay's or take one of their Jet boat trips. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
This was a great little campground very close to Talkeetna - definitely within walking distance for many people - and also within walking distance to the Talkeetna Air Taxi service if you choose to use them for a tour of Mt. McKinley. We had a site that backed up to the railroad tracks but didn't find that to be a distraction at all - there are only a couple of trains a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
Nice park, close sites. Convenient location. Clean campground. Well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
This is an OK campground. We stayed there in a 5th wheel for two nights. The Talkeetna train station is right behind the campground and it was noisy when the trains arrived and departed. Plus the freight trains during the night hours. The sites are rock based. The pull through were large but there weren't many of them. We had a 34 foot RV. It was close to the down town area so we could walk there and back less than a 1/2 mile each way. In my opinion there wasn't much in the town and I probably wouldn't stop there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Friendly staff. Clean & Private showers ($3/7min). Rear of campground accesses Alaska railroad line and is short walk (100 yds) to depot. Some noise from 4-wheelers as this is a popular area for their use. Train noise was not too bad, but train whistle is used as freight trains pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Park clean and well maintianed. Owner very pleasant. Showers clean and private, $3 for seven minutes. Within walking distance of town. Restaurant next door to park. Next to train depot, but not too much disturbance from trains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
Small park near interesting small town, 14 miles off the main road. In pull through site with full hookups right in entrance. Sites with water and electric only available inside park with more ambiance.They have Wi-Fi. Friendly and helpful staff. We would return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
A nice cozy park in the woods close to downtown Talkeetna. While we had to pay extra for showers ($3 for one 7-minute token), the park was very reasonably priced and had very clean and well-maintained amenities. The Alaskan railroad runs close to the park, but trains were infrequent and did not run at inconvenient hours (e.g., 4 a.m.) while we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Overall this is a good place to stay while in Talkeetna. The bad part is the fact that many sites are very close together, parked at odd angles. However, the office people are nice, and the park is within walking distance of town right next to the train station. It is cool to see the train let off and load-up cruise ship passengers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We enjoyed our stay at this park. The people who work here were friendly and helpful. They do put a number of campers in a small space, but no worse than any other campground in Alaska. The campground is in walking distance of town. They have only a few full hook-ups, but provide a portable grey water tank if you need to dump, so you do not have to unhook to do so. We found that very convenient. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Our site was a pull through, and the staff worked with us when we were too long for the site first assigned to us. The rest of the sites looked really tight and at all different angles. It was really tight when we were leaving. We did see a black bear near by while we were walking our dog. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
I thought the location was handy. Staff was nice, but never have I had so many people cut through my site as I did here. Sites are tight and at all sort of angles so as to get as many RVs in as possible. Looks new and is probably the only big rig place in town. There was a lot of activity going on. Train station is behind with tour buses. It was quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
Very nice campground overall. The sites are spacious and the trees provide plenty of shade, but do not interfere with slide-outs. Only a few sites have full hook-ups. Only complaint was the trains in the middle of the night, but that's a fact of life in Talkeetna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Best in town. Convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
This is the only full-service campground in town and is located within walking distance. Sites were level, longer sites cost more. Free Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com