206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Monument RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 73 user reviews. Phone: (970) 858-4405
CGID554

Monument RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   6   4   2   8   5   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Rate shown is with Good Sam discount. Paved park roads and gravel sites. Our site was a level, good gravel back-in with a picnic table and a large shade tree. Most of the shade trees are located in the back-in sites. Most of the pull-throughs looked open. All utilities worked fine. Excellent cable TV. Wi-Fi good enough for e-mail and browsing (occasionally slow) as internet via satellite from Tengo. We were given a free 7 day subscription for an overnight stay. I would stay here again if a shady site was available as it does get hot in this part of Colorado. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This is a clean park with some traffic and train noise. Sites are large, level gravel. Some sites have trees, and shade. Roads are wide asphalt in very good condition. Staff is friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi is Tengo - free for the first 14 days. The signal is strong; downloads can get over 400 KB/s, but are usually much slower, and often hang. Verizon data service usually works well. Laundry: >6 top-loaders ($1.50), >5 dryers ($1.25). Checks are not accepted. Rate is total with Good Sam and tax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
The first thing that comes to my mind about this clean, well maintained RV park is "keep movin' folks, there's nothing to see here". Not that the area isn't stunning, centrally located to many outdoor activities and well worth hiking, biking and exploring, its just the park itself is simply a fenced parking lot with super tight, level spaces on pea gravel. The laundry room and bathrooms are very clean and the Wi-Fi signal is adequate. The location is near the I-70 and literally across the street from the James M . Robb CO State Park-Fruita Section that offers nice walking and fishing opportunities. There is also good Mexican and Chinese food in the area and you can walk out the back gate of the Monument RV Park and go to lunch or dinner. Up the road, you can take Kings View Dr. to a great off-leash area where the dogs can swim in the lake and hike the beautiful hills. Monument RV park is not dog friendly, although there is a tiny gravel dog run. The staff is OK, but you get the feeling like you are being patrolled by an angry school principal who smiles, but packs a bit of nasty side. This park is a good overnight stay if you can't get into one of the fantastic, local state parks, or, if you need a RV park for monthly use or RV storage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
Well maintained and quiet park. Staff was very courteous. Long pull-thru sites, all gravel with paved streets. Convenient location to Colorado National Monument and shopping in Grand Junction. Would definitely stay again and longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
The rest rooms and showers were clean but few in number. The sites were very close together; lots of big rigs, no shade. They advertise as being pet friendly but definitely are not! The only area dogs are allowed in is an 8'X10', gravel "pet run." No grass anywhere. WiFi worked but instructions to get on internet are obscure, CATV was okay. Since there was practically nowhere to walk our dog, I'm glad we only stayed one night and won't be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Stopped here on way through Colorado for one night. Convenient locations. Facilities are OK. Pool is small and water was a bit green. Play set was nice. All gravel and asphalt, no grass or trees near pull throughs. Pull throughs were level. Restrooms and showers were close to us and clean. We were not treated well, and I am not sure this is a child friendly park. The office was open until 6PM. We went to buy some souvenirs and got to office at 5:52. They turned the OPEN sign off as we walked up, and rudely dismissed my wife and 4 kids and would not allow them in to buy anything. Manager came by our spot later to apologize, but did nothing to help. We will not ever stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This park is a hidden gem! Close to most everything, including state park, etc. People are helpful and friendly. Sites, albeit close, are level with fresh gravel. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
The sites were long pull throughs but close together. We could not extend our awning if the next site was occupied. The pool and hot tub were not usable. The WiFi was too slow to bother with. We were warned by park personnel to use the pet enclosure twice when we were just exercising our dog. There are "no pet" signs everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Nice clean park. The check in was great and the ladies informative. The Wi-Fi was too slow to fool with and I was almost next to the office. There are paved roads, but the sites are gravel. We had a long pull-through site so we did not have to disconnect. I would stay here again if need to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We pulled into this park after hours after a long drive. The after-hours sheet was easy. The space we were in used to have shade trees but all that were left were stumps. The dog-walking area appeared to be narrow grassy area behind our RV which meant every time someone came to walk their dog, our dogs went nuts. The biggest disappointment was when the kids went to the pool and found what looked like an experiment for making bio-diesel. Both the hot tub and pool were green with algae and leaves. A sign stated that they were closed for the season. If you don't have pets and don't plan on using the pool, this RV park very close to the Colorado Monument entrance. The Starvin Arvin is just up the road with good chow and nice folks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Not Dog friendly. Was yelled at by park officicals for letting dog on another lot close with sparce grass. Dog park nothing but a 12 by 15 gravel ground for you to let them do their business. Laundry room defers any dog bedding cleaning. Otherwise if you are traveling without dogs: gravel, clean, not always friendly but doable. Pool was unavailable on June 7th? Have clean showers, laundry. Staff slow but friendly when arriving. For the price: I hoped for more. The state park across the road provided grass for our walk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
No view of Colorado River as stated. You can see the top of the national monument but this is over a solid fence. No grass at any sites, all gravel/stone which may be OK if you don't have a dog but it is dusty. Dog run is all gravel/stones and small (my dogs won't use this). Only good grass has lots of "no dog" signs. There is a bit of grass but not much by a fence area. Table at site is not usable (splintering wood, not maintained). Office lady was very nice but man who was suppose to help us park was rude and did not appear to know the correct parking arrangements. The pool and hot tub covered and not usable but rates not reduced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Easy access location, 1/4 mile off I-70. Right next to a few gas stations, fast food, and Mexican Restaurant. Sites are gravel, close together, fairly level, and long enough not to have to unhook. Interior roads are paved and wide. The laundry and restrooms were well maintained. The office woman was a little grumpy. Their WiFi, Tengo Internet, worked fine. We had a water/electric site, where there was no Cable TV. Cable TV only available in full hookup sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
We've stayed here every time we've passed through the I-70 corridor. It is great when it is uncrowded, but when it is nearly full, it is not. Side by side hookups make for narrow sites and lack of privacy. Nice and helpful staff, and plenty of shopping for basics within a half mile. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
We stayed here for 1 week and loved the location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The sites are gravel and level with picnic tables for each site. They are also extra long so you don't need to unhook your tow vehicle. Showers are tiled, clean and spacious. We come through here every year and will definitely stay at this resort again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Level, long gravel pull throughs. Thankfully they no longer use the side by side hookups so the sites are also wide. The park is very quiet. A short walk will take you to fast food and a Mexican restaurant. The showers are tiled and clean. There is a small enclosed dog run and clean-up bags are provided. We would stay here again unless there was room across that street at the State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34?
We loved this park. The staff are such great representatives for the owners. This park is in a great location, quiet, clean and everything is kept in working order. We signed in for 2 days and stayed a week! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Very clean park. Gravel, level sites with paved roads. Very small pool but very clean looking. No grass at sites. Would probably have stayed across the street except kids wanted a pool. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Very friendly staff, we stayed here with family members utilizing cabins also. Pool small, hot tub smaller and hours are short. Very clean with nice laundry areas. Beautiful views of the mountains, lots to do in the area. There are some long term residents which have rules that all have to follow, but these are not stated clearly. We used 7 sites for up to 10 days, the staff was very helpful for any of our needs. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
If you like sun and gravel then this is the place for you. Sites were large but on gravel. Restrooms were clean and the laundry was clean. OK for a one night stand; easy access to interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Long sites for big rigs with 50 amp, full hook-ups, cable, Wi-Fi for a fee after 24 hours. Clean, friendly staff upon check-in. Pretty quiet park with easy access to 1-70, dining, fuel, etc. The park is mostly long term, worker-type, with a couple of streets in the middle for short term campers. Sites were a little too close together for us, but room for slides. We would recommend this park for a night or two, we would stay again while passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
Normally, I would give this park a 10 for the cleanliness and location. This was the cleanest RV Park I’ve ever stayed at. The only problem I had with it was a hot tub that my daughter who was one month shy of her 16th Birthday was not allowed to use. Sorry, but I saw no reason for this and we stayed at other places with hot tubs just like the one at this park and even my 7 year old had no problem. This was not an understandable rule to me. So in an overall review, If I’m traveling that way again and have kids 15 and under I will not stay here. If I’m alone or with kids 16 and over then I will stay here. That is also my recommendation for any other people traveling in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This is a nice park. Very convenient to the interstate, but you do not get any noise from the road. It is within walking distance of several places to eat and directly across from a state park and the Colorado River. The restrooms were clean and modern and the laundry was clean. Had good Verizon strength. The 24 hour free WiFi worked well, but as others have said, never saw a place give you free WiFi for 24 hours and then charge. The roads are paved and the sites are gravel: a bit close on one side, but not bad. You can wash your rig for a $10 fee. The pool and hot tub were closed for the season, even though it was 90 degrees! One of the reasons I picked the park was the pool. No reduction in price. I thought the price was a bit high since the pool and hot tub were closed. Be sure and check out the fruit stand up the street, great peaches! Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Easy access from freeway, but not too close for noise. Sites had good access and room for slides. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) were good. Campground was clean and the staff was friendly. We would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Nice clean park with long level sites and well placed hookups. Decent cable TV. Clean showers. Had made reservations for 2 days but got word of death in family right before we got here. Lady was nice about letting me cancel second night so I could leave next morning. Good Verizon signal. We will probably try here again when we can stay and not have other things on our minds and give a better evaluation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
I thought this was a nice well-kept campground. We were only here one night, so weren't bothered by the issue of only 24 hours of free WiFi use, but I must say this is the first time I've ever seen that kind of limitation. Side by side hookups and not much room at your site on the outside, but wasn't a problem. Very clean campground. Store in the office. Nice staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
They only provide one free Wi-Fi coupon per rig, even if you have more than one computer. The woman who checked us in offended us by stating her political views which are quite critical of the current administration. Actually, "quite critical" is an understatement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
Great location for touring Colorado National Monument and Dinosaur Discovery Center. Easy access off I-70. This is a nice clean park close to restaurants and gas stations. It was over 100 degrees during our stay so we especially appreciated the small pool and spa. Spaces are gravel with a table in the usual close, side by side layout of many parks with only a few trees scattered around the park for shade. A little bit of grass between spaces would have been nice. Free wireless was for only 24hrs after which you must sign up and pay for service ($5) and was very sporadic. Management was very friendly. Even though the amenities were very basic we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This is a convenient campground right off I-70 and easy in and out. Several fast food stores within walking distance. OK for 1-3 nights, but I wouldn't recommend it for long stays. The dog run is very nasty and has probably never been sanitized. I hated taking my dog there and then back into the RV. One pleasant discovery for walking your dog is a state park trail directly across the street. I took several walks by myself also. This discovery made our stay more pleasant. The cable TV was good, but the "free WI FI" turned out to be for the first 24 hours, then you need to pay. We would stay here again but never more than 1 or 2 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Used this as a stop over. Just a gravel parking lot with no shade. Temperature was pretty hot outside. They did get us checked in very quickly. Easy in and easy out. Not sure if I would stay again. If I did it would only be for a stop over. Hopefully I have the fee correct. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Nice park. Good layout, level sites. Quiet, friendly. Good Mandarin restaurant in walking distance, also Taco Bell. Many other attractions in the area for sight-seeing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Very rude lady working at the park. We just got out of the R.V. after a long drive, a dog barked at our 2 Beagles and our dogs barked back once, and she said we won't have barking dogs here. We moved to a different site. Don't stay here if you have dogs. This place in over-rated, only hot gravel to walk you dogs on. A real nice State Park across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
Very clean and well kept park. Bathrooms, showers and laundry were very clean. Has nice big, level gravel sites with scattered trees. ATT and Verizon service was very good. Pool and spa were not yet open. Why don't these parks keep the hot tub open in the WINTER when you really want it?? Park staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
Park is very clean and has a view of the mountains. Restrooms/showers were spotless. Check in was easy and efficient. We camped here for one night. We don't know why it is so highly rated by Woodalls. It's basically a gravel parking spot, and we would not recommend for anything but overnight. Very few trees and/or grass and what grass they have they do not allow dogs on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
We camp here about 4 times per year as a first/last night on our trip. We've reviewed Monument several times. Many long-term residents working in the energy business. Staff was helpful. Easy in easy out. Wide level gravel sites. We had a shear bolt break on one of our slides. Called the guy that advertises on their check in sheet and he got us back on the road the next morning with only a short delay. Strong Internet signal. Don't like paying for it but oh well. No major complaints. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Stay well away! Office was locked, and no one was around when we arrived at 7:05 p.m. Standard paperwork permitted check-in, but bathrooms/showers were locked tight. Wireless internet, free at the previous 10 places we'd stayed, cost $4.95 for 24 hours. Office opened at 8 a.m., and surly clerk shrugged at our complaints, saying bathhouse had to be locked against vagrants. Asked what the $35 charge had bought us, she smirked, "A place to park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We chose this park because of its proximity to the Colorado National Monument. It has paved roads and gravel sites. There are a few trees but overall it looks like a desert campground. The campground was quiet and well kept. The restrooms were clean and new. The pool was very small but we did not use it so it was immaterial to us. It is convenient to the interstate and to Grand Junction. The cable offered several channels and I didn't mind paying for the internet (4.95/day or 14.95/week) because it was fast and reliable. If visiting the same area, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We stopped in here for just one night. We got there late and had to check ourselves in. The check in process was pretty simple. Everything we saw of this campground looked really good. The location is nice with a Colorado visitor center next door. The one drawback is that they offer internet access but it is not free. Good for an overnight stay We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
This park is just fine for a stop to see the Colorado Monument or Grand Junction. There are many permanent residents. The big rig pull-thru sites are long enough for our 45 foot bus and car trailer and wide enough for the SUV next to the trailer but that's all. The sites are all gravel with no grass between and are close together. Laundry was poor but there is a good commercial laundromat in GJ. WiFi is Tengo. Both Verizon and AT&T air cards worked well. Satellite was fine although an adjacent coach with a dome appeared to be blocked by a tree - they had no service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This immaculate park with all the bells and whistles is delightful. Staff helpful. Sites level. Near the CO National Monument, a oft-overlooked gem. We would definitely recommend it without reservations. We camped in a travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
We, too, were somewhat reluctant about this park because of earlier negative comments, but found them to be either not representative of current conditions or overstated. We found the office staff to be friendly and helpful, the "big rig" sites are among the largest we've seen and the services are all more than adequate. There are two laundries, both with more than average washers and dryers. We didn't see the "permanent" sites mentioned by others. That doesn't mean they aren't there, but we weren't bothered by them if they were near us. We had to leave two days early because of an emergency and they refunded to us one night's costs, which they did not have to do, but we appreciated. The only negative is that the sites are all gravel, with no grass in between, and if, as it did when we were there, it rains heavily, they tend to puddle extensively. It is definitely a family park and we were there on a holiday weekend, so there were a large number of children, which some people might find off-putting, but we weren't bothered. We would definitely come back here, despite the somewhat pricey rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
This is a very clean and quiet park with a separate section for big rigs with very long pull-thrus. The sites were quite level, all gravel, no trees and my only complaint was that they were a little close together. The water and sewer hookups were somewhat strange but not a problem. For those who want to visit the Colorado National Monument, it is a perfect stopping place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This is a delightful, well-manicured RV park with extremely long spaces (ours was 95 feet), wide paved streets, beautiful views, and everything you could want in an RV Park. Others have commented on pipeline workers who reside in the park and there are some but management insists that their sites be clean and neat, and they are. I would rate this park a 10 across the board except for two reasons: Their wi-fi service costs a ridiculous $5.00 daily, is through what is arguably the worst RV park internet provider in the county, TengoInternet. The service is very poor despite the extremely high price. The other drawback is the location of the water connection. It is below ground and you literally have to stand on your head to connect your hose. For these reasons I drop them from a 10 to an 8. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$33
Used this campground as first day out and last day out on this trip. Was surprised that there were vacancies in overnight spaces on both nights. Most of park is long term residents working in the energy boom. Helpful staff, easy in and out. Wifi worked fine. Nothing fancy but works for us. Sites are gravel and level. Don't have to disconnect toad. If I was staying for extended period of time, we would stay across the street in the state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
DO NOT stay here! The park itself was very well planned and beautiful. They have nice big log buildings, a pool, laundry facilities, dog runs and everything else that you would want in an RV park. The administration was an absolute terror to deal with. The ladies in the office were incredibly rude. They walk around the park every 10 minutes looking for someone to harass. You will get NO privacy staying here. We were told that we could not BBQ outside or just hang out outside of the RV. (Isn't that what RV-ing is all about?) The RV spots were really close together. Our slide out was literally 3 inches from another trailer and their slide-out was just as close to ours, almost as if we were interlocked. They claim to be pet friendly, but you are not allowed to have your pet outside for extended periods of time, even if you are outside with them. We travel full time and live in our RV and this was the WORST experience I have ever had! We paid upfront for 2 months and stayed less than a month. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2008
$50
Rude, Rude, Rude. These words say it all. I have never ever been treated so horrible in my life. This campground should be shut down or sold to nicer people. The park manager (don't know his name) was very loud and cursing rude. The red head behind the counter; Oh my Word! I will pray several times a day that God will save you. She thinks the only way is her way, and if you don't go and ask her permission you will be in for the most horrible ride of your life. Please stay somewhere else and save yourself a lot of pain. The showers and washer and dryers where filthy and made your clothes stink. I stayed here for three months, and it was like I was in HELL!! It should be named HELL ON EARTH because the Devil and his witches live there. I paid over $500.00 a month for this pain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$33
Difficult to rate because of the residents of park. Park itself is good. Gravel sites, good power, and workcamper was very nice. Problem is all the energy workers and lots of trucks and cars in the park make it somewhat difficult to get in and out. No management on site (only workcampers as far as I could tell) so security is questionable. I would stay across the street at state park. Price is about the same. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
This park is very ordinary with crowded sites, gravel, and lots of "permanent" energy workers with trashier rigs. Baths and showers were not very clean. We spent one night and left. The next day we found that our rear license plate had been stolen and when we called this park to tell them of the incident so they could beef up any security, they did not seem to care. We will not stay here again! There is a beautiful Colorado State Park directly across the street: we will stay there from now on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$34
Stayed here many times. Use it to make a stop at the vineyards for some Colorado wine or great fruit. Monument is like an old pair of shoes feels the same every time you stop. Close quarters, friendly staff, level sites, lots of year round residents due to energy boom. VERY fast Wi-Fi, easy in and out, nothing to get excited about. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
We stayed here over the 4th and the park filled up after about 7pm. Had great neighbors and it was late night. The website shows a lot of big trees, but they have had to cut a number of them down because of age and disease. It is a great place to stay to be able to see the dinosaur experience across the street and the various dino quarries. The Coronado National Monument is a great trip as is Montrose. We went into Grand Junction, and spent some time in the shops downtown. There is also a choice of three Brewpubs there, and we went to the Kannen Valley one. We would stay in this park again.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$34
Great place to stop for an overnight since it is close to I-70. Gas available near exit, and great Mexican restaurant a few doors from the campground. Nice views, friendly staff and easy in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Have camped here several times a year for about five years. Use it as a first night out or last night out. Have noticed this year that with the growing gas drilling economy about half of campground is long-term residents. But they are at the back of the campground. Clean, level, easy in/out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Very clean well laid out park but some what pricey for what they have. WiFi is $5.00 for one day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$44
Park was very clean and well maintained. 8 not a 10. Large pull-throughs. Very quiet park. Hot tub and very small pool. Children and WiFi were an extra charge. No grass in entire park. Paved interior roads but all sites were pea gravel. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
Plenty of shade trees. Park full. Staff friendly. Many older trailers-most keep clean surroundings. Acceptable distance between units, park at angle. Gravel and level. Wi-fi costs $4 per 24 hour period. Pool and spa look in good condition. We would stay here again. Right across street from state park. Easy access from highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
This is a nice park for a few days. They have about 30 large big rig pull thru sites where you can stay hooked up. They even give you a goodie bag. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
Very clean, quiet park. Stayed 2 days to see the area, would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
A bit expensive for what you get. Some sites have large nearby shade trees. $35 for full hookups less Good Sam discount. Don't arrive between 12 and 1 as the office will be closed and the telephone not answered. The center bathrooms/laundry was better looking than most people have in their homes (5*). At least half the sites are monthly residents with a few children. It was pretty quiet all the time we were there. WiFi is from TengoNet for extra $. Sometimes a stray WiFi signal would come through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$1
We tried to stay here, but it didn't happen. We had reserved a space with a deposit and when we got there, they had rented it to somebody else. They were very busy so maybe they thought we weren't going to show. Who knows? They wouldn't give us a reason and they were very rude. They refunded our deposit. We did notice that the park is hard to negotiate for bigger rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
We chose an electric/water only site because we were only going to be there 2 nights. That turned into 4 nights. But the restroom/shower area looked like it had just been re-finished. It was beautifully done with tile everywhere. Sites are large, reasonably level limestone base with a picnic table. Roads are paved and the place looks well kept. There seems to be a number of seasonals. But that is never and issue with us. Their sites were well kept too. The office staff was friendly. They have a few RV supplies and some snacks. They are close to the interstate but not close enough for noise to be a factor. It is easy on/off the interstate. James Robb State Park is right across the street. I think it's a better deal. We paid $26 electric/water. We could have had FHU for $25 in the state park. If you camp at the state park a site is about $20. But you must pay a $5/vehicle daily use fee unless you have an annual pass. But the sites are beautiful. Monument was ok. But if I were in the area again, I'd stay at James Robb State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$33
What has already been said plus one word. Noisy! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$34
The camp ground was very clean and well maintained. On some web sites and in books it is rated a 10, I do not feel this way because the site pads are gravel and uneven. Over all it is good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
Nice, well-maintained park. The management needs to go to "charm school" but the Workampers are GREAT. Pool and spa are very clean. Not much grass. Reason they charge $5.00 res. fee is because State Park (across street) charges $8.00 res. fee. Suggest you call and ask if they have space, if so don't make res. Big rig friendly sites and access. We camped with 40' MH, Jeep and 20' trailer all at site with plenty of room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
This campground was OK for a trip to the National Monument because it is so close, but parking width and such is a little tight in many of the spots. They were also having some electrical problems while we were there. Overall it was OK and I would stay there again if we were passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$32
The park is conveniently located a short distance from the Interstate and walking distance to the Colorado Visitors Center. Across the street is a beautiful Colorado State Park with camping facilities also. The park is very clean and neat. WIFI was available for an additional charge, but was down for long periods of time during our 4-week stay. The reservation, bookkeeping and site management system created long waits for registration even when reservations had been made. There appeared to be constant confusion with regard to which spaces were rented, which were open and their classification; daily, weekly, or monthly? The $5.00 reservation fee is not applied to your stay. Rates fluctuate based on area activities. To insure a positive stay, be thorough when making reservations ask lots of questions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
We stopped here for an overnighter on our way to Las Vegas. It was great to have use of a whirlpool after 29hrs of being on the road. Many RV parks do not have pools/whirlpools. Monument is squeeky clean and has a excellent shower building. They also have a great view of the Colorado National Monument and are across the street from the Colorado River State Park. The owner (I think he was) went out of his way to get our cable TV hooked up. Our site did not have the connector for some reason. He ran a splitter of the adjoining site for us. The draw backs were small sites (which for an overnighter we didn't care) and that the seasonals just sort of stared at us for the longest time while were setting up. Nothing like having the new neighbors welcome you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
I did not stay here but visited friends who were and I agree, the management needs some help in properly dealing with folks. I emailed my disappointment to them regarding the non use of supposedly anything by guests (my kids were kicked out of the pool when swimming with friends who were camping there) and to my surprise a quite nasty, presumptuous email came back. Not really worth my time dealing with this further just be forewarned that this may not be the place for you unless you like parking lots, hard nosed management, and a policy that keeps your guests on the outside looking in. We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
Very small sites. Unfriendly management. Guests not allowed to share pool with paying camper. Terrible small gravel tent sites right on top of each other. In this area you would be better off staying at one of the beautiful state parks. Definitely will not return here! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Nice owners, got there too late to use the goodies. Good location, no freeway noise. Good location to sightsee. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$25
This place was a nice place to stop over for couple nights. Rim Rock Canyon and Colorado river were next door. Staff was nice. No road noise. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$26
You have just got to see what the new owners have done with this park. We stayed here last year and swore we would never go back. It is absolutely unbelievable what they have done. Everything is brand new. The trees have been trimmed for 'big rigs'. They have completely remodeled the restrooms, tile from floor to ceiling. They are wonderful and clean. The new laundry has brand new machines and is sparkling clean. They have installed a pool and hot tub. They have workampers there that bend over backwards to help you enjoy your stay. This park is number one in our book. Oh, and they paved all of the roads along with putting in new landscaping. We will definitely be returning to this park time after time. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$27
This is a beautiful park and the new owners are giving it a "real" facelift. They are putting in a pool and hot tub and are paving the roads. The park is in a beautiful area and close to everything. They have a small store on the grounds and the little town has a nice large grocery store. They have very friendly workampers that are very helpful. A excellent park right off I-70 just at the base of the National Monument Park. We loved it here and will put it on our list of parks to return to. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com