206667 User submitted reviews online!!
Croft State Natural Area was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (864) 585-1283
CGID5548

Croft State Natural Area

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   9   5   8   2   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
We stayed here for 2 nights in the lakeside loop (there are 2 campgrounds). It appeared that all of the water and electrical services had been recently upgraded. Our site was fairly level with a view of the lake (about a 150 yard walk down to the lake). The park has an extensive trail system that is well marked. Many of the trails are used by hikers and horses so the trails can be pretty messy when the ground is soft after a rainstorm. There are also many bike trails as well. For fishing, there are about 10 flat-bottom boats that can be rented. They also rent canoes and kayaks. There is a large equestrian presence at the campground with an equestrian show ring, stables and large parking areas. The grounds are well kept and the bathrooms are clean and have good hot water supplies. As far as reception, the OTA TV received about 10 channels. The Verizon data reception was poor with 1 bar, and phone service was OK.The rangers and camp hosts were friendly and helpful. We'll be back in the fall to sample more trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$16
This park is only an hour from our home so several times we have driven here for a weekend getaway. I think it has a very nice view of the lake and, while the sites aren't huge, I can get our 34' in OK. There are more walking trails than I can get to with the dogs and, while I don't have a bike, there are plenty of paved private roads to ride on. There are two areas of the camp; one mainly for people who bring their horses and then the other 'Lake Loop' is more for RV'ers with a much better view. I would definitely recommend the park and hope to go there again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
Croft SNA is a good place to go and get away in the woods. It is nestled deep in the state natural area and although the roads were a bit tight, we had no issues bringing a 40 foot fifth wheel in and out. The lake is at the bottom of the campground, and the views of it are not so good from the sites, but walk down to the embankment and watch the sunrise. It's convenient to shopping, but again, off the beaten path. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
They said that they had never had motorhomes park at their facility before; we were the first. The staff and rangers were excellent. We were not sure if we could get into our site, and they were doing everything that they could to help us to find another one. We were able to back in without hardly any trouble and was very pleased. We were able to attend an English and Western horse show the weekend that we were there at the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
There are two campgrounds in this park. We reserved a site on line. However, when we arrived and tried to set up, we couldn't level our RV even with six inches of planks on one side. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Even though the park was crowded, they found us another site that we managed to use. We stayed there two nights and enjoyed the park. I guess a large rig could get in, but it would be VERY tight. The pads were dirt and gravel, mostly dirt. South Carolina should spend some money on leveling the pads in this and other parks. It wouldn't hurt the environment a bit, and would definitely help the RVers who support the state's facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$12
We camped here in a tent in the primitive camping area since the sites with hook-ups were all booked. I have to say that it was a wonderful experience. I am happy that we didn't stay on a regular site as it was super peaceful in the primitive area. I could have stayed a week. There was plenty of space on and between sites. It was just a short walk/bike ride to the comfort station. There was a lot of horse activity but this didn't bother us at all. We will definitely go back. The staff was helpful and the area was beautiful. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2008
$32
We pulled in to this park after a long day on the road. We have a 39 foot motorhome and could not get it level in the site. I lifted the rear wheels six inches off the ground and was still not level. This is an old KOA and is in a sad state of disrepair. We got our money back and drove a few miles to Pinecone Campground. I can't imagine how they expect to get $32 for these sites. The manager did not offer another site. It appeared to us that he didn't care if we were there or not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Unless your a horse lover, don't bother,management was rude, bring a lot of boards to level with We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$12
This is a nice, wooded State Park. There were a horse ring and trails for horseback riding. The lake was large and they had a boat ramp and boat rentals and fishing, but I didn't see a swimming area. Though we were waterfront, only the dog was willing to get it there (kind of mucky at shore). The sites are large, private and wooded, though somewhat unlevel. Biggest negative was that the lake loop of campsites had only 15 amp. power. On a very hot weekend we had to choose between lights and A/C. A/C won. The other loop, which is also nice and wooded, but not on the lake had 30 amp. Rangers were very nice and it was a pleasant place to camp. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com