219099 User submitted reviews online!!
Hanging Rock State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (336) 593-8480
CGID5574

Hanging Rock State Park

Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   8   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
First time here camping in our pop up. Stayed on site 19 which allowed plenty of room for our camper but backing in was a challenge. The drop off between the road and the campsite caused my rig to bottom out but we were able to finally get it in the site by very careful maneuvering. The bath house was fairly clean and there are doors on the shower stalls (mentioned in previous reviews that there were not). Beautiful park here with amazing trails and views. We will be back again. Did not see any travel trailers (would be a tight fit) and only about 3 pop ups. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
Very peaceful and relaxing. Lake beach nearby with various trails to waterfalls and lake with beach. Canoe rental. Diving platform in lake. Sandy bottom, clear water. Life guards on duty. Campfires permitted. Park gates lock at 9pm, so be aware that there is no getting out (or in) after 9pm until 7am the next morning. Keeps it quiet. Pull through sites are horseshoe shaped and limited. Road is paved and there is a camp host. Very nice area. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
We loved the hiking trails along with all the great waterfalls. The park itself is great and I would go back to the park multiple times. The campground is lacking water and electric which is a big turn off for me since I would like to take my 30 ft travel trailer. The restrooms / showers are very out-dated and showing their age. The showers don't have a changing room. Just a shower curtain that doesn't cover the stall opening. I personally don't care but the wife wouldn't quit "commenting" on it. I wish they would update the campground. If they did that, I would make it a regular trip each year with my travel trailer. The cabins are nice and has a full kitchen and air conditioning. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
I only gave this campground an 8 because the bath house doesn't have any shower curtains (no privacy), and there are no sites available with electric. That is a plus for some, I'm sure. Other than these couple of items, the campground is beautiful and there is lots of hiking to do. The sites are suited much more for tents, though there are some that work for pop-ups and smaller trailers/RVs. We will return, just not during summer months. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$15
Great place to swim and canoe with the family. Sites are basic like all other nc parks. Park has a nice lake to swim in with lifeguards. Trails with great views. Long walks from camp site to swim lake with small kids. Nice place to spend the day or more. great for teenagers! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
May be off on the rate...it is cheap and they give a Sr. Citizen discount. Camped in the "newer" or alternate section with a 36 ft Class A. There were only a few sites (less than 10) in both loops that would work for us. A lot of construction going on and making major improvements. Great place to relax and chill out. Although there is no direct water hook-up, we had enough hose to fill our tank at the site. Bring your tow vehicle or be prepared to walk. We hiked a lot. Trails are well maintained and well marked. Scenery is beautiful. Park Rangers were very helpful in letting us find a site for the MH. Will go back there again. You need to get there on Thursday during the summer season or early Friday AM as the sites fill up. Also, carry a prepaid phone card. Cell phones do not work here, but there are public phones available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
Great local State Park. Lots of trails, has swimming lake, waterfalls. The only water/elect sites are for camp host and their guest. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com