223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Firehole Canyon was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (435) 889-3000
CGID5578

Firehole Canyon

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   10   10   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$5
High rating for the wonderful views. The views make it worth the long trip into the park. Really good gravel pads. Sunrise and sunset are absolutely unbelievable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$9
As other reviews have noted, this place is a ways of the Interstate but the roads are paved and in good condition. It is a beautiful location and a great place to just enjoy the peace and quiet, or to do some fishing and hiking. All of the sites are back-ins and have covered ramadas with tables. Some are double except as signed you pay only a single fee for them. There are no hookups but water is available and there is a dump station. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. We will camp here again when in the area. The rate reflects our Golden Age discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
Interesting park to stay overnight. Need to drive 10 miles to get to park. Scenery is nice. Unfortunately, we had a camper who ran his generator for 2 hours and it ruined the peacefulness of the evening. Restrooms not very clean and garbage containers were full. No camping hosts to be seen. Probably would not stay again unless you like boon docking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Nice campground, host are very friendly. One of the cleanest restrooms/showers I've ever been in. 13 1/2 miles off of I-80 you turn and drive another 9 miles. Worth the drive. Use the website directions, not Google. Not all sites looked level, but the one we backed into was, once I backed up to the wheel chocks. Campground Hosts are replenishing the picnic tables, very nice, each has it's own shelter. Might be a little tight when two guest are staying side by side at each shelter. Ours was empty. RV Dump Station was very clean with running water. I did notice there was a "Grey" waste grate within about 30 ft of our site. Also water is available in a few places but you'll need a water bandit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$8
All things considered this campground rates a 10. Fifty miles from nowhere. Self service check-in. Water located within 100 ft of site. Grey water dump within 100 ft. No phone or TV service. Paved wide sites. Most were level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$16
This is a nice alternative to the miserable camping ghettos available along I-80. It is about 10 miles South of I-80 on Hwy 191 and then 5 miles West on a poorly signed, but paved road in Firehole Canyon. Sites are oddly arranged - two camping units share a wide driveway and combined ramadas (just about the only shade in the area). It's not bad when the CG is not busy but would be very cozy when full. No hookups, but a dump station and potable water are available. Restrooms have flush toilets and there are hot showers as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$15
Feel like this is (or was) the best kept secret in SW Wyoming. Secluded, scenic desert hill campground south of Rock Springs off hwy 191 where you can actually hear the sounds of jumping fish and wild coyotes. Excellent roads, shaded tables, swimming beach, boaters' paradise, tremendous scenery! We beat the heat by arriving at dinnertime making it the perfect overnighter, and were in our sleeping bags that evening (desert cool temperatures). Only drawbacks were needing a generator if you require electric (not in our case) and park sorely needing a trash pickup as we arrived after the weekend. We reserved online, but you'll have to work a little to find the website for Ashley Forest Firehole Canyon as I didn't have it on hand when I posted. There may be a dump station but don't quote me on this, I would check first with the park rangers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com