218717 User submitted reviews online!!
Crooked Creek Recreation Area was rated 6 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (337) 599-2661
CGID5583

Crooked Creek Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
November 2010
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   9   6   9   3   7   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$24
This is a parish park, with lots of shade trees, playgrounds for the kids and paved sites on the lake. There is a nice boat launch with plentiful parking. They also have a "beach" area with parking. Some of the bath houses were in better shape than others (mosquito control was a big issue). There were no sewer hookups, no Wi-Fi and cell coverage is spotty at best. We stayed from a Sunday thru a Saturday. I would recommend a weekday stay. Once the early holiday weekend started, the golf carts started cruising with their stereos wide open. There were also many campers with their sound systems turned up. This usually ended by 10 pm each night. Since this is a parish park there is no one on site after 5 p.m. so there was no way to regulate the noise unless you called the Sheriff's Office. We rode our bikes a lot but had to be very cautious once all the golf carts came in because they were not watching out or slowing down for pedestrians and cyclists. We would stay here again but would do so on a weekday in order to cut down on all the noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
Nice place to stay with beautiful trees covering sites. The old section A is the nicest with lake views. Police used to patrol a lot to keep things quiet. Lately golf carts have been allowed and less patrolling by police and it gets out of hand. Police had to be called out all three days to quiet the drunks driving carts with trailers and loud music, well into the middle of the night. Very irritating. If things do not change we do not recommend unless you go during the weekday it is quiet then. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
We loved our stay here. We went along with a few friends and had a great time. At the time the park was almost completely empty, so we were able to choose the perfect spots we wanted, which were right on the lake. There are tons of shade trees, swings for the kids, a laundromat and showers, which were very clean. There are also cabins for rent, and some good fishing, too! The Staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming, which is very important, in our opinion. The only downside to this park is the fact that there were no sewer hookups, and we had to use the dump station, but that really wasn't a biggie. Otherwise, we would have given this park a perfect rating. We will definitely visit this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$14
This park is in the pines on the shores of a lake. There is a small beach and a boat ramp. The bathrooms were old and a little buggy, but there was hot water. The sites are paved with asphalt. Ours was a bit narrow but there were a lot of rigs much bigger than ours around, so they may vary in width. It does look like a popular party place, and we had to clean up our site (beer cans, cigarette butts, various detritus) before I felt comfortable sitting outside. It poured early the next morning and the amount of standing water indicated that it's really in a low-lying area, i.e., the dump station area was full of water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$14
Very nice park, in a country setting. Run by local parish government. Very full of locals on the weekends. Golf carts everywhere, but safe. Blacktop roads and paved sites. Nice distance between sites. Most are just water/electric, but there are a few sites that are not on the water that have full hookups. Multiple playgrounds. On a lake, with a boat launch. Great front office people. If you call by Wednesday on each week, you can reserve a site for the weekend. Pretty good ride from I49 on two lane highways. We have stayed here several times and we will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2008
$16
Lock your vehicles and protect your things. Items were stolen out of my truck and my neighbor's truck, the same weekend some teens lit a picnic table on fire. Children racing around on golf carts. No security. Beware. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$14
Nice little park. Inexpensive. Clean and neat. Nice helpful staff. RV sites were shaded and offered 30 and 50amp. They offer full hook ups including sewer on certain sites. Some gravel some paved. We had a paved site and it was nice and level. Cons- Far from the highway and roads leading to it are a bit tight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2006
$14
The rv sites do not have sewer hookup even though there is a dump site. The bath houses were not clean. The park offers primitive camping and rv sites. There is a boat dock for the lake. The lake water was muddy and had a lot of grass in it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com