223589 User submitted reviews online!!
Sand Hollow State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (435) 680-0715
CGID5594

Sand Hollow State Park

Camp Information
Sites
67
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   7   8   8   10   10   7   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$28
Great campground with full hookups. Internet and cell service is excellent. Not as sandy as we thought it would be, which is good because it was pretty windy when we were here. There isn't any shade, but the picnic tables are covered. Sites are paved as are the roads into the campground. Very close to Zion National Park. We would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
This is a beautiful state park, with a very nice full hookup campground, beautiful views all around, blue waters in the lake, nice beach area, restaurant by the beach, red rock areas all around, dirt bike and ATV trails. We were here April 27 & 28th 2014 not busy at this time but I bet it was this weekend since weather is nice. I bet this place is packed in the summer, would think a person would need reservations in summer. Blacktop sites and roads. Large sites, picnic tables under canopy, grill and fire rings. We were in a pull-through site We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
This is a well priced park for the area. Spaces are of good size. It is centrally located to visit the area but there is very little to do in the park unless you area a boater. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
Nice fairly level paved FHU sites with covered picnic tables. Lots of OHVs but they must be trailered in and out of the camping area so they weren't a problem for us non-OHVers. Nice lake and boat ramp. Campground is fairly close to Kolob Canyon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
This is a good state park with electric, water and sewage. It is just a large hill with very open spaces. Things look new. I would think it would be hot in the summer. October was nice. Verizon cell and mifi worked great. You could get local channels on TV and satellite worked well. We just showed up to an almost empty camping area with pull thrus and back ins with a covered picnic area at each site. We choose a back in just because it was cheapest. This park has a great place to ride your ATVs as well, but we did not do that. Zion is a good long drive away so if you want to go to the national park I would go on to either the first come first serve camping at zion, the watchman is there at the park or others in the area (there are a couple of private ones right there at zion 40ish per night). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
This was a beautiful state park. The sites are so spacious. The scenery was absolutely beautiful, especially as the sun is setting. I never saw such a stunning color display. They do lock the gates at night, it is very secure and quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Beautiful campground. Large spaces and not too close together. Beautiful lake to use. Will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
This is a very nice state park and fairly new. The sites in the Westside campground are huge and are all full hookups with 50 amp. There is another campground near the sand dune area that is mostly used by ATVers and we didn't see it. There is a lake and is in a pretty setting. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. It would be extremely hot in summer. Verizon cell and aircard worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Clean, large spaces with covered picnic table. Built in 2003, this park has solid 30/50 electric. Scenery is beautiful from any site. Good location to visit Zion and St. George. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
Great state park that is in a convenient location. It's not far to Zion National Park and its close to groceries, gas, and dining. The park has full hook ups, a picnic table under a shelter that includes a grill, and has a gorgeous lake. We rented an ATV in town and could like it to the sand dunes at the far end of the park. It was awesome. We rode to the beach and ate lunch on the beach. I loved the opportunities available here and would recommend it to anyone. The only drawback is a lack of trees, but the perks far outweigh this one shortfall. Great park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Check out the online pictures of your site. It is blacktop in the desert. In the summer it is HOT, HOT, HOT! We used it as a base camp to explore Zion. Since we were gone all day it was OK. If you are not here for the lake - there is nothing but blacktop and heat. Also they close at night - we almost got stuck forgetting to change to Mountain time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
We stayed here at Sand Hollow State Park over Halloween Weekend as a base camp for ATV riding. Awesome weather and beautiful scenery. An awesome place to stay if you are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
We used Sand Hollow as a base for visiting Zion which is approx 25 miles away. We stayed on the west side of the park away from the ATV crowd which uses the other side of the lake. The sites are all paved and have a little ramada with a picnic table and grill. The sites are level side to side but some of them have a back to front slope so bring some leveling blocks. Overall this is a great place. You're about 5 miles from a Wal-Mart and a Maverick gas station and Hurricane is a great little town with a lot of amenities. The lake has great bass fishing even from the bank. Note: the city is called Hurricane for a reason - it can get really windy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$31
We camped here because we checked ahead and found the Watchman campground at Zion National park was full. We used our toad to go to Zion. Because we were coming from the west, this saved us gas by not driving the rig another 30 miles into the park and back again. We found a clean and well maintained campground, with good access to Zion. Interior roads and sites are paved and each site has a covered picnic table on a cement pad. There is no shade here, but in March that didn’t matter. This was a great place to stay for a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$28
Awesome campground with really nice people running this place enjoyed the weather even tho a little cool but overall awesome place. We will for sure camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
This is a great state park. The scenery is beautiful. About half of the sites are pull throughs and they are the type that are a small loop off the road and sort of parallel with the road. They are plenty long enough for big rigs with their toads still attached. The weather is much more comfortable if you go later in the year than some of the other reviewers who complained about the heat. The only drawback that we could find is that there are not very many dumpsters around. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This is a top notch state campground. Great location to use as base for Zion, Bryce and North Rim Canyon. Sites are huge-maybe 1/8 acre. Views are spectacular. We camped here in the slow season-late Oct. Park was half full. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Great state CG. Large sites with lots of room between neighbors. Views form the top row are just great. The only drawback is lack of shade, except for the table shelters. It was HOT so had to stay in the RV. Would stay here again in cooler weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
We have to rate Sand Hollow a 10 as a campground. But, unless you love heat, don't come here in the summer. The heat is simply unbearable and unending. There is no shade and night brings no relief. We had 5 days of 99-103 degrees F with a strong wind. It is like living under a hair dryer on steroids. We would have left sooner, but hubby was sick for 2 days and we needed 3 days to visit Zion NP, which is only about 25 miles away, and the reason we picked Sand Hollow to stay in the first place. Yes, we read the other review about no shade, but that fails to convey the unmercifulness of the heat. We also saw a lot of trash and never saw any hosts at either of the host sites. No excuse since there were never more than 6 other campers while we were here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This park is in a beautiful setting with good facilities. That’s the good news. The bad news is that there’s litter everywhere. It’s a shame that the patrons don’t have any more respect for the land. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
Nice place. Don't come here if you are looking for shade. Nice large paved spots, with covered picnic tables. We were here in November, and here is a news flash: they named the town Hurricane for a very good reason. We stayed about a week and a half, and the wind was calm only a couple of days. Did I mention it was windy? You could not set anything anywhere outside without it blowing away. Before we left I actually took off two of my slide topper awnings, because they made so much noise in the wind. I tried putting bags of water on top, but they blew away. The other side of the lake was loaded with sand toys, but our side of the lake the noise was not bad at all. When you pick a space, make sure you get the ones on the right side of the roadway. All of the ones on the left put your door right on the road. I can't imagine what they were thinking when they designed the spaces. My guess is the engineer never saw an RV. Still it's a very nice facility, I'd go back again, but perhaps in a bit warmer weather. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
Great little state park. One of the rangers is a bit full of himself, but overall the staff was quite friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This is great state park! The sites are huge, the restrooms very clean, the staff very friendly. The camp sites are cleaned and neat. Back-in sites may be a better choice on the left side of the road as some of the pull-throughs put you door right on the road. We were in site 36 and loved it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Saw the posting for #23 and we got this one for the next two days. A really excellent place; the views are great from all sides. It is very hot at the moment so the 50amp is very welcome as I can run the air and catch up on the washing. A much better deal than the private campgrounds. All the sites are spacious and have covered tables, grill and fire pit. Also all the campground is fully paved! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
We stayed here 3 nights while visiting Zion NP and Cedar Breaks National Monument. Great state park with spacious sites; good distance between neighboring sites. Only about 1/4 sites being used; very new State Park. We made reservations 2 months beforehand and stayed in site #23 on top of the hill; great views of the reservoir and mountains. No natural shade, but picnic tables are covered. Nice fire pits. Showers have weak water pressure, but probably due to need to conserve water in desert. Swimmer's Itch was active in reservoir, but State Park provided plenty of info and advisories. No Wi-Fi in park, but very nice Hurricane branch library is easily accessible with free Wi-Fi in town (15 mins away). Wal-Mart 10 mins away for provisions. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This is a fairly new campground, and the sites are very spacious. The only problem is that there is no shade. The directions to the campground are not correct, but it was easy to find with signs on the highway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
The park is very well maintained and quiet. Spaces are very roomy. We had a motorhome with an 18' trailer, a pick-up truck with an 18' trailer and two jeeps in space 41, with room to spare. The "view" spaces on top of the hill are the first to go and they are spaced closer together. Using Google Earth will give you a very good idea of space location and size. The only negative is that they are raising a bumper crop of "goat head" type stickers through out the park that will make it difficult for pet walkers in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Wonderful State Park. Reasonable price with full hook-ups. Not too many people know of this yet. Boating, beach, ATV trails. Beautiful drive to Zion (30 miles). Large pull-throughs and back-ins. Reserve at Reserveamerica and pick your site. We had site #9 and it was huge. We are 40' MH with 4 slides and a tow dolley, and we didn't have to un-hook the dolley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
This is a nice State Park! Level sites with no shade. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Think this campground is only about 4 years old. My GPS couldn't even find it. Friendly check-in. Nicely laid out with good size back-ins and huge pull throughs. Sites 22-27 are high up with a 360 degree view. All 50 sites have a table with cover, BBQ and fire pit. OHV riding is allowed but only in an area away from the CG. There is a contiguous area of 16,000 acres of prime off-road riding. Boating, fishing, and relaxing make this a really nice place. Negatives are lack of any grass and it could be hot in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
This park has it all, except for grass and trees. The rocks and water are picturesque. Fishing, riding, boating, camping, hiking, swimming. Desert landscape with brush and dirt. Clean bathrooms, did not use showers. Must tow atvs to riding area. Lots of fun, will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$21
Great facility near St. George. Beautiful pull-through sites. It was really windy the day we arrived and there is no shelter/trees anywhere. The next day the wind calmed and it was beautiful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$21
We stayed here for 12 days in space #41. Great space. Lots of room with a great view. The only thing we had a problem with was not being able to ride our quad through the park to access the staging area for dune/trail riding. We had to rent a trailer in Hurricane. We were not aware that you could not ride from your camp spot directly to the dirt road leading to the OHV staging area. We will go back again as we both loved it there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$21
Very well designed park in a lovely desert setting in Utah's color country. Sites are widely spaced so that even if the park were full it would not feel crowded. This campground is new within the past two years and is a standout among state parks. The on-site sewer hookups are all operational now. Easy big rig access. Sites up on the hill have a chance for a lake view, depending on whether the site across from yours is occupied or not. The views of surrounding hills are nice, and some of the sunsets were terrific. We used this park as a base for day trips to Zion (about 30 miles) and the beautiful Snow Canyon State Park (about 20 miles). No trees anywhere in the park, which could be a drawback in hot weather. There are some fairly regular day-use people who fly radio-controlled model airplanes from the parking lot near the lake. The planes pass over the campground, creating wining noise for several hours most days. We didn't find it difficult to tune out. The OHV area is across the lake, so it's not a factor in noise. The entire park itself is set several miles back from I-15 and Utah-9. No trains, either. There are a new subdivision and golf course going in right next to the park, which will negatively impact traffic and night-time stargazing within the next year. The staff were friendly and helpful. We greatly enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
New, nice State Park. No site sewer, but dump station in park. Easy 20-minutes to Zion. Immaculate restroom/showers. No shade, we didn't fish but it must be good; other people and boats stayed out through an all-day rain. Beautiful red rocks backed by snow-capped mtns. No view of reservoir as campground is lower than reservoir. ATV site near, not right at campground. Covered tables with firepits, asphalt and fairly level sites. This park allows for larger RV's than Quail, so we chose this park instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com